October 04, 2024, 06:20:22 PM

Author Topic: USA beats Honduras and heads to South Africa 2010  (Read 6490 times)

USA beats Honduras and heads to South Africa 2010
« on: October 11, 2009, 03:02:47 AM »

United States tips Honduras for sixth consecutive World Cup berth

American players danced in the locker room and swigged some bubbly, With a thrilling victory on a hot and humid night in Central America, the U.S. soccer team earned a trip to South Africa and another chance to impress at the World Cup.

Conor Casey scored his first two international goals in the second half, Landon Donovan added another and the United States clinched its sixth straight World Cup berth with a game to spare by rallying to beat Honduras 3-2 on Saturday night.

"It never gets old, that's for sure," Donovan said. "After what most of us would say was a very disappointing 2006 World Cup, we now have a chance at redemption."

(continue)
« Last Edit: October 11, 2009, 03:18:05 AM by Zeppo »

Re: USA beats Honduras and heads to South Africa 2010
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2009, 04:12:08 AM »
Honduras blew it! lets hope CR lose to the U.S.

« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2009, 05:43:18 AM »
Donovan..... best player in concacaf...! :beermug:

« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2009, 06:10:11 AM »

« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2009, 06:37:38 AM »
Zeppo yuh going to the game on in DC???

« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2009, 06:40:40 AM »
lets hope CR lose to the U.S.

Yeah, I would like to win and send them to the playoffs. I would rather see Honduras qualify automatically.

And no, Daft Trini. Unfortunately I won't be able to make that game.

« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2009, 10:35:44 AM »
Well done Zeppo... go and do Concacaf proud

TTFF should look at the USA Fed and see how to be successful

after 89 USA transformed into a Concacaf powerhouse by being organised.. leaving out the politics.. introducing a youth academy and many other simple techniques to continue successful progression

« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2009, 10:47:10 AM »

after 89 USA transformed into a Concacaf powerhouse by being organised.. leaving out the politics.. introducing a youth academy and many other simple techniques to continue successful progression

They also have 300 million people compared to our 1 million.

« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2009, 11:13:36 AM »

If dey didn't decide to take de sport seriously, all dem millions ah people would not matter.

« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2009, 01:45:20 PM »

and they have yet to produce a player the likes of a Yorke or a Latapy.  Population equaling talent pool is a fallacy.

« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2009, 02:32:48 PM »
Joy and relief as US looks ahead to 2010 World Cup

One by one, U.S. soccer players exited their celebration and came into the dark, narrow hallway outside the locker room of Estadio Olimpico Metropolitano.

They had qualified the United States for its sixth straight World Cup, rallying to beat Honduras 3-2 Saturday night in as thrilling a match as the U.S. has played in years. So they were filled with joy. They also were consumed with relief.

And immediately thoughts turned to an even tougher task—getting out of the first round in South Africa next summer and wiping out the sting of 2006’s disappointment.

(continue)

« Reply #11 on: October 11, 2009, 03:11:05 PM »

and they have yet to produce a player the likes of a Yorke or a Latapy.  Population equaling talent pool is a fallacy.

Really?

Brazil - 5 times champion - 191 million people
Italy - 4 times - 60 million
West Germany - 3 times - roughly 60 million
Argentina - 2 times - 40 million
Uruguay - 2 times - 4 million

If you discount home advantage (which makes a big difference in any sport), these are the only countries to win the World Cup abroad (Brazil being the only one to never win it at home). Uruguay is an obvious anomaly and they won both their cups back when the WC wasnt really a global competition anyway.

The only team to consistently buck the trend has been Holland.

« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2009, 04:00:32 PM »
Really?

If you discount home advantage (which makes a big difference in any sport), these are the only countries to win the World Cup abroad (Brazil being the only one to never win it at home). Uruguay is an obvious anomaly and they won both their cups back when the WC wasnt really a global competition anyway.

How many times China win?  India?

