April 25, 2024, 04:05:27 PM

Author Topic: The reality of world football....can we really compete ??  (Read 3669 times)

The reality of world football....can we really compete ??
« on: December 23, 2009, 07:49:03 AM »
Just look at the Cameroon squad named for the African Nations Cup.

Cameroon Squad: Carlos Kameni (Espanyol, Spain), Hamidou Souleymanou (Kayserispor, Turkey), Guy N'Dy Assembe (Valenciennes, France), Rigobert Song (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Geremi (Newcastle United, England), Henri Bedimo (Chateauroux, France), Andre Bikey (Burnley, England), Benoit Assou-Ekotto (Tottenham Hotspur, England) Aurelien Chedjou (Lille, France), Nicolas Nkoulou (AS Monaco, France), Alex Song (Arsenal, England), Jean Makoun (Lyon, France), Stephane Mbia (Marseille, France), Georges Mandjeck (Kaiserslautern, Germany), Joel Matip (Shalke 04, Germany), Enoh Eyong (Ajax Amsterdam, Holland), Landry Nguemo (Celtic, Scotland), Achille Emana (Real Betis, Spain), Somen A Tchoyi (Red Bull Salzburg, Austria), Paul Alo'o Efloulou (AS Nancy, France), Achille Webo (Mallorca, Spain), Mohamadou Idrissou (SC Freiburg, Germany), Samuel Eto'o (Inter Milan, Italy)

Every single player platinf in the 1st or 2nd division in a league in Europe. Can we realistically expect to compete with these teams on a consistent basis if we are not producing the kind of quality players that they are. Players playing in Spain, France, England, Germany, Scotland, Italy, Holland and Turkey.

What do they know that we don't ? Is it that they sending players out from young or are they producing such great talant at home....... what are we doing to get there ?

Re: The reality of world football....can we really compete ??
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2009, 07:58:15 AM »
Ah wonder what u go say if yuh see Ivory Coast side?

« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2009, 08:03:17 AM »
Forget about world football. We need to be consistently competitive in CONCACAF first.

« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2009, 08:19:11 AM »
DEFENCE

DF Emmanuel Eboué June 4, 1983 (1983-06-04) (age 26) 24 0  Arsenal
DF Arthur Boka April 2, 1983 (1983-04-02) (age 26) 33 1  Stuttgart
DF Guy Demel June 13, 1981 (1981-06-13) (age 28) 9 0  Hamburg
DF Igor Lolo July 22, 1982 (1982-07-22) (age 27) 5 0  Monaco
DF Constant Djakpa October 17, 1986 (1986-10-17) (age 23) 3 0  Hannover
DF Kolo Touré March 19, 1981 (1981-03-19) (age 28) 70 2  Manchester City
DF Abdoulaye Méïté October 6, 1980 (1980-10-06) (age 29) 21 0  West Bromich Albion

MIDFIELD

MF Didier Zokora December 14, 1980 (1980-12-14) (age 28) 75 1  Sevilla
MF Yaya Touré May 13, 1983 (1983-05-13) (age 26) 28 4  Barcelona
MF Jean-Jacques Gosso March 15, 1983 (1983-03-15) (age 26)    Monaco
MF Romaric June 4, 1983 (1983-06-04) (age 26) 11 2  Sevilla
MF Emerse Faé January 24, 1984 (1984-01-24) (age 25) 17 1  Nice
MF Cheik Tioté June 21, 1986 (1986-06-21) (age 23) 0 0  Twente

ATTACK

FW Gervinho May 27, 1987 (1987-05-27) (age 22) 5 2  Lille
FW Sekou Cissé May 23, 1985 (1985-05-23) (age 24) 4 3  Feyenoord
FW Aruna Dindane November 26, 1980 (1980-11-26) (age 29) 40 14  Portsmouth
FW Abdul-Kader Keïta August 6, 1983 (1983-08-06) (age 26) 46 9  Galatasaray
FW Bakari Koné September 17, 1981 (1981-09-17) (age 28) 35 10  Marseille
FW Salomon Kalou August 15, 1985 (1985-08-15) (age 24) 17 9  Chelsea
FW Didier Drogba March 11, 1978 (1978-03-11) (age 31) 60 41  Chelsea
FW Boubacar Sanogo December 17, 1982 (1982-12-17) (age 26) 12 8  Saint-Étienne
FW Arouna Koné November 11, 1983 (1983-11-11) (age 26) 27 9  Sevilla

« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2009, 08:30:16 AM »
Forget about world football. We need to be consistently competitive in CONCACAF first.

Well said tallman.  :beermug:

« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2009, 08:34:50 AM »
DEFENCE

DF Abdoulaye Méïté October 6, 1980 (1980-10-06) (age 29) 21 0  West Bromich Albion

MIDFIELD

ATTACK

whey boy, boss side, didn't know they were THAT stacked........
this WC go be rell interesting.

And T&T has long ways to go.  The question is are they going the right way?  We take 1 step forward then 2 steps back...

« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2009, 08:35:45 AM »
      :notworthy: :notworthy: :applause: :applause:

« Reply #7 on: December 23, 2009, 08:40:56 AM »
when countries have a population of 16,000,000 (Cameroon) and 20,000,000 (Ivory Coast) and football is yuh main sport and also throw in the fact that the countries are dirt poor and football is a way out. We cant compete with that with our 1.2 million people and relative affluency. Sometimes I think we punch way above our weight for the amount of professional players we produce,

« Reply #8 on: December 23, 2009, 08:43:06 AM »
We love Gun, Gyul and Glamor more than football....!

