April 26, 2024, 08:16:42 PM

Author Topic: FIFA fires the Grenada Football Association executive and orders new elections  (Read 4274 times)

FIFA fires GFA executive and orders new elections
Jamaica Gleaner

Football's world governing body, FIFA, has fired the executive of the Grenada Football Association, effectively ending the ongoing turmoil and clearing the way for fresh general elections.

FIFA's executive committee dismissed the Ashley Folkes-led exe-cutive after receiving a report from FIFA attorney, John Collins, who travelled to Grenada last month on a fact-finding mission.

The decision backs 19 of the 35 local clubs, which voted to remove the executive during an extraordinary meeting of the General Council two months ago.

Serious internal turmoil

"GFA was facing serious internal turmoil which was hampering its good functioning," FIFA said in a letter sent from its headquarters in Zurich to the GFA secretariat.

The letter was also copied to FIFA's vice-president and CONCACAF president Jack Warner, as well as Folkes.

Folkes had been protesting his administration's expulsion on the grounds that proper procedure was not followed.

"It appears clearly that the majority of its members are against the executive committee," the letter stated.

"In addition, the GFA is in an administrative turmoil which has a direct impact on its finances."

Violating GFA statutes

Last year, FIFA ruled that the Folkes-led executive was guilty of violating GFA statutes after they refused to hold an extraordinary general meeting of the council to entertain a no-confidence motion against him.

In their letter, FIFA expressed support for a five-man interim committee appointed by the GFA General Council.

Speaker of the Grenada Parliament, George McGuire, heads the committee which also includes Assistant Commissioner of Police Smith Roberts.

FIFA has given the interim committee six months to adopt FIFA-approved statutes and to elect the executive for the new term.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2009, 02:44:31 PM by Tallman »

wha trouble is this dread .. warner

exactly what needs to happen to our federation

Except that himself would never fire himself

[United States] | 8chotwjf34v227c2
> Referrer: http://www.transparencyinsport.org/contact_andrew.html

Hello Davy - I think the only hope is to work at grass roots to get a fair
and representative constitution for the T&TFF.
Good luck,
Andrew
« Last Edit: October 02, 2009, 02:58:10 PM by davyjenny1 »

where is lasana these days

« Last Edit: October 02, 2009, 03:56:48 PM by E-man »

can we ask our local clubs why they think the present executive is the best possible for T&T football, and why they keep voting them in?

The clubs are not 'in charge' (since 1993). Only the regional FA's and other bodies like the referee's assoc. have a vote.
http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/node/214
http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/node/216

« Last Edit: October 02, 2009, 03:40:59 PM by E-man »

I remember before the Gold Cup I was listening to a Grenadian sports program on the radio and they were talking about how the GFA was pretty much broke, couldn't pay the players their bonuses for the doing well in the Digicel Championships, and I think Folkes had to pay for the whole Costa Rica trip out of his own pocket (not sure this was a while back).  Things must have really been bad as Jason Roberts, who despite being born in England has always been very dedicated to the Grenadian national team, retired after that Costa Rica away match.

http://www.transparencyinsport.org/contact_andrew.html
« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2009, 05:01:30 PM »
To contact Andrew Jennings: http://www.transparencyinsport.org/contact_andrew.html

All those who in support of removing those at the very tip top in the TTFF? this is what needs to be done

Hello Davy - I think the only hope is to work at grass roots to get a fair
and representative constitution for the T&TFF.
Good luck,
Andrew
« Last Edit: October 02, 2009, 05:11:20 PM by davyjenny1 »

Could not say it any betta

It sad really.... :'(

What is sad?        Really.............

This is really sad.

Jack Austin Warner, one man, controls your destiny. That is really sad. He is like the Mugabe of football in the region. The Sultan of Swat. The Gaddafi of the desert. Things will never be the same.