« Reply #13 on: October 11, 2009, 04:28:31 PM »
Congrats Zeppo....   ;D

Seriously, congratulations :applause: :applause: :cheers:.....I can't help but admire how yuh fellow country men still eh really embrace the game but that hasn't stopped your federation from ensuring that your team gets the funding and resources necessary to get there every four years....well done...

OK, OK....I'm over my temporary brain fever...the hate starts again right now.... :devil: ;D

« Reply #14 on: October 11, 2009, 06:12:55 PM »

Really?

Ryan, the former Soviet Union was and Russia still is the largest country in the world.  The current Russian population is over 140,000,000 people.....they have only won a EUROPEAN Championship ONCE.  NEVER a World Cup.  Why is that?  I repeat: Population equaling talent pool is a fallacy......Really.

« Reply #15 on: October 11, 2009, 08:25:43 PM »
again usa will b exitin after 1st round.

« Reply #16 on: October 11, 2009, 08:41:19 PM »
again usa will b exitin after 1st round.
how. what group are they in?  ;D

« Reply #17 on: October 11, 2009, 11:41:21 PM »

Really?

Ryan, the former Soviet Union was and Russia still is the largest country in the world.  The current Russian population is over 140,000,000 people.....they have only won a EUROPEAN Championship ONCE.  NEVER a World Cup.  Why is that?  I repeat: Population equaling talent pool is a fallacy......Really.

It isnt a fallacy, there is a correlation, however there are obviously other (often more important) factors influencing results. The point is if yuh small, yuh eh winning nuthing.

« Reply #18 on: October 12, 2009, 02:36:34 AM »

Small mag right!! yuh on cock ryan! T&T have enough baller tuh compete in concacaf! the federation and it's lkeader should be indicted for missappropiation of government funds, they did nothing !! they didn't hire ah good coach , they didn't play any meaningful friendlies, they facked off government money and stole the rest! jack waner should be in jail!! and ryan , if we only have one mil ppl , then why the fack we doh keep we arse quiet and leave the ppl football alone? why compete if we will fall short! defeatist attitude my friend !!

BTW we have more  of ah pool than the usa! we have whitley , sancho , roberts . glenn , s. john , a john, lawrence, jones , C edwards, a edwards, cupid, james, c samuels, jl samuels, thomas, bakar, hislop,  andrews, telesford, jaggy, williams,  birchall, spann, noel, n daniel, k daniel, tinto, telesford, wolf, leon, farrier, gyd gray,  jake thompson,  fitzpatrick, theobald, power, scottland, sealy, k. cononnell, patterson, chubby andrew,  ince, jm. williams, m. phillips, dawyne jack,  k smith, E. mc farlene. any ,any more! what does 1 .5 mil have tuh do with it ! we have footbal in our genes. that argument weak! we have 1.5 mil and we produce 4 silver medellist in the 4 x 100 in the olympics sprinting! poor excuse! we federation iz ah bunch ah arseholes ! case closed!

« Reply #19 on: October 12, 2009, 03:30:55 AM »

Really?

It isnt a fallacy, there is a correlation, however there are obviously other (often more important) factors influencing results. The point is if yuh small, yuh eh winning nuthing.

Ryan, boy.  You are absolutely RIGHT.  All of our football teams that have ever "qualified" for any international tournaments really needed to have conceded their positions to other countries.  As a matter of fact, just within concacaf alone, given that we only have 3.5 berths for the World Cup, we should just automatically acquiesce to countries like Cuba, Haiti, Jamaica, DEFINITELY Canada, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and the majority of the Central American countries, let alone usa and Mexico.  You are absolutely right, my friend.  Forget the men's and women's youth teams.  We have no right and should not be so ambitious as to even compete for any spots in those respective World Cups, either.  I mean, we are a wee, tiny, little piece ah rock with an in-house pop. of 1.5 million.  Who de HELL we tink we is?  Where de HELL we expect to go?  What de HELL we could possibly know 'bout football.  I will concede this discussion to you because you obviously have about 10X the brain matter that I do......and I starting to look like a fool in engaging this conversation, too.

