April 24, 2024, 10:10:03 PM

Author Topic: Carlos: We need a proven finisher  (Read 2793 times)

Carlos: We need a proven finisher
« on: November 23, 2009, 12:06:15 PM »
Carlos: We need a proven finisher
By Carl Marston (Green'Un24)

CARLOS Edwards admits that Ipswich Town might have to recruit another striker, to finally get their season up and running.

Winger Edwards played his part in Town's disappointing goalless home draw against Sheffield Wednesday, which was played in front of the Sky TV cameras and also in driving rain.

But the inability of Roy Keane's men to find the back of the net - it's now just 17 goals in 17 games - has left them stuck in the bottom three, a distant four points away from safety.

“We've solved our defensive problems, but I think we do need a striker with a proven record of scoring at his level,” revealed Edwards.

“We do need a striker with a killer instinct in front of goal.

“It's sometimes a case of going in that extra yard to break a leg, though not literally of course; it's often just a toe-poke that results in a goal.

“Some of our strikers have not scored for so many games. They lack confidence in front of goal.

“Yet the goals can come from anywhere. Just look at our win over Derby, when a defender (David Wright) scored the winner.

“It usually comes down to the players believing in themselves. The manager believes in them, but the players have to believe in themselves as well,” added Edwards.

The transfer deadline for emergency loan deals ends on Thursday, by which time Keane will hope to have recruited a new player, almost certainly a striker.

The Irishman did make changes for Saturday's stalemate. He handed Owen Garvan his first appearance for three months, and also gave a run-out to Lee Martin up front.

Edwards himself was actually surprised that he kept his place in the team.

“I was surprised that I started today, after my last two performances (against Derby and at Reading), which were poor. But the manager has kept faith in me,” continued Edwards.

“Roy Keane is a top man. Everyone has their dark side, but he needs his players to help him and make his job easier.

“It's hard for him to accept not winning, because of his past, when he won more than he lost. Winning is everything for him.

“He has mellowed since our days together at Sunderland. He has learnt from his mistakes.

“I'm no golden boy. He makes it known when he's not happy with what's going on, and you have got to know how to take constructive criticism.

“I'm ambitious, just as the manager is. I won promotion at Sunderland, which was a sweet feeling.

“We must look at the positives again. We're on an unbeaten run (six games) and I think that things are taking off already, rather than about to take off.

“We are gelling together and we are strong as a unit.

“And we can't ask for any more from our fans. They have given us such good support, like at the last away game at Reading. I was surprised but joyful with that support, considering the position that we are in. We need all the support that we can get,” concluded Edwards.

Re: Carlos: We need a proven finisher
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2009, 12:48:45 PM »
excuse meh ignorance eh

D' phoq is Marcus Evans???

« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2009, 12:53:59 PM »
Carlos, say what yuh gotta say to carefully position yuhself wit' dem backstabber manipulative coaches around you, but between you and me, yuh well know that Keane is a waste ah time and probably just bipolar with several screws loose. Still good luck Carlos. Hopefully you will step back nex' year, do a reality check and get de hell outta there.

« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2009, 05:02:47 PM »
Jason Scotland   ::)

« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2009, 05:24:29 PM »
ah see ya Jason Scotland and raise ah Daryl Roberts
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2009, 06:00:57 PM »
Kerry Baptiste! Talk done.

« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2009, 06:16:11 PM »
Kerry Baptiste! Talk done.

:beermug: :beermug: Deekos, tell meh ah dreaming nah.

« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2009, 07:06:38 PM »
LOL

« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2009, 08:03:28 PM »
excuse meh ignorance eh

D' phoq is Marcus Evans???

dais de macohmehman dat buy de team

ok arrite, is ah firm dat does put on global confrences...and does make dey telemarketers harrass people on dey wukk

« Reply #9 on: November 23, 2009, 10:16:43 PM »
ah see ya kerry baptiste and raise yuh jamal clarence

« Reply #10 on: November 24, 2009, 02:15:52 AM »

fold  :)

« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2009, 06:55:51 PM »
ah see ya kerry baptiste and raise yuh jamal clarence

ah boy de ting gettin hot. By next campaign I think Ill also be on the side of clarence since TnT players barring yorke and Latas dont age well. Ill take clarence and Tinto with Guerra playing behind dem.  ;D

« Reply #12 on: November 24, 2009, 10:56:40 PM »
D man say "proven scorer". that is code name for the promotion specialist - Bravo, whey u dey?

They calling for Stern to leave Palace bench and fire Ipswich up and then get discarded...again.

« Reply #13 on: November 25, 2009, 01:54:03 AM »
I'm guessing Roy Keane burned his bridge with David Connolly after he played a massive role in getting Sunderland promoted otherwise Connolly probably would be at Ipswich right now.

« Reply #14 on: November 26, 2009, 03:01:18 PM »
I knew this had to be about Stern...Los' knew something was going to happen for sure

Ipswich now have 2 trini's...Buss de net Stern!

« Reply #15 on: November 27, 2009, 05:08:43 PM »
I knew this had to be about Stern...Los' knew something was going to happen for sure

Ipswich now have 2 trini's...Buss de net Stern!

Ain't that something.

« Reply #16 on: November 28, 2009, 02:51:31 AM »
I'm guessing Roy Keane burned his bridge with David Connolly after he played a massive role in getting Sunderland promoted otherwise Connolly probably would be at Ipswich right now.
Connolly do more than Stern  when he came in January?