March 19, 2024, 12:08:15 AM

Author Topic: Please put this 'clown' Jack back in his box  (Read 3363 times)

Please put this 'clown' Jack back in his box
« on: October 10, 2009, 06:16:45 PM »
The Last Word: Please put this 'clown' Jack back in his box
By James Corrigan (The Independent)

Having to suck up to Warner is why England should never have bid for 2018 World Cup

It cannot be easy being Jack Warner. On Tuesday you feel obliged to tell a football association sitting in front of you that they are a bunch of lightweights who wouldn't know a World Cup bid from a jolly in London. And in the three working days thereafter you not only have to rip up the sport's rulebook, inventing new laws on the spot, but also return home to inform your country that the public has lost confidence in its government.

Yes, it must be hard, but very gratifying. Fancy possessing all the answers, as well as the access to the podiums on which to have them heard? Thank goodness men like Warner are so giving of their time that they can take up so many positions of power. I mean, what would football and Trinidad do without him as the Fifa vice-president and a leading opposition MP?

In England the answer might well be "host a World Cup", although to some of the footballing powerbrokers having to bow and scrape, it could be "look myself in the mirror". The problem is that Lord Triesman and the rest of the FA could never answer honestly because Warner holds the key to so many votes. Here is the living, bequeathing proof why England should never have bothered with a bid. Having to suck up to the likes of him just isn't worth the saliva.

In an ideal world, the FA could follow Roy Keane's lead a few years ago. After Warner criticised the then Sunderland manager for not releasing Dwight Yorke, Keane told him he was a "clown" and vowed to have nothing more to do with him. "Everybody talks about owners and chairmen in football," said Keane. "But if he's vice-president of Fifa, God help everybody."

How those comments chimed last week at Stamford Bridge when Warner proudly took his place as the first speaker at "The Leadership Summit", which, with its grand title, perhaps inspired those at the pulpit to play The Big I Am. Warner certainly did. If his ultimatum to the FA to employ David Beckham and/or the Queen to lead the 2018 campaign did not stand up to serious scrutiny, some of his arguments could barely raise themselves off the floor they were so laughable.

Sadly, Warner was actually praised for calling for divers to be sin-binned. At Chelsea HQ he suggested they receive a five-minute punishment, but then warming to his theme in front of the Sky Sports cameras he updated this to 10 minutes (far more statesmanlike). It was left to Graham Poll to appear on screen to advise that because of the muddled ruling concerning what does and does not constitute "diving", or as it is termed in the rulebook, "simulation", this would not be as wonderfully effective as it sounds. And whose muddled ruling is this? You've got it: Fifa's.

Unfortunately, Poll was not asked to comment on another of Warner's revolutionary "tweaks". The free-kick wall isn't very fair, it's too wide and evidently stops specialists like his beloved Beckham converting more of their majestic curlers. So here's what Jack would do: limit the number of players who can form the wall to the number of players who committed the foul. Hey presto, most of the time the dead-ball merchants will have only to bypass one body.

Now, just run this through in your mind, forgetting for a moment just how tricky it might be to stop team-mates from standing next to each other. Think of the foulers suddenly hunting in pairs, in threesomes or foursomes maybe. Think how numbskullingly stupid this idea is. And then consider that this has come from the mouth of a human being who happens to be the second most powerful executive in football; a vice-president who has a huge influence on the game's future.

Frightening? Well, if that's the case, I won't mention how Warner wants to reduce teams to 10 players or that he wants the penalty area condensed to nine yards by nine yards (which by my hasty reckoning would result in fewer penalties and more free-kicks blocked by, yes, those damn walls).

When Warner ever opens his mouth wide enough to appear in the British press nowadays, there are always subtle mentions about a past that might just be considered chequered. How he was publicly censured by Fifa after being implicated in selling tickets for three times their face value at the 2006 World Cup. How, in a Panorama expose, he was accused by a former Scottish FA president of asking for Trinidad's match fee to be paid out to him, personally.

But there's really no need for all that. Just report exactly what he says. Warner slaughters his own legitimacy by his own ignorance and, rather inevitably, by his own hubris. In an interview with the Trinidad Guardian in 2000, the former teacher turned multi-millionaire said: "I began buying properties across Trinidad from the salary and allowances I received from Fifa. This made it easy for me to invest. I have had one or two good fortunes."

