April 26, 2024, 11:12:18 PM

Author Topic: The perpetual problem with T&T football  (Read 4139 times)

The perpetual problem with T&T football
« on: October 03, 2009, 08:17:11 PM »
Watch this video clip, take in the crowd reaction then tell me whats wrong with this picture...

http://www.schoolsportcentre.com/VideoGallery.php?vid=584&catid=53

Re: The perpetual problem with T&T football
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2009, 08:30:07 PM »
d crowd get excited when d player in d blue put down a beats  ???

BTW, daiz women playin  ???

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2009, 08:33:26 PM »
Dinho, yuh make mih day with that. We should be able to laugh and enjoy that.....but most of we ballers doh understand nothing beyond what dat youth do dey. Hilarious, but sad at de same time
Doh loss yuh head boss

« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2009, 08:42:13 PM »
Plus the pull back wasn't even all that lol...

also...Iz a karate chop leggo dey after the ball went out?

« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2009, 09:19:47 PM »
No end product. Nobody cared.

Offline Kayus

« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2009, 08:26:14 AM »
don't be quick criticize de man de man after one clip. he have a lil sumn...he still learning.  have a look at this one. pres fuh life!

http://www.schoolsportcentre.com/sportsvideogallery.php?vid=774&sport=1

« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2009, 08:56:05 AM »
don't be quick criticize de man de man after one clip. he have a lil sumn...he still learning.  have a look at this one. pres fuh life!

Kayus, i eh criticizing the man at all, i sure he have sumthin..

yuh eh ketch de heights, is de fact that the crowd gone crazy fuh dat..

Offline Kayus

« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2009, 09:13:16 AM »
Insert Quote
Quote from: Kayus on Today at 08:26:14 AM

Kayus, i eh criticizing the man at all, i sure he have sumthin..

yuh eh ketch de heights, is de fact that the crowd gone crazy fuh dat..

i understood where you were comin from, and iz so true. me and my boys always joke and say that in tnt we scream more for small beats or when a bullet crash the crossbar/post, than when an actual goal score.

« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2009, 09:31:55 AM »
The problem is not that the crowd was excited by the man trying that move. The problem is he didn't execute it properly. All football fans can appreciate a good dribble. Listen to the crowd reaction in this clip.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/8ep-Iyg2lx8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/8ep-Iyg2lx8</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/K40dWYyxK_Q" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/K40dWYyxK_Q</a>
« Last Edit: October 04, 2009, 09:47:35 AM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2009, 12:50:48 PM »
The problem is not that the crowd was excited by the man trying that move. The problem is he didn't execute it properly. All football fans can appreciate a good dribble. Listen to the crowd reaction in this clip.

I would say that the problem is that even though he didn't execute it properly he still get clap and acclaim for it. And as a result of that many players end up focussing on the beatsing and making man look bad even though there is no end product and nothing to be gained by it. Yuh hear the crowd get excited by the beat buh yuh eh hear no groan of disappointment when he lose de ball out of bounds. And I believe that that is what Dinho is trying to hilight with that video.

« Reply #10 on: October 04, 2009, 12:59:12 PM »

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/8ep-Iyg2lx8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/8ep-Iyg2lx8</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/K40dWYyxK_Q" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/K40dWYyxK_Q</a>

Lord have mercy, Ronaldo make de man sit down :rotfl: :rotfl:

Seriously doh, if dat had happen in Intercol there would have been a pitch invasion, no doubt ;D

« Reply #11 on: October 04, 2009, 01:08:38 PM »

my... fleckin... word!!! :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #12 on: October 05, 2009, 06:15:47 AM »
I understand where Dinho coming from, but just let them boys be. As long as he did not do it in his end of the field. Since my time in school football, it has always been like that. QRC, Saints, Fatima, Belmont, Tranquil have had their own "beatser-boy". What about Clausel, Peter Mitchell, LaForest, Spann, Sutherland, Tom Philips, etc. The list goes on and on. That is part and parcel of school football. That is why school football is still popular. That is for the students to brag about on the bus the next day. 

« Reply #13 on: October 05, 2009, 07:22:26 AM »
Me eh see nothing to talk about here. Crowd eh get on exceptional or nothing to me. A few girls screaming in the crowd and then he lose the ball. How many school girls understand the sport? In school girls only dey for the hype and lime to tell they girl friends 'I was dey girl'.  ;D

« Reply #14 on: October 05, 2009, 08:08:50 AM »
The point is that in T&T the criteria that makes one a 'big footballer' is whether the man could beats and embarass men (whether or not the skills led to anything productive for the team), rather than on technique, ball control, passing, organization, running off the ball, fitness, etc. Yes, there are ppl who understand that dribbling skills are just a small part of what would make a top footballer, but those ppl are few and far between. And until we change that mentality from the youth levels, it's gonna be even harder for us to make any kind of consistent impact on the world stage.

« Reply #15 on: October 05, 2009, 08:43:06 AM »
The point is that in T&T the criteria that makes one a 'big footballer' is whether the man could beats and embarass men (whether or not the skills led to anything productive for the team), rather than on technique, ball control, passing, organization, running off the ball, fitness, etc. Yes, there are ppl who understand that dribbling skills are just a small part of what would make a top footballer, but those ppl are few and far between. And until we change that mentality from the youth levels, it's gonna be even harder for us to make any kind of consistent impact on the world stage.

Go to the head of the class... :beermug:

« Reply #16 on: October 05, 2009, 01:22:19 PM »

And the saddest irony is that when yuh watch our nat'l teams play nowadays, we eat alot more beat than we share out...

For all our love of dribbling, it realllll hard to find a good one-on-one player on our Nat'l squad. 

