March 28, 2024, 08:25:39 AM

Author Topic: Yorke and Lara at the races  (Read 3020 times)

Yorke and Lara at the races
« on: November 03, 2009, 10:47:38 AM »
All shook up on Shocking's big day
Geoff McClure and Samantha Lane (The Age)

SHOCKING may have won the Cup but the four-year-old and his connections weren't the only ones who left Flemington yesterday with a cup that runneth over. No siree. Drumroll please, for Sporting Life's Melbourne Cup gongs of 2009.

THE "let's party" award is understandably the hardest one to win on Melbourne Cup day. After all, who goes to the Cup without partying in mind? These two blokes are not only world-class party animals but this was their first trip to our biggest sporting day. What's more, one of them was celebrating his birthday. Take a bow, Brian Lara and his "birthday boy" mate, Dwight Yorke, who sailed into Flemington, both dressed to the nines — with Yorke turning 38 — and immediately announced they couldn't wait to take in the atmosphere "and meet a few of your girls". Lara, the former West Indian cricket great, has always had a strong attachment to Australia and is here this time in his role promoting the Island to Island Lemon, Lime and Bitters company while Yorke, the former striker for Manchester United (and four other English Premier League teams) and more recently, for Sydney FC, is here . . . well, we think only to have a good time. Said Lara: "I have heard so much about the Melbourne Cup and I can see now why it is such a big occasion. I can't believe the atmosphere." Actually, we have a confession to make — initially, we didn't even recognise Yorke behind his big shades until Lara asked: "Can I get my best mate in the photograph." Said Yorke: "It's good to be in Brian's shadow. Won't be that way by the end of the day, though."

Re: Yorke and Lara at the races
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2009, 11:00:36 AM »
Yorke mother die just last week and Yorke in Australia on a sexing mission.

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2009, 11:17:35 AM »
Yorke mother die just last week and Yorke in Australia on a sexing mission.

It's called recuperating.  ;)

« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2009, 11:20:04 AM »

What about respect !  ;)

« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2009, 11:31:06 AM »

What about respect !  ;)

Who is he disrespecting?

How long after his mother's passing should he wait before he starts back living his life?  How much is respectful? and who determines that? 

I am not commenting one way or the other on Yorke's lifestyle, but I'm not sure if his mother's passing makes anything he does any more or less respectful than before she died...

« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2009, 11:35:35 AM »
nah man sando, so because ah man doh deal wid he grief the way YOU want him to, you interpret that as disrespect?

you know if his queen would rather he mope around sobbing, than go on enjoying life?

yuh kinda outta timing with that talk man.

« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2009, 01:41:52 PM »
sort dem out skipper

« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2009, 02:43:46 PM »

What about respect !  ;)

He went to promote his book and to get the farewell from his fans in Sydney. 

« Reply #8 on: November 03, 2009, 03:12:48 PM »
nah man sando, so because ah man doh deal wid he grief the way YOU want him to, you interpret that as disrespect?

you know if his queen would rather he mope around sobbing, than go on enjoying life?

yuh kinda outta timing with that talk man.

COSIGNNNNNNNNNN

« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2009, 03:29:24 PM »
Kicker,
           Is his mother that passed, not his wife.

« Reply #10 on: November 03, 2009, 06:02:32 PM »
Kicker,
           Is his mother that passed, not his wife.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Well said!

« Reply #11 on: November 03, 2009, 07:30:12 PM »
Why alyuh jus leave the man alone?  Why should anybody determine how the man should grieve?  After all she not sick.  She dead!  Steeeuups!

« Reply #12 on: November 05, 2009, 12:14:46 PM »
Well Trinibagonians really know how to enjoy themselves in everyway.

Ent !!!!

I know its only his mother who died and not his wife.

Fete and sex after one week of your mothers death tells a lot.

I am sorry to sound so bad to some, but if my mother died it would really hurt me. Partying would be far from my mind.

Don't get me wrong, life goes on, but I would sacrifice a little time for her to pay my respects.

Offline signal

« Reply #13 on: November 05, 2009, 02:31:29 PM »
Well Trinibagonians really know how to enjoy themselves in everyway.

Ent !!!!

I know its only his mother who died and not his wife.

Fete and sex after one week of your mothers death tells a lot.

I am sorry to sound so bad to some, but if my mother died it would really hurt me. Partying would be far from my mind.

Don't get me wrong, life goes on, but I would sacrifice a little time for her to pay my respects.

really??
If...
chief justice ivor archie say so
ex-chief justice sharma say so
law assoc pres martin daly say so
transpareny institute say so
Ken Gordon say so
jones p say so....then is so!!!

« Reply #14 on: November 06, 2009, 10:57:57 AM »
Ppl how did everyone come to these conclusions? Stop your gossipping nah. Too much woman in here.

« Reply #15 on: November 06, 2009, 11:21:32 AM »
It's not our business.

« Reply #16 on: November 06, 2009, 10:22:59 PM »
both ah dem get caught on camera smokin ah blunt. d cameraman get caught an he had to give he camera. ooopppsssss.

« Reply #17 on: November 09, 2009, 06:47:35 AM »
both ah dem get caught on camera smokin ah blunt. d cameraman get caught an he had to give he camera. ooopppsssss.

Rumours them spreading...Yorke not into that. He love he body too much. If latas was there I mighta believe u...