March 28, 2024, 06:22:25 AM

Author Topic: Fighting Warriors settle for 2-2 draw with Mexico.  (Read 12577 times)

Fighting Warriors settle for 2-2 draw with Mexico.
« on: October 14, 2009, 08:10:16 PM »
Goal spree results in 2-2 draw for Mexico, Trinidad.

Mexico and Trinidad & Tobago combined for three goals in a eight-minute span midway through the second half en route to a 2-2 draw at Hasely Crawford Stadium Wednesday night on the final night of CONCACAF qualification for the 2010 World Cup.

Mexico, which saw its five-match winning streak snapped, finished second in the CONCACAF “hexagonal”, one point behind the United States. Honduras defeated El Salvador 1-0 in San Salvador and,  coupled with USA’s stunning 2-2 draw against Costa Rica, earned the confederation’s third automatic berth to the World Cup.

Trinidad & Tobago, which received two goals from Kerry Baptiste, finished last in the six-team group with six points from 10 matches.

Playing for nothing but pride, the Soca Warriors pressured El Tri from the opening kick. Dennis Lawrence’s point blank header was pushed away by Guillermo Ochoa, who also was caught off his line moments later before a Trinidad defender cleared the ball off the line.

Baptiste was then played behind the Mexican defense, but he fired well of the target from 16 meters. Baptiste stepped to the spot in the 32nd minute after Gerardo Torrado was adjusted to handle a deep cross.

The Joe Public midfielder fired a low shot that just evaded Ochoa, who guessed correctly and Trinidad & Tobago had a 1-0 halftime lead.

Enrique Esqueda equalized in the 58th minute, ripping the ball over goalkeeper Marvin Phillip’s right shoulder from the right side of the box.

But the Soca Warriors quickly regained the lead when Baptiste latched onto Hector Hughton’s ball into the box and headed past Ochoa from the edge of the six-yard box in the 61st minute.

Trinidad’s lead lasted all of five minutes, though, as Carlos Salcido got in behind the defense and headed the equalizer into the net.

The Soca Warriors nearly claimed all three points moments later, but Robert Primus’ header caromed off the crossbar.

With the United States losing 2-0 to Costa Rica at halftime in Washington, it seemed Mexico would finish atop the group with a draw, but the Americans rallied late and on Jonathan Bornstein’s goal 4½ minutes into second-half stoppage time to stay one point ahead of El Tri.

FULL TIME, 2-2

T&T 2 (Kerry Baptiste 32-Pen, 60) v Mexico 2 (Enrique Esqueda 55th, Carlos Salcido 67th)

MEX: - 1.Guillermo Ochoa; 15.José Castro, 4.Héctor Moreno, 2.Jose Magallón, 3.Carlos Salcido; 6.Gerardo Torrado (capt), 8.Israel Castro, 18.Andrés Guardado (7.Pablo Barrera 46th), 11.Carlos Vela; 17.Juan Palencia (10.Cuauhtémoc Blanco 54th), 14.Miguel Sabah (9.Enrique Esqueda 54th).

Subs - 12.José Corona (GK); 5.Ricardo Osorio, 13.Óscar Rojas, 16.Efraín Juárez.

T&T: - 1.Marvin Phillip; 5.Robert Primus, 16.Kern Cupid, 6.Dennis Lawrence, 4.Jake Thomson; 8.Trent Noel (16.Densill Theobald 78th), 11.Carlos Edwards (capt), 2.Clyde Leon, 10.Hayden Tinto (9.Hughton Hector 56th); 14.Kerry Baptiste, 15.Devon Jorsling (17.Kenwyne Jones 76th).

Subs: 18.Jan-Michael Williams (GK), 13.Juma Clarence, 3.Keston Williams, Leston Paul, 12.Shahdon Winchester.

CONCACAF.COM
Warriors close with a draw.

