April 16, 2024, 01:45:09 PM

Author Topic: The Next Digicel Caribbean Championships?  (Read 11470 times)

The Next Digicel Caribbean Championships?
« on: October 02, 2009, 04:40:46 AM »
Does anyone know when specifically the next Digicel Caribbean Championships is/starts?

Re: The Next Digicel Caribbean Championships?
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2009, 05:39:27 AM »
No announcement yet.
But using the Gold Cup, which will be held sometime in 2011, the Caribbean Cup which is the qualifier, will most likely be sometime in 2010.
Olympic Qualifying should also start sometime in 2010 I think.

« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2009, 08:30:40 AM »
Thanks for your reply Trini

« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2009, 08:42:14 AM »
plan to come and try out for antigua?

« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2009, 08:51:17 AM »

HAHA You got jokes.

« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2009, 10:54:40 AM »
HAHA You got jokes.

Grenada is ranked higher than Antigua in the FIFA rankings after making their 1st ever Gold Cup appearance earlier this year so I think he'll try and get rejected to represent them first before looking at Antigua!  :D

« Reply #6 on: October 02, 2009, 11:34:07 AM »
Listen if the brother look good for Antigua/ Grenada  in the Digecil Cup who knows maybe W/Connection will employ him or Jablothe. He just might turn out to be the next MEMum.

« Reply #7 on: October 02, 2009, 12:34:29 PM »
Listen if the brother look good for Antigua/ Grenada  in the Digecil Cup who knows maybe W/Connection will employ him or Jablothe. He just might turn out to be the next MEMum.

HAHA You got jokes.

Grenada is ranked higher than Antigua in the FIFA rankings after making their 1st ever Gold Cup appearance earlier this year so I think he'll try and get rejected to represent them first before looking at Antigua!  :D

lol your funny.

LOL @ Injunchile.

I just want to know when is the Tournament is!

« Reply #8 on: October 02, 2009, 01:05:20 PM »
yeah but grenada executive suspended right now...football games hard to come by now..de leagues suspended and is jus friendlies playing between clubs

« Reply #9 on: October 02, 2009, 04:26:46 PM »
Start March 13-14th apparently, though I doubt T&T will start then
http://caribbeanfootballunion.org/cms2/images/stories/09docs/2010calendar.pdf

« Reply #10 on: October 03, 2009, 05:01:54 AM »
Thanks

Offline nunu

Caribbean Nations Cup 2010
« Reply #11 on: October 15, 2009, 03:25:24 PM »
who is going to host the Caribbean Nations Cup Next Year ? ,
why we in the english speaking Caribbean always host the tournament? ,
why  not Guadeloupe? , Martinique or Puerto Rico ?

Any Info on CNC ?

« Last Edit: October 15, 2009, 03:28:54 PM by CaribMan »

Re: Caribbean Nations Cup 2010
« Reply #12 on: October 15, 2009, 03:30:16 PM »
You can find some of the dates here
http://www.caribbeanfootballunion.org/cms2/images/stories/09docs/2010calendar.pdf

My guess is that T&T won't be in until late summer or fall, though I could be wrong after the poor performance last year.

Offline nunu

« Reply #13 on: October 15, 2009, 03:36:12 PM »
http://www.caribbeanfootballunion.org/cms2/images/stories/09docs/2010calendar.pdf

My guess is that T&T won't be in until late summer or fall, though I could be wrong after the poor performance last year.
theworm2345 nice to see you on Bigsoccer , Thereggaeboyz and Socawarriors but I bookmark
the CFU site . They do not give much info thou , they said first round will strart around march .
Can we log into the CFU site ?

« Reply #14 on: October 15, 2009, 03:39:17 PM »

theworm2345 nice to see you on Bigsoccer , Thereggaeboyz and Socawarriors but I bookmark
the CFU site . They do not give much info thou , they said first round will strart around march .

just a lil comment regarding your signature...TNT club teams are probably the only ones in the region who signs Brazilian players.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2009, 07:25:27 PM by Pointman »

Offline nunu

« Reply #15 on: October 15, 2009, 03:45:31 PM »

just a lil comment egarding your signature...TNT club teams are probably the only ones in the region who signs Brazilian players.
TnT leagues sign all sort of players , sometime I wonder how you guys fund the league ?

« Reply #16 on: October 15, 2009, 03:46:48 PM »

just a lil comment egarding your signature...TNT club teams are probably the only ones in the region who signs Brazilian players.
TnT leagues sign all sort of players , sometime I wonder how you guys fund the league ?

By d govt who oh do nutten 4 football

« Reply #17 on: October 15, 2009, 03:47:00 PM »
Same to you  :)
I don't think we can log in to the CFU site.  If you look at this old thread on BigSoccer, most information seems to come out 3-4 months before the tournament so my guess is we should start to get some information in November or December.  I think it is unfortunately that they have not chosen FIFA dates for the tournament as none of the overseas based players will be able to play for the most part.
http://www.bigsoccer.com/forum/showthread.php?t=635607

Offline nunu

« Reply #18 on: October 15, 2009, 03:59:44 PM »
thanx theworm2345, I have always wanted to know how Haiti came into the Tournament
without having played Qualifiers , now (thanx to Bigsoccer) It was because of the JFF .
once again thankyou .

« Reply #19 on: October 15, 2009, 04:06:37 PM »
thanx theworm2345, I have always wanted to know how Haiti came into the Tournament
without having played Qualifiers , now (thanx to Bigsoccer) It was because of the JFF .
once again thankyou .
No problem.

Judging by the calendar, the competition will be different this year.  My guess is that Jamaica and maybe Grenada will get a bye to the final round while the weakest teams (if they actually enter, last tournament did not have a great turn out) will play in the knockout stages.  That leaves T&T in Group A, B, C, or D and starting between late July and early September.

« Reply #20 on: October 15, 2009, 07:12:13 PM »
Resource constraints are obviously the major reason why only a few countries host the tournament.

Just look at the 'bench' used in one of  T&T's games during the last tournament held in Jamaica . The field was horrible too.

« Reply #21 on: October 15, 2009, 09:17:53 PM »
Resource constraints are obviously the major reason why only a few countries host the tournament.

Just look at the 'bench' used in one of  T&T's games during the last tournament held in Jamaica . The field was horrible too.
Yes, the game was played in Montego Bay and of course Jamaica only use The Office for Qualifiers.

Only Barbados, Jamaica, and T&T have hosted the tournament by themselves.  Antigua/Barbuda and Saint Kitts/Nevis once joint hosted it and the Cayman Islands joint hosted with Jamaica but other wise every tournament has been in on the aforementioned three, once with Jamaica and T&T as joint host.  When Barbados hosted all the matches were played in one place.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2009, 10:24:53 PM by theworm2345 »

Offline nunu

Why cant a french speaking island host the Caribbean Nations Cup .
« Reply #22 on: October 18, 2009, 05:57:51 PM »
People am asking why cant Guadeloupe or Martinique host the cup in 2010 ?,
anyone hear any rumour as to which island is going to host the cup in 2010 ?
the CFU site have no details .

Offline nunu

« Reply #23 on: October 18, 2009, 06:04:55 PM »
I think if Guadeloupe or martinique host the cup ,the french Government will help
out in finances . Remember both isl..... r part of France .

« Reply #24 on: October 19, 2009, 10:44:10 AM »
I think if Guadeloupe or martinique host the cup ,the french Government will help

I'm fairly sure Martinique has held the final stage of tournament in the past (mid 90's I think). They have definitely hosted qualifying groups in the past. Not sure they could host it in its current format though. Only T&T and Jamaica have the existing infrastructure to easily host the current format. The rest including Cuba only really have one main football venue so unless the CFU happy revert back to the old format of a single group of 4 and to allow them to do what Barbados did (play all games in one ground) they would have to fork out a decent bit of cash to bring another venue up to scratch. I guess it would be easier for the french islands to co-host, problem is; do they actually want to and are you sure the French government would help if they did?

Offline nunu

« Reply #25 on: October 19, 2009, 04:30:13 PM »

I'm fairly sure Martinique has held the final stage of tournament in the past (mid 90's I think).
Martinique won the tournament in the mid 90s , no french speaking island have never
held the final stage of the Tournament ,for reference please visit...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caribbean_Cup

I think its about time either Guadeloupe or Martinique host the Tournament .
Even if they did what Barbados did and play all the games on one ground ,
thus having a group of 4 for the final stage .Yes rodney ,am sure the french
Government will help.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2009, 04:37:06 PM by CaribMan »

« Reply #26 on: October 19, 2009, 04:50:24 PM »
How all yuh so sure the french gov't go sponsor this tournament. Mart. and Guada. have been playing in this tournament for years.They are no strangers.  You would think that one or both would have bid to host. But aye aye.... what shit I talking.... there is always a caveat.        Jack

Offline nunu

« Reply #27 on: October 19, 2009, 04:57:59 PM »
How all yuh so sure the french gov't go sponsor this tournament. Mart. and Guada. have been playing in this tournament for years.They are no strangers.  You would think that one or both would have bid to host. But aye aye.... what shit I talking.... there is always a caveat.        Jack

In France and all its departments the Goverment monitors almost everything ,the french
have a socialist Government or partly socialisit 50-50 , If CFU put it to guadeloupe or
martinique to host the cup , some of the funding will no doubt come from there goverment. :angel:
that is if they accept ,the caribbean is not just english ,we have french ,spanish and dutch
speaking islands its about time we let another isl... outside the english speaking islands host
it.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2009, 05:09:31 PM by CaribMan »

« Reply #28 on: October 19, 2009, 05:15:56 PM »
We know all of that. It just up to them to ask Jack to host the tournament. It long over due. Both Quada and Mart can host a group of 4 each.  I don't know who will host the final. Probable Quada. since they were in the most recent GC. But yes, it is time it goes to the other islands step up to host the tournament. I hope it is not in TT. I don't think the people home have football on their minds now after the disappointing Hex.

Offline nunu

« Reply #29 on: October 19, 2009, 05:20:25 PM »
We know all of that. It just up to them to ask Jack to host the tournament. It long over due. Both Quada and Mart can host a group of 4 each.  I don't know who will host the final. Probable Quada. since they were in the most recent GC. But yes, it is time it goes to the other islands step up to host the tournament. I hope it is not in TT. I don't think the people home have football on their minds now after the disappointing Hex.
JA host the cup last year and less than a 1000 people shows up for the final .
guadeloupe & matinique not going to ask , Jack Warner have to put it to them .