April 23, 2024, 05:04:33 AM

Author Topic: Close one in Kabul today.  (Read 4945 times)

Close one in Kabul today.
« on: December 15, 2009, 09:12:24 AM »
Bomb went off just a hundred metres from where I was sitting.

Just pure luck for me.
Was waiting for my taxi, Usually I would've been outside but for cold weather and them always late, I sat at reception. Probably saved my life.

I think 14 killed.

Will never complain about late taxi here again.

Re: Close one in Kabul today.
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2009, 09:15:31 AM »
What the mudder a$$!!.....mih heart stop...ah goh post something when it restart.... :o :o :o

« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2009, 09:17:07 AM »

Just pure luck for me.
Was waiting for my taxi, Usually I would've been outside but for cold weather and them always late, I sat at reception. Probably saved my life.

I think 14 killed.

Better to have some luck yes..Nice to see yu still posting :beermug:

« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2009, 09:19:58 AM »

Just pure luck for me.

I think 14 killed.

Lawd fadder and how long agin u have to ride yuh luck b4 u leave d people place?

« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2009, 10:22:33 AM »

Just pure luck for me.

I think 14 killed.

seems like they gunning for foreigners. keep safe boss.

« Reply #5 on: December 15, 2009, 10:24:13 AM »
As long as you heard went it went off it means yuh still alive and kicking.
Keep safe.

« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2009, 10:31:50 AM »
Luck? nah man that ain't luck!!

vb when you leaving???

« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2009, 10:38:37 AM »

Just pure luck for me.

I think 14 killed.

dawg, buss it from dah place nuh... tell them yuh traumatized and want to go back home..

« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2009, 10:40:29 AM »
I start my holiday on friday.

In TT next Wed.

On a three yr contract but can leave whenever I want. :-)

« Reply #9 on: December 15, 2009, 10:46:02 AM »
whew! got a good scare from your post...I really don't want to know anybody going that way..
will pray for you to get here safely

« Reply #10 on: December 15, 2009, 10:47:07 AM »
When I call and call my boss to say why i would be late. She say somebody will call you back and say wht to do.

I say cool, dey coming to rescue me  ;D

They never call but the taxi service call me two hours later to ascertain if I was ok.
I was so happy the driver wasn't nearby and get killed bcz of me.

The office eventually called to let me know if i late and get killed off the premises insurance don't cover it :)

It was a helluva thing to see the door window everything fly across the room and not a scratch on me.

At first I though the bomb was in the hotel turns out it was down the road.

DJ you right, if you hear it, chances are you ok.

« Reply #11 on: December 15, 2009, 11:18:56 AM »
I start my holiday on friday.

In TT next Wed.

On a three yr contract but can leave whenever I want. :-)

So we limin where again? So we can hear d story 1st hand.

« Reply #12 on: December 15, 2009, 11:26:42 AM »
wait.. you gone from being village ram in Turkey to brakesin bomb in dat place? get jaray when you touch dong in TnT oui!

Keep safe.

You come close to death and you on the internet. Boy go an bull something eh.

« Reply #13 on: December 15, 2009, 11:30:51 AM »
Getting something to bull in Kabul, is sometimes easier said than done  ;D

« Reply #14 on: December 15, 2009, 11:35:36 AM »

Doh study Jumbie go thankd good Lord that u still able 2 post.

« Reply #15 on: December 15, 2009, 11:43:07 AM »
Take care of yourself boy VB, happy to hear you safe and sound.  :whew:

« Reply #16 on: December 15, 2009, 11:45:35 AM »
Grande you still want a wuk in this part of the world boss  ;D

One of the firs things I did, once I got over the shock was to pray for the 11 odd people who were killed including one of the hotel security guards out front and of course for my own good fortune.

« Reply #17 on: December 15, 2009, 12:00:11 PM »
boy I still taken aback as to how close you were. I read some breaking stories about it, apparently it was a suicide bombing in a high-end area of Kabul?

« Reply #18 on: December 15, 2009, 12:09:28 PM »
« Last Edit: December 15, 2009, 12:11:40 PM by E-man »

« Reply #19 on: December 15, 2009, 12:31:04 PM »
Look where this guy is standing.

That's exactly in front of the hotel where I should have been waiting for my taxi.
But for the grace of God ...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/8413261.stm

« Reply #20 on: December 15, 2009, 12:35:12 PM »
Look where this guy is standing.

