March 28, 2024, 06:46:15 AM

Author Topic: Jamaica to play in South Africa  (Read 8914 times)

Offline reggae-fan

Jamaica to play in South Africa
« on: October 16, 2009, 12:34:59 PM »
Despite suffering successive defeats on the tour of Scandinavia, Bafana Bafana coach Joel Santana is optimistic about the future of his squad.

South Africa lost one nil to both Norway and Iceland – the last defeat coming on Tuesday night (13 October) in Reykjavik, Iceland. Viegar Pall Gunnarsson scored the only goal in the 50th minute.
“Obviously I am not happy with the losses, but it was a good outing for the side. It was important for my players to experience the rigours of international football as it will build their character. I am happy that I gave some players a chance away from home, and they did not disappoint,” said Santana.

The Brazilian says he has made some observations on the tour, “The last match was better than the first, the marking and shooting was better, but sometimes we need to use our pace more when attacking, and also we should not give our opponents space,” he said.

Captain Aaron Mokoena believes that despite the losses, the nation should not lose hope.

“We came on this trip with uncapped players who got a run and in the process they did not disappoint. Yes we are still not happy that we are not getting positive results, but on the other hand we have blended in some players and now it's up to the coach to finalise his World Cup squad,” said the skipper.

Bloemfontein Celtic captain Thabo Nthethe as well as Franklin Cale of Ajax Cape Town both made their debut on this tour. Cale was first capped in the match against Norway when he came on for Siphiwe Tshabalala, while Nthethe replaced Siboniso Gaxa in the clash with Iceland.

Bafana Bafana are left with two matches before the end of the year.

Next month they face Japan on the 14th, and then meet Jamaica three days later in Bloemfontein.

“Both matches will be difficult especially Japan which is the stronger of the two, but I need to win, I will go there for a win,” said Santana.

Bafana Bafana return to South Africa on Thursday morning (15 October).

Re: Jamaica to play in South Africa
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2009, 12:37:06 PM »
Allyuh going back England?

I hear Crouch practicing the Robot again.

« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2009, 12:39:10 PM »
RF TT play in Africa already yuh ent the first to get a sweat in the motherland.

« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2009, 12:44:56 PM »
Hopefully our federation if they serious about 2014 will play at least 1 match next month...even if its local based

Just do something!

« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2009, 01:10:50 PM »
Hopefully our federation if they serious about 2014 will play at least 1 match next month...even if its local based

Just do something!

SM doh expect nutten till Digicup next yr

« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2009, 01:41:10 PM »
South Africa lookin fuh somebody easy to beat.....ANYBODY because dey need de confidence builder...hence jamaica's invitation.

« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2009, 02:08:25 PM »
south africa have shin pads ???

« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2009, 03:30:35 PM »

:rotfl: BM yuh always on pt.

Offline nunu

« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2009, 03:58:05 PM »
South Africa lookin fuh somebody easy to beat.....ANYBODY because dey need de confidence builder...hence jamaica's invitation.
how can you say that ? Jamaica have tied 2 games in south africa , and again 3-3 in  a Gold Cup .
Yes ! all three games between Ja & RSA have been tied . This game is the 1st of 2 , the 2nd will
take place in March . Palos have a current hoster of a World cup ever visited TnT ?, well its going
to happen in Jamaica March 2009 .
« Last Edit: October 16, 2009, 04:07:22 PM by CaribMan »

« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2009, 04:17:21 PM »
Palos have a current hoster of a World cup ever visited TnT ?

T&T hosted the U17 World Cup.  No need for us to visit ourselves.

« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2009, 04:40:42 PM »
Yes Caribman

USA hosted the World Cup in 1994...we played them in the HCS.

« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2009, 04:46:43 PM »
Are dem Jamaicans gonna get free tickets to see some real World Cup games while they there?  ??? Would be a good experience for them.

« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2009, 04:49:06 PM »
Palos have a current hoster of a World cup ever visited TnT ?

T&T hosted the U17 World Cup.  No need for us to visit ourselves.

« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2009, 05:05:09 PM »

Ah nearly dead......