Things are happening all over the world. Grenada is the latest example. Change is going to happen in Trinidad and Tobago.  All it takes is a group of people to believe in positive change, to actually go out there and make it happen. Call it a revolution if you will but change is always good and it doesn't have to be violent but it will happen. It's just a matter of time. Shit is f&^ked up. We are in that moment where change is necessary.

We are suppose to be a World Cup Soccer nation. Do you understand what that really means?. If you don't then let me apologise if I offend you.

Those of you that settle for what is, instead of what can be, are a small minded nation of pussies. You are just like the so called professional football players that play football in this soccer loving nation that allow Jack Warner and his group of imps to be the ultimate say so of your destiny. Forgive me but I must exercise my prerogative to tell you that you are followers of a small minded group of thieves that are determine to lead others down the road to oblivion. Densil Theobald is the symbol of your propensity to settle for empty promises, promises that have littered your past and continue to define your present.

Wake up and realize that you exist in a region that is begging for you to step up to the plate and be the trailblazers that you truly are. Don't settle for mediocrity. By all means examine the development program and demand change if those elected to execute that daunting task fail to live up to expectations. Ask questions of the administration. What the f%$k.

I bet most of you don't even know who the Chairman of the Technical Committee is. I bet most of you don't even know what Lincoln Phillips job responsibilites are. I bet that most of you don't even know what the technical committee's mission is.

Wake up............  :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
« Last Edit: October 03, 2009, 01:16:31 AM by King Deese »

This is really sad.

Jack Austin Warner, one man, controls your destiny. That is really sad. He is like the Mugabe of football in the region. The Sultan of Swat. The Gaddafi of the desert. Things will never be the same.

Things are happening all over the world. Grenada is the latest example. Change is going to happen in Trinidad and Tobago.  All it takes is a group of people to believe in positive change, to actually go out there and make it happen. Call it a revolution if you will but change is always good and it doesn't have to be violent but it will happen. It's just a matter of time. Shit is f&^ked up. We are in that moment where change is necessary.

We are suppose to be a World Cup Soccer nation. Do you understand what that really means?. If you don't then let me apologize if I offend you.

Those of you that settle for what is, instead of what can be, are a small minded nation of pussies. You are just like the so called professional football players that play football in this soccer loving nation that allow Jack Warner and his group of imps to be the ultimate say so of your destiny. Forgive me but I must exercise my prerogative to tell you that you are followers of a small minded group of thieves that are determine to lead others down the road to oblivion. Densil Theobald is the symbol of your propensity to settle for empty promises, promises that have littered your past and continue to define your present.

Wake up and realize that you exist in a region that is begging for you to step up to the plate and be the trailblazers that you truly are. Don't settle for mediocrity. By all means examine the development program and demand change if those elected to execute that daunting task fail to live up to expectations. Ask questions of the administration. What the f%$k.

I bet most of you don't even know who the Chairman of the Technical Committee is. I bet most of you don't even know what Lincoln Phillips job responsibilites are. I bet that most of you don't even know what the technical committee's mission is.

:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:
United we stand divided we fall
« Last Edit: October 03, 2009, 03:20:32 AM by davyjenny1 »

heavy politics in fifa. The sponsors using fifa as a vehicle to market it's products so they(fifa) bind them into contracts with up front monies over a period of time so fifa funds is  guaranteed  during that time frame, if they (the sponsors) pull away fifa can be crippled but then again... this shi* runs deep, too much under hand dealings.  
« Last Edit: October 03, 2009, 04:01:32 AM by davyjenny1 »

This is really sad.

We are suppose to be a World Cup Soccer nation. Do you understand what that really means?. If you don't then let me apologise if I offend you.

U di not read 1 of LP gr8 accomplishments was gettin Ince 2 stop cussin he defence.

unfortunately THAT will never happen to the TTFF Executive as they are the Spetial Advithors YES MEN
if they get STONES and blank AJW then is trouble

FIFA = modern day Colonialist :devil:
they could never do that in a bigger country Association
« Last Edit: October 03, 2009, 09:34:55 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.