March 28, 2024, 07:17:14 AM

Author Topic: Teams will fear Jones, says Bruce  (Read 12438 times)

Teams will fear Jones, says Bruce
« on: October 06, 2009, 05:18:40 AM »
By Ian Laws (Sunderland Echo)

Kenwyne Jones is rediscovering the form that made him "one of the most feared centre-forwards in the Premier League", reckons Sunderland boss Steve Bruce.

Jones grabbed his fifth goal of the season in Saturday's dramatic 2-2 draw at Manchester United.

He remains just two goals behind record signing and top scorer Darren Bent and Bruce must now hope the 25-year-old returns unscathed from Trinidad & Tobago's final World Cup qualifiers against Costa Rica and Mexico.

"Kenwyne is looking more like his old self," said Bruce.

"For a few months last season, even I was looking – from afar, because I was at Wigan – and thinking 'go on Kenwyne, can you find the form that made you probably one of the most feared centre-forwards in the league?'

"Because when he is really at it, that's what he is. And he looks like he is getting back to that again."

Jones and Bent's 12-goal partnership has been pivotal to Sunderland's strong start to the season, which sees them sitting eighth in the Premier League going into the international break ahead of an October 17 home clash with Liverpool.

Bruce has also added Fraizer Campbell to his striking options and views Kieran Richardson as an option up front as well as David Healy and Daryl Murphy.

Despite the impact of Bent and Jones, the manager says he will be prepared to mix it up in attack as the season progresses.

He admits: "I probably don't know my best pairing yet. It's horses for courses.

"It's a long, hard season, and players are bound to pick up knocks, a suspension or fall out of form.

"I haven't formulated anything just yet. But the one thing I have noticed with Benty, Fraizer and Kenwyne is that they enjoy playing with each other. That's important – there's a friendship and a respect coming between them.

"When Benty allowed Kenwyne to take the penalty against Wolves, I wasn't very happy but it was a sign of the spirit that's coming within the squad.

"Could you see Djibril Cisse throwing the ball to Kenwyne last season? I don't think so."

Trinidad & Tobago are away to Costa Rica on Saturday and host Mexico a week tomorrow. The Soca Warriors can't qualify for next summer's World Cup finals in South Africa.

Re: Teams will fear Jones, says Bruce
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2009, 06:19:48 AM »
Which teams fearing Jones ?

Joe Public ?

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2009, 06:31:29 AM »

Joe Public ?
I've come to realize that every coach @ Sunderland has seen Jones as a top class striker when in form....maybe there is something we aren't doing locally to bring that out in him

Offline noize

« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2009, 06:32:37 AM »

Joe Public ?

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:   all yuh good yes...

« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2009, 06:32:54 AM »

Joe Public ?

I was now coming to ask a similar question....

« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2009, 07:02:35 AM »
Al Davis, owner of the Oak. Raiders used to say " just win, baby, just win". As long as Sunderland win, all arguments are mute.

« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2009, 07:04:34 AM »
As long as Sunderland win, all arguments are mute.

And when dey lose, de arguments dem loud?  8)

« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2009, 07:08:48 AM »

Joe Public ?

AH would like to see a nex T&T player score 5 goals in 8 BPL games.

I cyah think of one other.

Big striker Jason Scotland cyah manage one yet.

Jones BPL goal tally dis season alone done double de all time leading T&T scorer CAREER EPL tally.

If KJ so shitty, wha dat really sayin bout de ress?

Allyuh good yes.

« Reply #8 on: October 06, 2009, 07:30:35 AM »

Joe Public ?

Jones BPL goal tally dis season alone done double de all time leading T&T scorer CAREER EPL tally.

Allyuh good yes.

U eh get d memo dat dey use 2 send 4 DY dey justcut he name and paste KJ. He doh play 4 oui.

I see meh boy Kenwyne
« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2009, 08:04:05 AM »
This weekend I was watching Tv and I see me boy Kenwyne

check for a ball.

Play a nice first time ball (good touch) back to the midfielder

Peel off into the box for the return.

eyes focused on the ball
cross ball comes in man jump into and through a keeper on a 50/50 ball and will the ball into the net.

And I say whey, That man has good first touch knows how to run off the ball and willing to put his life on the line for the team to score.

This the is same man that will not even run through a 5 foot 4 El Salvadorian weighing 135 pounds for the red white and black.
Only Shadowing and going through the motions on the field.
I feel the injury he get against england change his midset.
Just like what happend to Yorke in Jamaica.

But I carh blame the man.

Is bout 20 million pounds or more he making to run out for sunderland for TnT he luckly to get 2000 US for match fees and that is only when they pay.

You have to put it all on the line to keep your place especially when you playing versus the champions.

But no worries in 10 years he could come back and play midfield for TnT after he done break all the premiership records in scoring. Just like Yorkie.

It only have 2 types of players who does play good for TnT.

1) Those who trying to reach where Kenwyne is
2) Those who comming to the end of the career and desperate for one last time to play in the world cup.

everything in between is waste of time.
They just not going to put it on the line and leave it all on the field.

But as I say, I carh blame the man.

« Reply #10 on: October 06, 2009, 08:10:10 AM »
By Ian Laws (Sunderland Echo)

"Could you see Djibril Cisse throwing the ball to Kenwyne last season? I don't think so."

I thought Cisse and Jones had a good understanding of eachother as well, and they were supposedly good friends off the field too...

They just didn't have as good midfield service/support, so they looked more disjointed up top.

« Reply #11 on: October 06, 2009, 08:38:35 AM »

Joe Public ?

