April 25, 2024, 01:07:32 AM

Author Topic: Mohammed leaves rich legacy  (Read 1238 times)

Mohammed leaves rich legacy
« on: December 17, 2009, 11:41:01 PM »
Mohammed leaves rich legacy
By Sookdeo Ragoonan (T&T Newsday)

ROUSTAM MOHAMMED, sponsor of Mohammed’s Electrical Football and Cricket Academy (MECA) died on Monday, December 7, 2009. He was 70-years-old.

The San Juan businessman was the father of Fazeer Mohammed, well-known sports commentator.

The Academy celebrated its 15th anniversary with a gala Football Graduation Function on Sunday November 29. Notably, Mohammed was his usual active self during the entire function.

The Academy caters for students six to 16 years at cricket from January to July and football from September to December.

Venue for the sessions is the Aranjuez Cricket Grounds in San Juan. The aim of the academy is not only to develop skillful cricketers and footballers, but to produce excellent citizens of Trinidad and Tobago.

In fact, Mohammed introduced the Four Principles for a Healthy Life Style: 1) Love God; 2) Love parents; 3) Love school; 4) Love sports.

This is now an established legacy dedicated to Mohammed who displayed an overwhelming love for children and his community.

Re: Mohammed leaves rich legacy
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2009, 05:24:19 AM »
Faz in Aus so I know he eh make it back 4 d funeral. RIP pops

« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2009, 07:27:39 PM »
Faz in Aus so I know he eh make it back 4 d funeral. RIP pops

He gorn there for cricket or sumting?

We doh always see eye to eye but he's a fella I like and respect, even when we disagree.  Sent him a note and he responded.

Condolences to the family.

Offline Texastrini

« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2009, 11:36:01 AM »
Yeah he was there covering the current tour.  He came back home but didn't make it in time for the funeral.  His pops was a real community man.  On any random day in the san juan/barataria/aranguez area you could see kids wearing a mohammed's electrical jersey they would have gotten attending the football and cricket camps. 

« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2009, 11:47:54 AM »
Condolences to the family