March 29, 2024, 03:40:53 AM

Author Topic: OBAMA COMING?  (Read 2926 times)

OBAMA COMING?
« on: November 20, 2009, 12:25:32 PM »
International developments taking place have raised the distinct possibility of US President Barack Obama coming to Trinidad and Tobago once again, along with Chinese President Hu Jintao, Prime Minister of Spain, Jose Luis Rodriguez Zapetero, and President of Brazil Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva.

A late momentum is developing which could see these major world figures coming to Trinidad and Tobago next week to participate in what would normally be a conference exclusive to Heads of Government of Commonwealth countries.

Climate change is the catalyst and motivating factor, UN-based sources outside of Trinidad and Tobago stated yesterday.

Already, non-Commonwealth personalities, Lars Lokke Rasmussen, Prime Minister of Denmark; and UN Secretary-General, Ban Ki Moon; the co-hosts of the climate change conference to be held in Copenhagen, Denmark, between December 7 and 16, together with French President, Nicolas Sarkozy, who is on an urgent mission to secure a climate change agreement, will definitely be in Port of Spain during next week’s meeting, Prime Minister Manning has confirmed.

But sources revealed yesterday that in the wake of the failure of China and the United States to hammer out an agreement during Obama’s recent visit there, and the developing activity around the world -which includes Sarkozy meeting with Amazonian countries to treat with the climate change issue-it was now very possible that both leaders would be in Port of Spain during CHOGM.

Asked about the matter in a brief telephone interview last evening, Foreign Affairs Minister Paula Gopee-Scoon said: ’I wish not to comment on those reports.’

Chen Yang, Political Affairs attache at the Chinese Embassy in Port of Spain said last night that they were ’still awaiting a response’ from China when asked if the Chinese president would be here next week.

US Embassy public affairs officer, Matthew V Cassetta, meanwhile, said he had received no official communication that either Obama or US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton would be flying to this country.

’At this point in time we have no indication that either of them has expressed an interest or plan to attend,’ he said.

CHOGM has not within recent times attracted this kind of attraction. It is unprecedented that countries not related to the Commonwealth will be participating in the conference.

But it is the impending United Nations Climate Change conference that has given this added dimension. And this is reflected in the words of the Prime Minister in his address to the nation on Wednesday night: ’I should also advise you that our country has been at the centre of almost frenzied activity among leading nations from both the developed and developing world as we seek to ensure that we take the strongest possible position in preparation for the Copenhagen meeting.’

Government officials said last night that the persons who attended the Fifth Summit of the Americas conference in April this year left with the highest opinion of this country, and therefore they felt Trinidad and Tobago was conducive to discussing the issue of climate change without being distracted with demonstrations and other such activities.

’That is the feeling among leaders in the international community and it is a tribute to the management of that conference as well as the country’s leadership,’ the official said.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/print?id=161560068

??? so we building many smelters, and steel plants......but we gone host climate talks in we country?

Re: OBAMA COMING?
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2009, 12:36:33 PM »
I eh go lie, I never thought Port of Spain would ever get this kinda media outside of Carnival

« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2009, 12:48:52 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/T-jNde2c8YU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/T-jNde2c8YU</a>

« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2009, 03:46:09 PM »
so if obama coming will that be a last minute traffic change?

« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2009, 04:09:31 PM »
Oh Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!! Not again.

« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2009, 04:37:38 PM »

Since I cyar get nowhere near him.....cccccoooooosssssiiiiiggggnnnn!!!!....

« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2009, 04:38:26 PM »

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2009, 05:05:50 PM »

My oh my how jaded we've become - "he coming again?"
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2009, 05:12:32 PM »

My oh my how jaded we've become - "he coming again[/i]?"
lol, yuh know eh. ;)
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2009, 05:15:29 PM »

lol, yuh know eh. ;)

;DI mean, it seems like only yesterday, people were going, "OMG he coming, he coming, to T&T!"
Now is like, "whatever, he coming again, I go take two doubles and a red solo."
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2009, 06:11:11 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/T-jNde2c8YU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/T-jNde2c8YU</a>

TALLMAN!!!!  :rotfl:  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

you does really come een at some jokey times oui

« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2009, 06:14:48 PM »

lol, yuh know eh. ;)

;DI mean, it seems like only yesterday, people were going, "OMG he coming, he coming, to T&T!"

« Reply #12 on: November 21, 2009, 05:42:32 AM »

lol, yuh know eh. ;)

Girl for me is the inconvenience......ah cyar take the Red, yellow, green, brown and multi colour zoning thing....I have a appointment to do mih hair on the 27th in Woodbrook......next thing you know cuz he coming I cyar pass on this street and that one nor the next one.....ah setta stress and ah cyar get mih hair done.....ah love Obama but not if he going to come between me and mih hair    ;D ;D
« Last Edit: November 21, 2009, 05:45:18 AM by Brownsugar »

« Reply #13 on: November 21, 2009, 10:59:43 AM »
Latest ah hear is he ain't coming...Michelle warn him doh set foot in Trinidad because if how she name Scoon  jump him and rub up he chest at the airport again, she go cut he throat!!

Savannah shot down.
St Vincent Street
Parts of Wrightson and Arapitia Ave close off between 6 am 6pm

Ress ah Trinidad safe.

« Reply #14 on: November 22, 2009, 11:17:31 AM »
is de 2nd coming  :D

« Reply #15 on: November 22, 2009, 12:28:36 PM »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #16 on: November 22, 2009, 04:02:06 PM »

lol, yuh know eh. ;)

We does only fawn over foreigners once.....nex trip dey go jostle for maxi like everybody else

« Reply #17 on: November 22, 2009, 09:09:32 PM »

lol, yuh know eh. ;)

We does only fawn over foreigners once.....nex trip dey go jostle for maxi like everybody else

« Reply #18 on: November 23, 2009, 06:11:53 AM »

lol, yuh know eh. ;)