Allyuh good yes.

It would have been nice to score at least one for he country in this campaign.....I still wondering why he even bother to come back for the next 2 games....oh yes, something about caps needed to play in the UK..... :-X

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
Re: I see meh boy Kenwyne
« Reply #12 on: October 06, 2009, 08:39:16 AM »
Yuh NOW realizing this? Dat is what made men like Dog and Shaka special, although IMO Shaka's best moments were during 2006.

« Reply #13 on: October 06, 2009, 08:44:57 AM »

Allyuh good yes.

I happy KJ scorin, but goals in the EPL not doin much for me.
Scoring goals for your country, especially to get them to the World Cup, is much more important than scoring for your club.
Who here would not prefer that he was scorin those goals for T&T?

« Reply #14 on: October 06, 2009, 08:51:56 AM »
KND besides Yorke and KJ I don't think this happened to any of our players.

Shaka had big contracts but he never played like he had one eye on Newcastle or West Ham.

« Reply #15 on: October 06, 2009, 08:53:14 AM »
Is it fair 2 compare Sunderland 2 TNT. We eh even talkin players dat KJ plays wit. We talkin environment. Sunderland is a team. TNT is a bunch of individuals wearin d same kit. So doh compare d both ah dem. As 4 usin we 2 get her wuk permit JW usin he 2 get we money so we go c him.

« Reply #16 on: October 06, 2009, 08:53:53 AM »

Joe Public ?

Allyuh good yes.

all time leading TnT scorer have to play in the EPL to score in the EPL..

allyuh like lackaray talk yes.

« Reply #17 on: October 06, 2009, 08:54:27 AM »
KND besides Yorke and KJ I don't think this happened to any of our players.

Shaka had big contracts but he never played like he had one eye on Newcastle or West Ham.

Like iz only strikers it does happen 2.

« Reply #18 on: October 06, 2009, 08:54:47 AM »

Joe Public ?
I've come to realize that every coach @ Sunderland has seen Jones as a top class striker when in form....maybe there is something we aren't doing locally to bring that out in him

that would be crossing the ball.

« Reply #19 on: October 06, 2009, 09:51:29 AM »

Allyuh good yes.

Scoring goals for your country, especially to get them to the World Cup, is much more important than scoring for your club.

:idea:
Just making the EPL team doing plenty for me
One of the greatest players couldn't reach
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Weah

"As successful as he was at club level, Weah was not able to bring over that success to the Liberian national team. He has done everything with the squad from playing to coaching to financing it, but failed to qualify for a single World Cup, falling just a point short in qualifying for the 2002 tournament. This has all led to Weah being known as one of the best footballers never to have played in a World Cup.

"

« Reply #20 on: October 06, 2009, 10:06:07 AM »

Joe Public ?

Allyuh good yes.

As if he never play in de EPL.

« Reply #21 on: October 06, 2009, 10:27:24 AM »

Allyuh good yes.

:idea:
Just making the EPL team doing plenty for me
One of the greatest players couldn't reach
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Weah

"As successful as he was at club level, Weah was not able to bring over that success to the Liberian national team. He has done everything with the squad from playing to coaching to financing it, but failed to qualify for a single World Cup, falling just a point short in qualifying for the 2002 tournament. This has all led to Weah being known as one of the best footballers never to have played in a World Cup.

"

You could settle for that if you want, but it's not enough for me.

« Reply #22 on: October 06, 2009, 10:29:59 AM »

Joe Public ?

Allyuh good yes.

play consistently.. is everything i must read and spell for you?

« Reply #23 on: October 06, 2009, 10:35:14 AM »
Everybody on this forum knows that the reasons for KJ lack of scoring for TT is due to the poor mid-field play. We DO NOT have good mid-field players at this moment. Like wise Sunderland mid-field was not effective. If Sunderland had good mid-field, Roy Keane would still be coach. Look you could get away with crappy mid for one season. But you better get decent ones for the next season or else........

« Reply #24 on: October 06, 2009, 10:38:42 AM »

Joe Public ?

Allyuh good yes.

play consistently.. is everything i must read and spell for you?

Yuh have to be good enough to play consistently. 

H.E  W.A.S.N.T.

« Reply #25 on: October 06, 2009, 11:01:40 AM »
Everybody on this forum knows that the reasons for KJ lack of scoring for TT is due to the poor mid-field play. We DO NOT have good mid-field players at this moment. Like wise Sunderland mid-field was not effective. If Sunderland had good mid-field, Roy Keane would still be coach. Look you could get away with crappy mid for one season. But you better get decent ones for the next season or else........

Wrong he doh play good 4 oui by choice he doh jump high enuff when d ball reach him.

« Reply #26 on: October 06, 2009, 11:05:25 AM »

Wrong he doh play good 4 oui by choice he doh jump high enuff when d ball reach him.
Funny how de Sunderland fans does say de same ting. It mus be he just doh like to play for nobody.

« Reply #27 on: October 06, 2009, 11:07:20 AM »

Funny how de Sunderland fans does say de same ting. It mus be he just doh like to play for nobody.

Yep he dey 4 d money

« Reply #28 on: October 06, 2009, 11:11:32 AM »

They eh have nutting to complain about, he scorin for them!
If his form for Sunderland was like his form for T&T he woulda been deep in de bench.

« Reply #29 on: October 06, 2009, 11:19:41 AM »

Fans are neva happy
They eh have nutting to complain about, he scorin for them!
If his form for Sunderland was like his form for T&T he woulda been deep in de bench.