April 19, 2024, 10:47:42 AM

Author Topic: Heartbreaker...Italy edge ‘Young Warriors’ in Cairo contest  (Read 17503 times)

Offline YoursTruly

Heartbreaker...Italy edge ‘Young Warriors’ in Cairo contest
« on: September 28, 2009, 03:15:48 PM »
Heartbreaker...Italy edge ‘Young Warriors’ in Cairo contest
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFF)

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 20 footballers let their first point at the FIFA Under 20 World Cup slip away as they succumbed to Italy 2-1 before 30,000 fans at the Cairo International Stadium on Monday night.

When Juma Clarence collected and slapped home past Italian goalkeeper Vincenzo Fiorillo on 62 minutes, T&T were left scenting something from the affair as the crowd got behind them and they began to press the Italians for long periods.

But it was not to be and there were no favours for the boys from T&T neither as Solomon Islands assistant referee Matthew Taro saw what nobody else did when he raised his flag to deny T&T an opening goal in the 31st minute when Robert Primus’ sliding effort from a corner beat Fiorillo on its way into the net. The Italians never appealed and T&T celebrated but then referee Peter O Leary of New Zealand, after signaling the goal, ran towards his assistant for confirmation of his call and then disallowed the goal. Even the Italians appeared somewhat surprised by the decision.

It didn’t get better for the young “Soca Warriors” as Michaelangelo Arbetazzi headed past Glenroy Samuel from  left side corner which T&T were slow in reacting to in the 39th minute.

T&T, with Kevin Molino and Juma Clarence coming into the starting team, made a better start than they did against Egypt and never looked like being toppled over by the higher rated and more respected Italians.

Jake Thomson made a superb goaline clearance with his head in the 16th minute to deny Andre Mazzarani but the English-born was a bit off with his deliveries and was later replaced by Qian Grosvenor as Vranes opted for more firepower upfront in the later stages

T&T settled more as the game progressed making their opponents realise that they were up against a team that had no intentions of giving up points.

Just before the break Khaleem Hyland, playing in his more accustomed midfield role, hit a left footer over bar.

Disappointed at the half, T&T never buckled and Leston Paul and his troops continued to push on. Gay should have done better though when the ball fell perfectly for him in the box but he went for power instead of placement and could only look on in agony as his effort crashed off the underside of the crossbar.

T&T were rewarded for their persistence as Clarence took his goal well when he capitalized on Matteo Gentile’s mis-clearance, beating the latter before clinically finishing to level the scores at one apiece.

The Caribbean team got life from the goal and they got the majority of the fans behind them at this stage. Paul had a low effort saved and Gay also sent a glancing header wide in the 75th minute. Hyland also headed over bar with nine minutes left on the clock.

But the Italians also stayed in the game, remaining organized and penetrating when they could. And they made T&T pay with twelve minutes left . A bad cross field ball by Clarence was picked up and Mattia Mustacchio made the run before putting the ball into the box for Silvano Raggio to power past a hapless Samuel for the winner.

There’s saying in the game that sometimes you play against 12 and Paul and company could not be blamed for feeling this way as the look of dejection filled the T&T dressing room after the match. Vranes held back his anger.

“I’m not angry but I am proud of our display,” he told TTFF Media. “ I don’t think we just fought this time I think we played a good game and we deserved a better result. We came to play games to see where are right now and I think we have a clear indication. We have seen that can play well and this is positive for the future. But we have our work to do still if intend to finish games with better results.

“I don’t want to say that we were cheated the first goal but again we got punished for our mistakes. I am proud of the effort from the players. We will fight until the end and we have one more game. We will see how we go from here. Maybe if our chances of advancing are over then I can give some other players the chance to play the next game because they all deserve it.”

Reflecting on T&T’s disallowed first half goal, Vranes added that he felt then that T&T needed to keep their heads up and was somewhat pleased that they did in fact keep on pressing.

“I was thinking that we have to keep pressing them after they took away our first goal. I am disappointed to lose this way to Italy especially to see how they were celebrating as if they won the World Cup,” Vranes said.

Clarence was obviously the most disappointed of the lot.

“It was good to get my first goal at this level but maybe we could have done better and maybe I could have done better. But we have to take the experience because this is where you learn the hard way.”

From the moment Clarence played the ball across the field, he went on bended knees, recognizing that his mistake could turn out costly.

“We have another game to go and hopefully we can make up for it,” he said.

At the FIFA post game press conference, several reporters, including one Italian, asked how the team would cope with their misfortune in the match. Vranes would only smile and promise a reversed result if there were to be a rematch. But they would no doubt take note later on that they had just produced one of the more memorable performances by any T&T team in a FIFA World Cup and could rank up there with T&T’s 0-0 draw with Sweden in Germany 2006. It came at a different level but the reaction of the media in the mix zone and post game conference afterwards suggested that the so called minnows had left another good impression.

Italy’ head coach Francesco Rocca was a relieved man.

I'm very happy with my team and with the result. Trinidad and Tobago were a tough team to play against today They were very strong physically and  they had some strong players. We improved as the game progressed and managed to keep them under pressure for most of the match.  I was happy that we got the victory today,” Rocca said.

T&T will play their final Group A encounter against Paraguay on Thursday.

SCORING SUMMARY

Italy:
Michelangelo ALBERTAZZI (39')
Silvano RAGGIO (78')

Trinidad & Tobago:
Juma CLARENCE (67')

TEAMS

Italy:
1. Vincenzo FIORILLO (capt.), 3. Antonio MAZZOTTA, 4. Matteo GENTILI, 5. Michelangelo ALBERTAZZI, 8. Andrea MAZZARANI, 10. Fabio SCIACCA (Marco ROMIZI 69'), 11. Gianvito MISURACA (Claudio DELLA PENNA 82'), 13. Francesco BINI, 16. Giacomo BONAVENTURA (Marco CALDERONI 59'), 17. Mattia MUSTACCHIO, 18. Silvano RAGGIO

Substitutes:
12. Andrea GASPARRI, 21. Antonio PICCOLO, 2. Alessandro CRESCENZI, 6. Marco CALDERONI, 7. Claudio DELLA PENNA, 9. Umberto EUSEPI, 14. Matteo BRUSCAGIN, 15. Vasco REGINI, 19. Marco ROMIZI, 20. Piergiuseppe MARITATO

Coach: Francesco ROCCA (ITA)

Trinidad & Tobago:
1. Glenroy SAMUEL, 5. Akeem ADAMS (Aubrey DAVID 65'), 6. Leston PAUL, 7. Kevin MOLINO (Marcus JOSEPH 56'), 9. Jamaal GAY, 11. Khaleem HYLAND, 12. Robert PRIMUS, 13. Juma CLARENCE, 15. Uriah BENTICK, 18. Jake THOMSON (Qian GROSVENOR 82'), 19. Daniel CYRUS

Substitutes:
20. Andre MARCHAN, 21. Jesse FULLERTON, 2. Aubrey DAVID, 3. Curtis GONZALES, 4. Sheldon BATEAU, 8. Sean DE SILVA, 10. Qian GROSVENOR, 14. Jean Luc ROCHFORD, 16. Marcus JOSEPH, 17. Mekeil WILLIAMS

Coach: Zoran VRANES (SRB)

OFFICIALS

Referee: Peter O LEARY (NZL)
Assistant Referee 1: Brent BEST (NZL)
Assistant Referee 2: Matthew TARO (SOL)
Fourth official: Alberto UNDIANO (ESP)
Match Commissioner: Hamad BROOK (UAE)