The die hard fans of the “Soca Warriors” witnessed a gritty showing from their team as Trinidad and Tobago kept pace for 90 minutes to hold Mexico 2-2 in the final 2010 World Cup Qualifying encounter at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Wednesday night.

No more than 4,000 fans showed up at the venue but those who did were treated to a fine exhibition of football as the Russell Latapy team turned up the tempo and then Mexico brought themselves back with an intense second half display.

Mexico came into the match already assured of a South Africa spot but eager to finish top of the group and were only without regular stars Rafael Marquez (suspended) Giovani Dos Santos and Guillermo Franco.

T&T started better and could have found themselves at least 2-0 ahead in the first half had there been better finishing from Joe Public striker Kerry Baptiste who later made up with a penalty strike and second half finish.

On ten minutes Hayden Tinto swung one over from the right but Baptiste had his effort stopped by goalie Guillermo Ochoa.

Soon after Baptiste again collected inside the box and appeared to be well through before scoffing his effort, seeing it saved by Johnny Magallon.

Before 18 minutes, it was Baptiste again left holding his head in dismay when he shot wide.

T&T, starting with Baptiste and Devon Jorsling up front and Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones on the bench, capitalized on a penalty call against Gerrardo Torrado for handle ball and Baptiste comfortably converted to put T&T ahead 1-0, a lead they would maintain until the break but not before some anxious moments at the bar.

Goalkeeper Marvin Phillip was at his best to deny Carlos Villa and Andres Guardado.

Mexico came back out in search of the equalizer and duly got it when Enrique Esqueda leveled the scores on 56 minutes when he sent a perfectly directed effort over Phillip.

Soon after Mexico pressed again and went close but Esqueda failed to convert.

T&T, realizing that Mexico had now shifted gear, needed to get back ahead and did so in the 61st minute when substitute  Hughton Hector  whipped one in from the right for Baptiste to power a header home to the delight of the home fans. Game on.

But the Mexicans, with veteran number 10 Blanco now on the pitch, battled back and leveled up when Carlos Salcido headed home from a Pablo Barrera cross.

T&T went close again when debutant defender Robert Primus saw his header rebound off the post following a Carlos Edwards left side delivery.

Edwards, a T&T work machine and captain on the night , almost snatched a late winner when he hit wide in the final minute. 

Overall a deserved scoreline for the affair but definitely one which would have left the fans with something to feel good about and bit of weight off Latapy and his men.

The T&T defence was marshaled by Dennis Lawrence with Kern Cupid, Primus and Jake Thomson turning in decent efforts on the night.

Lawrence, later announced his retirement from international football, thanking his teammates and staff members in the dressing room for a memorable journey wearing in the red, white and black.

Mexico coach Javier Aguirre, speaking afterwards, said he was pleased with finishing the match with a draw but disappointed on missing out on topping the group.

“It was a good result and a good performance by both teams. I want  to thank the Mexican people for the support and this success is for them. The game was a difficult one and we came here hoping to win but yes we leave a little disappointed that we didn’t win the group.

But I was happy with how we came back to draw the game and I would say well done to Trinidad. They played a good game against us,” Aguirre said.

T&T’s Latapy paid compliments to his troops.

“The match itself was well played by both teams and I guess it‘s a good enough way to finish the campaign. We played 90 minutes of football which is the most important thing at this level. I want to say congrats to our players for the efforts tonight and hopefully we can all learn from this campaign and look ahead to the future with a fair amount of hope and optimism.

Nothing on football comes easily and we have learned that in this campaign, the players and those involved in the campaign. I would like to congratulate the teams that have qualified from our region for South Africa and wish them all the best. Our hope and desire must be to be one of those teams in 2014,” Latapy said.

The result pushed T&T to six points as they remained in sixth spot behind El Salvador which lost 1-0 to Honduras on Wednesday night. The Hondurans qualified for South Africa by way of a 64th minute winner by Carlos Pavon who made up for his last minute penalty miss versus USA on Saturday. They join Mexico and the Americans as the automatic qualifiers with Costa Rica now having to wait on the playoffs.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2009, 08:20:31 AM by Flex »

Re: Fighting Warriors settle for 2-2 draw with Mexico.
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2009, 08:42:08 PM »
Good display by the fellas.

