June 15, 2024, 10:42:21 PM

Author Topic: how and where can I make a legal Bet on Soccer in the USA ?  (Read 2254 times)

Offline nunu

how and where can I make a legal Bet on Soccer in the USA ?
« on: December 01, 2009, 06:42:44 PM »
Is their a Bookmaker I could call somewhere in Nevada ?

Re: how and where can I make a legal Bet on Soccer in the USA ?
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2009, 10:46:41 PM »
Vegas would be the only place... I imagine, or maybe Delaware, and that's only if either accept odds on soccer.

« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2009, 10:51:31 PM »
You can bet online with no problems as long as the site isn't based in the US (I believe)

« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2009, 10:57:03 PM »
You can bet online with no problems as long as the site isn't based in the US (I believe)

Nope.

Feds will come after you, and go after the owners of the site and freeze their assets if they get their hands on it.  There's a case like that in federal court right now involving an American company operating out of the Caymans.

« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2009, 05:51:45 AM »
yuh best bet is to set up a UK or foreign bank account and then proceed from there
ask them fellas in Canada if they could bet online

« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2009, 10:14:49 AM »
yuh best bet is to set up a UK or foreign bank account and then proceed from there

How that saving him from prosecution when he placing bets from a US IP?

He best bet is to hope that prosecutors ent concern with no small fry business... preferring de big fish instead.

« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2009, 06:58:03 PM »

How that saving him from prosecution when he placing bets from a US IP?

He best bet is to hope that prosecutors ent concern with no small fry business... preferring de big fish instead.
i meant setup a bank account where u can deposit funds and recieve winnings but use a telephone to call in your bets instead of going online...but me ent know if that legal either if they don't take bets from USA phones lol
so is using a proxy server illegal also?
but yuh right bout the obscure betting sites..they might not be monitored

« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2009, 08:16:11 PM »
i meant setup a bank account where u can deposit funds and recieve winnings but use a telephone to call in your bets instead of going online...but me ent know if that legal either if they don't take bets from USA phones lol
so is using a proxy server illegal also?
but yuh right bout the obscure betting sites..they might not be monitored

My guess is that if you go with a proxy they migh hit yuh with trying to circumvent the law, but I ent sure.  I sure it have people betting under the radar right now, and I also feel that prosecutors are aware of some others but not bothering with them because the amounts aren't significant enough to justify the use of resources.  I also think that it would be up to the Feds to investigate rather than state actors... so they might be even less inclined to pursue anything but the biggest cases.  But me eh no lawyer so doh call my name when dey hol' yuh... Lol

Offline nunu

« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2009, 09:04:42 AM »
Barney Frank a democrat from Massachusetts is leading a Bill to let gambling in the states legal again .
We will hear what happen on June 1 2010 ...
http://www.physorg.com/news178551993.html

« Reply #9 on: December 08, 2009, 09:43:13 AM »
betting companies in the UK do not care where you are based when actually making the bet, the important part is the setting up of the account itself. You could always get a friend to place the bet for you.

« Reply #10 on: December 08, 2009, 10:04:00 AM »
interesting, just last week a partner was talking about placing a bet on an EPL game and i ask him to send me the site he uses.. i was oblivious

« Reply #11 on: December 08, 2009, 10:26:33 AM »
yeah the US is a funny place sometimes, I didnt realise till a couple years ago you couldnt bet there. You have your hardcore porn valley but you cant bet. You cant drink till 21 but you can buy a gun at 12

« Reply #12 on: December 08, 2009, 10:49:13 AM »
yeah the US is a funny place sometimes, I didnt realise till a couple years ago you couldnt bet there. You have your hardcore porn valley but you cant bet. You cant drink till 21 but you can buy a gun at 12

You seriously trying to equate the negative aspects of gambling with porn?

« Reply #13 on: December 08, 2009, 10:55:05 AM »
I wasnt I was just saying that for an outsider it can be suprising that what can be totally legal in the US and what can be illegal.
but the porn industry doesnt have negative aspects ?