« Reply #9 on: December 23, 2009, 09:22:26 AM »
when countries have a population of 16,000,000 (Cameroon) and 20,000,000 (Ivory Coast) and football is yuh main sport and also throw in the fact that the countries are dirt poor and football is a way out. We cant compete with that with our 1.2 million people and relative affluency. Sometimes I think we punch way above our weight for the amount of professional players we produce,
      I never thought some one realize this,then why peeps does talk so much shyt about JW and the TTFF concerning the quality of Football in T&T,we will continue to spin top in mud against those countries in World Football don't matter what we do,where that level of Football is concerned we are Minor league level,it not getting better than that,just continue to beat our chest when we beat Grenada,Guyana,Barbados etc etc other than that forget it. 

« Reply #10 on: December 23, 2009, 09:25:21 AM »
      I never thought some one realize this,then why peeps does talk so much shyt about JW and the TTFF concerning the quality of Football in T&T,we will continue to spin top in mud against those countries in World Football don't matter what we do,where that level of Football is concerned we are Minor league level,it not getting better than that,just continue to beat our chest when we beat Grenada,Guyana,Barbados etc etc other than that forget it. 

We will never get better than that if everybody had your attitude...

Minor league attitude will keep we right there

« Reply #11 on: December 23, 2009, 10:10:44 AM »
DEFENCE

MIDFIELD

ATTACK

That squad is gonna flop, it has no goalkeepers

« Reply #12 on: December 23, 2009, 10:23:27 AM »
We can COMPETE if we get some form of structuce across the age groups. We won't be a Brazil, Argentina, Germany or even an Italy, but we can become very competetive on the world stage. The games vs England and Sweden in Germany should have opened the eyes of the TTFF and their technical staff.

« Reply #13 on: December 23, 2009, 12:23:37 PM »
dem teams allyuh list dey ...dem could sweat in minor league ???

Offline GODFATHER

« Reply #14 on: December 23, 2009, 12:46:03 PM »

Very good point. This is my take on the rise of the African nations. Over the years African's have been migrating to European countries and starting famalies. These kids grow up in these countries especially France and are exposed to a higher level of fotball from a younger age. In the years of Zidane, Viera the african Nations were not very competitive so these playes choose to play for their adoptive countries. There are only so many spots available on these European countries teams and fierce competition to play for them. This has led many players to choose their home countries if they are ever to have a chance to play in the World Cup.

If Drogba was not over looked when he was much younger he would be on the French national team. J Lloys Samuel thought he might have had an England shot and when that door finally closed he decided to play for T&T.

The Caribbean ppl migrate to the USA when football is still in it's early years as a pro sport. I would not be surprised if 20 years from now we have a better group of players who would come out of the USA football system. Locally we will continue to produce only one real special player every few years and if he's that special he'll be off our shores by 17.

« Reply #15 on: December 23, 2009, 01:20:35 PM »
I wonder if those are the best players from those countries or if they are just the highest profile by way of the clubs they play for? Kinda like how in times past some of T&T's players get picked strictly by virtue of them playing for a foreign club....

« Reply #16 on: December 23, 2009, 02:23:13 PM »
But wait , I thought Public , Connection and Jab was big team?

« Reply #17 on: December 23, 2009, 02:28:59 PM »
I wonder if those are the best players from those countries or if they are just the highest profile by way of the clubs they play for? Kinda like how in times past some of T&T's players get picked strictly by virtue of them playing for a foreign club....

Good point kicker. I'm sure they have a good few domestic players that are very good and possibly on the brink of a move to Europe.

« Reply #18 on: December 23, 2009, 02:37:07 PM »

in de small puddle, wabine is boss ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #19 on: December 23, 2009, 03:21:33 PM »
consistently competitive in CONCACAF first which is true including all the high science and modern day technology put into the sport off the field but at the end of the day is 11 Vs 11 and what you have in yuh tank, bottom line.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2009, 03:29:37 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #20 on: December 23, 2009, 03:29:29 PM »
NO... and the Gov't giving tax payers' $ to La fou  is not the answer either!

« Reply #21 on: December 23, 2009, 03:42:13 PM »

we to pretty to be wabine. we is guppy  ;D

« Reply #22 on: December 23, 2009, 03:48:44 PM »

we to pretty to be wabine. we is guppy  ;D

tater

« Reply #23 on: December 23, 2009, 04:04:23 PM »
I have noticed that on occasions when we assemble a good crop of mature players we can compete in Concacaf. On the world stage is entirely different. The teams from 67 Panams, 74WC, ItalyWc and 2006 WC. But look at gap in between. We take too long to get a good team.

It is unfair to compare TT with the francophone African countries. They have a special kinda of relationship with France, even after their independence. France and Portugal had no problem using their colonists on the sports field. That's  why mucho Africans go to France to play. It is not surprising to see that most of the African teams that qualified for WC has been Francophone. If all yuh had watch the Club championship, TP Mazembe may have lost, but I find their skills are superior to ours. They had a French coach of course and they are sponsored by the governor of their state(money helps).

Look at Uraguay. 2 Olimpic golds and 2 WCs. Look how they struggle to beat CR. Can we compete with U. We can't even compete against CR(never beat them in WC qualifying yet. since 1966) when we beat them then we maybe able to compete against Uraguay and them.

« Reply #24 on: December 23, 2009, 04:19:57 PM »
TTFF is shit . secession is the only solution.

« Reply #25 on: December 23, 2009, 06:56:28 PM »

Voice of reason  :applause:  Talk yuh talk Tallman!!!  :cheers:

« Reply #26 on: December 24, 2009, 06:56:53 AM »
Yes you are right, but the same applies. Remember the questions I asked after making refrence to the Cameroon side

What do they know that we don't ? Is it that they sending players out from young or are they producing such great talant at home....... what are we doing to get there ?
If we can find the answers to these questions then it will form a platform for up to create a structure or formulate a plan.

Not sure if anyone is thinking that far ahead.