April 23, 2024, 12:59:27 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the El Dorado v St Mary's Game (24-Nov-09).  (Read 3692 times)

Thread for the El Dorado v St Mary's Game (24-Nov-09).
« on: November 21, 2009, 08:11:03 AM »
3:30pm, El Dorado East Secondary v St Mary's College, Hasley Crawford Stadium.
(National Intercol Semi-Final)

Re: Thread for the El Dorado v St Mary's Game (24-Nov-09).
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2009, 06:09:21 AM »
El Do, St Mary’s confident ahead of InterCol clash.
Kevin Sunich (T&T Guardian).

East Zone league runners-up, El Dorado East will be hoping to repeat its 2-1 win over St Mary’s in 2007 when the two teams meet once again in semifinal action of the 2009 Coca-Cola National InterCol today at Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo, from 4 pm.

A win for “Blue Thunder” will definitely be a boost and bring some positive news to the school after some of its students were involved in gang activities with students of El Dorado West school last week. Head coach of the “Blue Thunder,” Trevor Spicer said that despite all that is taking place, his troops are focused on the job at hand.

“While the teams are evenly matched, my guys will have the edge due to their fighting spirit,” stated Spicer. El Do, after taking an early lead in the quarterfinal against South Zone champion Presentation, had to come from behind to send the match into penalty kicks where it won 4-3.

This is the second time in two years that the East Zone team has reached the semifinals of the tournament. St Mary’s, on the other hand, will be looking to reverse the tables this time round, as it goes in search of its first national InterCol title since 1968. Coach Jason Edwards, like Spicer, feels that it will be a good contest.

“The teams know each other well, we have played them during the pre-season and we know their strengths and weaknesses, as well as they know ours. Both teams have a good core of talented players, but I feel at the end of the match we will be the winners.” CIC, which won the North zone league title after 23 years in the doldrums, advanced by hammering Tobago champion Mason Hall 6-1.

The second semifinal between defending champion Naparima and St Augustine will take place at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium, Marabella, on Thursday, from 4 pm. Naps got past Queen’s Royal College 3-0, while the “Green Machine” out played Carapichaima by the same margin.

« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2009, 06:42:01 AM »
Which El Do is this?  The Gaza or The Gully??...... ::) ::)

« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2009, 09:13:47 AM »

I wish it had ah way to grab deez yutes and give all ah dem one collective bitch-slap.

« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2009, 09:29:16 AM »

I wish it had ah way to grab deez yutes and give all ah dem one collective bitch-slap.

Steups boy tell me about it.  Yesterday one stab a next one with a 10 - 12 inch knife....now you tell me, what the hell it is going on........ssssttteeuuuppsss!!!

Offline Israel

« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2009, 04:48:31 PM »
After a 1-1 draw in regualtion...CIC lost to Eldo on sudden death penalties.
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2009, 05:31:08 PM »
We outplayed them..created numerous chances and typical CIC..allowed El Do 1 chance..and f**king Cyrus scores..

El Do is real shit and Naps/Gustine have it in the bag...

But we didnt take our chances and we have no luck against that shit f**king side from East

« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2009, 06:42:43 PM »
Steups... same shit, different day.

« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2009, 06:50:12 PM »
Congrats El Do!  Well deserved!!

« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2009, 07:00:49 PM »
We outplayed them..created numerous chances and typical CIC..allowed El Do 1 chance..and f**king Cyrus scores..

But we didnt take our chances and we have no luck against that shit f**king side from East

a tad bit harsh for de team dat just cut allyuh ass dont yuh think? :devil: :devil: :devil:

« Reply #10 on: November 24, 2009, 07:15:11 PM »
Seems like (at least, according to one poster's rants) cic only coming up against a string ah "shit sides" but yet they "not having any  :violin:  luck" against them........sounds to me like saints is a shit side, too.....if not a shittier side. 

« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2009, 07:25:08 PM »
the wise men came from the east..

always remember that. :beermug:

« Reply #12 on: November 24, 2009, 07:52:29 PM »
na no lie.. We real outplay them.. but credit to them..they took their chances

Gustine/Naps winning that game for sure... it's a no contest.. once again the Final will be one sided..

« Reply #13 on: November 24, 2009, 08:52:46 PM »
Seems like (at least, according to one poster's rants) cic only coming up against a string ah "shit sides" but yet they "not having any  :violin:  luck" against them........sounds to me like saints is a shit side, too.....if not a shittier side. 
aye
aye
aye
doh diss meh side :devil:

a penalty shoot out is ah cutarse ???
men TUSTY for a win over the Great CIC :D
« Last Edit: November 24, 2009, 09:19:14 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #14 on: November 24, 2009, 09:07:36 PM »

« Reply #15 on: November 24, 2009, 09:17:34 PM »

Well apparently.

Is a whole deja vu again oui....I remember in form 3....we play eldo in de veledrome. Driving rain....breeze blowing ball back into play......we was 2-0 down....i run round de field with a flag.....come back and make it 2-2.....and loss on penalties same way. Dis morning when i get up...see dah rain so....i say hmm....

Hard Luck fellas.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Offline Eldo man

« Reply #16 on: November 24, 2009, 10:03:12 PM »

Well done eldo...Ah like how we beat them bullerman and them from down in de north.... Yuh was ah lil disrespectfuul dey to meh side... Eldo forever...yuh acting like is only school down in de north could kick ball..

« Reply #17 on: November 24, 2009, 10:35:43 PM »

Well done eldo...Ah like how we beat them bullerman and them from down in de north.... Yuh was ah lil disrespectfuul dey to meh side... Eldo forever...yuh acting like is only school down in de north could kick ball..

If you saw the game you'll understand my view..CIC completely outplayed them...Credit to El Do for taking their chances and winning the penalty lottery...you'll need all the luck in the final.. I think they used up all today though

El Do edge Saints for final berth
« Reply #18 on: November 25, 2009, 05:53:15 AM »
El Do edge Saints for final berth.
By: Kern De Freitas (T&T Express).

El Dorado East Secondary sent St Mary’s College marching home with a 7-6 win in a tense sudden-death penalty shootout yesterday at Hasely Crawford Stadium.

A 1-1 deadlock after regulation time, thanks to first half goals from ’El Do’ talisman Daneil Cyrus and St Mary’s captain Kyle Beggs, left the teams at the penalty spot. And although ’Blue Thunder’ skipper Khavoir Graham missed his team’s first kick, El Do goalkeeper Christian Edwards saved from Christian Briggs and Jason Mendez hit the crossbar to leave Keelon Joseph the task of beating Raheem Belgrave in the Saints goal, booking their berth in the final in the process.

Underdog status was clearly marked on El Dorado’s lapel, but their intent was no less visible, with shots on goal by Shaquille Smith and Cyrus within the first minute.

St Mary’s also let in Keron Hernandez, who blasted just wide with opposing goalkeeper Belgrave at his mercy.

The Saints slowly found their stride and had their own arguments for drawing first blood, but Dillon Kirton, coming in from the left side of the penalty area, had at least three glaring misses close up, including a blast overbar with the goal at his mercy.

Cyrus, relatively quiet for much of the half by his standards, did threaten with an incisive through pass to Keron Bethelmy and was thwarted in the 25th by the legs of Belgrave in one-on-one play. But a similar run in the 28th left Belgrave for dead, as Cyrus beat the custodian to his right at the near post for the lead.

Bethelmy and Dwayne Gonzales then missed chances to send the Blue Thunder further ahead, but St Mary’s captain Kyle Beggs did not miss his team’s chance to level the scores, heading home a Chad Appoo corner kick to go in 1-1 at the break.

St Mary’s had the better of the second half, which was not nearly as exciting as the first.

Their forward thrust was tempered by El Dorado’s dogged defence, but the East Zone runners-up, having Cyrus sitting deeper in defence, did not seem as potent in attack.

The long ball to the lone striker, the diminutive Bethelmy, perhaps the shortest man on the field, did not work well. Instead, El Do were prepared to sit back and soak up the pressure.

The Saints, meanwhile, turned on the heat to try and find the winner in regulation time, a wise choice after their 3-0 penalty shut-out by Queen’s Royal College in the North Zone InterCol finale.

Tyrell Grant nearly had it in the 79th, driving a loose ball just over the bar and at the other end, a rare header by El Dorado’s Xavier Ravanales forced a punch out of Belgrave.

