April 27, 2024, 03:44:14 AM

Author Topic: My nine year old wants to lift weights  (Read 1068 times)

My nine year old wants to lift weights
« on: January 22, 2010, 12:46:42 AM »
With me but I dont  think its a good idea .So I tell him to use the colored chick weights .I think it my stunt his muscle growth ,by making his young stretchy muscles to tough so that he does not grow as normal..my old biology I guess .
But sites say it safe ,...but am thinking about those short female gymnast    .
I dont know ,I think push ups and sit ups for a kid is good enough for now ,with a really lite Iron regiment .
But on the other hand, hard work make ppl stronger .
What alyah think ?

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
Re: My nine year old wants to lift weights
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2010, 07:50:08 AM »
Personally, I would wait until he is a bit older - say 13 or so, to start with a regiment of weights. For now I would stick with light weights, chin ups, sit ups and so on. That still builds and defines but does not give the muscles a 'memory' and will allow him to grow as normally as he would naturally.

On the flip side, I have a friend who is a pro weightlifter who had his son in with him from age 6. The son is about 16 now, deeply defined, strong as an ox but to me, a bit too thick to appear 'normal'. He also seems to have stopped gaining height - which may be a function of his genes and not his lifting.

Your son wants to do what daddy does and lifting sends spurts of endorphines and just feels good. Have him train against his own body weight for now and take up running. Waiting a few years will feel like forever but...

dais my 2 cents as an ex-semi pro.

« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2010, 08:25:21 PM »
whey dat come from? he tryin to impress ah lil skirt in de school or wha?

« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2010, 09:27:47 PM »
Thanks queen ,am gonna try to be carefull with him .

Dutty even Evan wants to do it . As for Dylan Canadian schools are tough yo.

« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2010, 06:24:35 AM »
Thanks queen ,am gonna try to be carefull with him .

Dutty even Evan wants to do it . As for Dylan Canadian schools are tough yo.

invest in some extra lessons for the man, so he won't have to beat the teacher for good marks  :rotfl:  :rotfl:

give him 2 pig tail bucket and make him tote water form the stand pipe a few blocks away. see if he want muscle then.

« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2010, 02:10:02 PM »
And even when it time to lift he should avoid heavy squatting.