April 17, 2024, 06:41:45 PM

Author Topic: Ex boxing Champs who made it big.  (Read 4412 times)

Ex boxing Champs who made it big.
« on: October 05, 2009, 05:41:42 AM »
Name two ex boxing Champions from TT who went on to earn a fortune after boxing becoming millionaires.

Yes they made their fortune whilst living in TT.

TM not you please.  ;D

Re: Ex boxing Champs who made it big.
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2009, 06:02:41 AM »
VB that is like to easy. Its not like we had alot of them...

« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2009, 08:03:30 AM »
VB that is like to easy. Its not like we had alot of them...

Read the question very carefully. I didn't ask which boxers became millionaires. I said AFTER their careers. Not DURING their careers.

You know one ex champ from TT who IS a millionaire TODAY?

« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2009, 11:52:53 AM »
Fitzroy "The Whip" Vanderpool?.....
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2009, 12:18:18 PM »
Fitzroy "The Whip" Vanderpool?.....

Well he was successful as a boxer. However, I am not aware that he's a millionaire unless you take his Canadian dollars and convert them to TT. Are you sure about Vanderpool or are you taking a guess.

« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2009, 05:51:16 AM »
Let me give you some hints.

One is dead. One is still alive. Both were amateur champs but never turned pro.
Although both made it big in other ventures, they remained close to boxing. One is a former Presdient of the
TTBC.

« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2009, 12:00:42 AM »

Although both made it big in other ventures, they remained close to boxing. One is a former Presdient of the
TTBC.

Tall Man go tru if you can :-)

« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2009, 05:50:57 AM »

TTBC.

Tall Man go tru if you can :-)

One ah dem is Arnim Smith

« Reply #8 on: October 07, 2009, 07:34:52 AM »
Yep. One more to go.

« Reply #9 on: October 08, 2009, 03:04:24 AM »
Last hint, he's a local white.
That should narrow it down.

« Reply #10 on: October 09, 2009, 03:28:09 AM »
Maybe TM not around, so I giving allyuh one more day.

« Reply #11 on: October 09, 2009, 08:40:29 PM »
Bootkins Alkins

« Reply #12 on: October 10, 2009, 04:10:56 AM »
Bootkins Alkins

Deeks seriously, Alkins was a millionaire?? ::)

« Reply #13 on: October 10, 2009, 10:21:49 PM »
Me ain't know. I guessing

« Reply #14 on: October 10, 2009, 10:28:21 PM »
Bootkins Alkins
he soundin like ah pirate.

« Reply #15 on: October 11, 2009, 12:03:21 AM »
Bootkins Alkins
he soundin like ah pirate.

Bootkins Alkins was considered THE reporter in his day. He covered a number of sports, including cricket, football boxing. He was a pretty decent athlete in his youth. He was a national boxing Champion and I believe played another sport for TT maybe football. The older fellas here could tell you.
When I started writing sports in Toronto for the C'bbn papers, my father used to joke and say I was the local Bootkins Alkins.

I used to hear a lot about him growing up, mostly as a reporter. I think he died in the 80s. Strangely enough despite all that he accomplished I could find very little about him on the net.

This is one of his articles........btw the answer is not Alkins.
http://library2.nalis.gov.tt/infofiles/collect/news3/index/assoc/HASH932d/dcd68855.dir/27.jpg

« Reply #16 on: October 11, 2009, 12:04:59 AM »
Answer to the quiz question:

Arnim Smith the ex President of Pan Trinbago, who passed away some years ago.

Richard Farah - ex Manager of Claude Noel and Leslie Stewart.