June 10, 2024, 03:21:44 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T U-20 WNT v USA U-20 WNT Game (23-Jan-10).  (Read 3895 times)

Thread for the T&T U-20 WNT v USA U-20 WNT Game (23-Jan-10).
« on: December 29, 2009, 09:07:14 AM »
Info

Game: Trinidad and Tobago U-20 v United States U-20, 5:30 PM.
Date: January 23, 2010.
Venue: Estadio Cementos Progreso Ciudad de Guatemala.
T&T Coach: Jamaal Shabazz.
USA Coach: Jillian Ellis.

Trinidad & Tobago:

Goalkeepers
Kimika Forbes (August 28, 1990), Linfah Jones (February 7, 1993).

Defenders
Camille Borneo (April 14, 1993), Falina Jack (March 28, 1992), Tiana Bateau (January 10, 1991), Sharice Arthur (February, 22, 1991), Arin King (February 8, 1991).

Midfielders
Karyn Forbes (August 27, 1991), Afiyah Matthias (October 20, 1992), Kayla Taylor (October 29, 1994), Taylor Mims (January 16, 1991), Renel Dennis (September 28, 1991), Natasha Prentice (September 14, 1991), Victoria Swift (January 29, 1995), Jenele Kissoon (September 11, 1991).

Forwards
Natasha St Louis (November 1, 1991), Candace Seaton (January 22, 1990), Cassie McKensie (August 2, 1991), Mariah Shade (December 9, 1991) (capt), Jo-Marie Lewis (December, 11, 1993).
« Last Edit: January 14, 2010, 10:46:56 AM by Flex »

Re: Thread for the T&T U-20 WNT v USA U-20 WNT Game (23-Jan-10).
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2010, 05:21:24 AM »
UNITED STATES UNDER-20 WOMEN’S NATIONAL SOCCER TEAM 

GOALKEEPERS (2): Bianca Henninger (Santa Clara; Los Gatos, Calif.), Taylor Vancil (Louisville; South Elgin, Ill.)

DEFENDERS (6): Amber Brooks (North Carolina; New Hope, Pa.), Vicki DiMartino (Boston College; Massapequa, N.Y.), Crystal Dunn (Albertson SC; Rockville Centre, N.Y.), Kendall Johnson (Portland; Portland, Ore.), Toni Pressley (Florida State; Melbourne, Fla.), Rachel Quon (Stanford; Lake Forest, Ill.)

MIDFIELDERS (8]: Zakiya Bywaters (UCLA; Las Vegas, Nev.), Elizabeth Eddy (So Cal Blues, Costa Mesa, Calif.), Kristie Mewis (Boston College; Hanson, Mass.), Samantha Mewis (Scorpion SC; Hanson, Mass.), Christine Nairn (Penn State; Bowie, Md.), Teresa Noyola (Stanford; Palo Alto, Calif.), Jenna Richmond (McLean SC; Centreville, Va.), Casey Short (Florida State; Naperville, Ill.)

FORWARDS (4): Maya Hayes (Aristics Club; West Orange, N.J.), Sydney Leroux (UCLA; Phoenix, Ariz.), Morgan Marlborough (Nebraska; Raymore, Mo.), Tiffany McCarty (Florida State; Laurel, Md.)

« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2010, 05:22:42 AM »
T&T vs USA to be shown on FSC live ?

The 2010 CONCACAF Women’s Under-20 Championship is an eight-team tournament that will send three nations to Germany. The qualifying matches will be played at the 17,000-seat Estadio Cementos Progreso. This is the first time a qualifying tournament for this age group has been held in Central America.

The event will consist of two groups of four teams each with the top two finishers after group play crossing over into the semifinals. The reigning U-20 world champion USA is up against Jamaica at 4:30 p.m. ET on Thursday, Jan. 21, live on Fox Soccer Channel. The team will then face Trinidad & Tobago at 4:30 p.m. ET on Saturday, Jan. 23, and Mexico at 4:30 p.m. on Monday, Jan. 25, in Group B. Group A consists of Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba and host Guatemala.

The group winners will play the runners-up from the opposite group on January 28, with the championship and third-place matches set for Saturday, Jan. 30. Both semifinal matches and the tournament final will be televised live on Fox Soccer Channel.

The winners of the semifinal matches and of the third-place match will qualify for the U-20 Women’s World Cup being held in four German cities (Bochum, Bielefeld, Augsburg and Dresden) from July 13-Aug. 1. The age cut-off date for this Women’s World Cup is players born on or after Jan. 1, 1990.

SOURCE - USSOCCER.COM

« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2010, 08:18:22 PM »
U.S. presence to be large at Women's U-20 Championship.
By Brian Trusdell (CONCACAF.COM).

There will be a lot of "Americans" playing in the CONCACAF Under-20 Women's Championship.

While the reigning world champion United States will be deep in locally hewn talent looking to earn a second confederation title when play begins on Wednesday, nearly every other country will arrive in Guatemala City with some players that have been developing their game in the USA.

"I think it's something we all give a lot credit as to what's happening in the U.S.," said Leonardo Cuellar, the long-time coach of Mexico's senior women's team who will be an assistant with El Tri in Guatemala. "The structure of the competition, from club to school level, is the best in the world."

Cuellar used 12 U.S.-born players when Mexico competed in the 1999 Women's World Cup, and while Mexico has shifted its reliance on U.S. players to a more supplemental role, other nations have followed his lead in scouting the American school and club system, particularly U.S. colleges, for potential players.

Every country in the CONCACAF championship except Cuba listed on its preliminary 30-woman roster at least some who play in the United States.

"American women are like the Brazilian men. They're in demand," said Tony DiCicco, who coached the U.S. women's senior team to Olympic and World Cup championships as well as the U.S. women's under-20 team to the 2008 World Cup crown. He is now manager of the Boston Breakers in the Women's Professional Soccer league.

"Clearly international coaches are looking for American collegiate players, and younger (ones) in some cases, looking to pick up one, two or more players."

The players can fall into one of several categories. There are those who were born in their native country, moved to the United States at an early age and came through the American youth soccer and school system. Additionally, there are players who were recruited or went to U.S. colleges. And there are others, who were born in the United States, with foreign ancestry.

With both two-time and defending champion Canada and the United States stocked with talent from the American and/or Canadian colleges, the two head their respective first-round groups and are expected again to meet in the final. Three teams will qualify for the U-20 World Cup World Cup in Germany July 13-August 1.

Other than the United States and Canada, Mexico is the only other country to claim a World Cup berth from CONCACAF, and this time challenges generally are believed to come from Costa Rica and Jamaica. With Trinidad and Tobago hiring former Norwegian and Canadian women's coach Even Pellerud to head their women's program, Cuellar also believes the Soca Princesses are a threat.

But the whole region has improved, DiCicco said, and some of that has to do with U.S. women's college soccer - which Cuellar attributes to a U.S. federal law regarding funding of sports known in the United States as Title IX.

Cuellar, who played for the San Diego Sockers and San Jose Earthquakes in the old North American Soccer League and was a women's coach in the U.S. college system at California State-Los Angeles, notes the use of U.S. college players has its drawbacks, too.

While Mexico's team will have six U.S.-based players, including key defender Alina Garciamendez and her Stanford University teammate Teresa Noyola, it will be without five others because of the U.S. academic calendar which will require those players to remain in school.

"Either they didn't do well the previous semester, or they're in their senior year, and they need to complete a class, or they've already used dates and they can't miss any more…," Cuellar said explaining some of the reasons why some players are not always available.

Trinidad also will be without key players because of their classes.

The use of American players by other countries can be a touchy subject, both in the United States and at home. Some believe that countries should use only native-born players and some Americans feel their players are being "poached."

Cuellar says Mexico only uses a player that has taken the initiative to get citizenship. DiCicco and other U.S. officials say their challenge is to educate American players that if they play for another country, the road back into the U.S. system is much narrower.

"The feeling is, we may not have lost a (Giuseppe) Rossi, we haven't lost that level of a player yet, but it's going to happen," DiCicco said, referring to the striker who was born and raised in the New York suburbs but chose instead to play for Italy, the country of his parents. "We should be flattered so many players are asked to come into foreign programs, but we have to be careful of not losing so many top players."

« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2010, 10:24:05 AM »
This is gooing to be a hell of a game.

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2010, 10:40:00 AM »
Yes am sure the Princesses will want to show us all that they have the ability and atone for the U17 result two years ago as many of the same USA players are on this U20 sqaud.
We need to be tighter defensively and more disciplined in order not give up as many fouls in close.
Good luck Princesses.

« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2010, 10:42:56 AM »
Yes am sure the Princesses will want to show us all that they have the ability and atone for the U17 result two years ago as many of the same USA players are on this U20 sqaud.
We need to be tighter defensively and more disciplined in order not give up as many fouls in close.
Good luck Princesses.

We need a miracle  :praying:

« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2010, 08:33:02 AM »
Good luck today ladies.

Can someone record this game please?

« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2010, 04:34:55 PM »
T&T we want ah goal.

« Reply #9 on: January 23, 2010, 04:44:44 PM »
we down 1 nil

« Reply #10 on: January 23, 2010, 04:45:59 PM »
we down 1 nil

Looked offside to me   :(

« Reply #11 on: January 23, 2010, 04:58:46 PM »
The girls are trying , but our passing is really bad.

« Reply #12 on: January 23, 2010, 05:14:56 PM »
The girls are trying , but our passing is really bad.

yup  ... they are trying ... hope they have some kind of continuity after this
« Last Edit: January 23, 2010, 05:27:08 PM by Trini _2014 »

Offline jonny

« Reply #13 on: January 23, 2010, 05:15:17 PM »
3-0

« Reply #14 on: January 23, 2010, 05:15:20 PM »
We set up very defensively hoping to limit the damage I suppose.
But all that does is allow the US to play in our half practically in our area. the only "passes" are long to the lone striker who hve 2 ppl on her at all times (meaning we defending 7 or 8 us players with 9) or "out" to no one. This is a recipe for 8 or 9 -nil with no hope of scoring.
Mexico already win 2-0 we are down 3-0 already

We should set out to play a game and live with the loss. What we doing here is wasting 90 minutes

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #15 on: January 23, 2010, 05:16:01 PM »
playing the 4-5-1 , one of our mids needs to help #13 when she is up on the attack.
Not much help so far.

we just assisted on the 3rd goal as we haeded it back on the USA corner  ::)

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #16 on: January 23, 2010, 05:18:08 PM »
we are looking more poised today and not as panicky though .......

Offline triplethreat33

« Reply #17 on: January 23, 2010, 05:29:02 PM »
how is that a girl who has scored so many goals Leroux for the USA permitted to roam around in the TT defense unmarked this is a coaching issue not a talent  issue

« Reply #18 on: January 23, 2010, 05:33:55 PM »
Shabaaz is ah kakahole coach.

We playing like he trying to keep de score in de single digit more than trying to even score a goal or make a decent pass, we allowing USA to keep de pressure on us, we must get tired and eventually lose.

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #19 on: January 23, 2010, 05:34:09 PM »
King #19 is trying to hold the line as she has cuased a couple of offsides already (because she is poised and does not panic) however her fellow defenders keep dropping back and that is what happened to cuase the 4th goal.

19 Leroux for USA is also a Canadian...Damm Canucks...lmao

« Last Edit: January 23, 2010, 05:40:37 PM by Soccer 19 »

« Reply #20 on: January 23, 2010, 05:41:33 PM »
Shabaaz is ah kakahole coach.

We playing like he trying to keep de score in de single digit more than trying to even score a goal or make a decent pass, we allowing USA to keep de pressure on us, we must get tired and eventually lose.

Ent! These tactics is bullshit.

« Reply #21 on: January 23, 2010, 05:46:24 PM »
Time for Shabazz to get benched.

We need a better coach for the women program.

« Reply #22 on: January 23, 2010, 06:01:17 PM »
Time for Shabazz to get benched.

We need a better coach for the women program.

dat eh happeing

« Reply #23 on: January 23, 2010, 06:27:21 PM »
Game done. 4-0.

We tie the 2nd half!  ;D

« Reply #24 on: January 23, 2010, 06:31:47 PM »
Game done. 4-0.

We tie the 2nd half!  ;D

Forbes is a boss keeper.

« Reply #25 on: January 23, 2010, 06:32:42 PM »
Not having seen the game ...were any tactical changes made from the last game? did the team still look disorganized? Were we able to build the ball out of the back?

« Reply #26 on: January 23, 2010, 06:33:59 PM »
Game done. 4-0.

We tie the 2nd half!  ;D

Forbes is a boss keeper.

Yes. The first goal look offside to me. But I ent examine the super-slo-mo replay. and there were a few mistakes well. 2nd half was a display of good goalkeeping. Tactics was still crap though.

« Reply #27 on: January 23, 2010, 06:35:58 PM »
Not a bad result considering the opponents,the girls are improving faster than the men.

Offline triplethreat33

« Reply #28 on: January 23, 2010, 06:36:41 PM »
That game was not played to give the TT girls a chance of winning, That game was played so that the coach would not look bad. It is time for a coaching change. These girls were coached to not be embrassed I dont believe we had a shot on goal our forward spent the entire game chasing the ball with no middle support. I hope that the girls will get an opportunity to be trained under coaching more consistent with the type of play they will see at the national level

« Reply #29 on: January 23, 2010, 07:13:04 PM »
USA
Statistic
T&T
Goals
Shots
Shots on Goal
Corner Kicks
Offside
Substitutions
Yellow Cards
Red Cards

Source: ussoccer.com MatchTracker
« Last Edit: January 23, 2010, 07:57:17 PM by Tallman »