April 19, 2024, 03:22:51 PM

Author Topic: Heavyweight Champ with West Indian heritage.  (Read 3408 times)

Heavyweight Champ with West Indian heritage.
« on: November 23, 2009, 08:35:44 AM »
Before 1980, there was a World heavyweight Champ whose father was from the British West Indies.

Who was he?

TALL MAN NOT YOU!

Re: Heavyweight Champ with West Indian heritage.
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2009, 08:47:03 AM »
was it sam langford? he was recognized as world champ by the british. born in nova scotia. langford considered one of the hardest punchers of all time (ring magazine) - second only to joe louis.

« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2009, 08:53:31 AM »
I thought Langford was three after Louis and Ketchel...but I could be wrong (getting old :-) )

No not Langford. and he was never a world champ albeit good enough to  be one.

« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2009, 04:20:47 AM »
Allyuh forcing me to give hints.

Can't give too much because it will be easy.
His father was from Barbados.

« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2009, 02:28:14 PM »
Jersey Joe Walcott

« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2009, 10:56:18 PM »
Jersey Joe Walcott

Yep, that's right. Original name Arnold Cream.

Borrowed the name Joe Walcott from the Barbadian who was Welt. Champ around 1900 because his father was so proud of him.

« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2009, 09:49:08 AM »
cool. apparently he was de ref for this fight with de phantom punch:

« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2009, 10:59:45 AM »
Also got robbed in his first title shot with Joe Louis. Was doing the rope a dope and shuffle when Ali was still in diapers. Dropped Louis twice in that fight.

Louis was so embarassed, he apologised to him and gave him a rematch.

Was leading but decided to mix with Joe. Got tko'd in the 11th round.

« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2009, 04:20:35 PM »
Wasn't he also the oldest to win the heavyweight title (before Foreman of course)?
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2009, 04:33:53 AM »
Wasn't he also the oldest to win the heavyweight title (before Foreman of course)?

Yes he was.
Could've been Lt. Hvy Champ but never got a shot or had the connections.
I think he retired, came back and one thing led to another and was a very decent Heavyweight in his time.
Incredibly gifted athlete.

« Reply #10 on: April 02, 2010, 12:34:34 PM »
Jersey Joe Walcott

Yep, that's right. Original name Arnold Cream.

Borrowed the name Joe Walcott from the Barbadian who was Welt. Champ around 1900 because his father was so proud of him.

That Walcott name is ah dead give away.