Kerry Baptiste showed how a striker supposed to read the game and anticipate plays. He had shots from all over the final 1/3. 

Keep bringing in the youths Latas. Primus is a solid player. Thompson has a future. Juma shoulda get ah run though.

Tinto played decent at times but while switching wings with Edwards was a good idea, Tinto wasn't good on the left. He was much more effective on the right.  Latas played more mobile players on the team who could run at defenders.

Latas yuh goose was cooked if we did lorse but yuh might be safe for a few  :-\

« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2009, 08:49:15 PM »
Fighting?

If we were closing down the Mexicans and not allowing them time on the ball and soft goals we would have beaten Mexico

I was there and even though we played well enough(1st half especially) we just allowed Mexico to keep the ball and show little effort to get it back until they gave it away or we were left with no choice but to get the ball

And then that fat shithong midget come on and the amount of respect they gave him was embarrassing... men just letting the fat ass walk with the ball and try little tricks and neat passes

Finally, Theobald came on and provided intensity off the ball and some nice passing when on the ball... No way in hell Leon is a better CM that Theo.. I eno why allyuh hate the man but I cant remember him having a shocking game ...Since he was the skipper when Wim was in charge he's been consistent when playing... listens to instructions..passes well..closes down..and he is a good dressing room character and a leader

So f**k everyone that not seeing the real problem in CM is with Leon...

Noel does a good job but more is expected...

NO WAY IN HELL BIRCHALL SHOULD NOT BE IN THE STARTING XI

Tinto showed some nice dribbling but he's dumb as f**k..stupid iq.. has to improve his football iq alot... Hector boy..great assist .. good player and definitely something to work with

Back 4.... Thomson..not a RB..its obvious..lacks aggression and the attributes a RB needs... He is a winger..play Carlos at RB in the future

Primus..good shift..young but has alot to learn...Better than Abu Bakr by miles

Lawrence...legend..thanks for the great contribution and sending me to Germany...will be hard to replace

Cupid...better game..still shit though but hopefully he can improve alot over 2 years... JL Samuel and Akeem Adams and possibly A.Edwards(hurts to type) are our 3 LB's in 2012

Strikers..

Jorsling..big and strong and holds the ball up well but unfit and lazy and needs to improve

Baptiste...Something to work with... Good 2 goals..should have scored 4

KJ...f**k boy

All in all a good effort to end the campaign..

Verdict:

Latapy likes to play attacking football and focuses too much about on the ball football when we need to learn off the ball football and Defensive structure as well

Fire/Resign before he does damage to his rep with T&T Fans... thanks for the 7 games

Bring in a top class European English speaking Coach immediately ... one who demands respect and will have those boys playing with pride and structure like under Leo

Under Maturana- Too relaxed and undisciplined...he here for his cash..we here to sweat
Under Latapy- Undisciplined and no pride...look good in flashes but no structure and concede goals way too easily

Under Leo- World Cup 2006...Organized,Disciplined and Pride...10 goals and 9 conceded in qualifiers

2014 Starts NOW!

« Last Edit: October 14, 2009, 08:54:33 PM by Small Magician aka Wazza »

« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2009, 09:02:11 PM »
Small mag, does primus have speed?, ah couldn't tell BC he seem to stay in formation most of the times and was never caught out of position from where i sat. i was impressed with his perfomance.