« Reply #17 on: October 05, 2009, 02:43:32 PM »
kicker,
         tell us who on the national is  a  great dribblers. None!!!

« Reply #18 on: October 05, 2009, 02:52:40 PM »

And the saddest irony is that when yuh watch our nat'l teams play nowadays, we eat alot more beat than we share out...

For all our love of dribbling, it realllll hard to find a good one-on-one player on our Nat'l squad. 

Sad but very true. And I find it has an effect on our defending as well....men so afraid to eat beat that we play very tentatively in defence a lot of the time, and allow opponents too much time and space to operate. Not that we should rush in like madmen or anything, but we see far too often opposing players getting too much time to shoot, or make that final killer pass against us.

« Reply #19 on: October 05, 2009, 03:00:02 PM »
kicker,
         tell us who on the national is  a  great dribblers. None!!!

I know men on dat current national team dat would put u to lie dong wit beat wus dan wha Ronaldo do de man in Jah Gol clip.

Men who better dan Sammy could even hope to be.

« Reply #20 on: October 05, 2009, 03:16:42 PM »

Sad but very true. And I find it has an effect on our defending as well....men so afraid to eat beat that we play very tentatively in defence a lot of the time, and allow opponents too much time and space to operate. Not that we should rush in like madmen or anything, but we see far too often opposing players getting too much time to shoot, or make that final killer pass against us.

That is one of my main peeves with out players...men so fraid to get beat that they does just shadow men, and even escort the forward into the 6yds...never even sticking a foot until the man the pass them and gone to goal.  Our defensive players does never shot down a play unless a forward make an errant pass or lose the ball.

On a different note, how on one hand men getting chastised for dribbling a player, then on the other hand I hearing we ent have no good dribblers on we team ?

« Reply #21 on: October 05, 2009, 03:28:26 PM »
Palos,
         Apart from Tinto(he has plenty potential)tell me who is a great one on one player on our current team.

« Reply #22 on: October 05, 2009, 03:38:08 PM »
Tinto, Carlos and Andre Toussaint are the only players with above average dribbling ability i can think of.

In some sense i feel like dribbling is being coached out of our professional players when they go abroad, particularly the ones that go to the English leagues.. In the aftermath of the strike squad, alot of our players went abroad to the UK and you see that dribbling has been discouraged.

Yorke is a prime example.. that used to real beat in his Signal Hill days. I remember him coming back down from Aston Villa for a game and he was trying a jokey stutter beat on the sidelines, and the crowd was wondering what is that he trying?

That eventually tracked down to our national team as players came back with more focus on the fundamentals.. Also, i feel that local coaching has assumed more structure over the years an individual play became less of a factor, but i could be wrong all the same.

On another note, study the irony. On one hand I saying is ah setta excessive noise in the video clip for a beat that come to nothing. On the other hand ah cyah get enough of that Ronaldo clip even though he loss the ball after..

« Reply #23 on: October 05, 2009, 03:44:15 PM »
Tinto, Carlos and Andre Toussaint are the only players with above average dribbling ability i can think of.

In some sense i feel like dribbling is being coached out of our professional players when they go abroad, particularly the ones that go to the English leagues.. In the aftermath of the strike squad, alot of our players went abroad to the UK and you see that dribbling has been discouraged.

Yorke is a prime example.. that used to real beat in his Signal Hill days. I remember him coming back down from Aston Villa for a game and he was trying a jokey stutter beat on the sidelines, and the crowd was wondering what is that he trying?

That eventually tracked down to our national team as players came back with more focus on the fundamentals.. Also, i feel that local coaching has assumed more structure over the years an individual play became less of a factor, but i could be wrong all the same.

On another note, study the irony. On one hand I saying is ah setta excessive noise in the video clip for a beat that come to nothing. On the other hand ah cyah get enough of that Ronaldo clip even though he loss the ball after..

At first I thought he had lost the ball after too, but check out the clip again...it seems as though he passed it off to the other player a split second before the defender clip him on the boots.

« Reply #24 on: October 05, 2009, 09:48:31 PM »
we have no real good dribblers on our current national team, de best in the past 15 years were latas, dwarika and evans wise, wise have de award for best "negative" dribbler, typically when u dribble u advance the ball up de field but wise usually dribbles 3 men and ends up closer to his goal. 

« Reply #25 on: October 06, 2009, 01:47:30 AM »

If you look carefully, he didnt lose the ball....he passed it with his right foot to the fella behind him  :beermug:

« Reply #26 on: October 06, 2009, 02:27:45 PM »

It look like the defender kicked it away because of the angle that the ball traveled, but look closely at Ronaldo's foot and yuh will see how he wrap his ankle around the ball and pass it back.

« Reply #27 on: October 06, 2009, 02:45:49 PM »
Watch this video clip, take in the crowd reaction then tell me whats wrong with this picture...

http://www.schoolsportcentre.com/VideoGallery.php?vid=584&catid=53

Nothing wrong happen. Where in the world people won't go crazy over a beat. It have ah man on here have a clip with Ronadinho putting ah breed on Essien or Mikel I think and Ronaldinho lost the ball right after. You have to remember the demographics of the crowd and the players.

It is good that the youth man attmpting to take on players on their endline. Now it's up to the coach to ask him what other options he might consider in such a situation. he in the right position to attempt such a move, PK, FK Corners could come into play.

« Reply #28 on: October 06, 2009, 04:09:42 PM »
Elan,
          I agree with you.

« Reply #29 on: October 06, 2009, 04:37:05 PM »
carlos cud dribble eh, but sometimes he does overdo it an more often dan not, he does end up lossin d ball. dat does geh me vex. i rather yuh eh dribble, dan yuh dribble as loss possession