March 28, 2024, 04:19:17 PM

Author Topic: Larsson bids emotional farewell  (Read 2386 times)

Larsson bids emotional farewell
« on: October 29, 2009, 12:48:05 PM »
Larsson bids emotional farewell
BBC Sport

Larsson found it hard to keep his emotions in check

Striker Henrik Larsson fought back the tears as he said farewell to football and admitted his decision to retire had left an "emptiness".

The Swede took to the pitch for the last time in Helsingborg's 2-0 Swedish League loss to Djurgarden on Wednesday.

He was given a standing ovation from the crowd.

The 38-year-old scored over 300 goals during spells with Helsingborg, Feyenoord, Celtic, Barcelona and Manchester United.

Tributes from the likes of Sweden coach Lars Lagerback, United boss Sir Alex Ferguson and international team-mate Zlatan Ibrahimovic were played at the ground.

"It really hits you when meet all this love," said Larsson, who will not play in Helsingborg's final match of the domestic season at Elfsborg on Sunday.

"I'm normally quite a cool character but right now I feel like I could cry.

"It's huge to be able to end it on our home ground and it has to end some time. It's rubbish to end things this way (with a defeat) but you can't have everything in life."

Larsson, who won 106 caps for Sweden, was also moved by Helsingborg's decision to retire the number 17 shirt in his honour.

"It's a fantastic gesture by the club, to retire it for ever. I'm very moved," he said.

Larsson will now take time out to think over how best to fill the void left by his retirement, although he has already been linked with several coaching jobs, including at Celtic.

"I don't know if I have to go down to the employment agency and do certain things, but I have the luck and luxury to be able to say no to jobs which are offered to me," he added.

"But obviously there is an emptiness at present, and I need to fill that emptiness with something.

"I'm fortunate enough to have earned enough money to be able to sit back and not panic, but I have to do something. I can't just glide through the rest of life."

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
Re: Larsson bids emotional farewell
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2009, 01:06:52 PM »
Wow... definitely one of the most underappreciated players of his era.

« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2009, 01:07:48 PM »
 :applause: :applause:  Well done, Good Player and a football gentleman

« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2009, 01:29:14 PM »
Indeed Observer... one of my favorite players of all times.  I still recall seeing him for the first time with Celtic and wonder who this fella wid de dreads tearing up de right flank was.  Was pleasantly surprised to see him playing recently in qualification... pity Sweden never really accomplished much during his time with the national team.

« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2009, 01:55:11 PM »
should have left that shitty scottish league a long time ago to prove himself among the best..

To me that was the one drawback of his career.. the fact that he stuck it out with Celtic so long..

Great player nonetheless, was even able to make a tangible contribution at the biggest clubs in the twilight of his career.. which is a credit to his quality.

« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2009, 02:34:06 PM »
was a boss at celtic...
had him on my custom FIFA team back in the day  :devil:

« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2009, 02:41:32 PM »
First time I saw him was at the WC (USA I think) with his dreads and coming off the bench as a youngster.He was always a class act on the pitch. Well Done Henrick!! :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: October 29, 2009, 02:48:19 PM »
should have left that shitty scottish league a long time ago to prove himself among the best..

To me that was the one drawback of his career.. the fact that he stuck it out with Celtic so long..

Great player nonetheless, was even able to make a tangible contribution at the biggest clubs in the twilight of his career.. which is a credit to his quality.

Maybe he was there too long, but #7 is a God to Celtic fans, akin to Henry at Arsenal...if Arsenal fans were anywhere near as passionate as Celtic fans. His arrival in Scotland effectively ended Rangers dominance of the SPL (they'd won 9 titles in a row before Larsson came) and he was virtually a one-man show. He pretty much put the club on his back and took dem all d way to d UEFA Cup final, which was a 1 v 1 classic - Larsson vs Deco.

Legend  :beermug:

Offline Richard G.

• Ah en new...jus doh post as often as oda people
« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2009, 02:51:10 PM »
One of the most feared strikers ever. Could score headers with such accuracy and power that his ability left many stunned, shocked and in awe. There will be other strikers that will remind us of Larsson, but never another. Best wishes to a class act and a tremendous footballer.

Blessings
Richard G.
T&T first. Any other country comes a very distant 2nd.

www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg2
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg3

« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2009, 02:57:09 PM »

:applause:

best Celtic ever.... ever, ever

True Class act of the sport..... with this statement

"But obviously there is an emptiness at present, and I need to fill that emptiness with something.

"I'm fortunate enough to have earned enough money to be able to sit back and not panic, but I have to do something. I can't just glide through the rest of life."

I expect to see him as Sweden's next coach ??  :beermug:

« Reply #10 on: October 29, 2009, 03:21:26 PM »
Pure class!!!!! God bless. Maybe he will get into mangerial or coaching. He probably be back in that capacity. All the best.

« Reply #11 on: October 29, 2009, 05:50:34 PM »
There will be other strikers that will remind us of Larsson, but never another. Best wishes to a class act and a tremendous footballer.

Blessings
Richard G.

Cosign

« Reply #12 on: October 29, 2009, 06:45:23 PM »
Absolutely one of the classiest players to put on football boots.  Blessings to you brother!

« Reply #13 on: October 29, 2009, 07:01:42 PM »
saw him live vz TNT in Dortmund... thank god he did not add to his goal tally that day

good football man... respect

« Reply #14 on: October 29, 2009, 07:10:34 PM »
Had to post: classsssssssssssss and more classsssssssssssss

« Reply #15 on: October 29, 2009, 08:33:28 PM »
First time I saw him was at the WC (USA I think) with his dreads and coming off the bench as a youngster.He was always a class act on the pitch. Well Done Henrick!! :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

Cosign.  Sweden had really looked good that year....

« Reply #16 on: October 29, 2009, 08:37:39 PM »

Had a crush on this man once  :-[

sad to see u go boo  :beermug:

« Reply #17 on: October 29, 2009, 08:40:17 PM »
That was the first World Cup I remember watching. I was backing Sweden over Brazil. His play was sublime. I always remembered him as being a real team player. Great Player !

« Reply #18 on: October 29, 2009, 09:01:01 PM »
That was the first World Cup I remember watching. I was backing Sweden over Brazil. His play was sublime. I always remembered him as being a real team player. Great Player !

Aye...Jah Gol.....where de HELL you get dis video, Hoss?1  Every time I look at it I does buss out laughin'.........Yuh should post sumting on "The best dribbler in the history of football" thread....jes' to have a example.