STATISTICS

Italy (ITA)
Statistics
Trinidad and Tobago (TRI)
Shots
Shots on goal
Goals Scored
Fouls Committed
Fouls Suffered
Corner kicks
Free kicks Shots (scored)
0 / 0
Penalty Kicks (Goals/Shots)
0 / 0
Offsides
Own goals
Yellow cards
Second yellow card and red card
Red Cards
Actual playing time
55%
Possession (%)
45%

YELLOW CARDS

Italy:
10. Fabio SCIACCA (2')
16. Giacomo BONAVENTURA (30')
19. Marco ROMIZI (86')

Trinidad & Tobago:
5. Akeem ADAMS (12')
9. Jamaal GAY (70')
6. Leston PAUL (87')

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/reTiP8HuxTw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/reTiP8HuxTw</a>
« Last Edit: September 28, 2009, 08:07:01 PM by Tallman »

“I’m not angry but I am proud of our display,” he told TTFF Media. “ I don’t think we just fought this time I think we played a good game and we deserved a better result. We came to play games to see where are right now and I think we have a clear indication. We have seen that can play well and this is positive for the future. But we have our work to do still if intend to finish games with better results.

keep improving that all we ask  :beermug:

people still talking bout we get rob when the offside was a good call?

If Gay had put away the x-bar shot, it would have a difference story. half chances do make a difference.

From the moment Clarence played the ball across the field, he went on bended knees, recognizing that his mistake could turn out costly.

Ah know Shaun meant that as a way to express how badly Juma felt about his misplaced pass, but if in fact he did do that....daz a serious problem.

If yuh make a pass like dat, yuh immediate reaction should be to sprint like de devil to try to get back and make up fuh yuh mistake...not hold yuh head, bawl, and fall to yuh knees.  Dat simply compounds de problem and yuh eh helpin yuh team at all by doin dat.  Matter of fact, yuh makin it worse because daz jes one more man out de play.

Ah know Shaun meant that as a way to express how badly Juma felt about his misplaced pass, but if in fact he did do that....daz a serious problem.

If yuh make a pass like dat, yuh immediate reaction should be to sprint like de devil to try to get back and make up fuh yuh mistake...not hold yuh head, bawl, and fall to yuh knees.  Dat simply compounds de problem and yuh eh helpin yuh team at all by doin dat.  Matter of fact, yuh makin it worse because daz jes one more man out de play.

yeah true... i read that an had the same thought..

although realistic speaking not even Scotty up there in the star trek enterprise was getting him back there fast enough to redeem himself.

yeah true... i read that an had the same thought..

although realistic speaking not even Scotty up there in the star trek enterprise was getting him back there fast enough to redeem himself.

True dat.  But yuh hadda try still.  De issue is trainin de instinct more dan de result.
« Last Edit: September 28, 2009, 04:22:32 PM by palos »

If yuh make a pass like dat, yuh immediate reaction should be to sprint like de devil to try to get back and make up fuh yuh mistake...not hold yuh head, bawl, and fall to yuh knees.   Dat simply compounds de problem and yuh eh helpin yuh team at all by doin dat.  Matter of fact, yuh makin it worse because daz jes one more man out de play.

I notice that when Brazilian and arg and Ger players make these kinds of mistakes that's exactly what they do...not hold they head and bawl. That shit is oldtime football.
« Last Edit: September 28, 2009, 08:44:04 PM by Pointman »

Re: Heartbreaker...Italy edge ‘Young Warriors’ in Cairo contest
« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2009, 06:12:38 PM »
Our players are mentally week. We quarel 4 pgs bout Ottley Rudd who was part of d strike squad and d merits of havin someone like dat around.

« Reply #9 on: September 28, 2009, 06:17:06 PM »

Italy's Antonio Mazzotta vies for the ball with Trinidad and Tobago's Qian Grosvenor, during their U-20 World Cup group A soccer match at the Cairo International Stadium in Cairo, Egypt Monday, Sept. 28, 2009.

Italy's Mattia Mustacchio, right, vies for the ball with Trinidad and Tobago's Robert Primus, on ground, and Jake Thomson, during their U-20 World Cup group A soccer match at the Cairo International Stadium in Cairo, Egypt Monday, Sept. 28, 2009.

