April 29, 2024, 11:37:36 AM

Author Topic: Can't play dvds on my mac  (Read 1850 times)

Can't play dvds on my mac
« on: January 30, 2010, 08:17:45 AM »
I've played dvds on my mac before with no problem.

Played a Segal movie last week and was fine.
However, now everything I pop in either says
(i) the dvd is blank.
(ii) VLC says can't play error...check log (Where de f*&^ the log is?)
(iii) Ond dvd just make funny sounds and eject itself.

Would appreciate some input.
Tried to google but no help there.

Tried an old dvd of my b'day and it said that it was blank too.

Thanks,

Re: Can't play dvds on my mac
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2010, 10:41:35 AM »
I've played dvds on my mac before with no problem.

Played a Segal movie last week and was fine.
However, now everything I pop in either says
(i) the dvd is blank.
(ii) VLC says can't play error...check log (Where de f*&^ the log is?)
(iii) Ond dvd just make funny sounds and eject itself.

Would appreciate some input.
Tried to google but no help there.

Tried an old dvd of my b'day and it said that it was blank too.

Thanks,

sounds more like bad hardware rather than bad software. You might have to get the DVD drive swapped out. Maybe try some drive cleaning techniques first.

If you have access to one, try attaching an external DVD via USB/firewire to see if that works to eliminate the bad software possibility.

« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2010, 11:18:56 AM »
E Man,

the comp. is only one year old and I've only used a dvd about four times on it.
Is it possible that it would need cleaning after such a short time.

What's a good cleaning technique? Is there some kind of CD to buy?

What does "swapped out" mean? Have it changed?

« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2010, 11:25:58 AM »
Be very careful when playing pirated dvds. I borrowed (download) a copy of a movie, then burnt it to dvd. It happened to be a screener. Played it our DVD player .. locked the friggin thing. won't play, open ..nothing. I had to find a crack for the brand of the dvd player to finally get it to release. Then when I went back to use my dvd burner (computer) I soon realize that no matter what I did the drive was not being recognize on my computer. I can't burn DVDs now.

Some screeners (& dvds) comes with some sort of anti-pirate code that causes real problems with dvd drives.

I realize I wasn't helpful.. but it may be what happened in your case as well.

« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2010, 12:03:01 PM »
yeah. I don't suppose they've opened an Apple store in Kabul yet,  ;D but that means get it replaced. I guess if it's just over a year its out of warranty, which would suck, unless you have some extension.

Does it read anything at all? Have you played a commercial DVD or just burned DVD-Rs? Does it still read CD's - just not DVDs?

You can try a can of compressed air to blow out any dust and debris.

« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2010, 12:12:46 PM »
I think you are right about pirated dvds.

I have been playing dvds that were released with warnings not to be given to others.
Maybe I am looking at a copy of the original.

But my friend who has the dvds had no prob with his computer :-(

I'll look for the can of compressed air and hope it works.

Thanks for the suggestion. I will now be paranoid as hell about copies.

« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2010, 08:05:29 AM »
get a PC

« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2010, 05:16:01 PM »
I think you are right about pirated dvds.

I have been playing dvds that were released with warnings not to be given to others.
Maybe I am looking at a copy of the original.

But my friend who has the dvds had no prob with his computer :-(

I'll look for the can of compressed air and hope it works.

Thanks for the suggestion. I will now be paranoid as hell about copies.

Hey VB,

Try the Compressed air and see.  I doh think that it have anything to do with the software, but more hardware in this situation.  If when you clean the drive it still doh work, get a usb/firewire external DVD player and play the same DVD and see.  Wuss thing is yu out of some money and then you'll know not to use burn movies on yu MAC.  Actually PC have a real good deal on dvd burners................ :P

« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2010, 06:31:26 AM »
I know I am no expert like e-man and the others but could it be that your flash software may need updating? I have the experience that when there is a new version you will get a problem to read cds and dvds...
maybe worth a try? ;D

« Reply #9 on: February 01, 2010, 03:54:53 PM »
Long story short, I got a cleaning CD and now it working.

However, the when I put the CD (cleaner) in, I couldn't see it. Which made sense because I couldn't see CDs in the first place. I used to vlc to locate and play.(Actually needed divx in the first place just to find the CD) I was told by the box instructions would come up. None did.
I heard a sound like the CD was trying to start moving but couldn't. After 20 mnts give up.

But lo and behold dvd working. Fine it moving kinda slow when I change screen size. But I guess I can clean again.
I work in a very dust environment (desert nearby) and it will get dustier, so I guess this is something I have to look out for.

Thanks for your advice.