April 27, 2024, 08:47:16 AM

Author Topic: LA's Birchall having time of his life  (Read 3888 times)

LA's Birchall having time of his life
« on: November 05, 2009, 08:32:49 PM »
LA's Birchall having time of his life
By Larry Morgan (MLSnet.com)

Chris Birchall came to the Los Angeles Galaxy in mid-July with modest goals in mind. All he wanted to do was get some playing time and feel like he belonged.

More than four months later, Birchall has reached that goal and even surpassed it. The midfielder from Stafford, England not only has received his share of playing time but worked his way into in the starting lineup. The 25-year-old is preparing for his second-ever MLS Cup Playoff game on Sunday against Chivas USA and is having the time of his life.

"I've played in important games," the 5-foot-9, 180-pounder said, "and the MLS playoffs, not everyone gets to play in these. This is one of the most important times I"ve played soccer in my life."

Birchall, a member of the Trinidad and Tobago national team -- for which he's made 33 appearances -- spent his entire club career in England and Scotland before coming to Los Angeles. He was with Port Vale and Coventry City, as well as loan spells with St. Mirren and Carlisle United before his last British club, Brighton and Hove Albion.

He was added to the Galaxy's roster on July 15 and went on to play 13 games, during which time the Galaxy went 7-3-3. He played a significant role in the team's winning its first regular-season Western Conference title since 2002 and went 77 minutes before being replaced by Chris Klein in last Sunday's 2-2 tie with Chivas USA in the first game of their Western Conference Semifinal Series.

Birchall said the conditions last weekend were difficult -- the game-time temperature was 81 degrees -- which led to some surprisingly spotty play by both teams.

"It was a very, very tough game to play in," he said. "You could tell the moment the kickoff took place it was so hot out there, and the pace of the game was never going to be that fast for 90 minutes. Chivas got off to a great start, and credit to us to get back in the game and take the lead. Then unfortunately we gave the lead away.

"It's not a bad result for either team. It's like a stalemate now, like a one-game knockout. We feel like we've got an advantage with our home fans. It will be a great atmosphere again."

And cooler, too. The kickoff will take place around 4:45 p.m. PT on Sunday, unlike last Sunday's 2:25 p.m. start. Birchall said the rivalry with Chivas has been everything he thought it would be, although he admitted he was unfamiliar with the Galaxy's Home Depot Center co-tenants when he arrived on the scene.

"It was new to me. I didn't know much about Chivas," Birchall said. "They've got passionate fans, the same as L.A. It's not a surprise to me how intense the rivalry is. I've been lucky to play ... I think this will be my third one that I've played.

"This is the fifth time this season we've played each other, and it's always good to get one over on your local rival. You can never take that away in derby games."

Birchall understandably is relishing the experience.

"When I first got here I was just hoping to get into the team and play week in and week out," he said. "I didn't really give a thought to the playoffs. I was just trying to play one game at a time. We were on such a good run of form that with a few games to spare we were up at the top. We had a great second half of the season and we carried that into the playoffs.

Re: LA's Birchall having time of his life
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2009, 09:34:28 PM »
happy fuh muh boy.

jus keep sweatin an keep yuhself healthy, me mum

it lookin like he lose a lil bit a weight too. he lookin fit dese days

do yuh ting pappy  :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2009, 10:25:17 PM »
happy fuh muh boy.

jus keep sweatin an keep yuhself healthy, me mum

it lookin like he lose a lil bit a weight too. he lookin fit dese days

do yuh ting pappy  :beermug:

COSIGN

« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2009, 10:30:46 PM »
go meh fellow whiteboy!  ;D

« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2009, 04:41:01 AM »

« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2009, 04:49:21 AM »
he is still not good enough to rep TnT though... :beermug:

« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2009, 04:58:38 AM »
he is still not good enough to rep TnT though...  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Lighten up there spoil sport.. :devil:

That white youth representing...100%...more than those who were born and raised on the rock

« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2009, 05:50:30 AM »
play yuh fitball laddie

Offline nunu

« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2009, 07:42:06 AM »

I admired that equalizer he scored v Bahrain in TnT .If it was not for Birchall Tnt probably would not go
to the world cup . send more britz! ;D

« Reply #9 on: November 06, 2009, 08:07:02 AM »

I admired that equalizer he scored v Bahrain in TnT .If it was not for Birchall Tnt probably would not go
to the world cup . send more britz! ;D

and Latas still doh like him!

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #10 on: November 06, 2009, 08:10:42 AM »
TheGalaxy is having a super season defensively, due partly to the outstanding performances of Kepper donovan rickets. They conceeded 60-odd goals last season, compared to 30-odd so far this season.

« Reply #11 on: November 06, 2009, 10:12:26 AM »
TheGalaxy is having a super season defensively, due partly to the outstanding performances of Kepper donovan rickets. They conceeded 60-odd goals last season, compared to 30-odd so far this season.

Agreed.  The U.S. is the mecca of glaokeeping, if you ask me, and Ricketts has looked consistent.  I was actually surpirsed that Arena went for a foreign keeper, considering the glut of solid GKs in the U.S., but this has worked out well for the Galaxy.

Offline nunu

« Reply #12 on: November 06, 2009, 12:18:57 PM »

Agreed.  The U.S. is the mecca of glaokeeping, if you ask me, and Ricketts has looked consistent.  I was actually surpirsed that Arena went for a foreign keeper, considering the glut of solid GKs in the U.S., but this has worked out well for the Galaxy.

