March 29, 2024, 12:24:37 AM

Author Topic: Savannah, GA  (Read 3165 times)

Savannah, GA
« on: November 11, 2009, 11:14:18 AM »
Anyone familar with the place?

Re: Savannah, GA
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2009, 11:18:19 AM »
yes spent the first part of my honeymoon there....  :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2009, 11:50:53 AM »
nice place to visit but I wouldn't want to live there.

the overall pace slow, touristy and the nearest big cities are Jacksonville 2+ hours, Charleston 2.5hours, and ATL 4 hours.

« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2009, 12:35:27 PM »
Been there a couple of times. Rented a cottage out on Tybee Island.

Definitely nice for a visit. Love the moss hanging from the trees.

Forsyth park in town

Tybee island light house

« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2009, 05:21:58 PM »
Careful about certain parts though.

« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2009, 09:26:20 PM »
very pretty place...but I doh think you go want to seek asylum dey

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2009, 06:42:56 PM »
WHat do you want to know?
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2009, 07:21:21 PM »

Forsyth park in town

What time of year have you been to Tybee? From a brief surf online, I'm getting the sense it's worth the flex.

« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2009, 07:23:15 PM »
WHat do you want to know?

Pretty much any observations of those who have been ... good places to check out, things to look out for.

« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2009, 07:10:00 PM »
Saw very little of Savannah. However, I found it to be a lil more hip than perhaps one would expect. Sensed an element of a kind of displaced liberal chic for a southern city. Also reminded me of Charleston, SC (saw very little there as well on that asylumseeking mission) in an old money way.

(A while back I discovered a thread dealing with Charleston, SC ... might append an opinion there ... eventually).

Re: Savannah ... it's difficult to shake the sense that the old money has roots in America's entanglement with enslavement. All the standard indicia of that edition of devious alliances were present on the city's historical landscape.

I eh meet any, buh fuh sure sure ah Trini or three definitely hadda be on the ground there.

Precisely.

« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2009, 08:07:56 PM »

yeah be careful, it may be like Calgary Canada!

« Reply #11 on: November 16, 2009, 10:09:44 AM »
If you all don't know... this is supposed to be the most Haunted city in the US....!

« Reply #12 on: November 16, 2009, 11:49:58 AM »
If you all don't know... this is supposed to be the most Haunted city in the US....!

Dahis why yuh spent only part ah yuh honeymoon there? :devil:

« Reply #13 on: November 16, 2009, 01:32:38 PM »

Forsyth park in town

What time of year have you been to Tybee? From a brief surf online, I'm getting the sense it's worth the flex.

It was actually in November. It was getting a little cool at that point, but we were escaping even colder weather in NY so it was ok. Here's a shot of the beach there:

« Reply #14 on: November 17, 2009, 08:26:09 PM »

*note to self...remember the following steps*
step1.when mentioning any state city, hamlet, village , neighbourhood or street in the usa, always use positive words

step 2.repeat chants of god bless america prior to attempting any posts involving the us and its citizens

step3. drink grape kool aid to wash away any bitter jealous feelings internally harboured toward the us and its wonderful people by dirty communist hippie canadians

« Reply #15 on: November 17, 2009, 08:52:38 PM »

step1.when mentioning any state city, hamlet, village , neighbourhood or street in the usa, always use positive words

step 2.repeat chants of god bless america prior to attempting any posts involving the us and its citizens

step3. drink grape kool aid to wash away any bitter jealous feelings internally harboured toward the us and its wonderful people by dirty communist hippie canadians
Dutty you orrite yes :D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #16 on: November 17, 2009, 10:53:50 PM »

Yuh ever visited Savannah Georgia?  I have been to calgary.  Nice place

« Reply #17 on: November 19, 2009, 09:46:46 PM »

Yuh ever visited Savannah Georgia? 

nope, I never even been to anywhere in america.....but ah want to go bad bad
de place lookin NICE!!!!
ah goin and try for mih green card again

« Reply #18 on: November 19, 2009, 10:31:39 PM »

Yuh ever visited Savannah Georgia? 

nope, I never even been to anywhere in america.....but ah want to go bad bad
de place lookin NICE!!!!
ah goin and try for mih green card again

Sad, I feel your pain, the only reason canada e float away in de Aleutian is cause de USE holding dem down.

hold strain...............soon yuh could do ah Taco Bell and run for de border.........ah go tell de dog doh bite yuh.

« Reply #19 on: November 20, 2009, 08:11:39 AM »
yes spent the first part of my honeymoon there....  :beermug:

wow me too...we went on a couple tours, walked around the city (historic part), went on a river cruise, it was real nice.

« Reply #20 on: November 21, 2009, 01:17:34 AM »

Mih brother went on some haunted tour that included a trip to a famous cemetery and the idiot was taking pictures, i eh know what wrong with dat fellah. I was in a bar drinking on the riverfront or whatever dey call it (nice lil area to lime).  Anyway in one of de pics it has this white image of a lady that look like a ghost.  He didnt notice it until I pointed it out to him so my boy went back to cemetery next day and drag me along to check out the spot to see if it had a statue to logically explain the image.  There was no damn statue there.  He decide to take more pics of the spot to see if the image appear, I nearly drive off and left his a$$ there.  I don't believe in them thing but that pic raise some serious doubts.