That's exactly in front of the hotel where I should have been waiting for my taxi.
But for the grace of God ...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/8413261.stm

it's a slide show, image six of six.

« Reply #21 on: December 15, 2009, 12:42:07 PM »
<a href="http://c.brightcove.com/services/viewer/federated_f9/25500650001?isVid=1&amp;videoId=57291790001&amp;playerId=25500650001&amp;viewerSecureGatewayURL=https://console.brightcove.com/services/amfgateway&amp;servicesURL=http://services.brightcove.com/services&amp;cdnURL=http://admin.brightcove.com&amp;domain=embed&amp;autoStart=false&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://c.brightcove.com/services/viewer/federated_f9/25500650001?isVid=1&amp;videoId=57291790001&amp;playerId=25500650001&amp;viewerSecureGatewayURL=https://console.brightcove.com/services/amfgateway&amp;servicesURL=http://services.brightcove.com/services&amp;cdnURL=http://admin.brightcove.com&amp;domain=embed&amp;autoStart=false&amp;</a>

« Reply #22 on: December 15, 2009, 12:47:49 PM »
Wow....ah find back mih voice....VB boy like Weary say we want a first hand account...but doh do it between 23rd and 29th December.....I'll be in Tobago.... ;D

But under all seriousness....ah glad yuh safe and sound.  And yeah, tell dat company take dey contract and shove it yes....come home boy, come home!!!...

« Reply #23 on: December 15, 2009, 01:00:51 PM »
Wow....ah find back mih voice....VB boy like Weary say we want a first hand account...but doh do it between 23rd and 29th December.....I'll be in Tobago.... ;D

But under all seriousness....ah glad yuh safe and sound.  And yeah, tell dat company take dey contract and shove it yes....come home boy, come home!!!...

ah go be in Tobago from 29-31. We go bounce up at the airport :-)

« Reply #24 on: December 15, 2009, 01:05:15 PM »
<a href="http://c.brightcove.com/services/viewer/federated_f9/25500650001?isVid=1&amp;videoId=57291790001&amp;playerId=25500650001&amp;viewerSecureGatewayURL=https://console.brightcove.com/services/amfgateway&amp;servicesURL=http://services.brightcove.com/services&amp;cdnURL=http://admin.brightcove.com&amp;domain=embed&amp;autoStart=false&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://c.brightcove.com/services/viewer/federated_f9/25500650001?isVid=1&amp;videoId=57291790001&amp;playerId=25500650001&amp;viewerSecureGatewayURL=https://console.brightcove.com/services/amfgateway&amp;servicesURL=http://services.brightcove.com/services&amp;cdnURL=http://admin.brightcove.com&amp;domain=embed&amp;autoStart=false&amp;</a>

Damn Tallest!

The big brown building is the one I'm in.

« Reply #25 on: December 15, 2009, 01:10:39 PM »
Give thanks VB... glad to hear yuh safe...

i find you in surprisingly good spirits though... yuh do like fishs and grab de bottle of whiskey first or wha?

« Reply #26 on: December 15, 2009, 01:15:28 PM »
Sadly not my first bombing.
Was involved in one in Turkey back in Nov. 2003. About 200 metres from my apt.

But this one was worse only because it had a bigger effect on me.
The room literally fly across my face.

Was a bit afraid for the first ten minutes becz I didn't know if there was going to be a second bomb, if gunmen were going to come in and I thought the bomb was inside our compound.

Once I found out it was outside and we probably weren't the targets that calmed me down.
Thinking that you are the target of a bomb is fuc&*&^ scary.

Some of the hotel staff was more scared than me so that motivated me to be calmer and braver becz I realize dey was a lost cause.

After an hour I was cool and went and watch some tv.

check out the last ten fotos or so

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=4170725&l=69c7ce937f&id=533420798

« Reply #27 on: December 15, 2009, 01:25:50 PM »
Look at wreckage!
Looks like a lot more could easily have been killed.
Stay safe vb.

What happen at 00:27?
Somebody shoot at the cameraman?

« Reply #28 on: December 15, 2009, 01:42:35 PM »

ah go be in Tobago from 29-31. We go bounce up at the airport :-)

Oh lord.......we might not even cross paths cuz I using the fast ferry back at 5 pm on 29th....

« Reply #29 on: December 15, 2009, 03:53:11 PM »

Yuh eh hear de name of de place or wha? Yuh cyar bull dey.

Buh wha wuk could have you dey so? Hadda be one hell of a job..me eh sure if i woulda be able nah.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.