Offline Mock de Dread

« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2009, 09:04:53 PM »
kerry is good, though i am not sure he has what it takes to be an international force to be reckoned with
i think this is his best. glad he was able to give a good account of himself

tinto i like the little guy, he has a great turn because of his low center of gravity, but he cant take on a defender running at him to save his life

i wish latapy gave juma a run (just for so) start the changing of the guard

theobald -hand an avg game, did what needed to be done but added nothing really. time to retire theo, he is going no where really, was around the team for too long and never made any impact

jake- a bit slow but definatley some one we can work with, a good account of him self

devon josling- good for the tt pro league but eh quite ready for bigger stages

carlos- boy please stay around for 2014, stay fit and healthy, we need you , doh study your mis kick tonite it happens lol

hector- hard worker i like him, not star material but i like

Kern cupid-joy lloyd had your spot, keep working hard for that back up position

lawerence-thanks for the years of service, but theres the door time to look forward

trent noel- thanks but we need more in the middle of the park for the future

Primus- keep working hard , you never know

Kenwayne Jones-No comment- i wont beat down the man, cause its only him i have in EPL to support but with all our other strikers aged we need some future stars cause going forward KJ wont cut it

Mr Latapy-the jury still has to give the verdict on you, only thing in your favour is that we create chances but results speak for themselves,i rater you than pancho but

« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2009, 09:05:29 PM »

Mexico's Andres Guardado is challenged by Trinidad and Tobago's Jake Thomson during their 2010 World Cup qualifying soccer match in Port of Spain October 14, 2009.

Mexico's Cuauhtemoc Blanco (L) jumps for the ball with Robert Primus of Trinidad and Tobago during their 2010 World Cup qualifying soccer match in Port of Spain October 14, 2009.

Mexico's Carlos Salcido (R) fights for the ball with Jake Thomson (4) of Trinidad and Tobago during their 2010 World Cup qualifying soccer match in Port of Spain October 14, 2009.

Mexico's Pablo Barrera (R) fights for the ball with Kern Cupid of Trinidad and Tobago during their 2010 World Cup qualifying soccer match in Port of Spain October 14, 2009.

Mexico's Andres Guardado (18) fights for the ball with Jake Thomson of Trinidad and Tobago during their 2010 World Cup qualifying soccer match in Port of Spain October 14, 2009.

Mexico's Francisco Palencia (17) fights for the ball with Robert Primus of Trinidad and Tobago during their 2010 World Cup qualifying soccer match in Port of Spain October 14, 2009.

Mexico's Andres Guardado (18) fights for the ball with Carlos Edwards of Trinidad and Tobago during their 2010 World Cup qualifying soccer match in Port of Spain October 14, 2009.

Mexico's Andres Guardado (R) fights for the ball with Carlos Edwards of Trinidad and Tobago during a 2010 World Cup qualifying soccer match in Port of Spain October 14, 2009.

Mexico's Francisco Palencia (17) fights for the ball with Dennis Lawrence (6) of Trinidad and Tobago during their 2010 World Cup qualifying soccer match in Port of Spain October 14, 2009.

Mexico's Enrique Esqueda, left, battles for the ball with Trinidad and Tobago's Clyde Leon during a 2010 World Cup qualifying soccer match in Port-of-Spain, Wednesday, Oct. 14, 2009. The match ended 2-2.

Mexico's Carlos Salcido, right, battles for the ball with Trinidad and Tobago's Hughton Hector during a 2010 World Cup qualifying soccer match in Port-of-Spain, Wednesday, Oct. 14, 2009. The match ended 2-2.

Mexico's Francisco Palencia, left, battles for the ball with Trinidad and Tobago's Clyde Leon during a 2010 World Cup qualifying soccer match in Port-of-Spain, Wednesday, Oct. 14, 2009.

Trinidad and Tobago's Carlos Edwards, right, shields the ball from Mexico's Gerardo Torrado during their 2010 World Cup qualifying soccer match at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port-of-Spain, Wednesday, Oct. 14, 2009.

Mexico's Gerardo Torrado (R) challenges Trinidad and Tobago's Devon Jorsling during their 2010 World Cup qualifying soccer match in Port of Spain October 14, 2009.

« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2009, 09:40:02 PM »

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ykUzwn-1Gzs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ykUzwn-1Gzs</a>

« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2009, 09:49:59 PM »
De lil bit I see of Hector I did like.

He cross de ball into dangerous areas in de 30 minutes he was on better than our wide men did for the entire campaign.  I am strictly talking about getting the ball into uncomforatble areas for the defence.  Actually, I think his first touch resulted in the cross for Baptiste to head home.

I real like Primus.  I see he near half line fightin de ball and trackin back with his man...something conspicuously absent with most of the rest of the team.

Fenwick make a great observation bout Marvin Phillip and why he suspect against de cross ball.  This is something that can be taught.  He have real raw tools to work with.

Baptiste look good tonight.  Whether that's a result of a Mexico playing in neutral or if it was "real" is open to debate.  Yuh could only play who playin against yuh.  You eh have no control over how dey play.  Good on him.

A word on Dennis Lawrence.  Thanks for the memories, for the commitment and above all taking us to Germany with that historic goal in Bahrain...(de wonder goal against panama was a bess too)  It would be great if yuh could work wit de yutes to pass on some a de vast knowledge you've accumulated.  But yuh international playin days over bro.  I swear yuh was auditionin fuh a wuk in de T&T secret service de way ah see yuh escortin man whole night almost as if yuh darin dem to take a shot.  Eedah dat or yuh have beef with Marvin Phillip.  8)

Tinto need to stop focusin on he hairdresser and instead focus on learnin how to play football.

Jorsling was unimpressive.  So too Leon & Cupid.

Noel was solid as usual.

Thompson was ok but he SHAPES well as an international baller so I eh exactly worried bout he.

Carlos is Carlos...we best player..even when he not at his best.

« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2009, 10:04:20 PM »
I miss tyhe game man.  Tallman thanks for the 1st half you have the second half?

Offline Mock de Dread

« Reply #9 on: October 14, 2009, 10:22:34 PM »

Attendance: - 6,000 ?

boss man you count everybody in the first have then multiplied it by 2 in the second half

if it was 6000 ah really dont know but it looked like 3000 ok say 3500

paying patrons was probablly 1500 cause eveyone i know got a comp the add the under 20 teams etc

its horrible, its not just about support for the team, but our country seems to lack passion for any type of sport, couldnt we just go because we love soccer

oh ah forget the 200.00, it was too high for the occasion

jack

3500x200= 700k
10,000x75=750k   and attendance and support  looks better

« Reply #10 on: October 14, 2009, 10:50:21 PM »
Decent Game, Small Mag, I agree with you on Theobold... He doh play nothing fancy, just basic football, and does it reasonably well..

« Reply #11 on: October 14, 2009, 11:05:00 PM »
even though the crowd was small, the stadium was noisy!!!

Offline Mock de Dread

« Reply #12 on: October 15, 2009, 04:35:13 AM »
Deeks yes it was noisy, only because of the 50 mexican supporters, who came well equipped with their vizulas ??(south africian plastic horns)

« Reply #13 on: October 15, 2009, 04:53:03 AM »
A word on Dennis Lawrence.  Thanks for the memories, for the commitment and above all taking us to Germany with that historic goal in Bahrain...(de wonder goal against panama was a bess too)  It would be great if yuh could work wit de yutes to pass on some a de vast knowledge you've accumulated.  But yuh international playin days over bro.  I swear yuh was auditionin fuh a wuk in de T&T secret service de way ah see yuh escortin man whole night almost as if yuh darin dem to take a shot.  Eedah dat or yuh have beef with Marvin Phillip.  8)

Well yuh get yuh wish. He announced his retirement from international football last night.

« Reply #14 on: October 15, 2009, 05:34:58 AM »

Well yuh get yuh wish. He announced his retirement from international football last night.

Yuh lie??....after the grand handing over of arm band ceremony the other day??....we real like a pappy show yes...steups...

