April 26, 2024, 12:14:12 AM

Author Topic: The best left footer in Football history  (Read 10717 times)

Re: The best left footer in Football history
« Reply #30 on: October 29, 2009, 02:46:39 PM »
Diego hands down

dais what the english squad was screamin back in '86

« Reply #31 on: October 29, 2009, 03:12:50 PM »
This is a trick question. All those Diego fans who ain't  satified that he HAS to share the throne with the PEARL. He was the best left footed player. OK, OK all yuh win. But I know for a fact Pele could use he left foot better than Diego can use his right.  Anyway add Alvin and Francisco Marihno to that list.

« Reply #32 on: October 29, 2009, 03:13:42 PM »
Add Renee Olmberg(Suriname) to that list also.

« Reply #33 on: October 29, 2009, 03:14:52 PM »

Good call sah!  :beermug:

« Reply #34 on: October 29, 2009, 06:28:41 PM »
For those who remember Morocco in the 1986 WC, there was a player named Timoumi with a deaadly left foot.

I distinctly remember the commentators suggesting that he had the "sweetest left foot in the World Cup" , and they were comparing him to Maradonna's left.....
« Last Edit: October 29, 2009, 06:31:27 PM by College »

« Reply #35 on: October 29, 2009, 06:30:53 PM »
Diego hands down

dais what the english squad was screamin back in '86
...you sure dey wasn't screaming " hands up " ?  :beermug:

« Reply #36 on: October 29, 2009, 06:33:13 PM »

Good call sah!  :beermug:
Palos you good oui ! you is de only man who could get not one but five " best " and still have room for more ..
You eh tink you should now call it George ?  :beermug:

« Reply #37 on: October 29, 2009, 06:37:48 PM »
You can't leave Roberto Carlos out of this argument.

« Reply #38 on: October 29, 2009, 06:41:10 PM »
Jerron Nixon

« Reply #39 on: October 29, 2009, 06:41:55 PM »
He's a lil clip of Timoumi being compared to that other Brazilian fellah.....

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x3qw4_mohamed-timoumi_sport

« Reply #40 on: October 29, 2009, 06:44:45 PM »
Leroy Spann is one of the best left footer we had  when he raise that foot and shake it man would dance too the beats.

« Reply #41 on: October 29, 2009, 06:48:44 PM »
College,
              You is a real ball jumbie. Timouni was indeed a star in Morocco. In that WC he was just coming off  an serius ankle injury(I stand to be corrected). He used to play for FAR(Morocco army team). The King send his private plane to take him to Europe for medical attention.

« Reply #42 on: October 29, 2009, 06:59:07 PM »
College,
              You is a real ball jumbie. Timouni was indeed a star in Morocco. In that WC he was just coming off  an serius ankle injury(I stand to be corrected). He used to play for FAR(Morocco army team). The King send his private plane to take him to Europe for medical attention.

Ah still have that WC on VHS. From 1986 till present day, ah doh think there is a better team to come out of Africa .. they had men like Boudeballah and Khairi (sp) and some ah the best passing, trapping and overall technique in the WC.

« Reply #43 on: October 29, 2009, 07:11:06 PM »
College,

Ah still have that WC on VHS. From 1986 till present day, ah doh think there is a better team to come out of Africa .. they had men like Boudeballah and Khairi (sp) and some ah the best passing, trapping and overall technique in the WC.

You sure you still have dat tape ? ... then I suggest you look at it again ..... is '86 yuh talking bout yuh know ...

« Reply #44 on: October 29, 2009, 07:17:29 PM »
I can't remember the rest of the guys on that team, but Timouni stood out easily. Ball control and passing were excellent. Heard he was a hard kicker hence the alias cannonball

« Reply #45 on: October 29, 2009, 08:05:16 PM »
Mario Kempes is one of the best i've seen.

Rivelino was good to.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2009, 08:09:47 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #46 on: October 29, 2009, 09:28:31 PM »
Maradona first of course
Rivaldo
GHEORGHE HAGİ ( one of my favourites)
Puskas
Sir Bobby Charlton ( i understand he coulda play with both feet. I know him for good long range cracks with the left foot)
« Last Edit: October 29, 2009, 09:33:43 PM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #47 on: October 29, 2009, 11:35:46 PM »
I surprised nobody mentioned Ryan Giggs

« Reply #48 on: October 30, 2009, 07:38:40 AM »
I surprised nobody mentioned Ryan Giggs

We saved it for you Smalls...

