April 25, 2024, 04:19:41 PM

Author Topic: Toffees 'to land Donovan'  (Read 23353 times)

Re: Toffees 'to land Donovan'
« Reply #90 on: December 21, 2009, 11:20:46 AM »
I very anti- america but i rate Donavon. The man did get the golden ball at an u-17 world cup...that proves that he had something special.

:-X :-X  Ah tempted, but I wont.... :devil: :devil:

« Reply #91 on: December 21, 2009, 11:57:46 AM »
I don't understand why people disputing the difference between Beckham's loan situation and Donovan's. Isn't the difference obvious?
« Last Edit: December 21, 2009, 07:15:31 PM by dwn »

« Reply #92 on: December 22, 2009, 09:54:43 AM »
Zeppo Latapy is recognized more so than you give him credit for.  He never made a name for himself in Europe like Yorke did, and he's faded off into retirement as something akin to a cult legend in the small communities who were lucky enough to have him- that's just how it goes sometimes.  Some people don't get the breaks, some don't luck out like others- it's not an indictment on his quality though...Anyone who knows football beyond the mainstream and the headlines would respect Latapy's ability, and fear is potential as an opponent. 

Funny enough, despite all the fighting and fussing... I'd say that Landon Donovan's popularity is analogous to Latapy's.  He's a domestic/cult legend (football in the U.S. still only qualifies as having a cult following) who hasn't yet made a name for himself globally.  Those who have played against him have sung his praises because he's very talented.  He will get a shot to impress at Everton, and I think he will do well.  If I were him I'd try to cut loose from the shackles of the MLS...It would be a shame for a player of his ability to never get a fair taste of top flight football in Europe.  There are lesser talents who have.....

As far as Yorke goes, man up...  Dwight Yorke is a global footballing icon, even if bolstered by his off-the-field antics.  Not many have won a domestic European treble, and even fewer can claim to have been the marquee player in that treble success....Yorke is a legend inside and outside of his home country.  Can you say that about Landon?

All that aside, Yorke & Latapy are yesterday's news fellas- allyuh eh tired talk about them? ... Allyuh come like dem England fans who stuck in Wembley 1966 dread...give it a rest. 

« Reply #93 on: December 22, 2009, 10:27:17 AM »
Latapy- is a legend in Falkirk.... go to any pub and open yuh mouth... the next thing that does come out is "ger yuh know that fella Russell Latapy... now that is a fooking footballer" If Latas run for Mayor of Falkirk he go win by a land slide.... the only thing bigger than him dey is the Falkirk Wheel....

Go in Landon own hood and see if ANYONE know him like that or respect him like that....
« Last Edit: December 22, 2009, 10:29:21 AM by Daft Trini »

« Reply #94 on: December 22, 2009, 10:58:00 AM »
Donovan granted work permit
USA skipper given green light to start Everton loan in January

USA international Landon Donovan has been granted a work permit to finalise his move to Everton from Los Angeles Galaxy.

Everton confirmed last week that the versatile attacker had agreed terms to move to Goodison Park in January on a loan deal until mid-March.

Donovan, who recently signed a new long-term contract with Galaxy, had been interesting several clubs, but opted for a switch to the Toffees.

He has now been given the necessary clearance to start his spell with the Premier League club on 2nd January as he looks to maintain his fitness ahead of the World Cup finals.

Toffees boss David Moyes revealed his hope that Donovan would be the first of two or three new arrivals in the New Year as he looks to boost his injury-hit squad.
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_5793748,00.html

« Reply #95 on: December 22, 2009, 11:17:35 AM »
Latapy- is a legend in Falkirk.... go to any pub and open yuh mouth... the next thing that does come out is "ger yuh know that fella Russell Latapy... now that is a fooking footballer" If Latas run for Mayor of Falkirk he go win by a land slide.... the only thing bigger than him dey is the Falkirk Wheel....

Go in Landon own hood and see if ANYONE know him like that or respect him like that....

What the f**k does Zeppo know about football anyways... other than silly-ass links he scours the internet for?  Why are we even entertaining this idiotic debate, anyone with any football sense would know better than to compare the talent and professional career of Russell Latapy with Landon Donovan's.  That's like comparing a Porsche with a f**king Pinto.

« Reply #96 on: December 22, 2009, 04:27:28 PM »
study this..

Donovan is the best player the USA ever produce yet still his accomplishment pale in comparison to Yorke, Latapy, arguably Stern and soon Kenwyne..

this is because for all de "good" he supposed "good", he is and always will be a rank underachiever!

he could not cut it at the top like the other concacaf greats i mentioned above.. or like a Hugo Sanchez of Mexico or even Julio Cesar Dely Valdez from Panama..

Donovan is a contextual shitong!! suck on that zeppo..

Nobody outside of T&T rates Latapy the way you guys do, except for maybe the fans of the Scottish minnow teams where he "starred". Yorke is a different story, but neither of those guys ever impressed in their games against us anyway. They were always invisible, leaving U.S. fans to wonder what the big deal was. Meanwhile, Wynalda used to score against your clowny team for fun!

And say what you want about Donovan, but he would never walk out on his country in the middle of a World Cup qualifying campaign:

Yorke and Latapy quit

Couple of gutless quitters...

Wow if you think Latapy are Yorke are so underrated why don't you ask your own John Harkes, Tab Ramos and maybe Eric Wynalda how much you wanna bet that your own knowledge (or lack there of) is quickly updated by more knowledgeable members of the game from your own country... don't let argumentative bias cloud  ... two legends

« Reply #97 on: December 23, 2009, 10:51:37 AM »

What the f**k does Zeppo know about football anyways... other than silly-ass links he scours the internet for?  Why are we even entertaining this idiotic debate, anyone with any football sense would know better than to compare the talent and professional career of Russell Latapy with Landon Donovan's.  That's like comparing a Porsche with a f**king Pinto.

I beg to differ...I would say more like a Porsche and a Yugo. Even though both the Yugo and Pinto were sub-compact cars which is certainly analogous Donovan's style of play. The Pinto however had some elegance to it while the Yugo much like Donovan flatters or should I say flattered to impress.

Offline noize

« Reply #98 on: December 23, 2009, 11:04:17 AM »
It's amazing to me that man does still cry down the US team and it's players...yet we are always the one struggling to make it to the Hex and then only one World Cup appearance ever... while the same team and players that man does be talkin shyte about.. make it to the  World Cup every time since our loss with the Strike Squad ...and is the top team in our region...but they still izza shyte team  ???...right...and where are we in the region???...Donavan is a quality striker and hopefully he does well in the EPL...Kenwayne and Scotty aint better than him and they in the EPL.....explain that..  :o

« Reply #99 on: December 23, 2009, 11:59:00 AM »
Kenwyne and Scotty have proven themselves in England .....put them in a national team structure like the US and you'll see the difference...

« Reply #100 on: December 23, 2009, 01:27:49 PM »
Ah think this is the most amount of licks ah ever see Zeppo take.  :o

« Reply #101 on: December 23, 2009, 02:56:11 PM »
yuh eh see he change the topic awat, look for ah Messi CR9 thread ;D

« Reply #102 on: January 09, 2010, 09:43:47 AM »
i am watching.

« Reply #103 on: January 09, 2010, 10:16:16 AM »
He playing good...he skinning out Traore, same way he skin out Aklie and Wolfe.

« Reply #104 on: January 09, 2010, 10:28:17 AM »
Zeppo Latapy is recognized more so than you give him credit for.  He never made a name for himself in Europe like Yorke did, and he's faded off into retirement as something akin to a cult legend in the small communities who were lucky enough to have him- that's just how it goes sometimes.  Some people don't get the breaks, some don't luck out like others- it's not an indictment on his quality though...Anyone who knows football beyond the mainstream and the headlines would respect Latapy's ability, and fear is potential as an opponent.  

latapy played in the champions league and uefa cup for  porto and bovista  ... was never good enough to move on to a big club like yorke  ..... in Europe the scouting system is extensive he was not over looked

« Reply #105 on: January 09, 2010, 01:40:48 PM »

he had a decent enough game, he do the simple things. he was kinda weak on the first arsenal goal though...

but playing away to Arsenal in a snowstorm and putting in a decent shift, i will give him a bly this rounds.

« Reply #106 on: January 10, 2010, 12:02:11 PM »

As the BBC put it...

The American gave Gunners left-back Armand Traore a torrid time throughout, and it was from his corner that Everton opened the scoring.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/eng_prem/8441973.stm

« Reply #107 on: January 10, 2010, 01:55:55 PM »

Cuz he too f*&^%$ng bold faced and arrogant!!...

« Reply #108 on: January 10, 2010, 06:14:37 PM »
Hmmm! Tension in de city!...ah never hear Sugar cuss so stink yet!  Sugar I sorry if I ever offend yuh in de pass! ;D

« Reply #109 on: January 10, 2010, 07:03:00 PM »
Hmmm! Tension in de city!...ah never hear Sugar cuss so stink yet!  Sugar I sorry if I ever offend yuh in de pass! ;D

No kiffy darling....that's only reserved for arrogant US "soccer" fans.... ;D

« Reply #110 on: January 28, 2010, 05:27:56 AM »
Everton 2 - 0 Sunderland

Landon Donovan scored his first club goal in Europe as Tim Howard and Everton cruised to home victory over Sunderland.

Marouane Fellaini provided the first cross to set up Tim Cahill for his seventh minute opener. Fellaini's inch perfect cross picked out the Australian striker to give Everton the early lead.

Donovan secured the win with a strong left footed strike that drilled past Craig Gordon after Steven Pieenar flicked on Leighton Baines' long cross, and Donovan did the rest. After chesting down the pass on the edge of the area, Donovan drilled home a left footed shot.

Donovan nearly had two if it hadn't been for George McCartney to clear off the line. Howard was forced into second half saves from Kenwyne Jones, as Everton held onto their earlier lead to claim all three points.

(continue)

« Reply #111 on: January 28, 2010, 01:11:17 PM »
Everton 2 - 0 Sunderland

Landon Donovan scored his first club goal in Europe as Tim Howard and Everton cruised to home victory over Sunderland.