Any who....thanks Dennis, will never forget that header....thanks and God speed.... :beermug:

Offline YoursTruly

TT vs Mexico - TTFF Match Report
« Reply #15 on: October 15, 2009, 05:49:23 AM »
WARRIORS CLOSE WITH A DRAW 

The die hard fans of the “Soca Warriors” witnessed a gritty showing from their team as Trinidad and Tobago kept pace for 90 minutes to hold Mexico 2-2 in the final 2010 World Cup Qualifying encounter at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Wednesday night.

No more than 4,000 fans showed up at the venue but those who did were treated to a fine exhibition of football as the Russell Latapy team turned up the tempo and then Mexico brought themselves back back with an intense  second half display.

Mexico came into the match already assured of a South Africa spot but eager to finish top of the group and were only without regular stars Rafael Marquez (suspended) Giovani Dos Santos and Guillermo Franco.

T&T started better and could have found themselves at least 2-0 ahead in the first half had there been better finishing from Joe Public striker Kerry Baptiste who later made up with a penalty strike and second half finish.

On ten minutes Hayden Tinto swung one over from the right but Baptiste had his effort stopped by goalie Guillermo Ochoa.

Soon after Baptiste again collected inside the box and appeared to be well through before scoffing his effort, seeing it saved by Johnny Magallon.

Before 18 minutes, it was Baptiste again left holding his head in dismay when he shot wide.

T&T, starting with Baptiste and Devon Jorsling up front and Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones on the bench, capitalized on a penalty call against Gerrardo Torrado for handle ball and Baptiste comfortably converted to put T&T ahead 1-0, a lead they would maintain until the break but not before some anxious moments at the bar.

Goalkeeper Marvin Phillip was at his best to deny Carlos Villa and Andres Guardado.

Mexico came back out in search of the equalizer and duly got it when Enrique Esqueda leveled the scores on 56 minutes when he sent a perfectly directed effort over Phillip.

Soon after Mexico pressed again and went close but Esqueda failed to convert.

T&T, realizing that Mexico had now shifted gear, needed to get back ahead and did so in the 61st minute when substitute  Hughton Hector  whipped one in from the right for Baptiste to power a header home to the delight of the home fans. Game on.

But the Mexicans, with veteran number 10 Blanco now on the pitch, battled back and leveled up when Carlos Salcido headed home from a Pablo Barrera cross.

T&T went close again when debutant defender Robert Primus saw his header rebound off the post following a Carlos Edwards left side delivery.

Edwards, a T&T work machine and captain on the night , almost snatched a late winner when he hit wide in the final minute.

Overall a deserved scoreline for the affair but definitely one which would have left the fans with something to feel good about and bit of weight off Latapy and his men.

The T&T defence was marshaled by Dennis Lawrence with Kern Cupid, Primus and Jake Thomson turning in decent efforts on the night.

Lawrence, later announced his retirement from international football, thanking his teammates and staff members in the dressing room for a memorable journey wearing in the red, white and black.
Mexico coach Javier Aguirre, speaking afterwards, said he was pleased with finishing the match with a draw but disappointed on missing out on topping the group.

“It was a good result and a good performance by both teams. I want  to thank the Mexican people for the support and this success is for them. The game was a difficult one and we came here hoping to win but yes we leave a little disappointed that we didn’t win the group. But I was happy with how we came back to draw the game and I would say well done to Trinidad. They played a good game against us,” Aguirre said.

T&T’s Latapy paid compliments to his troops.

“The match itself was well played by both teams and I guess it‘s a good enough way to finish the campaign. We played 90 minutes of football which is the most important thing at this level. I want to say congrats to our players for the efforts tonight and hopefully we can all learn from this campaign and look ahead to the future with a fair amount of hope and optimism. Nothing on football comes easily and we have learned that in this campaign, the players and those involved in the campaign. I would like to congratulate the teams that have qualified from our region for South Africa and wish them all the best. Our hope and desire must be to be one of those teams in 2014,” Latapy said.