Italy's Matteo Gentili, jumps for the ball with Trinidad and Tobago's Jamaal Gay, during their U-20 World Cup group A soccer match at the Cairo International Stadium in Cairo, Egypt Monday, Sept. 28, 2009.

Italy's Mattia Mustacchio, left challenges Trinidad and Tobago's Uriah Bentick during their U-20 World Cup group A soccer match at the Cairo International Stadium in Cairo, Egypt Monday, Sept. 28, 2009.

Italy's Giacomo Bonaventura and Antonio Mazzotta, left stop Trinidad and Tobago's Khaleem Hyland during their U-20 World Cup group A soccer match at the Cairo International Stadium in Cairo, Egypt Monday, Sept. 28, 2009.

Jamaal Gay of Trinidad and Tobago (C) is challenged by Michelangelo Albertazzi (L) and Matteo Gentili (R) of Italy during their FIFA U-20 World Cup group A soccer match in Cairo September 28, 2009.

Juma Clarence of Trinidad and Tobago celebrates his goal against Italy during their FIFA U-20 World Cup group A soccer match in Cairo September 28, 2009.

Andrea Mazzarani of Italy (L) is challenged by Khaleem Hyland of Trinidad and Tobago (R) during their FIFA U-20 World Cup group A soccer match in Cairo September 28, 2009.

Michelangelo Albertazzi of Italy (R) challenges Leston Paul of Trinidad and Tobago (L) during their FIFA U-20 World Cup group A soccer match in Cairo September 28, 2009.

Michelangelo Albertazzi of Italy (R) challenges Jamaal Gay of Trinidad and Tobago (L) during their FIFA U-20 World Cup group A soccer match in Cairo September 28, 2009.

Francesco Bini of Italy (L) is challenged by Jamaal Gay of Trinidad and Tobago (R) during their FIFA U-20 World Cup group A soccer match in Cairo September 28, 2009.

Fabio Sciacca of Italy (L) is challenged by Uriah Bentick of Trinidad and Tobago (L) during their FIFA U-20 World Cup group A soccer match in Cairo September 28, 2009.

Francesco Bini of Italy (front) is challenged by Kevin Molino of Trinidad and Tobago during their FIFA U-20 World Cup group A soccer match in Cairo September 28, 2009.

Michelangelo Albertazzi of Italy (R) challenges Juma Clarence of Trinidad and Tobago (L) during their FIFA U-20 World Cup group F soccer match in Cairo September 28, 2009.

Mattia Mustacchio of Italy (L) is challenged by Robert Primus of Trinidad and Tobago (R) during their FIFA U-20 World Cup group F soccer match in Cairo September 28, 2009.

« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2009, 06:32:15 PM »
1) Albertazzi only fouling man in dem pics.

2) Fuentes referring to the squad as "the caribbean team"... exactly who is his audience?

3) The team is scoring goals at least... still not making the most of their chances but defending better and seems to have an idea as to what they're doing offensively.  All in all marks of an improving team... whatever the result from here out we need to build on the momentum developed during these games.

« Reply #11 on: September 28, 2009, 06:35:49 PM »
i would like the core of this team to play the Digicel Qualifying

« Reply #12 on: September 28, 2009, 06:54:01 PM »
1) Albertazzi only fouling man in dem pics.

2) Fuentes referring to the squad as "the caribbean team"... exactly who is his audience?

3) The team is scoring goals at least... still not making the most of their chances but defending better and seems to have an idea as to what they're doing offensively.  All in all marks of an improving team... whatever the result from here out we need to build on the momentum developed during these games.

Albertazzi on man back like a school bag.

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #13 on: September 28, 2009, 07:01:20 PM »
From the highlights that look like a real good game.  Im proud of our young warriors.  They have scored in both games and we can see the potential.  If we keep building up this team, 2014 could be our year for massive celebrations.  If we could increase the sharpness and killer instinct ... we can change narrow losses into wins.  Keep working at it young Warriors!