« Reply #20 on: October 12, 2009, 06:35:47 AM »

Small mag right!! yuh on cock ryan! T&T have enough baller tuh compete in concacaf! the federation and it's lkeader should be indicted for missappropiation of government funds, they did nothing !! they didn't hire ah good coach , they didn't play any meaningful friendlies, they facked off government money and stole the rest! jack waner should be in jail!! and ryan , if we only have one mil ppl , then why the fack we doh keep we arse quiet and leave the ppl football alone? why compete if we will fall short! defeatist attitude my friend !!

BTW we have more  of ah pool than the usa! we have whitley , sancho , roberts . glenn , s. john , a john, lawrence, jones , C edwards, a edwards, cupid, james, c samuels, jl samuels, thomas, bakar, hislop,  andrews, telesford, jaggy, williams,  birchall, spann, noel, n daniel, k daniel, tinto, telesford, wolf, leon, farrier, gyd gray,  jake thompson,  fitzpatrick, theobald, power, scottland, sealy, k. cononnell, patterson, chubby andrew,  ince, jm. williams, m. phillips, dawyne jack,  k smith, E. mc farlene. any ,any more! what does 1 .5 mil have tuh do with it ! we have footbal in our genes. that argument weak! we have 1.5 mil and we produce 4 silver medellist in the 4 x 100 in the olympics sprinting! poor excuse! we federation iz ah bunch ah arseholes ! case closed!

I think that your assessment is inaccurate. Ask yourself this, of the players that you listed, how many of them can even make bench for the US 2nd eleven. Be honest…..

« Reply #21 on: October 12, 2009, 01:29:04 PM »

Really?

Ryan, boy.  You are absolutely RIGHT.  All of our football teams that have ever "qualified" for any international tournaments really needed to have conceded their positions to other countries.  As a matter of fact, just within concacaf alone, given that we only have 3.5 berths for the World Cup, we should just automatically acquiesce to countries like Cuba, Haiti, Jamaica, DEFINITELY Canada, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and the majority of the Central American countries, let alone usa and Mexico.  You are absolutely right, my friend.  Forget the men's and women's youth teams.  We have no right and should not be so ambitious as to even compete for any spots in those respective World Cups, either.  I mean, we are a wee, tiny, little piece ah rock with an in-house pop. of 1.5 million.  Who de HELL we tink we is?  Where de HELL we expect to go?  What de HELL we could possibly know 'bout football.  I will concede this discussion to you because you obviously have about 10X the brain matter that I do......and I starting to look like a fool in engaging this conversation, too.

Dude, just cuz yuh went QRC doh mean yuh hadda just be stupid for spite. Clearly there are many elements that go into creating a successful football team. Size is one of those elements and an important one. That is not debatable that is a fact. It is not a footballing fact, it applies to any sport.

If you have to wheel out some juvenile sacrasm to "prove your point" then so be it. But, all things being equal, a larger talent pool = greater success. I'm gettin the impression your ancestors weren't aware of that.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2009, 01:30:59 PM by Ryan »

« Reply #22 on: October 12, 2009, 01:51:53 PM »
Dude, just cuz yuh went QRC doh mean yuh hadda just be stupid for spite. Clearly there are many elements that go into creating a successful football team. Size is one of those elements and an important one. That is not debatable that is a fact. It is not a footballing fact, it applies to any sport.

If you have to wheel out some juvenile sacrasm to "prove your point" then so be it. But, all things being equal, a larger talent pool = greater success. I'm gettin the impression your ancestors weren't aware of that.

I still waiting fuh yuh to respond to my questions on India and China... throw in Pakistan for that matter.

No one is contesting that the size of the talent pool plays a factor, but what I find astounding is rather than give the US credit where credit is due, men like you just like to toss about that population statistic as though size is a guarantor of success, rather than one of several factors.  Of that 300 million, how many people play football in the US?  How many play it beyond grade school?  How many play it in college?

