April 26, 2024, 03:05:08 PM

Author Topic: Pollard denied greatest cricket catch...ever  (Read 1624 times)

Offline behind-de-bridge

Pollard denied greatest cricket catch...ever
« on: October 23, 2009, 02:12:18 AM »
Anyone who saw that 'almost catch' by Pollard in the 14th over against the Cobras would have to agree that if in fact that ball did not touch the ground, it would have gone down as the greatest ever cricket catch. The man saved a certain 6, fling the ball back into play, sprinted and dived to catch the ball. I think he genuinely caught it and the ball did not touch the ground. But if there is doubt, the batsman have to be given the benefit of the doubt. All the same, Pollards commitment alone is worth watching over and over.

Have a look at 4:20 on the second clip

http://cricket-online.tv/cape-cobras-vs-trinidad-tobago-highlights-semi-final/

Re: Pollard denied greatest cricket catch...ever
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2009, 05:31:30 AM »
Similar catches:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Ph98ZBZtp1w" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Ph98ZBZtp1w</a><a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/giLxPCgLLqg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/giLxPCgLLqg</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Afgioheq8ig" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Afgioheq8ig</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/MYvmsHSnlJk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/MYvmsHSnlJk</a>

« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2009, 07:15:25 AM »
Last year WI playing NZ and a NZ man take a funny cath diving forward.  His plams were face down, the ball dragging on the groun for about a whole foot or more and they still give the WI man out...cyah remember who it is now, but I will remember the incident.

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2009, 07:19:36 AM »
Pollard's catch would have been greater than these, as he threw the ball so far way that the ground he covered was phenomenal.

« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2009, 08:21:35 AM »
Amazing catch, Jah Jah doh like ugly

« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2009, 05:10:14 PM »
Last year WI playing NZ and a NZ man take a funny cath diving forward.  His plams were face down, the ball dragging on the groun for about a whole foot or more and they still give the WI man out...cyah remember who it is now, but I will remember the incident.

i remember dat incident, but ah jus cant remember d person either

i honestly believe dat was an honest catch by pollard. i doh think he wud have celebrated like that if the ball touched the ground or if he knew the ball touch the ground

« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2009, 06:49:51 PM »
But that looks like a clean catch. His palms were up all the way through. I've seen more dubious catches given out (esp Aus vs WI)
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2009, 06:51:42 PM »
Credit to the team though...the fielding and catching has been really good
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country