March 28, 2024, 12:21:27 PM

Author Topic: Australia vs West Indies, 3rd Test, WACA (Perth)  (Read 27483 times)

Re: Australia vs West Indies, 3rd Test, WACA (Perth)
« Reply #60 on: December 17, 2009, 09:52:50 PM »
Nash batting scared.

« Reply #61 on: December 17, 2009, 10:47:43 PM »
Sars is only score runs at home too ,the stats show .If they drop him it go be the best thing for him .
Now he guyanese partner Deo gone too .

Best ting when Lara drop him he nearly dead

« Reply #62 on: December 17, 2009, 11:46:29 PM »
310/6

Lock Hard

Offline Aviator

« Reply #63 on: December 17, 2009, 11:47:47 PM »
Make that 7 down now. If Ponting put them men back in to bat today, they better grind to save this match.
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #64 on: December 17, 2009, 11:52:14 PM »
On second thought I hope Ponting does not put them back into bat right away and let us bat last, that will give us a chnce to draw the match. If we go back in right away we are almost guaranteed to lose, because of the size of the deficit will not allow us to attain a lead that will not be easily attainable by Austarlia.
« Last Edit: December 17, 2009, 11:57:03 PM by Aviator »

« Reply #65 on: December 17, 2009, 11:53:44 PM »
On second though I hope Ponting does not put them back into bat right away and let us bat last, that will give us a chnce to draw the match. If we go back in right away we are almost guaranteed to lose, because of the size of the deficit will not allow us to attain a lead that will not be easily attainable by Austarlia.
That and I could go  and sleep now .
This is Sarwan fault .

« Reply #66 on: December 17, 2009, 11:57:02 PM »
I mean 310/9

Offline Aviator

« Reply #67 on: December 17, 2009, 11:57:54 PM »
I mean 310/9

Hahahaha....laugh is all I could do yes and we still 9 short of the follow-on.

« Reply #68 on: December 17, 2009, 11:59:14 PM »
I mean 312 all out.

Will they enforce the follow on?

Offline Aviator

« Reply #69 on: December 18, 2009, 12:03:27 AM »
I mean 312 all out.

I doubt it, and if they do well will have to make 500+ to have a defend-able lead. A Tall order!!!!

« Reply #70 on: December 18, 2009, 12:04:21 AM »
I mean 312 all out.

I think they should enforce. they have us in real trouble . :(

« Reply #71 on: December 18, 2009, 12:05:26 AM »
They didnt enforce it ..good night .
This team without Barath is just like before .He reach already .

« Reply #72 on: December 18, 2009, 12:07:01 AM »
From 214/2 to 312 all out.

The last eight wickets fell for 98 runs.

I really need to do like weary and overs WI cricket oui.

:-\

« Reply #73 on: December 18, 2009, 12:08:32 AM »
If we bowl them out for a small score we could still win this.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #74 on: December 18, 2009, 12:09:47 AM »
The bowlers better get ready to bowl the spells of their lives, or we will be chasing 500+. I see Australia batting until tea tomorrow(unless we bowl them out) and then throwing us back in the fire.

« Reply #75 on: December 18, 2009, 12:28:52 AM »
Yes Ravi, 15/1

Offline Aviator

« Reply #76 on: December 18, 2009, 04:07:19 AM »
Because I am delusional die hard I stayed up and watch the entire day.  There was excellent discipline all around, and ah think Bravo making ah play for the captaincy. He was running the show today.We will have 5+ sessions to make about 360-370 max. This is winnable!!!

Australia were 137/8 at stumps. A scoreline I would have expected of us.

time for my 2 hour power nap....
« Last Edit: December 18, 2009, 04:12:54 AM by Aviator »

« Reply #77 on: December 18, 2009, 07:04:13 AM »
I went to sleep at 15/1 thinking we could salvage a draw. I wake up to 137/8 vex now that I have to wait whole day to watch the end of this match.

« Reply #78 on: December 18, 2009, 07:08:52 AM »
Australia lose fizz after Bollinger bubbles
The Bulletin by Peter English
December 18, 2009
http://www.cricinfo.com/ausvwi09/content/current/story/440059.html

Australia 7 for 520 dec & 8 for 137 lead West Indies 312 (Gayle 102, Dowlin 55, Bollinger 5-70) by 345 runs

Doug Bollinger was responsible for a sudden swing from flooding runs to raining wickets before West Indies surged back to remain in contention in the deciding third Test. Despite falling to a worrying 8 for 137 in their second innings, Australia still managed an enviable position and will enter the fourth day with a 345-run lead following the scare.

Bollinger grabbed 5 for 70 and ensured an advantage of 208 for the hosts before Ricky Ponting did not enforce the follow-on and ordered his team to provide a match-winning total. That assignment became a severe struggle when West Indies were inspired by Dwayne Bravo and Sulieman Benn on a cracking surface that is becoming less predictable. The turnaround was a shock just 24 hours after Chris Gayle blazed a 70-ball century, with the highest score of the day a gritty 44 from Brendan Nash as 16 wickets fell for 235 runs.

Australia were surprised by the ferocity of the fightback and Ponting, who retired hurt on 23 in the first innings, decided to walk out an hour after saying he wouldn't bat unless it was absolutely necessary. He is not used to such dramatic changes. Ponting suffered tendon damage in his left elbow when hit by Kemar Roach on Wednesday and until his batsmen started disappearing he would have been more worried about being in doubt for the Boxing Day Test against Pakistan.

At 7 for 125, following Mitchell Johnson's dismissal, Ponting arrived and lasted six balls for 2 before his discomfort forced a pushed catch to short leg off his new nemesis Roach. There was some consolation in him leaving knowing Australia's lead is still significant and that only South Africa have scored more to win in Perth. Although the voices of the West Indians grew happier with each breakthrough, the pitch will deteriorate further and the tourists will need a Gayle-inspired masterpiece to level the three-game series.

In Brisbane Ponting followed-on and soon lost Ben Hilfenhaus and Peter Siddle to injury, so even without the influence of the conditions he was not going to ask Gayle to bat again straight away. The target-setting didn't go to plan, but the run of low scores showed how difficult run-making had become.

Australia lost Simon Katich (10) when he shuffled across too far to Ravi Rampaul and then gained a glimpse of the future when Clarke walked out in Ponting's place at No. 3. However, Clarke edged behind on 25 to Bravo, who came back to remove Marcus North with a one-handed take from Denesh Ramdin and knocked over Johnson. Bravo's 3 for 34 came from 15 straight overs and he was responsible, along with Benn's 2 for 26, for keeping his side in with a chance.

The opener Watson looked in good touch again, got a start again, and was lbw again. He over-balanced a touch trying to whip Gavin Tonge through midwicket and gave the bowler his first Test wicket. During his innings Watson had continued his series-long arguing with Benn, who popped up to claim Michael Hussey at short leg in his first over.

West Indies were excited and the hosts were starting to shudder, with North taking 27 balls for his single. Benn lost his exchange with Haddin yesterday when he was suspended for two one-day games, but he succeeded in dismissing the wicketkeeper for 23 with an edge to Bravo at first slip. The emotional afternoon concluded with Nathan Hauritz on 11 and the debutant Clint McKay on 1.

The only man to come was Bollinger, who gained his first five-for in his third Test as he stamped himself as a long-term option during an energetic display. He began with the wicket of Ramnaresh Sarwan (42) from the day's second ball and came back after lunch to spark a game-changing collapse of 6 for 27. Don't start worrying yet about a relapse in the West Indian batting because the challenging bowling was responsible for the majority of wickets.

Nash and Bravo had fought through most of the first session for a 46-run partnership, but then both pillars fell in three overs and the air was taken from the visitors' pursuit. Bravo touched a ball angling across him from Bollinger to Haddin while Hauritz had Nash dropped at first slip by Clarke at first slip before the fielder corrected the mistake in the offspinner's following over. Hauritz (3 for 66), who had been targeted by Gayle on day two, was suddenly a huge threat for the tail and he removed Benn and Rampaul to catches behind in the same over.

Bollinger followed up by bowling Ramdin behind his legs and gained his fifth breakthrough to end the innings. After the third wicket Bollinger kissed the badge on his shirt and when he closed out the innings - Tonge gave Haddin his fourth catch - he lifted the ball self-consciously to the crowd.

During the first session Johnson was more imposing than the previous day, forcing the batsmen on to the back foot to hop and jump, and his prize was the dismissal of Narsingh Deonarine, who drove to Watson at cover on 18. Johnson's overnight figures of 1 for 68 off 11 turned into 2 for 92 off 18 in a boost for the second innings, when he will be as important as Bollinger and Gayle.

Peter English is the Australasia editor of Cricinfo

Feeds: Peter English

« Reply #80 on: December 18, 2009, 07:58:41 AM »
I went to bed at tea  >:(

« Reply #81 on: December 18, 2009, 09:54:52 AM »
you shitting me ,I went to bed ,whem Watson and Ponting was orn .And lay in bed cause I could sleep for an hour or more ,cause I cound sleep steupppssss.

« Reply #82 on: December 18, 2009, 10:22:57 AM »
From 214/2 to 312 all out.

The last eight wickets fell for 98 runs.

I really need to do like weary and overs WI cricket oui.

:-\

Smart fella just turn 2 cricinfo in d morning and get d score so by sat mor when I check I go c whether we loose in 4 or we take it to 5 days.
If we bowl them out for a small score we could still win this.

Che yuh must not sleep type

« Reply #84 on: December 18, 2009, 02:11:39 PM »
Highlights:
http://www.crichotline.com/australia-vs-west-indies-3rd-test-2009-day-3-highlights-perth/#more-9127

Thanks  :beermug: Saw a few Trini flags in the stands.
Wow no wonder I couldn sleep after I took it off ,what with so much excitement going orn steupppss.

« Reply #85 on: December 18, 2009, 06:45:07 PM »
Great highlights, excellent performance by WI in the field, DB is one hell of a thinking cricketer, is brain is always ticking and he's always competing, love it.  Love how Kemar attack Ricky too man, go for the jugular, sweet, cyar wait for tonight

« Reply #86 on: December 18, 2009, 08:38:15 PM »
Day four begins  :duel:

« Reply #87 on: December 18, 2009, 08:38:37 PM »
1 down, 1 more to go

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #88 on: December 18, 2009, 08:40:38 PM »
Good Start
147/9 McKay caught Deonarine, bowled Benn.
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #89 on: December 18, 2009, 08:42:02 PM »
Good Start
147/9 McKay caught Deonarine, bowled Benn.

Oz leads by 355