Those are the meaningful statistics in this discussion... and if you examine them I think you'll find that the US' population size isn't nearly the advantange as you think it to be.

« Reply #23 on: October 12, 2009, 01:56:34 PM »
I prefer to have a Donavon- Who scores and gives 100% for we than super stars who dont produce when it is time to sing.

« Reply #24 on: October 12, 2009, 02:15:19 PM »

I still waiting fuh yuh to respond to my questions on India and China... throw in Pakistan for that matter.

No one is contesting that the size of the talent pool plays a factor, but what I find astounding is rather than give the US credit where credit is due, men like you just like to toss about that population statistic as though size is a guarantor of success, rather than one of several factors.  Of that 300 million, how many people play football in the US?  How many play it beyond grade school?  How many play it in college?

Those are the meaningful statistics in this discussion... and if you examine them I think you'll find that the US' population size isn't nearly the advantange as you think it to be.

Bakes, the bit that I highlighted is exactly what Mango Chow is contesting.

I said (twice) that size is just one of several factors, almost word for word, so I don't really think you can apply your usual approach of choosing your position and then implying that I have chosen the opposite stance. I have no argument wid u, lol.

Besides, my original comment was made becuz I hate USA football - Paul Caligiuri is still a c*nt 20 years later  :beermug:

« Reply #25 on: October 12, 2009, 02:57:25 PM »

I said (twice) that size is just one of several factors, almost word for word, so I don't really think you can apply your usual approach of choosing your position and then implying that I have chosen the opposite stance. I have no argument wid u, lol.

Besides, my original comment was made becuz I hate USA football - Paul Caligiuri is still a c*nt 20 years later  :beermug:

It's no implication... based on your initial post your position seemed clear that the US' success was based largely on their size.  Had you simply stated from the onset that this wasn't some rational conclusion that you were offering... just hate, I think most men woulda just smile and let it go.  You must recognize that many here continue to use this as a means of detracting from or not admitting the qualities of the USSF's approach... so necessarily some of us took you seriously.

Besides, Caligiuri is a decent fella if you ever talk to him, nutten but regard for TnT ask Dennis Williams  :)

« Reply #26 on: October 12, 2009, 03:09:37 PM »

I am contesting just how much of a factor it is or how much of a factor you are implying it to be.  How is it that you have "small" countries like Australia vying for World Cup spots and China cyah sniff a World Cup yet? Ryan, don't you think that if T&T had a better structure of development compared to the one we have now, that we would have seen more success within concacaf and at the international level when it comes to football?  Just as you are saying that population size is but only ONE of the factors in teams' successes, then the more the other factors play a role in a country's development and success, the less of a factor the population size becomes.  Having a bigger talent pool doesn't change the number of men or women you get to select for a 23-man squad to represent your country in a damned tournament and the existence of a bigger talent pool isn't what actually makes one player in Sao Paolo, better than another player in Rio de Janeiro.  
    Internationally, It is a development system that makes the difference.  If population size were so much of a factor in determining who wins and who loses, then all this talk of taking our current national U-20 team and grooming them for the future is a waste of time because all we would be trying to do is develop a small group of players to go up against countries that are using a larger talent pool.   If the usa didn't have such a good system of developing their players we would be beating their ass from pillar to post.  And so would all the other teams in the region.  I cyah believe you so schupid!    

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
« Reply #27 on: October 12, 2009, 03:15:00 PM »

agreed... and arguably one of the current top 3 strikers on the international stage.

« Reply #28 on: October 12, 2009, 03:26:08 PM »

agreed... and arguably one of the current top 3 strikers on the international stage.

Allyuh men getting carried away now...

« Reply #29 on: October 12, 2009, 03:45:36 PM »

Well he eh better than: Torres, Drogba, Eto'o, Ibrahimovic, Luis Fabiano or even Swan dive boy, cronaldo or even Pato, for that matter.  So that take him waaaaaaaay out of the "argument" range to be in the top 3 in the world.