March 28, 2024, 04:26:56 PM

Author Topic: NACC Calypso Monarch Competition, scheduled for Monday 1st February, 2010  (Read 3441 times)

Sunday, 17 January 2010 21:37        
NACC Young Kings Calypso Monarch 2010
The National Action Cultural Committee is pleased to announce the finalists for the Young Kings Calypso Monarch Competition, scheduled for Monday 1st February, 2010 at  Pier 1, Chaguaramas.  2009 winner:  Jervae Caesar

The finalists, in alphabetical order, are:

Asten Isaac (Guidance)
Dereck Seales
Dr Will B
Duane O’Connor: National Pride
Hamidullah
Jadee
Kenson Neptune (Ninja)
Kwesi Jeffers
Marlon Edwards
Ramdeen Maharaj (Falco)
Revealer
Sekon Alves
Sheldon Nugget
Walter Taylor

Wendell Goodridge
Tobago finalist

« Last Edit: January 24, 2010, 04:44:23 PM by davyjenny1 »

Re: NACC Calypso Monarch Competition, scheduled for Monday 1st February, 2010
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2010, 02:58:01 PM »
New Young King to be crowned tonight

Monday, February 1 2010

TWO current title holders, Chutney Monarch “Falco” (Ramdeen Maharaj) and Stars of Tomorrow winner “Guidance” (Asten Isaac) are among the 12 finalists in tonight’s 26th Annual Young Kings Calypso Monarch Competition which comes off at the New Bayside Deck, Pier1, Williams Bay, Chaguaramas at 7 pm. The competition is organised by the National Action Cultural Committee (NACC), the cultural arm of the National Joint Action Committee (NJAC).

In 1985 the NACC and the National Youth Action Committee (NYAC), youth arm of NJAC, jointly produced the first Young Kings Calypso Monarch Competition to commemorate the United Nations’ International Year of Youth. It became the first National Calypso Competition to have been organised since the Calypso King Competition (now the Calypso Monarch Competition) began in 1939.

Each Young King Calypso Monarch competition is dedicated to the honour of an outstanding male calypsonian, or a veteran male musician, or promoter.

The 2010 Young Kings Calypso Monarch competitors are Asten “Guidance” Isaac, Derrick “Dr Seales” Seales, Duanne O’Connor, Hamidullah Wahid, Jerry “Jadee” Sellier, Kenson “Ninja” Neptune, Kwesi Jeffers, Marlon Edwards, Patrick James “Revealer” Lewis, Ramdeen “Falco” Maharaj, Sekon Alves, Sheldon “Sheldon Negget” Bullen, Walter Taylor, Wendell “Speshie” Goodridge, William “Dr Will B” Bannister and two Tobago finalists.
spacer

« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2010, 07:04:13 PM »
post any videos from tonight..thanks in advance

« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2010, 07:24:48 PM »
post any videos from tonight..thanks in advance

No live television broadcast but here's the radio link:

http://www.talkcity91fm.com/

Duane O'connor is at #13
« Last Edit: February 01, 2010, 07:28:46 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2010, 07:42:35 PM »
Who is supporting # 13?

« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2010, 10:26:58 PM »
Duane, I mean DavyJenny, concentrate on yuh singing instead of posting online...

« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2010, 10:39:15 PM »
Duane, I mean DavyJenny, concentrate on yuh singing instead of posting online...

If yuh know anything about calypso and singing and the ole man band that usually provides the music for the young kings on a yearly basis you would not mention that so Fu*k offfff!!! and hush ur stinking ass *ole !!! de flag pole is up ur ass *ole wid-out grease and by the way i step on yuh head last night when i was going to put down a wuk on yuh modder wid de same flag pole ur big *unt!!

Yuh need tuh listen to the cd radio version before you voice ur opinion fool !!

« Last Edit: February 02, 2010, 04:43:32 AM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2010, 11:05:23 PM »

If yuh know anything about calypso and singing and the ole man band that usually provides the music for the young kings on a yearly basis you would not mention that so Fu*ck offfff!!! and hush ur stinking ass *ole !!! de flag pole is up ur ass *ole wid-out grease and by the way i step on yuh head last night when i was going to put down a wuk on yuh modder wid de same flag pole ur big *ont!!
Davy, dais Bitter eh
not one ah dem Forum Gangbangers
so cool it man
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2010, 12:18:10 AM »
No viedoes from the show ?..any links where tunes can be purchased ?

« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2010, 07:50:12 AM »

If yuh know anything about calypso and singing and the ole man band that usually provides the music for the young kings on a yearly basis you would not mention that so Fu*ck offfff!!! and hush ur stinking ass *ole !!! de flag pole is up ur ass *ole wid-out grease and by the way i step on yuh head last night when i was going to put down a wuk on yuh modder wid de same flag pole ur big *ont!!
Davy, dais Bitter eh
not one ah dem Forum Gangbangers
so cool it man

I guess the man finally crack.

DavyJenny, Ah sorry. I see yuh posting about Duane and I say let me make a joke about how you is Duane and yuh posting online on the forum instead of preparing to take the stage.  I will tell my mom you said hi though.

« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2010, 11:13:23 AM »
what de arse going on in here  :rotfl:

« Reply #11 on: February 02, 2010, 03:50:54 PM »
Apparently we putting up a flag pole :D

Anyway,
The only result I know right now is who win Kwesi Jeffers

« Reply #12 on: February 02, 2010, 04:35:18 PM »
The premier event is in skinner park on Saturday check fuh the flag pole it's already being used doh!!
who laugh last laugh best fool!! Will be moving on to bigger and better things wey de winner going? no further than, i guess at somebody house wid, yuh know whooo !!
« Last Edit: February 02, 2010, 06:12:58 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #13 on: February 02, 2010, 06:02:15 PM »

Anyway,
dat response from dj ketch meh off guard
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #14 on: February 02, 2010, 07:33:41 PM »
Hear dis nah!hul all ah allyuh!! modder Hunt!!!!!!
« Last Edit: February 02, 2010, 07:39:29 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #15 on: February 02, 2010, 09:33:06 PM »

Anyway,

On a serious note read below.

Not a single sole from YK in kaiso semi's this year and many other years gone by, only a few including Duane has made it to skinner park from the YK competition on a regular basis. My friend do your research Duane made it to the park at the age of 16 years old an achievement not made by many at that age with a Dimance Gras performance under his belt.There are several artiste in the land that never made it to kaiso fiesta and still awaits that opportunity till this day. Congrats to Kwesi Jeffers and his win and he didn't even make it to Skinner Park what a shame.. just goes to show that what was once a good show has turn into alot of questions surrounding that independently run organization and it's decisions for several years now.. which has never been recognize by many including t&tuco, to add,it is poorly attended as well.

FYI: Imagine, Cro Cro and Tigress among others left out the semi's but, you can't keep a good man down.
Doh forget to watch yuh tv this coming Saturday. Anyway, i'm expecting  smart comments
« Last Edit: February 03, 2010, 10:54:55 AM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #16 on: February 03, 2010, 02:54:32 AM »
Kwesi Jeffers is NACC’s Young King
By VERDEL BISHOP Wednesday, February 3 2010
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,115215.html

In a classic and skilful rendition of “Climate Change”, with African drums, a powerful voice, and a sincere admonition, Jeffers warned that the day would come when we will all have regrets for our actions against mother earth.

As if his performance was not powerful enough, Jeffers enhanced his message with a video showing the effects of climate change.

As a result, he left a lasting impression on the judges and on those in the audience, who placed him in first position, among a slate of 17 other competitors.

The competition, held Monday night at Pier 1 Chaguaramas, attracted a large crowd of supporters and calypso lovers.

Singing “More Than a Panside”, Sekon Alves placed second. Almost all the calypsoes conveyed very serious messages, like Stars of Tomorrow winner, “Guidance” (Asten Isaac), who gave a noteworthy performance of “My Wounded Nation”, for a spot in third place.

Each year, the Young King Calypso Monarch competition is dedicated to the honour of an outstanding male calypsonian, or a veteran male musician, or promoter. This year, the NACC paid tribute to two contributors of culture, pan pioneer, Hugh Borde and Indian folk musician, Rana Mohip. They each received a plaque, and a cheque for $5000.

The results of the NACC 2010 Young King calypso competition are as follows.

1st – Kwesi Jeffers – Climate Change
2nd – Sekon Alves – More Than a Panside
3rd – Guidance – My Wounded Nation
4th – Sheldon Nugget – Special People
5th – Tobago Chalkie – Cocoa Melee
6th – Duane O’Connor – National Pride
7th – Ninja – My Company
8th – Hamidullah – It Started With We
9th – Revealer – Integrity
10th – Derrick Seales – God Bless De Caribbean
10 – Walter Taylor – Signs

« Reply #17 on: February 03, 2010, 05:52:40 PM »
No viedoes from the show ?..any links where tunes can be purchased ?

Investigate by the info provided below:

http://www.tntisland.com/musicshop.html