April 28, 2024, 06:41:11 AM

Author Topic: The Kennedy's rolling in their graves...  (Read 2877 times)

The Kennedy's rolling in their graves...
« on: January 20, 2010, 05:11:12 AM »
aaarrrmmmmm US based, how the hell the Democrats lose one ah de bluest seats in the US??!!   :o :o

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/

Brown wins Mass. Senate race in epic upset
GOP victory leaves President Barack Obama's health care overhaul in doubt

BOSTON - In an epic upset in liberal Massachusetts, Republican Scott Brown rode a wave of voter anger to win the U.S. Senate seat held by the late Edward M. Kennedy for nearly half a century, leaving President Barack Obama's health care overhaul in doubt and marring the end of his first year in office.
Addressing an exuberant victory celebration Tuesday night, Brown declared he was "ready to go to Washington without delay" as the crowd chanted, "Seat him now." Democrats indicated they would, deflating a budding controversy over whether they would try to block Brown long enough to complete congressional passage of the health care plan he has promised to oppose.

"The people of Massachusetts have spoken. We welcome Scott Brown to the Senate and will move to seat him as soon as the proper paperwork has been received," said Majority Leader Harry Reid, D-Nev. Massachusetts Secretary of State William Galvin said he would notify the Senate on Wednesday that Brown had been elected.  Sen. Jim Webb, D-Va., said that it would "only be fair and prudent" to suspend votes on the health care bill until Brown is seated.

The loss by the once-favored Democrat Martha Coakley in the Democratic stronghold was a stunning embarrassment for the White House after Obama rushed to Boston on Sunday to try to save the foundering candidate. Her defeat signaled big political problems for the president's party this fall when House, Senate and gubernatorial candidates are on the ballot nationwide.
"I have no interest in sugarcoating what happened in Massachusetts," said Sen. Robert Menendez, the head of the Senate Democrats' campaign committee. "There is a lot of anxiety in the country right now. Americans are understandably impatient."
Brown will become the 41st Republican in the 100-member Senate, which could allow the GOP to block the president's health care legislation and the rest of his agenda. Democrats needed Coakley to win for a 60th vote to thwart Republican filibusters.

The Republican will finish Kennedy's unexpired term, facing re-election in 2012.
Brown won 52 percent to 47 percent. Turnout was exceptional for a special election in January: More voters showed up at the polls Tuesday than in any non-presidential general election in Massachusetts since 1990.

Referendum on Obama?

One day shy of the first anniversary of Obama's swearing-in, the election played out amid a backdrop of animosity and resentment from voters over persistently high unemployment, Wall Street bailouts, exploding federal budget deficits and partisan wrangling over health care.
"I voted for Obama because I wanted change. ... I thought he'd bring it to us, but I just don't like the direction that he's heading," said John Triolo, 38, a registered independent who voted in Fitchburg.
He said his frustrations, including what he considered the too-quick pace of health care legislation, led him to vote for Brown.  For weeks considered a long shot, Brown seized on voter discontent to overtake Coakley in the campaign's final stretch. His candidacy energized Republicans, including backers of the "tea party" protest movement, while attracting disappointed Democrats and independents uneasy with where they felt the nation was heading.

Coakley called Brown conceding the race, and Obama talked to both Brown and Coakley, congratulating them on the race. The Democrat said the president told her: "We can't win them all." Brown will be the first Republican senator from Massachusetts in 30 years.

Even before the first results were announced, administration officials were privately accusing Coakley of a poorly run campaign and playing down the notion that Obama or a toxic political landscape had much to do with the outcome.
Coakley's supporters, in turn, blamed that very environment, saying her lead dropped significantly after the Senate passed health care reform shortly before Christmas and after the Christmas Day attempted airliner bombing that Obama himself said showed a failure of his administration.

Rep. Chris Van Hollen of Maryland, head of the House Democrats' campaign effort, said Coakley's loss won't deter his colleagues from continuing to blame the previous administration.
"President George W. Bush and House Republicans drove our economy into a ditch and tried to run away from the accident," he said. "President Obama and congressional Democrats have been focused repairing the damage to our economy."
At Boston's Park Plaza Hotel, giddy Republicans cheered, chanted "USA" and waved the "tea party" version of the American flag.
Even before Brown won, the grass-roots network fueled by antiestablishment frustrations, sought credit for the victory, much like the liberal MoveOn.org did in the 2006 midterm elections when Democrats rose to power. GOP chairman Michael Steele said Brown's "message of lower taxes, smaller government and fiscal responsibility clearly resonated with independent-minded voters in Massachusetts who were looking for a solution to decades of failed Democrat leadership."

