April 28, 2024, 08:20:03 PM

Author Topic: Final 2009 Hex stats & what does it tell us?  (Read 3467 times)

Final 2009 Hex stats & what does it tell us?
« on: October 11, 2009, 10:06:56 PM »
Final Round/Ronda Final
Group/GrupoGroup/Grupo GP/PJ W/G D/E L/P +/- PTS
USA 9 6 1 2 17:11 19
Mexico 9 6 0 3 16:10 18
Costa Rica 9 5 0 4 13:13 15
Honduras 9 4 1 4 16:11 13
El Salvador 9 2 2 5 9:14 8
Trinidad & Tobago 9 1 2 6 8:20 5

From the stats T&T has collected 20 goals and have scored just 8 and is bottom of the table.
What does that tell us apart from the obvious that T&T is the weakest team in the Hex this time round?
How do we reverse those scoring stats in 2014 qualification campaign if we make the Hex again or will it be difficult to even make the Hex next time round with the new generation of players we have coming up?
« Last Edit: October 16, 2009, 09:42:20 AM by Socapro »

Re: Hex stats so far & what does it tell us?
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2009, 10:13:11 PM »
Dis time stats eh lie.

« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2009, 11:09:01 PM »
Stats are not irrefutable.

« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2009, 11:10:59 PM »
We need to change our approach to the game.  

« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2009, 02:02:51 AM »
Fack T&T football, it's an abomination!

« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2009, 07:34:59 AM »
we need strikers,finishin is friggin piss poor,we lackin in defense,de 20 goals will attest to that,midfield need to buck up.we need ah coach.russell good fuh ah intercol side.ah miss anyting.

« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2009, 07:41:06 AM »
what we do is keep maturana to long and eh hire a coach who can do it at this level .... thats why we looking so

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2009, 08:34:36 AM »
Just curious, what was your net goal differencial in your previous Hex appearance? (the one where you quailfied for Germany under Beenhakker)

« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2009, 09:42:28 AM »
Last campaign we had 10 for and 15 against.

Last hex when we lost 5-1 to Guate, it was a huge travesty, nobody could believe it, and we made sure nothing close to that happened for the rest of the campaign.

This hex we shipped 4 goals in a game TWICE.

« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2009, 10:36:11 AM »
i guess Goal.com was correct

« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2009, 01:47:29 PM »
i guess Goal.com was correct

:o  :o  :o

« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2009, 02:10:05 PM »
Stats tell us the following

We learnt nothing since 2006
We regressed rather than progressed
We lack fundamental technical ability
We lack Tactical Discipline
We lack killer instinct
We lack foresight
We lack preparation

The stats tell us WE SUCK!

« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2009, 03:24:30 PM »
Stats tell us the following

We learnt nothing since 2006
We regressed rather than progressed
We lack fundamental technical ability
We lack Tactical Discipline
We lack killer instinct
We lack foresight
We lack preparation

The stats tell us WE SUCK!

:notlistening:  :whistling: 

The question now is do we also lack an international standard headcoach?
But lets wait tell after the Mexico game this Wednesday to debate/decide that one!  8)
« Last Edit: October 12, 2009, 03:56:20 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2009, 08:08:23 PM »
That we are hexed?

Offline nunu

« Reply #14 on: October 13, 2009, 12:14:24 PM »
Final Round/Ronda Final
Group/GrupoGroup/Grupo GP/PJ W/G D/E L/P +/- PTS
USA 9 6 1 2 17:11 19
Mexico 9 6 0 3 16:10 18
Costa Rica 9 5 0 4 13:13 15
Honduras 9 4 1 4 16:11 13
El Salvador 9 2 2 5 9:14 8
Trinidad & Tobago 9 1 2 6 8:20 5

From the stats T&T has collected 20 goals and have scored just 8 and is bottom of the table.
What does that tell us apart from the obvious that T&T is the weakest team in the Hex this time round?
How do we reverse those scoring stats in 2014 qualification campaign if we make the Hex again or will it be difficult to even make the Hex next time round with the new generation of players we have coming up?
  Anything less than a win for honduras will send Costa Rica through .
Honduras really unlucky , After winning WC2010 Qualifying 3rd Stage 'Group of death '
I knew they were serious contender,but we from the english speaking caribbean are
a bit more fortunate ...Jamaica claim 3rd in '98 on 14 points -5 GD , T/T
claim 4th on 12 points -5 GD(in '06) which they went on to Qualify ,this time around
atleast 13to15 points a team have to grab just for 4th place , its very competitive
I have always think that 11 points even with permutations should be enough ,
not this time around . :thinking:

Offline Small Change

« Reply #15 on: October 13, 2009, 02:08:41 PM »
Latapy should exposed those Under 20 Players for these games. He still having Theobald and Lawerence and Noel and these jokers in the squad. TnT are out of the runnings. Why not expose the Under 20 players??

Give them the experience from NOW!!! TnT will never learn. We will  ALWAYS get hammered by Costa Rica, Mexico and the USA......each and every time!!!!!!!!!!!! We were lucky to qualify for Germany in 2006, but beating a Mexican "B" team. Had Mexico brought their "A" team, no way, no how, TnT was beating them.

We will always be the 5th and 6th team in the Hex.

We WILL NEVER BEAT THE US, COSTA RICA AND MEXICO!!!!!!!

NEVER, NEVER, NEVER, EVER, EVER, EVER.

Until they expand the WC teams to 64 and Concacaf, taking 6 or 8, then.

Those teams WILL always he ahead of the game

TnT football is a PAPY SHOW!!!

Why on earth, for the life of me, is Lawerence and Theobald on this squad? WHY?HuhHuhHuhHuhHuhHuh??

K. Jones, in 9 games, can't score a goal!

Give the younger, hungrier fowards some exposure.

Latapy is just as clueless and just as a jackass as all the rest of them.

Can't understand their logic.

We cannot beat Mexico. That is the fact! So give the young boys, who just play on the World Stage, the SENIOR team exposure!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Offline nunu

« Reply #16 on: October 13, 2009, 03:19:04 PM »

trini atleast you guys are lerning the hard way ,Jamaica dont lern yet .
Theodore Whitmore is clueless too , I understand that coaches cost
money ...but I bet you If they give a european from a lower league
2 years in di caribbean its better than Locals . :(

« Reply #17 on: October 13, 2009, 05:49:31 PM »

This is the first constructive thing i ever heard coming from you. keep it up, ah know yuh had it in yuh. :applause:

Offline dspfootballer

« Reply #18 on: October 13, 2009, 06:01:15 PM »
I agree with the poster who recommend using more U20 players. 

Before the Cost Rica last game I recommended using all the U20 since they were together several months and need the experience at this level.
But that pass.  Lets see what Latas have in store.  He has my support to continue coaching. 

I would like to know what Latas propose strategy on defense.  Lets focus on defense, then midfield, then strikers in that order of priority.

Regards

« Reply #19 on: October 13, 2009, 06:02:52 PM »

This is the first constructive thing i ever heard coming from you. keep it up, ah know yuh had it in yuh. :applause:
True
buh doh tell him that the Capt is JACK real good buddy :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline nunu

« Reply #20 on: October 14, 2009, 02:09:59 PM »
look @ 2002 WCQ , The hex was made up of Costa Rica,Mexico,USA,Honduras ,Jamaica and Trinidad .
Honduras finish 4th on 14 points,am just suggesting what a unfortunate Team this is .
more...(look at hex)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2002_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_(CONCACAF)

Jamaica claim 3rd in 1998 on 14 points ,
more...
http://footballmundial.tripod.com/concacaf/qualifying1998.htm
Trinidad claim 4th on 13 points in 2006
more...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2006_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_(CONCACAF)

Honduras are in for something this time , atleast 4th or maybe 3rd but look
at the huge amount of points they have to grab .   
When they make the hex , they finishes no less than 14 points ,they did it
in '02 and failed , this time they have to grab atlest 16 points for outright
Qualification.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2009, 02:11:52 PM by CaribMan »

« Reply #21 on: October 15, 2009, 11:19:18 AM »
look @ 2002 WCQ , The hex was made up of Costa Rica,Mexico,USA,Honduras ,Jamaica and Trinidad .
Honduras finish 4th on 14 points,am just suggesting what a unfortunate Team this is .
more...(look at hex)

more...
more...

Qualification.

Well Honduras finally made it, they qualify automatically and Costa Rica goes to the play-off!

2010 CONCACAF WC Qualifiers - Hexagonal
Team P W D L GF GA Pts
 USA 10 6 2 2 19 13 20
 Mexico 10 6 1 3 18 11 19
 Honduras 10 5 1 4 17 11 16
 Costa Rica 10 5 1 4 15 15 16
 El Salvador 10 2 2 6 9 15 8
 Trinidad & Tobago 10 1 3 6 10 22 6

Offline nunu

« Reply #22 on: October 15, 2009, 01:28:14 PM »
more...(look at hex)

more...
more...

Qualification.

Well Honduras finally made it, they qualify automatically and Costa Rica goes to the play-off!

2010 CONCACAF WC Qualifiers - Hexagonal
Team P W D L GF GA Pts
 USA 10 6 2 2 19 13 20
 Mexico 10 6 1 3 18 11 19
 Honduras 10 5 1 4 17 11 16
 Costa Rica 10 5 1 4 15 15 16
 El Salvador 10 2 2 6 9 15 8
 Trinidad & Tobago 10 1 3 6 10 22 6
WCQ 2010 final Table tell us something i.e , the top three seed teams for 2014 
there are, USA,Mexico and Honduras . So far we have concluded there will be
31/2 places , The Same Qualifying Format and the three top seed teams .
Its about time JA , TnT place in the same Group . Look people all the central
american countries are advancing there soccer now , Nicaraguan football have
taken off they beat Guatemala 2 nil in the Central american nations Cup . How
will that impact the caribbean in the future ? .

I have concluded that this time around the hex was very Competitive ,
you could see 4th place Costa Rica finishing on 16 points with Honduras
only a superior Goal Diff...... decided who move on .
I have always thought 11 or 12 points can claim 4th place ,maybe another
time; and Concacaf likely to play Oceania for intercontinental playoff in 2014.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2009, 01:35:19 PM by CaribMan »

Offline CK1

• Man of Faith and Integrity
« Reply #23 on: October 15, 2009, 04:16:01 PM »
what we do is keep maturana to long and eh hire a coach who can do it at this level .... thats why we looking so

Would Bob Bradley or Bruce Arena be considered world class coaches? I don't believe either of them had experience on the international stage or even professional level outside of the US; how are they able to qualify the USA team every time? Are they better coaches than Maturana or Latapy? Do they have the playing pedigree of Latapy? Do they have a better talent pool than T&T? Is this also measurable from the stats?
The issues with T&T football are way beyond "the hiring of a coach who can do it at this level".
Jesus Christ...King of Kings and Lord of Lords!