Arena went for a foreign Keeper because he knew Donovan Ricketts , in 2002 wcq era when jamaica was
in group with USA , arena was the coach for USA. Ricketts have always been Considered one of the better GK
in the Concacaf region . This year @ LA they concede half less than last year .

« Reply #13 on: November 06, 2009, 09:39:36 PM »
Did anyone watch the last playoff game that Chris played in last weekend?  I did and I thought that he looked really good.  Though he is not a creative player, he played his position really well and that's with him starting on the wing and then they moved hi in the middle to put Beckham on the wing and he played that position well also.  Just my opinion of what I saw when I watched the game.

« Reply #14 on: November 06, 2009, 09:46:23 PM »
and so on and so on and son

Offline nunu

« Reply #15 on: November 07, 2009, 02:48:48 PM »
Did anyone watch the last playoff game that Chris played in last weekend?  I did and I thought that he looked really good.  Though he is not a creative player, he played his position really well and that's with him starting on the wing and then they moved hi in the middle to put Beckham on the wing and he played that position well also.  Just my opinion of what I saw when I watched the game.
Birchall is playing good , he will have to step up on his game next season cause david beckham
will be out on Loan .

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #16 on: November 07, 2009, 05:17:13 PM »
birchall already lock down the RM position on the side. the LA fans on the bigsoccer forum were real getting on abt becks randomly switching positions w/ birchall just so he could send in crosses... all of which miss everyone

« Reply #17 on: November 09, 2009, 11:34:59 AM »
imagine Leon in the National team ahead of Birchall. What a laugh.

« Reply #18 on: November 09, 2009, 12:19:41 PM »

Los Angeles 1 vs Chivas USA 0.  LA advance to MLS Cup.  
1 Donovan Ricketts
16 Gregg Berhalter
2 Todd Dunivant
28 Sean Franklin
4 Omar Gonzalez
23 David Beckham
10 Landon Donovan
7 Chris Klein
8 Dema Kovalenko
18 Mike Magee
14 Edson Buddle

Substitutes
12 Josh Saunders
20 AJ Delagarza
5 Yohance Marshall
6 Eddie Lewis
21 Alan Gordon
9 Jovan Kirovski
27 Bryan Jordan

Substitutions
Eddie Lewis for Mike Magee (86)
Jovan Kirovski for Chris Klein (67)
Alan Gordon for David Beckham (78)

Imagine Yohance Marshall in de LA Galaxy squad ahead of Birchall.

Yuh laughin?
« Last Edit: November 09, 2009, 12:22:05 PM by palos »

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
« Reply #19 on: November 09, 2009, 12:45:03 PM »

1 Donovan Ricketts
16 Gregg Berhalter
2 Todd Dunivant
28 Sean Franklin
4 Omar Gonzalez
23 David Beckham
10 Landon Donovan
7 Chris Klein
8 Dema Kovalenko
18 Mike Magee
14 Edson Buddle

Substitutes
12 Josh Saunders
20 AJ Delagarza
5 Yohance Marshall
6 Eddie Lewis
21 Alan Gordon
9 Jovan Kirovski
27 Bryan Jordan

Substitutions

Yuh laughin?
wasn't he sick or something?

« Reply #20 on: November 09, 2009, 01:01:10 PM »

1 Donovan Ricketts
16 Gregg Berhalter
2 Todd Dunivant
28 Sean Franklin
4 Omar Gonzalez
23 David Beckham
10 Landon Donovan
7 Chris Klein
8 Dema Kovalenko
18 Mike Magee
14 Edson Buddle

Substitutes
12 Josh Saunders
20 AJ Delagarza
5 Yohance Marshall
6 Eddie Lewis
21 Alan Gordon
9 Jovan Kirovski
27 Bryan Jordan

Substitutions

Yuh laughin?
wasn't he sick or something?

I really doh know to be honest.  I found it strange that he started the first game and was out completely in the 2nd.  Illness would be a plausible explanation.

I was just pokin some fun at Elan who had to degrade Leon to big up Birchy.

Leon could tell Elan..."well...nobody in England want you.  Not even for a trial.  In de meantime I tryin out with Premiership team Brimingham".  8)

« Reply #21 on: November 09, 2009, 04:31:15 PM »

1 Donovan Ricketts
16 Gregg Berhalter
2 Todd Dunivant
28 Sean Franklin
4 Omar Gonzalez
23 David Beckham
10 Landon Donovan
7 Chris Klein
8 Dema Kovalenko
18 Mike Magee
14 Edson Buddle

Substitutes
12 Josh Saunders
20 AJ Delagarza
5 Yohance Marshall
6 Eddie Lewis
21 Alan Gordon
9 Jovan Kirovski
27 Bryan Jordan

Substitutions

Yuh laughin?

Obviously he was in some sort of circumstance, otherwise he would have started. Just so happens the man was sick.

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #22 on: November 09, 2009, 09:13:17 PM »
serious, do ya'll even watch the galaxy games? they started klein who can only play one half and has basically underachieved all season tho i have to admit he had a great game last night... then arena brought on kiro who's been shitting himself for some time now... u really think any of that was planned? anyways the commentators said birchall was declared too sick to play that day and that caused klein to come in at the last minute... his spot on the team is just about sealed. tell me how many games has he started for la since his debut and how many has he not started for any reason other than being ill or injured?

« Reply #23 on: November 09, 2009, 10:20:49 PM »
All the best Chris!! :beermug: :beermug: