April 29, 2024, 10:36:54 AM

Author Topic: Heartbreaker...Italy edge ‘Young Warriors’ in Cairo contest  (Read 17621 times)

Re: Heartbreaker...Italy edge ‘Young Warriors’ in Cairo contest
« Reply #60 on: September 29, 2009, 11:15:44 AM »
Our players are mentally week. We quarel 4 pgs bout Ottley Rudd who was part of d strike squad and d merits of havin someone like dat around.

Maybe dey should be mentally year?  Or at least month.  :devil:

Re: Dem Italians is teef
« Reply #61 on: September 29, 2009, 11:23:54 AM »
i freeze frame the play and i waiting for someone who know more about refereeing than me to chime in...

it look like a set play..

when the ball was played he was still out of bounds. Maybe he can only be offside if he is active on the field of play.
so basically when he became active, it wasnt really a pass to him...

just speculating cause that was so blatant it have to have something we not seeing.

How is this a question of offside?  Was he closer to the goal than our last two defenders?

The offside rule is silent on players behind the goal line.... and it certainly look like a set play.

« Reply #62 on: September 29, 2009, 11:24:28 AM »
Please, if a player removes himself from the field by walkin off, he can come back on whenever he wants!
Just because a man stand up on the other side of the line doh mean the defenders should ignore him.
We get ketch, plain and simple.
I sure the Italians had a good laugh about that.
what do you think it is a free for all...a player simply cannot remove himself from play and then walk back on...think about when guys leave the field for injury..do they just run back on????? no they get the referees permission...

« Reply #63 on: September 29, 2009, 11:33:42 AM »

It is grasping at straws... just because the man standing off the pitch means he's not involved in the play, we lapse in not covering that man and pay for it.  Man does chase ball on the side and endline all the time and they'll drift out of bounds and collect a return pass from a team mate... who often releases the ball while the receiving playe is still out of bounds.  Or a man will kick the ball past the defender, race around him (out of bounds) and collect it back.  Maybe yuh could say is ah loophole in the rules that it shouldn't be allowed... but from what I could tell there's nothing wrong with the play... we lapse.

« Reply #64 on: September 29, 2009, 11:38:47 AM »
Please, if a player removes himself from the field by walkin off, he can come back on whenever he wants!
Just because a man stand up on the other side of the line doh mean the defenders should ignore him.
what do you think it is a free for all...a player simply cannot remove himself from play and then walk back on...think about when guys leave the field for injury..do they just run back on????? no they get the referees permission...

Man could step across the line anytime they want... there is nothing that says a player must be on the field at all times.  If he hasn't "officially" left the field (such as for medical treatment) then he doesn't need "official" permission to re-enter the field of play.  No need to make this more than it is.

« Reply #65 on: September 29, 2009, 11:39:25 AM »

They also leave the field with the referee's permission.
Major difference.

« Reply #66 on: September 29, 2009, 11:40:34 AM »
you are  right that we lapsed in the sense that it was not recognized at the time.....but play is live from when the man who takes the corner moves the ball out of the arc....the only players who can be involved in the play are those on the pitch..that's why there is a boundary..the man who made the cross was not inside the legal boundaries of play when the ball was live...

« Reply #67 on: September 29, 2009, 11:44:29 AM »
MEP yuh strugglin.

« Reply #68 on: September 29, 2009, 12:07:28 PM »

It is grasping at straws... just because the man standing off the pitch means he's not involved in the play,

It almost always does...

we lapse in not covering that man and pay for it.  Man does chase ball on the side and endline all the time and they'll drift out of bounds and collect a return pass from a team mate... who often releases the ball while the receiving playe is still out of bounds. 

all the time?  That sounds kinda rare to me.  Whether it happens all the time or not,  there's a difference between momentum incidentally "drifting" a player barely off the field, and him coming back into the game while the ball is moving, and a man receiving the ball from a dead ball situation in which he started his run from like 10 yards off the field.  Something about that doesn't seem right...  

Or a man will kick the ball past the defender, race around him (out of bounds) and collect it back. 

That appears to be different in that there's no unfair advantage to be gained from doing that.  

Maybe yuh could say is ah loophole in the rules that it shouldn't be allowed... but from what I could tell there's nothing wrong with the play... we lapse.

May very well be a loophole- not sure if it's directly addressed in the laws of the game but in a dead ball situation where there's often a need to man-mark, I find it difficult to see how it's fair to allow players to directly receive the ball coming in from an out of bounds position, unless they make it onto the field before the play is restarted...Next thing we'll see men making runs behind the goal ice hockey style and defenders hadda keep their eyes players sneaking on and off the field lol  :D

« Reply #69 on: September 29, 2009, 12:18:49 PM »
May very well be a loophole- not sure if it's directly addressed in the laws of the game but in a dead ball situation where there's often a need to man-mark, I find it difficult to see how it's fair to allow players to directly receive the ball coming in from an out of bounds position, unless they make it onto the field before the play is restarted...Next thing we'll see men making runs behind the goal ice hockey style and defenders hadda keep their eyes players sneaking on and off the field lol  :D

It seems prefectly fair to me.
Nothing prevents defenders from covering a man who has stepped over the line.

To me it is pure folly to ignore and not cover a man just because he on the other side of the line.

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #70 on: September 29, 2009, 12:32:57 PM »

To me it is pure folly to ignore and not cover a man just because he on the other side of the line.

Interesting points here, but how is this different from an offensive player positioning himself inside the goal during a corner? He is off the field of play.  Can he not subsequently cross back into the field of play as soon as  the corner was taken and make a pass or score.

BTW why merge this thread?
« Last Edit: September 29, 2009, 12:42:47 PM by takenoprisoners »

« Reply #71 on: September 29, 2009, 12:48:13 PM »

Interesting points here, but how is this different from an offensive player positioning himself inside the goal during a corner? He is off the field of play.  Can he not subsequently cross back into the field of play after the corner was taken and make a pass or score.

BTW why merge this thread?

So I went back to see what caused that player (#8 Mazzarani) to be behind the goal line. Italy made a pass from midfield up the left side to #8 who was being marked by one of our guys (can't quite make out the number, looks like out center right back) Anyway the momentum of the play carried both of them over the line - our guy had the last touch - hence the corner. Our guy kept standing and walked right back on the field, but Mazzarani fell down, pulled up his socks or something and got back up and ran on just as the corner was being taken.

So anyway no excuse for losing track of Mazzarani -especially since he seems to be their dead ball specialist. That's probably why they made a short pass to him.

« Last Edit: September 29, 2009, 12:50:48 PM by E-man »

« Reply #72 on: September 29, 2009, 12:49:42 PM »
Jamal Gay did noy stay with his man on de first goal.  He was always trailing his marker.  Poor concentration.

« Reply #73 on: September 29, 2009, 12:53:39 PM »
Jamal Gay did noy stay with his man on de first goal.  He was always trailing his marker.  Poor concentration.

That wasn't the main reason for the goal tho.  De jamal gay part that is.

Poor concentration yes....way before that.

« Reply #74 on: September 29, 2009, 01:16:14 PM »
It was disorganization and lack of urgency as a whole but Gay fell asleep there.  You cannot trail a fella by that much on a set play.  He gave himself absolutely no chance to recover.  His only choice was to communicate with his defense which never happened.  The other defenders were so square facing the cross, no one even saw the attacker coming into the Prime Target Area.  Is like yuh open yuh gate and let a pothound in to bite yuh and yuh never even saw de danger.     
« Last Edit: September 29, 2009, 01:24:06 PM by Savannah boy »

« Reply #75 on: September 29, 2009, 04:24:15 PM »

It is grasping at straws... just because the man standing off the pitch means he's not involved in the play,

It almost always does...

we lapse in not covering that man and pay for it.  Man does chase ball on the side and endline all the time and they'll drift out of bounds and collect a return pass from a team mate... who often releases the ball while the receiving playe is still out of bounds. 

all the time?  That sounds kinda rare to me.  Whether it happens all the time or not,  there's a difference between momentum incidentally "drifting" a player barely off the field, and him coming back into the game while the ball is moving, and a man receiving the ball from a dead ball situation in which he started his run from like 10 yards off the field.  Something about that doesn't seem right... 

Or a man will kick the ball past the defender, race around him (out of bounds) and collect it back. 

That appears to be different in that there's no unfair advantage to be gained from doing that. 

Maybe yuh could say is ah loophole in the rules that it shouldn't be allowed... but from what I could tell there's nothing wrong with the play... we lapse.

Well doh ask me to justify the rule/non-rule... we could argue whether it should be allowed or not, but as it stands there isn't anything that says the man can't be standing across the endline when the ball is played. 

Let me ask you this... suppose he was across the endline but on the other side of the goal when the ball was played in and he was the first to head the ball... what then? Offside? Some other infraction?  Clearly not, no?

« Reply #76 on: September 29, 2009, 04:29:28 PM »
He would have out of bound.

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #77 on: September 29, 2009, 06:47:17 PM »

Did you see the video clip of the incident Peong?  The guy was way off the field far behind the line when the corner was taken.  He ran back on the field after the ball was played and collected the ball.  Man cant just run in from behind the goal post and play the ball.....this eh ice hockey

« Reply #78 on: September 29, 2009, 06:58:46 PM »

Did you see the video clip of the incident Peong?  The guy was way off the field far behind the line when the corner was taken.  He ran back on the field after the ball was played and collected the ball.  Man cant just run in from behind the goal post and play the ball.....this eh ice hockey

The guy was there because he went out with our defender on the play that resulted in the corner - our guy just came back on the field before him. I'm sure he was in full communication with the corner-kick taker while he was adjusting his socks though.

right before the corner you see our guy with Mazzarani

Quote from: e-man
So I went back to see what caused that player (#8 Mazzarani) to be behind the goal line. Italy made a pass from midfield up the left side to #8 who was being marked by one of our guys (can't quite make out the number, looks like out center right back) Anyway the momentum of the play carried both of them over the line - our guy had the last touch - hence the corner. Our guy kept standing and walked right back on the field, but Mazzarani fell down, pulled up his socks or something and got back up and ran on just as the corner was being taken.