Offline nunu

« Reply #14 on: October 16, 2009, 05:25:24 PM »
Yes Caribman

OK  :)

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #15 on: October 16, 2009, 05:48:57 PM »
Yes Caribman

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: i guess you didn't think before you asked that question ???  :devil:

« Reply #16 on: October 16, 2009, 10:52:08 PM »
Yes Caribman

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: i guess you didn't think before you asked that question ???  :devil:

Not 2 mention d Brits were here last yr. So it obvious he eh tink,

Offline nunu

« Reply #17 on: October 17, 2009, 08:27:47 AM »
Yes Caribman

u hav jacans who play for england too (2) zavon hines and John Barnes .
have any trini ever get selected to the england squad ?.

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #18 on: October 17, 2009, 08:38:11 AM »
Yes Caribman

Are you proud that your Jamaican born players choose to play for England ???
and just to answer your question Jlloyd Samuel was called up to England squad. :devil:

« Reply #19 on: October 17, 2009, 11:01:18 AM »
Yes Caribman

What dat have 2  do wit d matter at hand?

« Reply #20 on: October 17, 2009, 11:09:56 AM »
Yes Caribman

Shaka Hislop
Bobby Zamora
Gavin Hoyte
Justin Hoyte
J Lloyd Samuel
Jake Thompson

Offline nunu

« Reply #21 on: October 17, 2009, 12:22:11 PM »
Yes Caribman

Shaka Hislop
Bobby Zamora
Gavin Hoyte
Justin Hoyte
J Lloyd Samuel
Jake Thompson

ok am just beating around the bushes  :devil:

Offline nunu

« Reply #22 on: October 17, 2009, 12:23:24 PM »
palos suppose I tell you jamaicans have done better than trinis at every level
what would you say ? .

« Reply #23 on: October 17, 2009, 12:42:36 PM »
what would you say ? .

LOUDEST OF STEUPS. How much WC at all levels all yuh qualify 4? I eh checkin d 1 we host.

Offline nunu

« Reply #24 on: October 17, 2009, 12:55:08 PM »
what would you say ? .

LOUDEST OF STEUPS. How much WC at all levels all yuh qualify 4? I eh checkin d 1 we host.
well u guys cannot tease about ,'send more brits ' cause shaka hislop and chris birchall were
both born in england ; the same cases with reggaeboyz burton etc.
ok take out the U17 u all host ,Jamaica have done better at Pan american , u20 world cup
and world cup levels than tnt , you guys host too many caribbean nation cups and thats
why you have a lead over Jamaica .

« Reply #25 on: October 17, 2009, 01:06:48 PM »
well u guys cannot tease about ,'send more brits ' cause shaka hislop and chris birchall were
both born in england; the same cases with reggaeboyz burton etc.

The difference is that whilst Shaka was born in England, he grew up as a boy in Trinidad.  Learnt and played his football in Trinidad.  Represented T&T at several youth levels...U 17, U 19, U 20 in addition to the senior team.

It have ANY Reggae Britz could claim anyting remotely similar?

Offline nunu

« Reply #26 on: October 17, 2009, 01:09:03 PM »

The difference is that whilst Shaka was born in England, he grew up as a boy in Trinidad.  Learnt and played his football in Trinidad.  Represented T&T at several youth levels...U 17, U 19, U 20 in addition to the senior team.

and represent England @ the youth level . ???

« Reply #27 on: October 17, 2009, 01:33:25 PM »

He played for England U21 as an overaged player.

Due to his dual nationality, Hislop has had the privilege of donning the national colours of two countries. During his time at Newcastle, he was one of three over-age players selected to play for the England U-21 side against Switzerland and was also the substitute keeper in a game for England against Chile at Wembley Stadium.

SOURCE

Anything else SKONT?

Offline nunu

« Reply #28 on: October 17, 2009, 01:37:01 PM »

Due to his dual nationality, Hislop has had the privilege of donning the national colours of two countries. During his time at Newcastle, he was one of three over-age players selected to play for the England U-21 side against Switzerland and was also the substitute keeper in a game for England against Chile at Wembley Stadium.

SOURCE

Anything else SKONT?

So how come you guys always tease about ,'send more britz' when birchall an hislop are
british ? ???

« Reply #29 on: October 17, 2009, 01:40:34 PM »

SOURCE

Anything else SKONT?

So how come you guys always tease about ,'send more britz' when birchall an hislop are
british ? ???

Hislop more Trini than John Barnes is jamaican.

Birchall more trini than any Reggae Brit is jamaican.