April 16, 2024, 09:15:10 AM

Author Topic: Who was the last East Indian to represent TT in Track at the Olympics?  (Read 10855 times)

Tallest not you please.

Re: Who was the last East Indian to represent TT in Track at the Olympics?
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2009, 10:27:22 AM »
Ronnie Holassie....marathon runner
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2009, 06:52:39 PM »

Ronnie Holassie was indian ??

« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2009, 06:57:33 PM »

Ronnie Holassie was indian ??

Ahmm......

« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2009, 07:01:42 PM »
Man me ent know......iz Trinidad. We could ask him... :beermug:
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2009, 01:02:39 AM »
Maybe he was dogla.

Is Holassie an Indian name?

Anyway, this fellow had a completely Indian name. Go for it.

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2009, 02:17:07 AM »
Pragg
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2009, 03:02:55 AM »
Pragg

Pragg? At the Olympics??

Is not Shirvan Pragg the cricketer you talking about?

No, not Pragg.

« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2009, 06:58:01 PM »
Maybe he was dogla.

Is Holassie an Indian name?

Anyway, this fellow had a completely Indian name. Go for it.

well I know Manny Ramjohn was in an Olympics for sure.  Not sure bout Manny Dookie.  In any case, I feel that there must be someone more recent.

(Holassie always look Indian to me.)

« Reply #9 on: November 08, 2009, 01:11:15 AM »
It was far more recent.

However, I am ashamed to say that for years now whenever I heard Mannie Ramjohn (I was thinking of Manny Dookie) :-(

Give you one more day.

« Reply #10 on: November 08, 2009, 08:19:03 AM »
Rafeek Mohammed

« Reply #11 on: November 08, 2009, 10:29:26 AM »
Rafeek Mohammed

But Tallest I say not you :-(

Yes, Rafeek Mohammed, a quarter miler. Represented TT in the 400 and 4x4 relay. Placed sixt with the TT relay squad at the 1980 Olympics.

« Reply #12 on: November 08, 2009, 10:58:53 AM »
Rafeek Mohammed

Ah stay away for ah while, but den yuh say yuh only giving one more day, and it eh look like nobody was going tuh give any more answers  ;D

« Reply #13 on: November 08, 2009, 02:15:06 PM »
How you could underestimate the SWN posse so?

Anyway you probably right ;)

« Reply #14 on: November 10, 2009, 06:44:49 PM »
I HAVE TO SAY i CAN'T REMember him. What club he ran for and did he attend college in the US.

« Reply #15 on: November 13, 2009, 04:41:25 AM »
I HAVE TO SAY i CAN'T REMember him. What club he ran for and did he attend college in the US.

All I can say is I saw him run one or two races at home in the early 80s and he looked very strong, he ran around the track hard.

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #16 on: November 13, 2009, 07:40:26 AM »
I remember Moses Rangall was T&T champ a few times. 
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #17 on: November 15, 2009, 08:18:15 PM »
Ronnie was a dougla..... met him a few times when we ran track for TnT... Pamenos and Benedict was we daddies back then!

« Reply #18 on: November 18, 2009, 08:28:20 AM »
I know Mannie Dookie did represent TT in the Commonwealth Games. But I also think he ran for TT in the 1948 Olympic in London. Help me out.

« Reply #19 on: November 18, 2009, 08:45:09 AM »
I know Mannie Dookie did represent TT in the Commonwealth Games. But I also think he ran for TT in the 1948 Olympic in London. Help me out.

You tinking about Mannie Ramjohn

« Reply #20 on: November 18, 2009, 03:37:42 PM »
So Dookie never ran in the Olympics? You guys also know there was a track club from St. James called Dookie School of Athletics in the 60' and 70's.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2009, 03:39:17 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #21 on: November 18, 2009, 03:52:36 PM »
So Dookie never ran in the Olympics? You guys also know there was a track club from St. James called Dookie School of Athletics in the 60' and 70's.

Nah, Dookie never run in de Olympics.

« Reply #22 on: November 18, 2009, 04:32:32 PM »
Thanx, Tallman.

« Reply #23 on: April 02, 2010, 12:40:11 PM »
Rafeek Mohammed

Yes, Rafeek Mohammed, a quarter miler. Represented TT in the 400 and 4x4 relay. Placed sixt with the TT relay squad at the 1980 Olympics.

not wanting to be too technical, but neither one of these names is "Indian" ... "Rafeek" is Pakistani and "Mohammed" is Arabic...Peace ;D

« Reply #24 on: April 02, 2010, 03:00:24 PM »
Rafeek Mohammed

not wanting to be too technical, but neither one of these names is "Indian" ... "Rafeek" is Pakistani and "Mohammed" is Arabic...Peace ;D

There is no such thing as a Pakistani name. You may have meant Muslim.
However, I am unaware if Rafeek is Muslim or not. :-)

« Reply #25 on: April 03, 2010, 09:07:02 PM »
Rafeek Mohammed

are you serious, "no such thing as a Pakistani name" lol, you're joking right? What is a Muslim name? Is there a muslim name book one can go to for names? All those so-called "muslim names" are usually Arabic names. The Pakistanis had names before they had Islam.

« Reply #26 on: April 03, 2010, 10:54:55 PM »
Rafeek Mohammed

But when they came Trini India and Pakistan were one .

Rafeek Mohammed

are you serious, "no such thing as a Pakistani name" lol, you're joking right? What is a Muslim name? Is there a muslim name book one can go to for names? All those so-called "muslim names" are usually Arabic names. The Pakistanis had names before they had Islam.

There was no Pakistan before 1948 so what you saying those names only started existing post '48.

But I understand what you saying about an ARab name.

« Last Edit: May 14, 2010, 05:26:36 PM by vb »

Rafeek Mohammed

There was no Pakistan before 1948 so what you saying those names only started existing post '48.

Wow...
the man name muslim so he can't be Indian?
allyuh serious?  so then according to your logic, the 160.9 muslims in Indians with muslim names not indian?  ask Shah rukh khan what he is.  and since he have a muslim name according to more of your logic he neither Arabic or Pakistani, he must be Indonesian since they have the most muslims in the world

now to make things more confusing ...oh yeah...Rafeek is an Arabic name...

Rafeek Mohammed

Wow...
the man name muslim so he can't be Indian?
allyuh serious?  so then according to your logic, the 160.9 muslims in Indians with muslim names not indian?
  ask Shah rukh khan what he is.  and since he have a muslim name according to more of your logic he neither Arabic or Pakistani, he must be Indonesian since they have the most muslims in the world

now to make things more confusing ...oh yeah...Rafeek is an Arabic name...

Do me a favour, take a good look at those first two sentences and tell me what de hell it is you really trying to say.