But still the FA have to take him seriously, as does Sepp Blatter, who is just as reliant on Warner's votes for his presidency. That says everything about the state of football and its rulers. Have Fifa's executive really descended into such a pit of self-obsession that they cannot weigh up a bid purely on its merits? That instead, they require a footballing superstar or the planet's leading royal to show up and assure them how important they all are?

Why not get Simon Cowell involved and make it a popularity show with viewers paying 50p a phone vote? Who would win between Nelson Mandela and Her Royal Highness, between Pele and Beckham and, who knows, between Dylan and McCartney?

But then believe Warner and, effectively, Fifa are already at that stage. When England lost the 2006 bid, a "source", told The Guardian: "Bobby Charlton is a great name but does not have the same standing as Franz Beckenbauer." And that's Fifa, for you. Sir Bobby isn't good enough. Jack Warner is.

Re: Please put this 'clown' Jack back in his box
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2009, 06:22:38 PM »
Ah guess dis man doh like anything coming from Warner?

« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2009, 06:23:51 PM »

« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2009, 06:25:50 PM »
Ah guess dis man doh like anything coming from Warner?

Dat is what u get from readin d article? ok

« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2009, 06:29:19 PM »
chippin away at the Greatest Sports Institution  ::) , that is FIFA and their VP's, one quip filled article at a time ;)

Listen to the audio recording:
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=46520.0
wap nin FLi !
ya orrite man
« Last Edit: October 10, 2009, 06:31:56 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2009, 12:46:59 AM »
James, I just have one question for you. Where is the police when you need them? jakula, the clown, should be arrested. Roy Keane is his master.

« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2009, 03:16:33 AM »

« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2009, 06:05:28 AM »
With all of that, I suspect what hurts the most is the fact that they have to suck up. I say good for them. Everyone have had to suck up over the dam years to England, The Queen and all. Well is time to bring out the queen now if allyuh want to try for de WC. I dont give a rats ass about Warner's stupidity. By the way he aint as stupid as George Bush and he ran a country for 2 terms.

Give dem hell Warner...

P.S. Jack,Please try and keep those great ideas under wraps. Your scaring the Audience.

« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2009, 07:12:46 AM »
The sad part is we does pong Warner the same way. Now some ppl actually seem to take umbrage at the article.

Why?

Because an Englishman wrote it?

The writer is as fed up with JW as we are and some ppl here actually seem to be taking Warner side.  :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2009, 08:25:57 AM »
The sad part is we does pong Warner the same way. Now some ppl actually seem to take umbrage at the article.

Why?

The writer is as fed up with JW as we are and some ppl here actually seem to be taking Warner side.  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Buh VB
he is OUR JackASS to pong ::)

We not goin to allow No Foreigner to pong him, especially ah Limey foreigner  :devil:

look the fearless leader here
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/nW_aJlzN6zM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/nW_aJlzN6zM</a>

some Trinis ARE the best, eh :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
« Last Edit: October 11, 2009, 08:38:39 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2009, 09:06:08 AM »
No Englishman or foreigner could tell us about Jack. Whether or not to criticize him. We have been calling for JW head long before the English smell JW fart. So don't come with this shit that if we agree with the writer that we are somehow cow towing to the whiteman. Don't come with that bullshit. We have been getting Jack's venom since the 70's.

« Reply #11 on: October 11, 2009, 09:18:45 AM »
With Jack its always a case of...do so don't like so....Do as I say but not as I do
Remember this what is good for the goose is also good for the gander

Jack please get this through your thick skull...all cock does crow until they end up in the pot

Jack one more thing,all those who are high up like yourself,when this shot hit the fence,they all will desert you like cockroaches in the night when the light is turned on
You will be needing us.....only time will answer if you will have our support

« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2009, 11:08:21 AM »
With Jack its always a case of...do so don't like so....Do as I say but not as I do
Remember this what is good for the goose is also good for the gander

Jack please get this through your thick skull...all cock does crow until they end up in the pot

Jack one more thing,all those who are high up like yourself,when this shot hit the fence,they all will desert you like cockroaches in the night when the light is turned on
You will be needing us.....only time will answer if you will have our support
JW ent go need us, daiz why he buying property all over TnT.

« Reply #13 on: October 11, 2009, 08:16:08 PM »

Why?

Cosignnnnnnnnnnnnnn

« Reply #14 on: October 13, 2009, 06:13:43 AM »
The game will always need us,for without us there is no game
Likewise without us there is no Jack.....so with all the style the Special Adviser cutting,it will always come down to us......The fans and supporters.... :devil:
Raspect

« Reply #15 on: October 13, 2009, 06:48:55 AM »

Why?