So anyway no excuse for losing track of Mazzarani -especially since he seems to be their dead ball specialist. That's probably why they made a short pass to him.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2009, 07:02:02 PM by E-man »

Offline santacruz

• This year is the Dutch year!
« Reply #79 on: September 29, 2009, 07:15:10 PM »
From the highlights that look like a real good game.  Im proud of our young warriors.  They have scored in both games and we can see the potential.  If we keep building up this team, 2014 could be our year for massive celebrations.  If we could increase the sharpness and killer instinct ... we can change narrow losses into wins.  Keep working at it young Warriors!

Go young warriors! keep your heads up and look for some points and more goals in the next game  :beermug:

if running out in the maracana against Brazil in the opening game of the 2014 WC is not motivation enough. what the hell is?
Fatima old boy graduate in '95 from Form 5, '97 from Form 6, lived in Santa Cruz.

« Reply #80 on: September 29, 2009, 07:59:16 PM »
I think we should spare a thought for Juma Clarence

Yes he wanted to make a bess pass cross the field, it was an error...but it 3-4 other players were just as guilty for allowing the goal to score.

If you notice the Italian who got the ball ran down to the corner flag and while or players caught up with him nobody hit him a blade, when the ball was put top of the box, the central midfielder did not track back and I want alyuh watch it good...the stopper TURNED his back on the shot instead of facing it. (Normal Trini breaks, as we fraid bang) and it kinda glanced off him or it curl so that Glenroy couldnt get to it.

Imagine 5-6 players make a mistake that 2 men capitalise to score upon us.

So it go!

« Reply #81 on: September 29, 2009, 08:25:03 PM »
Our players are mentally week. We quarel 4 pgs bout Ottley Rudd who was part of d strike squad and d merits of havin someone like dat around.

Maybe dey should be mentally year?  Or at least month.  :devil:

Loud steups all yuh feel after watchin yuh p's and q's all dey on d wuk u have time 2 b circumspec. U come 2 banter.

« Reply #82 on: September 29, 2009, 09:35:55 PM »

Why not?

« Reply #83 on: October 02, 2009, 09:29:03 AM »
Look Ting:

Keith Hackett's official answers:
1) Take no action – play on. For the purposes of judging an offside, the player who retrieved the ball is considered to be on the goalline near the corner flagpost. So he is effectively level with the two players who were guarding the posts when the ball was kicked, and is therefore onside.

« Reply #84 on: October 02, 2009, 09:48:52 AM »
Look Ting:

1) Take no action – play on. For the purposes of judging an offside, the player who retrieved the ball is considered to be on the goalline near the corner flagpost. So he is effectively level with the two players who were guarding the posts when the ball was kicked, and is therefore onside.

Well there you go....Off the field seems to be equal to "on the line"...no just cause for argument I suppose. 

Case closed...

« Reply #85 on: October 02, 2009, 10:20:32 AM »
Look Ting:

Well there you go....Off the field seems to be equal to "on the line"...no just cause for argument I suppose. 

Case closed...

this coulda save alot of long talk...

« Reply #86 on: October 02, 2009, 10:34:19 AM »
Yes Bitter, good find.

« Reply #87 on: October 02, 2009, 11:05:06 AM »
Great find Bitter... although these represent only Keith Hackett's opinion it's pretty much in line with my instincts as well... can't be offside.  The situation is almost identical to what happen in the U-20 game... except the Italian player didn't immediately return to play.

This was the other point in contention... the fairness of the player being allowed to rejoin play.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2009, 11:07:18 AM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #88 on: October 02, 2009, 11:06:03 AM »
Can you play italy without having controversy?
TNT did well... even Italy lost to Egypt, and wow paraguay is a major force in soccer, we stood toe to toe and made mistakes but scored goals and even had the time to make a few things look pretty.

I really love this team, the senior team dont have zilch on the under 20s. This team in another group would have surely made the quarter finals. TNT were very tough to play against and exciting to watch, hustling like Honduras, passing like CRC and organised like USA with pace of the mexicans, I am really proud our players had personalities on the pitch, they stood out in the big games.

Yeah yea... offside goal dey say but i saw a dude on the line.... you have to give those kinda of calls to the scoring team... Already facing the odds against a superpower like italy and have a goal disallowed really hurts a team confidence going forward. However italy won the game fairly and credit to them, they knew little about us.

Happy to see inclusion into the senior squad, lets atleast score in the first 5 minutes against Mexico and draw in CRC. GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO BLACKIES xD

SEAN DE SILVA..... Hoss dat first game men run threw u like yuh invisible.... yuh have men using racism and ting online.. this isnt the silva i know of.  BENICK GOOD CHALLENGE FROM BEHIND AGAINST PARAGUAY!!! AH LOVED IT xD dat was red!!!

« Reply #89 on: October 02, 2009, 12:35:12 PM »
Yuh cant be offisde if yuh level with de ball!!!!!!  >:( jeesus christ

if de man on de byeline on a corner kick... it doh matter if it have nobody on de goal line... CANT BE OFFSIDE