April 20, 2024, 06:01:40 AM

Author Topic: The athlete's to watch in 2010. Jusbless Picks  (Read 12383 times)

Offline jusbless

The athlete's to watch in 2010. Jusbless Picks
« on: December 30, 2009, 08:22:10 AM »
My pick on the male and female athlete to look for in 2010 and I do expect to have a big year is Keston Bledman and Janeil Belille.Plus of course a fit Darrel Brown who will always have my support , talent is talent, could never leave him out of the equation. I also expect Quow to break Ian Morris recordand Josanne lucas to continue her upward trend , as for women sprinters I expect Semoy Hackett to step up to Kelly-ann plate and really gave her a run for her money.

Offline Trini1

Re: The athlete's to watch in 2010. Jusbless Picks
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2009, 08:52:35 AM »
QUESTION: where was Janiel Belille last season? Was she injured? I don't think that Semoy is ready for sub 11 quite yet but she showed us that she is one to look for in the future with the great times she has run this season and making the semi-finals of the 100m in her debut world championship performance! SO im not at all counting her out I could be very wrong, it depends on how much she work she puts in. Plus with KAB and this new coach i really see her improving on that 10.94 and hopefully her 22.60.

Offline jusbless

« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2009, 09:40:25 AM »
She was injured. quad problems. With semoy Hackett , I think she would be much stronger than she was last year and with that increase power , Iit will be rather interesting , I expect a keen battle .

Offline Trini1

« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2009, 10:06:03 AM »
Ok hope she has fully recovered it will be great to have 2 great female 400m hurdlers. Yes im sure she will give KAB a run for her money this year seeing as she has shown such amazing improvement.

« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2009, 10:20:32 AM »
My pick on the male and female athlete to look for in 2010 and I do expect to have a big year is Keston Bledman and Janeil Belille.Plus of course a fit Darrel Brown who will always have my support , talent is talent, could never leave him out of the equation. I also expect Quow to break Ian Morris record and Josanne lucas to continue her upward trend , as for women sprinters I expect Semoy Hackett to step up to Kelly-ann plate and really gave her a run for her money.

Looking at what Quow is doing now it makes you realize how good of a quarter-miler Ian Morris was.
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

Offline Trini1

« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2009, 06:04:43 AM »
Looking at what Quow is doing now it makes you realize how good of a quarter-miler Ian Morris was.
[/quote]

That is very very true.

« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2009, 08:23:40 AM »
The athlete to watch in 2010 is Jehue Gordon, who will likely break the world junior record and factor in the world rankings - no one noticed he world ranked in his event at 17 - something no athlete I can recall has ever done, certainly not a TRINI.

« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2009, 09:42:02 AM »
and if We get lucky this one also
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/RKOFGomxbeQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/RKOFGomxbeQ</a>

Offline Aviator

« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2009, 09:55:03 AM »
The athlete to watch in 2010 is Jehue Gordon, who will likely break the world junior record and factor in the world rankings - no one noticed he world ranked in his event at 17 - something no athlete I can recall has ever done, certainly not a TRINI.

Don't know what you consider world ranked, but Darrel had the 19th fastest 100m time in the world in 2002. Also Bolt's 20.13 in 2003 was the 9th fastest time that year.

I look for Josanne Lucas to become more consistent in the 53.x range  in this upcoming season, before making a serious assault into the 52's, maybe this season but definite;y in the upcoming championship cycle. Will be looking for that 9.7x that Richard shows promise for, but he will need to make the weight room and 200 his best friends. His finish needs to improve and he lacks the strength/power of all the other men who have run 9.7x.

Brauman's camp is a little crowded, and he is a little deficient on the technical side of things, but his workouts have been able to get many in their best shape. Since KAB and Bledman are pretty sound technically, I expect to see improvements in their times, and any technical improvements will be a bonus.
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2009, 12:01:34 PM »
Totally agree Aviator with Josanne and Richard whom i was extremely proud of. Is it just me or has KAB lapsed a bit on her drive phase. She used to have such a great one, I dunno what's happened but I know she will look to improve on it. And yes Ato of course Jehue is the ONE to watch! I like how he is always positive when speaking concerning present achievements and also about his future and in conducting himself. He values hard work- like he said- come rain or shine he is out training etc he guna make us very proud. He is a role model for ALL our other athletes- junior or senior.

« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2009, 04:11:50 PM »
Davis is not coming and USATF has already told me personally they would make him sit 2 years if he tried to, so unlikely....spent a day with him at PAN AM jrs - he is the future of that event for the USA.

WORLD RANKED means either IAAF or Track and Field News (TNF NEWS having way more history and therefore more prestige) having you in their rankings - not simply a time, as you stated - and they only rank to #10. Jehue was ranked #8 this year.  You would think that the other national who world ranked as a junior would be Darrel Brown at 18 when he got silver in Paris and you'd be wrong, I would have thought so too but a quick check says no.

Gordon is the first TNT national to world rank in a sprint event - and I am sure few if any others have ever done it from any country in a sprint event.

« Reply #11 on: December 31, 2009, 04:48:28 PM »

Your right with this on A.B. Gordon is the one to watch for 2010. I am sure this young man could even run a good 400m as well.

« Reply #12 on: January 07, 2010, 12:06:50 AM »
Jehue Gordon i sthe youngster to watch people  :)..medalling at the Commonwealth games this year at age 18 will make me feel even more proud of the youth. With that being said I expect good years from our other top athletes Quow, Lucas & Thompson

« Reply #13 on: January 07, 2010, 08:18:17 AM »
CHECK THIS ARTICLE ...
now this is a developmental plan or should I say plant bearing fruit ....

June 11, 2008

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Giant in training

Trinidad - Jehue Gordon, winner in the boys 17 and under category at bmobile’s Olympic Dash competition, is not easily missed. Sixteen years old, the young runner whose 400-metre performance at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium will take him to Beijing for the 2008 Olympic Games, stands a whopping 6’ 3”. But even more importantly for his athletic success, Jehue has the competitive heart to go along with his size. As a member for track club Memphis Pioneers, Jehue follows a grueling, five-day-a-week training schedule, diligently adhering to the regime. “It’s been tough,” he says, “but you have to work for what you want.” In a society where many youth – especially young males – are sliding further into an under-culture of lawlessness and stagnation, he is a powerful contrast. “He’s really a good child,” says Jehue’s Memphis Pioneers coach, Dr Ian Hippolyte. “He’s extremely diligent in his training. He has a very good work ethic.” The Belmont Boys’ Secondary School student specialises in the 400 and 800-metre hurdle – a good event for someone of his height. He began running in primary school and has been in national competition since standard 5. Jehue represented Trinidad and Tobago at the 2008 Carifta Games, winning a bronze medal in the 400-metre hurdles. “He’s going to do very well,” Dr Hippolyte predicted. “He’s got good physical attributes. He will be a strong representative for Trinidad and Tobago in track and field.” Asked if he is excited to attend the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing, China, Jehue responded sharply, “I MUST be excited.” The young athlete expressed his enormous gratitude to TSTT for the opportunity to go to the event. In its ongoing mission to contribute to the development of youth in Trinidad and Tobago, TSTT held the bmobile Olympic Dash competition to give young athletes a chance to experience the games in person. Jehue and fellow winner Kai Selvon received all-expenses paid trips to one of the ultimate international sporting events. The telecom company has made youth-focused outreach a major part of its corporate giving agenda through individual projects and the TSTT Foundation. Jehue has plans of his own to one day participate in the games. “Absolutely,” he says, “my long term goal is to make the Olympics and medal.” For his professional career he plans on becoming a physiotherapist because “you get to travel plenty and I like to deal with athletics.” Although he is impressed by the running style of Dominican 400-metre hurdle champion Felix Sanchez, Jehue has no real athletic hero. He credits both his own determination to succeed and the support of his family (parents and one brother) as the backbone of his winning ways: “They always support me, telling me to pray before I run.” 

« Reply #14 on: January 07, 2010, 08:21:54 AM »
Hard to believe the 16 year old referred to above, smoked  Feliz sanchez just two year later ...

Offline Trini1

« Reply #15 on: January 08, 2010, 10:58:36 AM »
This season I would like to see Jehue run sub 48 seconds whether it be a world record(thinking big) lol or 47.99s i would like to see him run sub 48s. I would also like to see Josanne below 53 seconds. It will be hard but she brought her pb down from 55.46 to 53.20 in a year so its not impossible for her to run say 52.7/8s this year. I wonder what 400m flat times she is running now. For Richard and Marc who I am extremely proud of I would like  to see low 9.8s even 9.7s, and more sub 10s respectively and for Renny Quow I wanna see him attack that 44.21s and better it. For KAB I really would like to see her run in the 10.8s region- at least 10.85s. Which is possible because the same Shelly Ann Fraser who came third to Kelly in the 2005 carifta games and the same shelly ann fraser who had a pb of 11.31s brought it down to 10.78s a year later. Hard work! I wanna see more quality female sprinters too I know Semoy is stepping up- i really expect a 11.10s from her this outdoor season. She has already started the indoors registering 7.52s over 60m and 23.90s over 200m. The latter part of her race seems to be her strong point. So the indoors should give her time strengthen the early aspects of her 100m race. A sub 43s from the women's 4x100 team would be the icing on the cake.

Offline jusbless

« Reply #16 on: June 16, 2010, 11:02:23 AM »
Very interesting seeing how the predictions are going so far fro the season , still early but we will see how it ends up

« Reply #17 on: June 16, 2010, 11:19:20 AM »
Well Jehue opened in a near PR, had a bad race in NY - I don't expect sub 48 but PR for sure.

« Reply #18 on: June 16, 2010, 03:40:08 PM »
My pick on the male and female athlete to look for in 2010 and I do expect to have a big year is Keston Bledman and Janeil Belille.Plus of course a fit Darrel Brown who will always have my support , talent is talent, could never leave him out of the equation. I also expect Quow to break Ian Morris recordand Josanne lucas to continue her upward trend , as for women sprinters I expect Semoy Hackett to step up to Kelly-ann plate and really gave her a run for her money.

True. Form is temporary, Class is permanent. Thats why I aint ruling he out for now.

Right now i will put my money on Jehue. He is in a class of his own and what Bolt is doing in the 100m and 200m, Jehue will probably do in the 400mh and 110mh. I read that he could have gone to Beijing for the 400m when he was 16. I will not be surprised if he decides to pick up this event as well. I heard his spilt for the 4x400 at the Carifta games was around 46 or maybe even a little under.  Who knows the future rivalry could be Gordon vs James in the 400m.

« Reply #19 on: June 16, 2010, 08:47:29 PM »
If brown win any 100.m race this year under 10.25 (legal, not wind aided shit) I going and shave my head bald and paint it red until de end of the year.

STEUPS!

Offline jusbless

« Reply #20 on: June 17, 2010, 07:37:47 AM »
It might turn out to be a costly exercise , do you want me to supply the paint . But most likely it is just talk you dont have the guts neither the integrity to be a man of your words. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #21 on: June 17, 2010, 10:02:55 AM »
It might turn out to be a costly exercise , do you want me to supply the paint . But most likely it is just talk you dont have the guts neither the integrity to be a man of your words. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

brwn cyar go 10.25 if he on a facking harley

Offline jusbless

« Reply #22 on: June 17, 2010, 11:20:28 AM »
oh oh you already chickening out of ur proposal , weak heart ,  :devil:. I did not think that u were be so coward . I guess you are just speaking ur crap and not willing to stand behind your words .  :rotfl:. What a brave person to make a comment and then shy away when things dont go your way . :P

« Reply #23 on: June 17, 2010, 11:34:43 AM »
Chicken out?  Brown even ran a training race thi year so far?

break down brown should be the spokesperson fro Fix a flat...cuz he tires always flat.

Offline jusbless

« Reply #24 on: June 17, 2010, 11:52:58 AM »
yae h but if he does run a 10.25 are u willing to stand by your earlier statement. That is all as u say u have nothing to lose because he cant even run that time , Lets do up a binding contract if you are  so sure , if not then it is just useless chatter.

« Reply #25 on: June 17, 2010, 12:38:01 PM »
Well jusbless you will be pleased. Darrel Brown just left my FL office. He is no longer with MVP and is moving to FL to train with Wayne Lewis at my facility here.

He says 2010 is pretty much going to be a recovery year, and his hip is the culprit, and the gov't is paying for him to have it looked after right now in South FL.

« Reply #26 on: June 17, 2010, 12:46:45 PM »
his hip is the culprit

for all/most of his chronic injuries?  or something more specific?

« Reply #27 on: June 17, 2010, 12:57:36 PM »
For most of them I suppose

« Reply #28 on: June 17, 2010, 01:14:04 PM »
Well that is good news ..... Ato get him to run some 400's lol

« Reply #29 on: June 17, 2010, 02:29:12 PM »
By the time he fully healed and ready to run, he should be making finals regularily in dem masters meets....And I go be to buss he arse.