Offline coachman

« Reply #49 on: October 30, 2009, 08:33:28 AM »
I going local-LEROY SPANN,international-Maradonna,minor league Hardest or Ratty?

« Reply #50 on: October 30, 2009, 08:36:48 AM »
Rivaldo?
Stoichkov?
Mihailovic?

Them men could do real thing with one foot.

Maradona coulda use both..it wrong to call him a lefty.

Umm not really...Maradona was very one-footed. 

For me I would go for Maradona & Rivaldo

Some other quality left feet in the biz not yet mentioned:

Lionel Messi
Alvaro Recoba
Mario Kempes
Eder
Roberto Carlos
Gheorghe Hagi

edit: Sorry Eder was already mentioned...oops

How I just know you were gonna call Rivaldo.

And I bet your best striker ever is L Ronaldo

« Reply #51 on: October 30, 2009, 08:54:22 AM »
Matt Le Tissier anybody?

« Reply #52 on: October 30, 2009, 12:15:18 PM »
Diego hands down
I recall Hoddle as being skillfull with both feet, big time player  :beermug:

Why is this even a comparison or a discussion for that matter.  Diego was the greatest player of all time, including Pele...I said it yes I did....Diego was the greatest player period or as we say in trini, full stop.

I won't argue that point

« Reply #53 on: October 30, 2009, 12:16:51 PM »
Diego hands down
I recall Hoddle as being skillfull with both feet, big time player  :beermug:

Why is this even a comparison or a discussion for that matter.  Diego was the greatest player of all time, including Pele...I said it yes I did....Diego was the greatest player period or as we say in trini, full stop.

Well if you say it, then it must be true!   :angel:

;D :rotfl:

Observer...yuh eh tell we who your pick is.  Drop it nah man. 8)

Old heads will say Puskas. I would say Diego.

Left footers I liked. Hagi, Ramon Diaz, Pasarella, Gerson, Futre, Leroy Spann  ;D

No doubt Puskas and Ramon Diaz were some really good ballers.  Used to be a rumor Diego didn't like Ramon Diaz, so no sweat for Ramon after that.

Offline scarface

• ultra del vicchia signora
« Reply #54 on: October 30, 2009, 12:46:51 PM »

Umm not really...Maradona was very one-footed. 

For me I would go for Maradona & Rivaldo

Some other quality left feet in the biz not yet mentioned:

Lionel Messi
Alvaro Recoba
Mario Kempes
Eder
Roberto Carlos
Gheorghe Hagi

edit: Sorry Eder was already mentioned...oops

u cyah be serious wit da name in ur list!

You can't leave Roberto Carlos out of this argument.

u hadda be smoking! it have no way he cud make any kinda greatest/bet list unless is a greatest/best lucky goal list!

« Reply #55 on: October 31, 2009, 03:01:04 PM »
Matt Le Tissier anybody?

Matt Le Tissier right footed

« Reply #56 on: October 31, 2009, 04:41:48 PM »
Matt Le Tissier anybody?

Ah didnt want to say nutten ;D

« Reply #57 on: October 31, 2009, 04:55:17 PM »
so whappen... defenders doh get no love?

Maldini and Andreas Brehme for me was best with the left.

« Reply #58 on: October 31, 2009, 08:45:06 PM »
so whappen... defenders doh get no love?

Maldini and Andreas Brehme for me was best with the left.

Brehme was ambidextrous...we hadda examine the rules for definition of lefty  ;D

The popular belief is that he considered his right foot to be more accurate and his left more powerful...

Remember his PK in the WC '90 final - right foot....
« Last Edit: November 01, 2009, 11:13:58 AM by kicker »

« Reply #59 on: October 31, 2009, 10:57:12 PM »
Matt Le Tissier anybody?

Sorry.  Meant to put Le Tissier on de dribbler thread...not this one.  :beermug: