April 30, 2024, 06:55:25 PM

Author Topic: Football In Brooklyn (New York City)  (Read 4809 times)

Football In Brooklyn (New York City)
« on: November 10, 2009, 10:55:41 PM »
Hello All,

My friend is currently trying to start up a club and/or academy in New York (In particular Brooklyn).

He has an already established football company in Maryland and Miami.

However, I informed him that there is a lot of talented players in New York that grieve for quality football programs but is deprived the opportunity. So I recommended to him to look at Brooklyn to take his business.

Recognizing that Brooklyn is a under served community, my goal is to help him make the right connection to start the process of establishing a proper club and/or academy where players can reap the benefits of what his company has to offer (i.e. quality coaches, college opportunities, local tours, fun and learning environment)

Having said that, I need some help getting some background information on how football is structured and ran in New York City?

In addition, the answers to these questions would also help :

(1) Is field space an issue and is it expensive to rent?
(2) What leagues are out there?
(3) What age group do they start playing competitive football?
(4) Is it expensive?
(5) What leagues do players compete in?

If you know anyone who knows more about the structure of football in brooklyn and more so New York City, please send me a PM. Please direct any questions/concerns to me personally as well.

Thanks

Re: Football In Brooklyn (New York City)
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2009, 11:08:38 PM »
I have experience in the Cosmopolitan Soccer League. We formed a team back in the 90's when I was living there and got our company to sponsor us. They run quite a few divisions.
http://www.cslny.com/

« Last Edit: November 10, 2009, 11:11:25 PM by E-man »

« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2009, 11:29:58 PM »
I have experience in the Cosmopolitan Soccer League. We formed a team back in the 90's when I was living there and got our company to sponsor us. They run quite a few divisions.

Thanks, although this may be helpful in some way or the other the focus is more on player ages 5-15/17.

After taking a look at the website, I recognized that it is more an adult league.

« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2009, 12:09:05 AM »
They junior counterpart is http://www.cjsl.org/

« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2009, 08:41:26 AM »
Their is a lot of football in Brooklyn

Several AYSO teams etc etc

Caton Park in Brooklyn (Near Propect Park) has organized soccer every weekend in Brooklyn, several teams club and leagues playing.

At a more competitive level you have teams like Brooklyn Knights that have "Academy teams"

For the caribbean groups their is football at Boys High high school.

Their are currently a lot of teams in Brooklyn but their is still a lot of room if you have the time and dedication to start a program.
Most of the teams are based on ethinic lines.
The biggest issue would be organizing the fields

As resources are limited their is plenty competition as not many fields are available.

But it is growing , 10 years ago all the fields were dirt patches now they are all turf.

their is even an ODP program but it is based in Queens/ Long Island but they scout players from brooklyn as well.

« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2009, 10:39:48 AM »

based on them team names, ethnic segregation being practiced in NY football? or they like celtic fc is now and incorporating others?

« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2009, 08:08:03 PM »

Thanks E-man

Is there anybody in particular you would recommend me contacting?

Their is a lot of football in Brooklyn

Several AYSO teams etc etc

Caton Park in Brooklyn (Near Propect Park) has organized soccer every weekend in Brooklyn, several teams club and leagues playing.

At a more competitive level you have teams like Brooklyn Knights that have "Academy teams"

For the caribbean groups their is football at Boys High high school.

Their are currently a lot of teams in Brooklyn but their is still a lot of room if you have the time and dedication to start a program.
Most of the teams are based on ethinic lines.
The biggest issue would be organizing the fields

As resources are limited their is plenty competition as not many fields are available.

But it is growing , 10 years ago all the fields were dirt patches now they are all turf.

their is even an ODP program but it is based in Queens/ Long Island but they scout players from brooklyn as well.

Ok, so based on what you told me thus here getting access to fields is the biggest issue?

« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2009, 10:31:50 AM »
York College Soccer Field in Queens is excellent. And St John's University too.

Up State and Long Island have good fields to, Brooklyn run down.

York College

St John's University
« Last Edit: November 12, 2009, 10:59:18 AM by Sam »

« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2009, 01:17:03 PM »
Football in Brooklyn? hmmmm Sam i might be wrong but those two schools you mention is not in Brooklyn,from the little i know of Football in Brooklyn it have no Soccer for Youths,you will find adult leagues all over the place and for sure a lot of fete matches,to get Youth Soccer you wiill have to check the outskirts,i can say for sure if it had Youth Soccer in Brooklyn i would of been living there,because it don't i had to move on to areas where i can ply my trade. 

« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2009, 06:39:44 PM »
Football in Brooklyn? hmmmm Sam i might be wrong but those two schools you mention is not in Brooklyn,from the little i know of Football in Brooklyn it have no Soccer for Youths,you will find adult leagues all over the place and for sure a lot of fete matches,to get Youth Soccer you wiill have to check the outskirts,i can say for sure if it had Youth Soccer in Brooklyn i would of been living there,because it don't i had to move on to areas where i can ply my trade. 

Like yuh need goggles, I never say both schools in Brooklyn, I say Brooklyn run down.

Both schools I mention is in Queens.

« Reply #10 on: November 12, 2009, 06:46:59 PM »

Like yuh need goggles, I never say both schools in Brooklyn, I say Brooklyn run down.

Both schools I mention is in Queens.
       May be we both need goggles because i never said you said so,i think we both know where those schools are sorry about that.

« Reply #11 on: November 12, 2009, 08:12:19 PM »

It have plenty youth soccer in Brooklyn, more than adult soccer even.

« Reply #12 on: November 12, 2009, 09:46:37 PM »

Thanks for the update.

« Reply #13 on: November 12, 2009, 11:07:27 PM »

Thanks E-man

unfortunately, I don't have any good contacts there anymore.

I had signed up my kids for AYSO soccer at Marine Park right before we moved away, but that's more a rec league than a competitive, development type. There are numerous other AYSO regions in Brooklyn.

« Reply #14 on: November 13, 2009, 04:27:37 AM »

Any more specific information? Links? Contacts? etc

Thanks E-man

unfortunately, I don't have any good contacts there anymore.

I had signed up my kids for AYSO soccer at Marine Park right before we moved away, but that's more a rec league than a competitive, development type. There are numerous other AYSO regions in Brooklyn.

Thanks E-man

« Reply #15 on: November 13, 2009, 12:56:50 PM »

It have tons ah AYSO teams in Brookly alone and several leagues.

www.ayso.org and

www.brooklynayso.org are good places to start.

Then you have a lot of private youth teams

Kidsmove http://www.kidsmoveforsoccer.com/registration.php

Brooklyn Italians http://www.brooklynitalians.org/

Brooklyn Patriots http://www.eteamz.com/bpsc/index.cfm?

Brooklyn United http://www.brooklynsoccer.org.au/

Then you can check with the NYC Parks Dep't for other leagues and clubs.

« Reply #16 on: November 13, 2009, 04:00:03 PM »
Hello All,

My friend is currently trying to start up a club and/or academy in New York (In particular Brooklyn).

He has an already established football company in Maryland and Miami.

However, I informed him that there is a lot of talented players in New York that grieve for quality football programs but is deprived the opportunity. So I recommended to him to look at Brooklyn to take his business.

Recognizing that Brooklyn is a under served community, my goal is to help him make the right connection to start the process of establishing a proper club and/or academy where players can reap the benefits of what his company has to offer (i.e. quality coaches, college opportunities, local tours, fun and learning environment)

Having said that, I need some help getting some background information on how football is structured and ran in New York City?

In addition, the answers to these questions would also help :

(1) Is field space an issue and is it expensive to rent?
(2) What leagues are out there?
(3) What age group do they start playing competitive football?
(4) Is it expensive?
(5) What leagues do players compete in?

If you know anyone who knows more about the structure of football in brooklyn and more so New York City, please send me a PM. Please direct any questions/concerns to me personally as well.

Thanks

where and what is the name of the club/academy in Maryland?

« Reply #17 on: November 15, 2009, 07:39:30 AM »

It have tons ah AYSO teams in Brookly alone and several leagues.

www.ayso.org and

www.brooklynayso.org are good places to start.

Then you have a lot of private youth teams

Kidsmove http://www.kidsmoveforsoccer.com/registration.php

Brooklyn Italians http://www.brooklynitalians.org/

Brooklyn Patriots http://www.eteamz.com/bpsc/index.cfm?

Brooklyn United http://www.brooklynsoccer.org.au/

Then you can check with the NYC Parks Dep't for other leagues and clubs.

Thanks!