A last gasp save by Edwards kept Kirton from reaching a dangerous ball by Appoo in the 90th and the teams proceeded to the decisive shootout. In the end, the Thunder sounded loudly and St Mary’s were left to take the long walk home.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2009, 06:14:49 AM by Flex »

« Reply #19 on: November 25, 2009, 07:16:05 AM »

D 1 prieviously known as Eldo Blue

« Reply #20 on: November 25, 2009, 09:07:49 AM »
......I find scorin' a penalty is easier than makin' a free trow, but both are as basic, natural and essential to their respective sports are as swallowing is to food consumption........how dem saints men cyah kick a ball into a goal from 12 yards out really suggest that maybe they needed to spend one more year playin' in de Savannah and shoulda let somebody else take dey spot. 

« Reply #21 on: November 25, 2009, 09:08:52 AM »

Well apparently.

Is a whole deja vu again oui....I remember in form 3....we play eldo in de veledrome. Driving rain....breeze blowing ball back into play......we was 2-0 down....i run round de field with a flag.....come back and make it 2-2.....and loss on penalties same way. Dis morning when i get up...see dah rain so....i say hmm....

Hard Luck fellas.

Yeah I played in that game....most heartbreaking loss ever. Eldo is really we bogey side yes. Hard luck Saints, good luck to Eldo in the final  :beermug:

Offline Eldo man

« Reply #22 on: November 25, 2009, 03:28:37 PM »

If you saw the game you'll understand my view..CIC completely outplayed them...Credit to El Do for taking their chances and winning the penalty lottery...you'll need all the luck in the final.. I think they used up all today though

Thats the game of football,  much better post. Nuff Respect to you Mr Wazza

« Reply #23 on: November 25, 2009, 03:35:34 PM »
El Do edge Saints for final berth.
By: Kern De Freitas (T&T Express).

El Dorado East Secondary sent St Mary’s College marching home with a 7-6 win in a tense sudden-death penalty shootout yesterday at Hasely Crawford Stadium.

A 1-1 deadlock after regulation time, thanks to first half goals from ’El Do’ talisman Daneil Cyrus and St Mary’s captain Kyle Beggs, left the teams at the penalty spot. And although ’Blue Thunder’ skipper Khavoir Graham missed his team’s first kick, El Do goalkeeper Christian Edwards saved from Christian Briggs and Jason Mendez hit the crossbar to leave Keelon Joseph the task of beating Raheem Belgrave in the Saints goal, booking their berth in the final in the process.

Underdog status was clearly marked on El Dorado’s lapel, but their intent was no less visible, with shots on goal by Shaquille Smith and Cyrus within the first minute.

St Mary’s also let in Keron Hernandez, who blasted just wide with opposing goalkeeper Belgrave at his mercy.

The Saints slowly found their stride and had their own arguments for drawing first blood, but Dillon Kirton, coming in from the left side of the penalty area, had at least three glaring misses close up, including a blast overbar with the goal at his mercy.

Cyrus, relatively quiet for much of the half by his standards, did threaten with an incisive through pass to Keron Bethelmy and was thwarted in the 25th by the legs of Belgrave in one-on-one play. But a similar run in the 28th left Belgrave for dead, as Cyrus beat the custodian to his right at the near post for the lead.

Bethelmy and Dwayne Gonzales then missed chances to send the Blue Thunder further ahead, but St Mary’s captain Kyle Beggs did not miss his team’s chance to level the scores, heading home a Chad Appoo corner kick to go in 1-1 at the break.

St Mary’s had the better of the second half, which was not nearly as exciting as the first.

Their forward thrust was tempered by El Dorado’s dogged defence, but the East Zone runners-up, having Cyrus sitting deeper in defence, did not seem as potent in attack.

The long ball to the lone striker, the diminutive Bethelmy, perhaps the shortest man on the field, did not work well. Instead, El Do were prepared to sit back and soak up the pressure.

The Saints, meanwhile, turned on the heat to try and find the winner in regulation time, a wise choice after their 3-0 penalty shut-out by Queen’s Royal College in the North Zone InterCol finale.

Tyrell Grant nearly had it in the 79th, driving a loose ball just over the bar and at the other end, a rare header by El Dorado’s Xavier Ravanales forced a punch out of Belgrave.

A last gasp save by Edwards kept Kirton from reaching a dangerous ball by Appoo in the 90th and the teams proceeded to the decisive shootout. In the end, the Thunder sounded loudly and St Mary’s were left to take the long walk home.

What's the 411 on this baller?

« Reply #24 on: November 25, 2009, 05:32:15 PM »
but the highlights show more dan one chance for ElDo! I eh go lie look like CIC did dominate the second half

« Reply #25 on: November 26, 2009, 10:36:46 AM »