March 28, 2024, 03:11:36 PM

Author Topic: Why does Fox Soccer never deliver any of the African tournaments ?  (Read 2680 times)

Offline nnyman18

Maybe we just don't get it here in the US but I can get all kind of football except African Qualifiers or African Nation Cups.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2010, 06:04:40 AM by Flex »
I LOVE THIS GAME BETTER THAN I LOVE THIS GAME

Offline gothic

Re: WHY DOES FOX SOCCER NEVER DELIVER ANY OF THE AFRICAN TOURNAMENTS?
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2010, 11:47:12 PM »
I was in Venezuela over the last week and I was able to see a couple African Nation Cup games on their Fox Sports, everything was in Spanish but at least someone is getting the games

Re: WHY DOES FOX SOCCER NEVER DELIVER ANY OF THE AFRICAN TOURNAMENTS?
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2010, 01:26:56 AM »
They're busy showing underage USA friendlies  ::)

Re: Why does Fox Soccer never deliver any of the African tournaments ?
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2010, 06:11:06 AM »
What you getting at ?

They never deliver any Caribbean games, only as of lately they did the CONCACAF Champion Cup. And last years Caribbean Cup (I think). They don't do the Asia Cup either.

Maybe its a sponsor thing.

« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2010, 06:42:35 AM »
Broadcast rights?

« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2010, 08:02:40 AM »
There are tons of reasons.

The rights are probably relatively cheap compared to UEFA or CONMEBOL but they probably rate the market as being much smaller as well. Also do they bring the Asian Cup? We questioning CAN but the CAN is only now getting attention from general football fans because of the number of players that now star in Europe and that is a recent thing.

« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2010, 08:49:12 AM »
Maybe we just don't get it here in the US but I can get all kind of football except African Qualifiers or African Nation Cups.
Sounds like yuh askin answers

« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2010, 09:49:47 AM »
Lackof africans with money in the US to warrant the demand for such games. At least, legally registered africans who on the radar of the census bureau.

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2010, 10:36:14 AM »
Egypt v Cameroon on now.

http://www.keysat.info/
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #9 on: January 25, 2010, 02:38:35 PM »
Is Racial!!!!

Fight the power!

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #10 on: January 25, 2010, 10:15:21 PM »
MEP yuh does get it in Pittsburgh :devil:

« Reply #11 on: January 26, 2010, 12:37:13 AM »

Maybe yuh should ask if Trotters have a African Nations Cup Matchday too

Or is dat solely reserved fuh EPL?  8)

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #12 on: January 26, 2010, 12:11:55 PM »
okay i will ;D

« Reply #13 on: January 26, 2010, 12:18:39 PM »
Lackof africans with money in the US to warrant the demand for such games. At least, legally registered africans who on the radar of the census bureau.

btw, ppl in undocumented status etc. do comply with census bureau reporting

« Reply #14 on: January 26, 2010, 12:19:57 PM »
the fox soccer audience would view these games if aired

« Reply #15 on: January 26, 2010, 01:31:00 PM »
There are tons of reasons.

The rights are probably relatively cheap compared to UEFA or CONMEBOL but they probably rate the market as being much smaller as well. Also do they bring the Asian Cup? We questioning CAN but the CAN is only now getting attention from general football fans because of the number of players that now star in Europe and that is a recent thing.

I actually heard someone on FSC say that it's expensivie to carry. Maybe not the rights, but the overall package- I don't know nearly enough to comment.

I wouldn't bet against socio-economic & political factors at play that have an influence.....

All else being equal, I imagine if it made pure economic sense, it'd be covered on mainstream football TV.   

« Reply #16 on: January 26, 2010, 06:32:52 PM »
Because they are racist. Plain and simple