October 31, 2024, 06:35:28 PM

Author Topic: Powerful 7.3 quake rocks Haiti, sparks tsunami alert  (Read 51425 times)

Re: Powerful 7.3 quake rocks Haiti, sparks tsunami alert
« Reply #180 on: January 23, 2010, 06:38:56 AM »
Use your mouse to click and drag around the video to change the view. You can also zoom in and out. Pause and explore at any time by pressing the play/pause button under the video to stop and look around. The video below was shot on Monday, January 18, at 9:52 a.m. EST in Port-au-Prince, Haiti.

http://www.cnn.com/interactive/2010/01/world/haiti.360/index.html

« Reply #181 on: January 23, 2010, 03:43:19 PM »
Anybody take een the telethon last night??  I saw a piece of it.....the performances were really nice.
I was wondering though, what is triggering this outpouring of love and help for Haiti especially from celebrities etc...??  For example I don't remember there being a telethon the Tsunami victims back in 2004.  I wonder if its because its so close to the US and so in everybody's faces??

Whatever it is, I'm really glad because maybe, just maybe, Haiti will finally get the attention and help it needed 200 years in the making.....

there was a tsunami telethon.  George Clooney self if I remember correctly.  I don't think it was on every network as the one from last night but that's probably just down to the fact that they had more experience/expertise in doing the whole thing.
The Canaian Tsunami telethon raised $4 Million
This Canadian Haiti Telethon so far has raised $9 Million and just heard that the Canadian Government has eliminated the $50-million cap on matching Haiti donations.
all who want to donate in Canada so the government can match ....go here....http://www.canadaforhaiti.com/Forms/Donate.aspx
Thanks
« Last Edit: January 23, 2010, 03:46:11 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #182 on: January 23, 2010, 03:54:41 PM »
Port-au-Prince, Haiti (CNN) -- A 24-year-old man was rescued from the rubble 11 days after a powerful earthquake struck Haiti.

CNN's Hala Gorani, reporting from Port-au-Prince, said the man was sped away from the Hotel Napoli in an ambulance as bystanders broke out in spontaneous applause.

"One man told me, if this young man comes out alive, this will be an absolute miracle," she said.
The rescue workers, assisted by Greek and American workers, initially used their hands to move debris before putting heavier machinery to use.

The man's brothers said they reported hearing tapping from within the ruins of the hotel for several days but struggled to get authorities to the scene. A Greek journalist said he alerted Greek rescue workers after hearing the tapping.

Earlier Saturday, the government announced that it has ended the search-and-rescue phase of its response to the disaster and that more than 111,000 people had died in the quake and its aftermath.
The government's figure, released by the United Nations late Friday, is the first precise death toll for the magnitude 7.0 quake that struck on January 12. It said 111,481 people were confirmed dead.

It is the worst death toll from an earthquake since the 2004 Asian tsunami and the second-highest death toll from an earthquake in more than three decades, according to the U.S. Geological Survey.

Some 609,000 people have also been left homeless in and around the capital of Port-au-Prince, the U.N. Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs said.

« Last Edit: January 23, 2010, 03:56:51 PM by Prematie Bheem »

« Reply #183 on: January 24, 2010, 03:52:10 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/ERJVizL71P4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/ERJVizL71P4</a>

Alleged looters get gunned down.
This footage is graphic.

« Reply #184 on: January 26, 2010, 05:32:36 PM »
A will to live..... 2 weeks eh :o

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Jan 26 (Reuters) - U.S. troops pulled a man alive from the rubble of a collapsed building in Haiti's capital on Tuesday, two weeks after a magnitude-7 earthquake ravaged parts of the Caribbean nation, a Reuters witness said.

Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #186 on: January 28, 2010, 08:34:06 AM »
French search & rescue
team save 17-year-old
girl after 15 days
trapped under rubble
in Haiti

Wow :o

amazing. must say, i'm awed by the number of search and rescue teams and medical teams from different parts of the world. france, greece, israel, ... all of them really have their act together too. right up there is MSF - the organization i said should ah get de nobel.

« Reply #187 on: January 28, 2010, 08:55:25 PM »
Anybody take een the telethon last night??  I saw a piece of it.....the performances were really nice.
I was wondering though, what is triggering this outpouring of love and help for Haiti especially from celebrities etc...??  For example I don't remember there being a telethon the Tsunami victims back in 2004.  I wonder if its because its so close to the US and so in everybody's faces??

Whatever it is, I'm really glad because maybe, just maybe, Haiti will finally get the attention and help it needed 200 years in the making.....

The interest and coverage of Haiti just blows away anything that happened for the Tsunami. Several factors play a part.

The proximity is one factor, plus the fact that is the same time zone so they could do plenty live remotes.
The US government and civilian involvement is also bigger.
The fact that the story concentrated in one island as opposed to being spread across several is also a factor.
Then yuh have the fact that, sadly, it is just better TV viewing. The devastation is more shocking than flooded out land and yuh have these heartwarmning and amazing stories of survival that yuh just didn't see iwth the Tsunami.

« Reply #189 on: January 31, 2010, 06:50:40 PM »
lawd

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/False-alarm-01-29

There are many hatians in Jamaica .Jamaicans doh really favor dem being there. Artist tun Prisoner Buju Have long identified Haitians for crime against Youg Children In Jamaica. since am here I trying to figure something out. Haiti and DR is one island was there any damages done in DR? or haiti alone get damage ?

« Reply #190 on: January 31, 2010, 10:22:50 PM »
since am here I trying to figure something out. Haiti and DR is one island was there any damages done in DR? or haiti alone get damage ?

Here is a map of the shaking, most damage occurred in the red/orange zone. DR is just to far from the epicentre to get much damage.

« Reply #191 on: February 01, 2010, 10:20:11 AM »
since am here I trying to figure something out. Haiti and DR is one island was there any damages done in DR? or haiti alone get damage ?

Here is a map of the shaking, most damage occurred in the red/orange zone. DR is just to far from the epicentre to get much damage.

Thanks man . a earthquake at dat level am suprise it didnt  mash up both islands.  well prays be with the ppl of haiti .

« Reply #192 on: November 19, 2010, 05:46:12 PM »
ah hearing about riots in haiti directed against the UN. they saying is the UN that cause de cholera epidemic.

wdF

« Reply #193 on: November 19, 2010, 06:47:47 PM »
ah hearing about riots in haiti directed against the UN. they saying is the UN that cause de cholera epidemic.

wdF

Yeh, The Haitians saying that the UN soldiers from one of the Asian countries brought it.