Go young warriors! keep your heads up and look for some points and more goals in the next game  :beermug:
« Last Edit: September 28, 2009, 07:07:37 PM by fatimarima »

« Reply #14 on: September 28, 2009, 07:03:04 PM »
"But it was not to be and there were no favours for the boys from T&T neither as Solomon Islands assistant referee Matthew Taro saw what nobody else did when he raised his flag to deny T&T an opening goal in the 31st minute when Robert Primus’ sliding effort from a corner beat Fiorillo on its way into the net."
JACK as a FIFA VP you should be BLACKLISTING Refs like this INSTEAD of your own damn players...steeeeuuuuppps
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #15 on: September 28, 2009, 07:27:15 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/6lYXHSLOkMo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/6lYXHSLOkMo</a>

« Reply #16 on: September 28, 2009, 07:40:24 PM »
daiz some good action shots Tallman. thanks  :beermug:

Offline Kingk

• Warriors 4ever
« Reply #17 on: September 28, 2009, 08:31:41 PM »
whats with the music selection from Fuentes lol
he had reggae up for the other videos now akon & young jeezy lol he couldnt of played ionno say "we will carry on" by machel instead  :D

« Reply #18 on: September 28, 2009, 08:33:07 PM »
give jack he jacket.

hyland is very disappointing.

for someone who is suppose to be our one and only true pro and 1st division player at that this young man is just shitting on himself. there is no other way to put it.

i am shocked that gay does not know how to shoot a ball yet, for krissake you are playing in a german 2nd division, not that they don't know how to play there, is just that i am surprised that he does not know how to shoot a friggin ball. you are killing me.

it is too late now but i am still waiting for somebody to step up and take charge of the middle of the field. YOU ARE KILLING MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE WITH THE BULLSHITTTTTTTTTTTTTTT.................

VIVA LA REVOLUCCION..............................

« Reply #19 on: September 28, 2009, 08:55:19 PM »
me eh see de game eh....but ah read Juma make de bad pass to get Italy de winner.....like he give da man de ball in de 6 yard box or what?

and until i see wid meh two eye dat he really go down on bended knees after he make de pass, how in de hell i could say what he should or shouldna do

Boy, what I say across in the other thread. Ignorant no ass! How hard is the offside rule to understand. It's shocking in this day and age that men still don't know that once there are fewer than 2 defenders between the attacker and goal line that he is offside. Simple! Whether or not there was a defender on the line is irrelevant since that defender was all that stood between Primus and the goal line.

That rule is subjective no ass.  I may be ignorant but the keeper left his line and went after the ball.  The resultant play...there was no break in the action caught him out of position, I feel the goal should have stood.

« Reply #22 on: September 28, 2009, 09:38:12 PM »
Offside position

The blue forward on the left of the diagram is in an offside position as he is both in front of the second to last defender (marked by the dotted line) and the ball. Note that this does not necessarily mean he is committing an offside offence.
The blue forward in the penalty box of the diagram is not in an offside position as he is behind the ball, despite the fact that he is in front of all but one of his opponents.A player is in an offside position if he is in his opponents' half of the field and is nearer to his opponents' goal line than the ball, and fewer than two of his opponents (which usually includes the goalkeeper) are in front of him. A player at equal distance from the goal line as the second to last opponent is not in an offside position.

In 2005 The International Football Association Board agreed a new decision in Law 11 that being "nearer to an opponent's goal line" meant that "any part of his head, body or feet is nearer to his opponents' goal line than both the ball and the second last opponent. The arms are not included in this definition."[1] This is taken to mean that any part of the attacking player named in this Decision 2 has to be past the part of the second last defender closest to his goal line (excluding the arms) and past the part of the ball closest to the defenders' goal line.

What does the position of the goal keeper have to do with anything? The rule is as clear and uncomplicated as they come. Primus is partially ahead of the second to last opponent. Simple as can be. Offside, good call by the officials.

« Reply #23 on: September 28, 2009, 09:41:54 PM »
To me they wake up and find themselves in that second half after Italy was hitting them with pace and million one touch passes with ball zinging around the field.  After they survive that with the one goal disallowed and one conceded Paul and dem finally start to play.

That cross field pass really kill it and I was damn vex but cah bury a young player nah.  If only they could start the next game playing with the same kinda edge and determination in that 2nd half.

« Reply #24 on: September 28, 2009, 10:30:11 PM »
I thought it was a goal too. But that was close. The GK and that defender who was marking the 1st post  had our man  onside. The  GK went to punch and went pass our guy with his forword motion. The ball came back, the GK was off the line on his forward motion. Our guy slide tackle the ball in the goal while the romans defender was on the line. As much as I hate to say it. The lineman was correct. But Gay missed goal and juma's bad pass was our downfall. If Juma had not made that errant pass it may have been 1-1. If Gay had scored it could have been 2-1 in our favor. If not 2-2. Both plays were significant.

« Reply #25 on: September 29, 2009, 06:07:48 AM »
Juma"s goal was a well taken and clinical goal. The boy even looking like Stern on the field.. It looks like Vranes will stay with this team.

« Reply #26 on: September 29, 2009, 06:26:02 AM »
We need to keep this team together, they are a decent bunch.

A lot of things have to change though.

1. We still making silly mistakes and mistakes cost teams.
2. We are not up to world class level.
3. We need a good technical and discipline coach who can break this team out properly.
4. We defence needs to learn how to pass the ball instead of the always kicking out.
5. We need to learn how to work off the ball.
6. We need to learn how to play a simple one touch.
7. We need to learn how to keep pocession.
8. We need organization.

« Reply #27 on: September 29, 2009, 06:36:04 AM »
me eh see de game eh....but ah read Juma make de bad pass to get Italy de winner.....like he give da man de ball in de 6 yard box or what?

and until i see wid meh two eye dat he really go down on bended knees after he make de pass, how in de hell i could say what he should or shouldna do

He cross the ball from one side of the field straight over the other side of the field trying to pick out Jake Thompson.  Instead, the ball fell right at the feet of an Italian who ran to the 6 yd box and square it back to his fellow team mate and the rest as they say is history.

Juma's pass is being described as bad because he was under no pressure, he had about 2 T&T players right near him that he could just pass it to instead of the cross field heroics.....the pass was the wrong choice.

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #28 on: September 29, 2009, 06:42:06 AM »
I thought it was a goal too. But that was close. The GK and that defender who was marking the 1st post  had our man  onside. The  GK went to punch and went pass our guy with his forword motion. The ball came back, the GK was off the line on his forward motion. Our guy slide tackle the ball in the goal while the romans defender was on the line. As much as I hate to say it. The lineman was correct. But Gay missed goal and juma's bad pass was our downfall. If Juma had not made that errant pass it may have been 1-1. If Gay had scored it could have been 2-1 in our favor. If not 2-2. Both plays were significant.
Not only that, the first Italian goal was a total defensive lapse. No way should that short corner have taken place without a defender pressuring and secondly Gay was tracking back with the Italian CB and let him slip by for the header, watch the highlights good!
well yes

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #29 on: September 29, 2009, 06:44:24 AM »

He cross the ball from one side of the field straight over the other side of the field trying to pick out Jake Thompson.  Instead, the ball fell right at the feet of an Italian who ran to the 6 yd box and square it back to his fellow team mate and the rest as they say is history.

Juma's pass is being described as bad because he was under no pressure, he had about 2 T&T players right near him that he could just pass it to instead of the cross field heroics.....the pass was the wrong choice.

Not only the wrong choice but poorly executed...overall a school boy mistake. I feel for him, and hopefully he and others learn
well yes