Marouane Fellaini provided the first cross to set up Tim Cahill for his seventh minute opener. Fellaini's inch perfect cross picked out the Australian striker to give Everton the early lead.

Donovan secured the win with a strong left footed strike that drilled past Craig Gordon after Steven Pieenar flicked on Leighton Baines' long cross, and Donovan did the rest. After chesting down the pass on the edge of the area, Donovan drilled home a left footed shot.

Donovan nearly had two if it hadn't been for George McCartney to clear off the line. Howard was forced into second half saves from Kenwyne Jones, as Everton held onto their earlier lead to claim all three points.

(continue)

Congrats to LD- He's had a good run in the EPL so far...

« Reply #112 on: January 28, 2010, 05:41:48 PM »
steups.... :yawning: :yawning:

« Reply #113 on: January 31, 2010, 09:56:20 AM »
Forward Landon Donovan feels at home at Everton

Everton forward Landon Donovan says he feels at home with the Blues after scoring his first goal in the 2-0 victory over Sunderland on Wednesday.

The 27-year-old US international is on a three-month loan from LA Galaxy.

"You kind of get a sense of family and community here that I haven't felt at other European clubs," Donovan told BBC Radio Merseyside. 

(continue)

« Reply #114 on: February 11, 2010, 03:30:46 AM »
Donovan gets assist, earns penalty for Everton

Landon Donovan assisted on a goal and earned a penalty kick for Everton, helping the Toffees beat Premier League leader Chelsea 2-1 Wednesday night.

Florent Malouda put Chelsea ahead in the 17th minute at Goodison Park, taking a long header from Didier Drogba after goalkeeper Petr Cech’s long clearance and beating goalkeeper Tim Howard, Donovan’s American teammate.

Louis Saha tied the score in the 33rd minute when he headed Donovan’s cross, which dropped over Frank Lampard, past goalkeeper Petr Cech.

(continue)

« Reply #115 on: February 11, 2010, 01:36:59 PM »
have to admit, halfway through his loan and this man have the crow simmering on the fire and the humble pie baking in the oven.  :-[

« Reply #116 on: February 11, 2010, 01:44:26 PM »
have to admit, halfway through his loan and this man have the crow simmering on the fire and the humble pie baking in the oven.  :-[

He doin well, but he join the league 2/3 or the way through. I want to see him from start before I give him any real pips.

« Reply #117 on: February 11, 2010, 01:53:56 PM »

He doin well, but he join the league 2/3 or the way through. I want to see him from start before I give him any real pips.

Allyuh real wicked.  The man joined the league in his off-season, he wasn't even fit...Yet he fit right into the roster like a hand in a glove and he's playing very well- netted in his 3rd or 4th game I think.  The Everton fans love him too...He has already played against Arsenal, Liverpool, Man City & Chelsea (4 of the biggest clubs in the league), and he didn't look out of his depth at all....And iz not like he playing for a big big side supported by stars who making it easy for him...I think that says alot about his quality, and even something about the MLS.  So many players from all different leagues around the world talk about how difficult it is to adjust to the pace of the EPL...Some even struggle for their first few games before they adjust...Yuh hadda give him props.

Iz like you want the man to fail...like that gonna do you any good.

p.s. He joined the league 1/2 way through..or just about.  (Not sure what that has to do with anything though- if anything it woulda been more difficult for him)....

« Last Edit: February 11, 2010, 02:02:59 PM by kicker »

« Reply #118 on: February 11, 2010, 02:02:23 PM »

Allyuh real wicked.  The man joined the league in his off-season, he wasn't even fit...Yet he fit right into the roster like a hand in a glove and he's playing very well- netted in his 3rd or 4th game I think.  The Everton fans love him too...He has already played against Arsenal, Liverpool Man City & Chelsea (4 of the biggest clubs in the league), and he didn't look out of his depth at all....I think that says alot about his quality, and even something about the MLS.  So many players from all different leagues around the world talk about how difficult it is to adjust to the pace of the EPL...Some even struggle for their first few games before they adjust...Yuh hadda give him props.

Iz like you want the man to fail...like that gonna do you any good.

p.s. He joined the league 1/2 way through..or just about.  (Not sure what that has to do with anything though- if anything it woulda been more difficult for him)....

Nah I don't want him to fail, just skeptical as many players in the EPL will be getting burnt out around this time. Why would you think he is not fit? He just finished his season and had enough rest to reinvigorate himself.

« Reply #119 on: February 11, 2010, 02:10:54 PM »

Nah I don't want him to fail, just skeptical as many players in the EPL will be getting burnt out around this time. Why would you think he is not fit? He just finished his season and had enough rest to reinvigorate himself.

In his interview after the Arsenal game he said he was lacking some game fitness.  His first game against Arsenal was a little over a month after the MLS season finished.  If you're not consistently playing competitive matches for over a month, you will lose some match fitness.  He might be back to full fitness now (not sure how long it takes to get it back), but in his first game or so back he was lacking that match fitness (at least according to him that is)....

Reinvigorate himself? lol you serious? Come nah man ...Dis eh fete match football we talking about  ;D ...Fresh and fit iz two different things.