The result pushed T&T to six points as they remained in sixth spot behind El Salvador which lost 1-0 to Honduras on Wednesday night. The Hondurans qualified for South Africa by way of a 64th minute winner by Carlos Pavon who made up for his last minute penalty miss versus USA on Saturday. They join Mexico and the Americans as the automatic qualifiers with Costa Rica now having to wait on the playoffs.

Re: TT vs Mexico - TTFF Match Report
« Reply #16 on: October 15, 2009, 06:15:52 AM »
2 -2 really sums up our entire campaign nicely  :(

« Reply #17 on: October 15, 2009, 06:32:05 AM »
Like Latapy taking us to the next W/C- ".Our hopes and desire for 2014". Honestly I would like latapy to go back to Scotland and gain some more experience. The next two years will be critical for 2014 so we need some more experience in moving players from stage 1-2

« Reply #18 on: October 15, 2009, 06:38:31 AM »
So we wait till the last match before we get it right and that was achieved against an almost full strength Mexican team,I cannot help but think that if we had played half as well inthe early games,we would have made it.I hope this is the start of another journey,this time to Brazil 2014.

« Reply #19 on: October 15, 2009, 07:49:17 AM »
Like Latapy taking us to the next W/C- ".Our hopes and desire for 2014". Honestly I would like latapy to go back to Scotland and gain some more experience. The next two years will be critical for 2014 so we need some more experience in moving players from stage 1-2

Scotland? He could gain quite a bit of experience between now and the next qualification, working with the T&T team.

« Reply #20 on: October 15, 2009, 08:17:37 AM »

This is truly a sad comment but true nonetheless.  Maybe I am the only one but Carlos is one of the worst wingers, hence he cannot play in the Premiership. 

Carlos work rate is extremely high, allowing him to always get back into the play. His ability to take on and get pass defenders is second to none on the team (and maybe Concacaf). Extremely good at winning the ball in the last third of the field.  Confident, expierenced and a true Warrior.

He cannot cross the ball from the wings on a consistent basis to save his life. If as a winger you cannot make a decent cross a high percentage of the time in the last third of the field then you are of no use on the field. Not to mention wanting to take every free kickand corner. Who vex with the previous statements then it is your loss but look at the tapes (DVD) going back to the World Cup.

Blessings

« Reply #21 on: October 15, 2009, 08:29:38 AM »
and it had more mexicans there than trinis.

they heading south of the border.

i run into some working in central.

more pix here - http://www.terra.com.mx/galeria.aspx?galeriaId=20815

« Reply #22 on: October 15, 2009, 08:39:36 AM »

This is truly a sad comment but true nonetheless.  Maybe I am the only one but Carlos is one of the worst wingers, hence he cannot play in the Premiership. 

Carlos work rate is extremely high, allowing him to always get back into the play. His ability to take on and get pass defenders is second to none on the team (and maybe Concacaf). Extremely good at winning the ball in the last third of the field.  Confident, expierenced and a true Warrior.

He cannot cross the ball from the wings on a consistent basis to save his life. If as a winger you cannot make a decent cross a high percentage of the time in the last third of the field then you are of no use on the field. Not to mention wanting to take every free kickand corner. Who vex with the previous statements then it is your loss but look at the tapes (DVD) going back to the World Cup.

Blessings

We need to make Carlos our fantasista.
Put him to play right behind 1 or 2 strikers and we will have a lot more play in the attacking third.

« Reply #23 on: October 15, 2009, 08:39:56 AM »
No more than 4,000 fans showed up at the venue...

De official attendance according to FIFA is 2000.

« Reply #24 on: October 15, 2009, 08:46:39 AM »

Any press release on this as yet?

« Reply #25 on: October 15, 2009, 08:52:59 AM »
I don't think now is the time to be reading the team/players their last rights,i think these guys and coaching staffs tried their best,it's so easy to criticise after things happen,i don't think some of you will ever get it,we are just not ready or have what it takes to match up to the top countries in CONCACAF.

We just can't stay here and say we don't have a Defence,Midfield or Forwards,why we don't say we just don't have a team,when we play people trying to single out who play good and who didn't,this is a team game how could two or three players play well and the team play shyt?