Wall Street watched the election closely. The Dow Jones industrial average rose 116 points, and analysts attributed the increase to hopes the election would make it harder for Obama to make his changes to health care. That eased investor concerns that profits at companies such as insurers and drug makers would suffer.
Across Massachusetts, voters who had been bombarded with phone calls and dizzied with nonstop campaign commercials for Coakley and Brown gave a fitting turnout despite intermittent snow and rain statewide.
Galvin, who discounted sporadic reports of voter irregularities throughout the day, predicted turnout ranging from 1.6 million to 2.2 million, 40 percent to 55 percent of registered voters. The Dec. 8 primary had a scant turnout of about 20 percent.

Voters considered national issues including health care and the federal budget deficits.
Fears about spending drove Karla Bunch, 49, to vote for Brown. "It's time for the country, for the taxpayers, to take back their money," she said.
And Elizabeth Reddin, 65, voted for Brown because she said she was turned off by the Democrat's negative advertisements, saying: "The Coakley stuff was disgusting."

Re: The Kennedy's rolling in their graves...
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2010, 08:29:27 AM »
bns all now campaigning up and down de road for coakey but alas, tis de end of de healthcare plan in its current form.

olberham with a "bad joke":
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/Ueji0Q4RZyo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/Ueji0Q4RZyo</a>

is not often yuh hear homophobe and nude (male) model in de same sentence.

« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2010, 08:58:39 AM »
Thank God future proposals by this Administrations will have a difficult time in both Houses. Unfortunately dis Atrocious Health Care bill will pass!

What happened here is substance prevailed  :beermug: Go Scott Brown!

« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2010, 09:26:16 AM »
Obama and health care will take licks for this loss but Coakley has a lot of responsibility to bear.

She did not run a campaign, plain and simple. You get the feeling that she expected to win and didn’t know she was in a race until last week. There have been no ads on televison promoting her or attacking her opponenet. I genuinely didn’y know she was running until last week and I work in the state and get local TV stations.

Scott Brown move good. He lay in wait and make a big splash right at the death. If he had moved earlier and established himself as a realistic target his surge woulda died out and it would have been a more even race.

« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2010, 10:58:47 AM »
well good thing yes.  cuz both senate and house health plans is real shit.  senate plan worse cuz it forcing everybody to have health insurance aka pay the big health insurance companies - with basically the same system now; maybe reduce the age for medicaid...paid for by??? A for effort 'Bama but it have a reason why health industry is the only one growing in recession.  they have the money to buy off the minds of all the stupid people - get your government hands off my medicare - how completely idiotic must a person be to allow that filth out your mouth?...and I hear it all the time on the radio here.

« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2010, 11:16:05 AM »
well good thing yes.  cuz both senate and house health plans is real shit.  senate plan worse cuz it forcing everybody to have health insurance aka pay the big health insurance companies - with basically the same system now; maybe reduce the age for medicaid...paid for by??? A for effort 'Bama but it have a reason why health industry is the only one growing in recession.  they have the money to buy off the minds of all the stupid people - get your government hands off my medicare - how completely idiotic must a person be to allow that filth out your mouth?...and I hear it all the time on the radio here.

This is US politics: Party out of power waits for party in power to screw up, remind the voters of the screw-ups and count the votes. I doh think there is any incentive to provide or even debate solutions any more. Worse of all is the legislation and regulations are written by congressional aides straight out of college and lobbyists.

The current versions of the healthcare bill are a joke, it basically came down to whose lobbyists has more pull. The stupid thing does nothing to address the rising cost of healthcare. Insurance companies are an easy target, but they are essentially a middle-man passing through the price increases while taking their cut. (Full disclosure: I work for a health insurance company)

You mean to tell me nearly 60% of americans overweight and you want to tax a man who work hard and making moeny to pay for healthcare? How about taxing the food and drink that making people obese and have the consumers pay for their own healthcare? Yuh already doing it for cigarettes?

Personally I was hoping they woulda get this healthcare thing right because at the end of the day, most americans are a pink slip away from losing their health insurance. However the behavior of both parties has disgusted me.

I was stunned to see the Republicans lining up and getting people to outright fight, not help shape, healthcare reform... Imagine the Republicans pulling thier support from the same Southern states that have the highest levels of uninsured, obesity & other chronic conditions, highest poverty... So it's the southern voters who would benefit most and end up paying the least for reform, but say what yuh get the government yuh deserve.

« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2010, 12:59:34 PM »

I was stunned to see the Republicans lining up and getting people to outright fight, not help shape, healthcare reform... Imagine the Republicans pulling their support from the same Southern states that have the highest levels of uninsured, obesity & other chronic conditions, highest poverty... So it's the southern voters who would benefit most and end up paying the least for reform
nothing surprising there, the people who have jobs in the industry like yuhself- I assume: mostly republican, lil better off, nice 9-5 easy job, nice benefits (health insurance lol) convince the uneducated republicans that the democrats want gov't to control everything and that is the most important thing to fight against in the world. that is the essence of freedom.  To me the truth buried in there.  Next to housing - which just recently collapse thanks to the same behind the scenes forces, system and greed - the next biggest need for credit in the us would be if you were to become sick and need surgery, or pregnant with any sort of risk factor - over 60K average - you in the industry so you should be able to tell.   one person don't have that kind of money.  is a bank in disguise with none of the regulations.  so the question is do we want the gov't to be our banker and spread the risk, or do we trust the free market to do a more efficient job?
full disclosure: my wife has been an RN for 7 yrs.  no one in my family including my 3 mnth old has insurance -  so I'll assume we are on opposite sides of the issue.
the gov't dolling out (taking on all the risky loans if you will) on 'pre-existing conditions' and old people anyway, and the insurance companies serve absolutely no purpose other than to make money.  I'm sorry but I think you guys should have to look for another job.  blaming obesity is a distraction...yes true...but...

« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2010, 06:08:02 PM »
from what I can garner from reporters, Coakley seem to EXPECT to win and did not do much to attract voters to her

in this LKL transcript the reporters hit it on the head
http://transcripts.cnn.com/TRANSCRIPTS/1001/19/lkl.02.html
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2010, 08:02:16 PM »
Tragic.

« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2010, 08:30:11 PM »
listening to npr, dude don't sound like the typical republican and say he'd like to start healthcare reform from scratch and not oppose just for opposing sake like the republicans already there;  and that he would like everyone to have access to healthcare.  now I don't know which box to put him in cuz he all over the map on different issues.  i could live with that.

« Reply #10 on: January 20, 2010, 08:59:44 PM »
listening to npr, dude don't sound like the typical republican and say he'd like to start healthcare reform from scratch and not oppose just for opposing sake like the republicans already there;  and that he would like everyone to have access to healthcare.  now I don't know which box to put him in cuz he all over the map on different issues.  i could live with that.
an interesting thing is that when he was growing up his mother was on welfare

SOCIALIST :devil:
tongue in cheek people ;)

and Mass. has universal health care for its citizens
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Massachusetts_health_care_reform
« Last Edit: January 20, 2010, 09:05:07 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #11 on: January 20, 2010, 09:10:59 PM »
aaarrrmmmmm US based, how the hell the Democrats lose one ah de bluest seats in the US??!!   :o :o

de man win plain and simple because he bring he sexy...............yuh tink anybody did want to see coakley and she  :-X

« Reply #12 on: January 20, 2010, 11:03:53 PM »

This is US politics: Party out of power waits for party in power to screw up, remind the voters of the screw-ups and count the votes. I doh think there is any incentive to provide or even debate solutions any more. Worse of all is the legislation and regulations are written by congressional aides straight out of college and lobbyists.

The current versions of the healthcare bill are a joke, it basically came down to whose lobbyists has more pull. The stupid thing does nothing to address the rising cost of healthcare. Insurance companies are an easy target, but they are essentially a middle-man passing through the price increases while taking their cut. (Full disclosure: I work for a health insurance company)

You mean to tell me nearly 60% of americans overweight and you want to tax a man who work hard and making moeny to pay for healthcare? How about taxing the food and drink that making people obese and have the consumers pay for their own healthcare? Yuh already doing it for cigarettes?

Personally I was hoping they woulda get this healthcare thing right because at the end of the day, most americans are a pink slip away from losing their health insurance. However the behavior of both parties has disgusted me.

I was stunned to see the Republicans lining up and getting people to outright fight, not help shape, healthcare reform... Imagine the Republicans pulling thier support from the same Southern states that have the highest levels of uninsured, obesity & other chronic conditions, highest poverty... So it's the southern voters who would benefit most and end up paying the least for reform, but say what yuh get the government yuh deserve.

ahhhmmmm  not true.  The US people like some balance in their politics, after the legend, they reverted to the norm.  Obama has not done much to inspire and excite the people, unemployment keeps worsening, too many federal bail outs, prices still high, Housing slump continues, people cant pay their bills.

« Reply #13 on: January 21, 2010, 04:20:27 AM »

de man win plain and simple because he bring he sexy...............yuh tink anybody did want to see coakley and she  :-X

I don't know how much of a hit he will be on Capitol Hill, but he's gonna be a huge in Dupont Circle...

« Reply #14 on: January 27, 2010, 12:10:22 PM »

ahhhmmmm  not true.  The US people like some balance in their politics, after the legend, they reverted to the norm.  Obama has not done much to inspire and excite the people, unemployment keeps worsening, too many federal bail outs, prices still high, Housing slump continues, people cant pay their bills.

he get sidetracked with health care. according to de pew centre, health care eh even in de top 5 issues of americans and that is consistent going back to last year. he squander his political capital! like many said before, he eh have any experience running anyting cept he mouth and now it showing.

« Reply #15 on: January 27, 2010, 02:26:09 PM »
Noe let us compare him to Bush before.  Thanks

« Reply #16 on: January 27, 2010, 04:11:11 PM »
Noe let us compare him to Bush before.  Thanks

hear nah, bush didn't mind if people eh like he. but dis One like he fraid falling out of favour. why else he taking on healthcare reform instead of issues higher up on the priority list? ???

« Reply #17 on: January 27, 2010, 04:44:06 PM »
What issues higher on the priority list?

Stimulus?
Bailout?
Mortgage relief?
Tax cuts?
Deficits?
Jobs?

What Obama did is calculate that he would have the best shot of passing certain initiatives now. So he spent his political capital there.  History suggests that this is the best shot. 2010 onward would only get tougher as there would be losses in the house and senate in the mid-term elections.

I think his biggest mistake is trying to work with the republicans. They clearly have decided to oppose everything and invite compromise only to still oppose everything. Obama thinking that he could give congress a general plan and let them work out the details has also shown just how corrupt the system is. You would think even his short stint as a senator would have let him see how much big money interests hijack the system. The amount of money/influence wielded by lobbying groups is hard to overcome.

Understand, is not Republicans who screwed up the healthcare bill, or the finance reform bills. Is Democrats! Until last week, they have had the ability to pass whatever legislation they want.

The past 10 years illustrate the essential difference between the Republicans and the Democrats in governing style.

Obama takes the hit for all of this, he's the president. But in the end, the president doesn't write legislation, he only suggests it and signs it in the end. You want someone to blame, Blame the corrupt senators and congressmen who have shot themselves in the foot with this mess, a lot of them will be voted out. We'll see the dawn of a new conservative era, where it's all about yours and everyone else should be

« Reply #18 on: January 27, 2010, 08:57:27 PM »
Obama horn ribbit

« Reply #19 on: January 28, 2010, 08:49:03 AM »
What issues higher on the priority list?

Stimulus?
Bailout?
Mortgage relief?
Tax cuts?
Deficits?
Jobs?

What Obama did is calculate that he would have the best shot of passing certain initiatives now. So he spent his political capital there.  History suggests that this is the best shot. 2010 onward would only get tougher as there would be losses in the house and senate in the mid-term elections.

I think his biggest mistake is trying to work with the republicans. They clearly have decided to oppose everything and invite compromise only to still oppose everything. Obama thinking that he could give congress a general plan and let them work out the details has also shown just how corrupt the system is. You would think even his short stint as a senator would have let him see how much big money interests hijack the system. The amount of money/influence wielded by lobbying groups is hard to overcome.

Understand, is not Republicans who screwed up the healthcare bill, or the finance reform bills. Is Democrats! Until last week, they have had the ability to pass whatever legislation they want.

The past 10 years illustrate the essential difference between the Republicans and the Democrats in governing style.

Obama takes the hit for all of this, he's the president. But in the end, the president doesn't write legislation, he only suggests it and signs it in the end. You want someone to blame, Blame the corrupt senators and congressmen who have shot themselves in the foot with this mess, a lot of them will be voted out. We'll see the dawn of a new conservative era, where it's all about yours and everyone else should be

de pew list have de following issues:

yeah, i see your point with regards to party tactics and congress.

« Reply #20 on: January 28, 2010, 08:49:59 AM »
Obama horn ribbit

like de pope horn you  :devil:

« Reply #21 on: January 29, 2010, 08:16:17 PM »

I was reading this article today and remembered your post.