Cosignnnnnnnnnnnnnn

I beg to differ. I dont think the Englishman is as fedup with Warner as we are. They havent taken his abuse for more than a decade. Please dont minimize our pain by placing us next to this lucky come lately guy. My real problem in this situation is the fact that I dont believe that Warner per say is the problem here. I think the English is not accustomed to being put in a position where they have to work. But now they have to. Bring out the guns if yuh want the prize. Dont just expect it to come to you because your English. This is what I suspect is really troubling the English. The Americans were put in their place with the Olympics and its hind time that the English understand that the World has matured. Everyone have to put in a shift now. No more riding on ones' laurels. 

« Reply #16 on: October 13, 2009, 12:15:36 PM »

Why?

Cosignnnnnnnnnnnnnn

I beg to differ. I dont think the Englishman is as fedup with Warner as we are. They havent taken his abuse for more than a decade. Please dont minimize our pain by placing us next to this lucky come lately guy. My real problem in this situation is the fact that I dont believe that Warner per say is the problem here. I think the English is not accustomed to being put in a position where they have to work. But now they have to. Bring out the guns if yuh want the prize. Dont just expect it to come to you because your English. This is what I suspect is really troubling the English. The Americans were put in their place with the Olympics and its hind time that the English understand that the World has matured. Everyone have to put in a shift now. No more riding on ones' laurels. 

IZ not d 1st tme d US get diss NY try 4 2014 and was diss d same way. D IOC and d US havin dey issues. Y wuk when yuh pay a bribe. D FA allow England 2 come 2 d celebrations last yr. Dem eh d 1st country 2 pay bribe and get take 4 a ride. D ting is d bus eh stop yet so more opportumities 2 bribe or wuk.

« Reply #17 on: October 13, 2009, 12:37:38 PM »
No, no. Set him up for the fireside.

« Reply #18 on: October 13, 2009, 12:52:50 PM »
Many of you make take umbrage to the following statement but this is the crux of the matter.

Yuh know what hurting them even more...is a lil stuttering "black man" from two tiny speck of islands that they tired ridicule have they balls in a vice grip.

Yes dats right...the lil ex slave from the former colony, have the massa bawling for mercy.

If Jack was from another "big country" or a different race I am sure the matter would have been handled differently.

Dem ent like nobody talking down to them...and look who!

« Reply #19 on: October 13, 2009, 01:42:51 PM »
Many of you make take umbrage to the following statement but this is the crux of the matter.

Yuh know what hurting them even more...is a lil stuttering "black man" from two tiny speck of islands that they tired ridicule have they balls in a vice grip.

Yes dats right...the lil ex slave from the former colony, have the massa bawling for mercy.

If Jack was from another "big country" or a different race I am sure the matter would have been handled differently.

D tick is dat lil black boi who is now massa enslavin he own so in dis 1 ah eh seein all d philosophy all yuh talkin bout. Put d clown back in d box.

« Reply #20 on: October 13, 2009, 04:22:15 PM »
So because Jack making the English squirm we should side with him. Look if Eng. get or don't get the WC would not address our current situation. We have more serious issue with our football than Jack and the English bachannal. Some of allyuh just like some West Indians who curse the Brits for their colonalist ways but still cling to the Privy Council.

« Reply #21 on: October 14, 2009, 06:17:56 AM »
Now they know how it feels... :devil:
We have been subject to a sense of loss for centuries,while they prospered from our misfortune...
No love for Jack here....but what goes around comes around..... :devil:
They have issues with the man and so do we

« Reply #22 on: October 14, 2009, 06:55:41 AM »
What a thing... it's okay for someone else to have to put up with the nonsense without complaint because:
1. We've been on the receiving end for longer?
2. They were once colonial masters and they deserve a bit of their own medicine?
3. They are white and the protagonist is black and black people suffer too much already?

After reading some of these replies we deserve everything we get from JW and more. There's no way to justify what this man is doing or has done. It doesn't matter if he's a Trini and the writer is English, Bajan or nazi. Why be mad at this Englishman for not tolerating JW's bullshit as soon as he sends it their way instead of taking it for over 20 years like us? It's not their fault that we're a "7-day-wonder" people.

« Reply #23 on: October 14, 2009, 09:02:24 AM »

And Jackula's behaviour at times certainly does nothing to help erase the thought in massa's mind that we are still swing on trees like monkeys....he's a damn disgrace to the country and the human race at large.