What we finally did with the team should have been done from day one,when i said that peeps on here cuss me,they wanted to go SA when i knew we was not going anywhere with those has beens,i was annoyed when they brought back all those blacklisted players,the answer to our problems lies in our youths not just because of foreign based players,we have a way unless a player eh say they retiring we play them until they drop.

Did KJ, Stern John,Cornel Glen,Jason Scotland etc play in this game against Mexico?regardless of what kind of game it was and who played we scored two goals,up to now that guy eh get no kind of credit for it because he eh no big name,those guys that played in that is the future of our Football so is best we get used to it,just say thank you and good bye to the old crew.  

« Reply #26 on: October 15, 2009, 08:59:15 AM »

Blessings

Maybe, just maybe Carlos isn't a winger in it's truest form.  Carlos is best suted to be a central midfielder IMO.  He has vision enough for short passes and all the necessary attributes both offensively and defensively for that role.  the sooner a coach realizes that the better their team with him in it will perform.  I think because of his pace, workrate, and dribbling ability coaches elect to use him there but it's not his fault that he isn't best there.  I hope going forward that he is either used as a CM or RB (of the attacking variety like Sergio, Maicon etc.) where he has the tenacity to be very effective.  Jake can be used as the RW given his dribbling aggression and decent crossing ability.  Tinto should probably be made into a CAM as he is aggressive and has the ability to finish.  Having him on any wing is a waste as he seems indecisive there and unable to get off crosses or beat defenders consistently.  Primus has the tools and I believe in the future he should mature into our best CB.  Duff has the size and is a hard worker but he needs to read the game better.  Julius James has the right mentality and aggresiveness to also be an exceptional CB for years to come.  Cupid can improve and already has some good tools to work with.  JLloyd needs no introduction and is a mandatory cog, Adams is also one to watch

Defensively I believe we should be fine going forward to 2014 (providing that the right players are included).  Midfield will need some improvement, Noel is aging and may not be a viable option for 2014 but he has the type of work ethic that more of our midfielders need.  It doesn't hurt that he has some decent dribbling skills and a very good free kick.  Hope he is around to mentor Leston and Co. to compliment their already visible talents.  Theobold will be around and should be.  Bleeder gets a lot of flack from many of us but he is a very sensible CM option.  Say what you want but he really doesn't make mistakes in the game.  Haughton Hector needs to be kept in the mix. Jaggy and DR need to be included going forward.  Birchall's energy and ball winning ability is needed in midfield for future campaigns.  Keon Daniel I hope will improve.  Somehow Maturana got him to perform well, not sure what happened but I have hope.  Hyland is also a necessary player and should not be neglected.  Many derided Maturana for what appeared to be clueless lineups but he had strong belief in some of our youth (Hyland and A. Edwards in particular).  Aklie I hope will be there in his true position as an LM, I believe he has the tools and he is big and strong.  He isn't great defensively but he has shown flashes of defending quality far better than what Skilla displays.  Juma, Gay, KJ, Baptiste and possibly Stern should all play a role as we progress.  Winchester and Britto allyuh ha next!!
« Last Edit: October 15, 2009, 09:01:42 AM by Flickin Killa a/k/a Mad Scorpion »

« Reply #27 on: October 15, 2009, 09:08:58 AM »
All I want to know is why Carlos fall down last night?

De young bloods make mih proud. Kerry Baptist make ah name for himself. The U20 have a bright future.

Carlos boi        :rotfl: if he did ketch that ball he woulda kill somthin.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2009, 09:12:45 AM by Weh-it-is »

« Reply #28 on: October 15, 2009, 09:10:53 AM »
All I want to know is why Carlos fall down last night?

He geh ah dread ghost blade!!!

« Reply #29 on: October 15, 2009, 09:13:11 AM »

Any press release on this as yet?

No official press release, but de info is contained in Fuentes' match report: