April 28, 2024, 08:38:09 PM

Author Topic: Kaiso Fiesta 2010 line-up at Skinner Park  (Read 7885 times)

Kaiso Fiesta 2010 line-up at Skinner Park
« on: February 04, 2010, 12:05:12 PM »
From the Newsday

Friday, February 5 2010

Order of appearance for Kaiso Fiesta, the Calypso Monarch semi-finals at Skinner Park, San Fernando tomorrow.

Position Name Calypso

1.Michael Osouna/Sugar Aloes Soldier of Success

2.Nicole Greaves Where the Lions Are

3.Kenson Neptune/Ninja My Company

4.Karene Asche The Audacity of Hope

5.Sandra Des Vignes Millington/

Singing Sandra No Child Shall be

Left Behind

6.Winston Scarborough/

The Original De Fosto Himself In A Palace

7.Heather Mac Intosh Luta’s Advice

8.Winston Peters/Gypsy My Trinidad

9.Joel Parsons/Jo-L Not Me Again

10.Lesley Ann Ellis Land of Glory and Shame

11.Eric James Justice Has Been Served

12.Michelle Henry Wicked World

13.Alicia Richards Revisited

14.Oaklan Lashley/OC Stones

15.Richard Gordon/Mr Chucky A People’s National

Movement

16.Dexter Parsons/The Stinger Make Up Yuh Mind

17.Sean Daniel God Is Love

18.Anthony Emrold Phillip/

Brother Valentino No Replacement

19.Devon Seales De Sharer Strikes

20.Kurt Allen Too Bright

21.Karen Eccles Last Call

22.Kizzie Ruiz Aide Haiti

23.Anthony Johnson Clean Heart

24.Selvon Noel/Mistah Shak Rogue

25.Deneison Moses/De Diamond Gangsta Role Model

26.Llewellyn Mac Intosh/

Short Pants De Infidel

27.Brian London A Calypsonian

28.Alex Gift/Tobago Chalkie Cocoa Melee

29.Michael Legerton/Protector My Vision

30.Randolph Hillaire/Count Robin Criticism

31.Carlos James/Skatie A Cry For Life

32.Anthony Hendrickson/

All Rounder Female Life Guard

33.Duane O’Connor National Pride

34.Ann Marie Parks Kojo/Twiggy Give Thanks

35.Tammico Moore/Spicey Ah Want To Know
« Last Edit: February 05, 2010, 01:44:42 AM by davyjenny1 »

Re: Calypso Fiesta 2010 at Skinner Park
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2010, 12:13:30 PM »
Brian London, Brian London... allyuh back him

Re: Kaiso Fiesta 2010 line-up at Skinner Park
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2010, 01:47:34 AM »
Bitter! Wey yuh!!  :devil: :devil:
« Last Edit: February 05, 2010, 01:54:24 AM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2010, 01:42:44 PM »

I leaving you to rehearse. I don't want any excuses this time.  ;D

« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2010, 01:44:04 PM »
Actually Fiesta and Panorama Semis does mark the start of carnival to me. The chutney and soca monarch etc is just distractions. Carnival is Mas, Kaiso and Pan. (and woman and rum and...)

« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2010, 02:14:32 PM »

I leaving you to rehearse. I don't want any excuses this time.  ;D

No excuse to make once yuh make de park brodder dat is a major stepping stone. Just pay yuh money come and enjoy yourself rum and woman and take ein a good performance when number 33 is called.

From the look ah things like you like plenty action! come back stage ah go even get ya ah drink a scotch, J Black or blue your choice etc,etc
« Last Edit: February 05, 2010, 02:20:08 PM by davyjenny1 »

Re: Calypso Fiesta 2010 at Skinner Park
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2010, 06:10:22 AM »
Brian London, Brian London... allyuh back him

Ah eh hear him for the season yet...I had liked him last year....

« Last Edit: February 06, 2010, 12:52:18 PM by Bitter »

« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2010, 11:32:22 AM »
Aloes goes first in Calypso Fiesta
MICHELLE LOUBON
Published: 5 Feb 2010

http://guardian.co.tt/news/entertainment/2010/02/05/aloes-goes-first-calypso-fiesta

Trinbago Unified Calypsonians’ Organisation (Tuco) president Eric Taylor says calypsonians have been allotted ten minutes to perform during the calypso finals on Dimanche Gras night at the Queen’s Park Savannah on February 14. Taylor, fondly known as Pink Panther, made this comment during the drawing for places in Calypso Fiesta, the semifinals of the National Calypso Monarch competition.

Yesterday’s drawing for positions took place at Alchemy (formerly Strand Avenue) at Tragarete Road, Port-of-Spain. The show takes place at Skinner Park, San Fernando, tomorrow from 12 noon. Michael Osuna, aka Sugar Aloes, will open the show and Tammico Moore will bring the curtain down. “For Dimanche Gras, you have ten minutes...but for the semis you can go as long as you want. It is in the contract you signed,” he said. He also warned calypsonians that should they exceed the stick around pleas :) lemme finish sum work here allotted time, points would be deducted on the night of the competition. Competitors are required to sing one song.

Veteran calypsonian Anthony Hendrickson (All Rounder) urged his “daddy” to clear the air on “the dubious matter.” Several other calypsonians had expressed concern with regard to when the ten minutes began; for example, if it was counted from the start of a skit or when the first line was sung. Taylor also extended condolences to both Roderick Gordon, son of judge Roland Gordon, and Tammico Moore (Spicey), daughter of calypsonian Felix Joseph (Breed).

The draw:

1. Michael Osuna (Sugar Aloes)—Soldier of Success

2. Nicole Greaves—Where The Lions Are

3. Kenson Neptune (Ninja)—My Company

4. Karene Asche—The Audacity of Hope

5. Sandra Des Vignes Millington (Singing Sandra)—No Child Shall Be Left Behind

6. Winston Scarborough (The Original De Fosto Himself)—In A Palace State of Mind

7. Heather Mac Intosh—Luta’s Advice

8. Winston Peters (Gypsy)—My Trinidad

9. Joel Parsons (Jo-L)—Not Me Again

10. Lesley Ann Ellis—Land of Glory and Shame

11. Eric James—Justice Has Been Served

12. Michelle Henry—Wicked World

13. Alicia Richards—Revisited

14. Oaklan Lashley (OC)—Stones

15. Roderick Gordon (Mr Chucky)—A People’s National Movement

16. Dexter Parsons (The Stinger)—Make Up Your Mind

17. Sean Daniel—God Is Love

18. Anthony Emrold Phillip (Brother Valentino)—No Replacement

19. Seales—De Sharer Strikes

20. Kurt Allen—Too Bright

21. Karen Eccles—Last Call

22. Kizzie Ruiz—Aide Haiti

23. Anthony Johnson—Clean Heart

24. Selvon Noel (Mistah Shak)—Rogue

25. Deneison Moses (Dee Diamond)—Gangsta Role Model

26. Llewellyn Mac Intosh (Short Pants)—De Infidel

27. Brian London—A Calypsonian

28. Alex Gift (Tobago Chalkie)—Cocoa Melee

29. Michael Legerton (Protector)—My Vision

30. Randolph Hillaire (Count Robin)—Criticism

31. Carlos James (Skatie)—A Cry For Life

32. Anthony Hendrickson (All Rounder)—Female Life Guard

33. Duane O’Connor—National Pride

34. Ann Marie Cudjoe-Parks (Twiggy)—Give Thanks

35. Tammico Moore—(Spicey)—Ah Want To Know

like somebody was in a chat while they were posting this article  ::)
« Last Edit: February 06, 2010, 12:00:36 PM by Bitter »

« Reply #9 on: February 06, 2010, 12:34:00 PM »

« Reply #10 on: February 06, 2010, 01:16:54 PM »
So far for me:

Jo-L — Not Me Again
Sean Daniel — God Is Love
Brother Valentino — No Replacement
Kurt Allen—Too Bright (Big Tune!!!)
« Last Edit: February 06, 2010, 01:29:43 PM by Bitter »

« Reply #11 on: February 06, 2010, 01:42:52 PM »
Kizzy and I went same school Alicia Richards and I was taught by d esteem chairman of d UNC. So I bias 2 dem 3.

« Reply #12 on: February 06, 2010, 01:48:41 PM »
Stinger was good too. i didnt hear heather mc intosh but i understand she had a good kaiso and her delivery is always on point

« Reply #13 on: February 06, 2010, 03:24:10 PM »
So far for me:

Jo-L — Not Me Again

Add Mistah Shak to that list!

« Reply #14 on: February 06, 2010, 03:48:20 PM »
So far for me:

Jo-L — Not Me Again

Add Mistah Shak to that list!

And Brian London

« Reply #15 on: February 06, 2010, 04:50:43 PM »
Contestant #33

DavyJenny do yuh ting!

« Reply #16 on: February 06, 2010, 07:52:04 PM »
Contestant #33

DavyJenny do yuh ting!

I luv d line he went on a hunt  :rotfl:

« Reply #17 on: February 06, 2010, 09:20:28 PM »
like somebody was in a chat while they were posting this article  ::)

they have it in the print version of the papers too eh.

« Reply #18 on: February 06, 2010, 10:14:48 PM »
They announced the results (top 15).  The finalists [in no order] are:

Nicole Greaves--Where The Lions Are
Singing Sandra--No Child Shall Be Left Behind
The Original DeFosto Himself--In A Palace State of Mind
Mr Chucky--A People's National Movement
Sean Daniel--God Is Love
Devon Seales--De Sharer Strikes
Kurt Allen--Too Bright
Kizzie Ruiz--Aide Haiti
Mistah Shak--Rogue
Brian London--A Calypsonian
Skatie--A Cry For Life
All Rounder--Female Life Guard
Twiggy--Give Thanks

« Reply #19 on: February 06, 2010, 10:54:26 PM »
I was in the park and I thought they called Protector name.

« Reply #20 on: February 06, 2010, 11:05:36 PM »
They announced the results (top 15).  The finalists [in no order] are:

Nicole Greaves--Where The Lions Are
Singing Sandra--No Child Shall Be Left Behind
The Original DeFosto Himself--In A Palace State of Mind
Mr Chucky--A People's National Movement
Sean Daniel--God Is Love
Devon Seales--De Sharer Strikes
Kurt Allen--Too Bright
Kizzie Ruiz--Aide Haiti
Mistah Shak--Rogue
Brian London--A Calypsonian
Skatie--A Cry For Life
All Rounder--Female Life Guard
Twiggy--Give Thanks

2 of meh 3 horse dey but what allrounder doin in d final. Dey have a spt 4 pensiners. LOUDDDDDD STEUPSSSSSS

« Reply #21 on: February 06, 2010, 11:27:17 PM »
2 of meh 3 horse dey but what allrounder doin in d final. Dey have a spt 4 pensiners. LOUDDDDDD STEUPSSSSSS

allrounder earn his spot.

« Reply #22 on: February 07, 2010, 08:58:50 AM »

yea he in d finals. allrounder on d other hand should not be

« Reply #23 on: February 07, 2010, 10:44:48 AM »

Steups...I usually like All rounder but what de hell he doing in the finals....well if all rounder made it, then I was hoping Count Robin would have made it too....his calypso was crafty....maybe he lost points on presentation cuz he didn't use much of the stage....

But hold on ah now review the list and....Sugar Aloes not in the finals??!!... :o :o :o  Surely there is a mistake!!... ::) ::)

« Reply #24 on: February 07, 2010, 10:51:06 AM »
Sugar Aloes out of Calypso Monarch finals
Keino Swamber South Bureau
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161592384

Sunday, February 7th 2010

The annual Calypso Fiesta at Skinner Park, San Fernando, presented a mixed bag of goodies yesterday as 35 calypsonians sought to secure a place in the finals of the National Calypso Monarch on Dimanche Gras night at the Queen’s Park Savannah, Port of Spain.

Starting promptly at noon with the national anthem being played by resident band, Kelly Green and Harmony, calypsonians were brought on in quick order making for a show which flowed smoothly with little gaps.

Dressed in army fatigue, two-time monarch, Michael ’Sugar Aloes’ Osuna took to the stage at around 12.30 singing ’Soldier of Success’. he didn’t make it to the finals. (See finalists below.)

Nicole Greaves (Where the Lions Are), Kenson ’Ninja’ Neptune (My Company) and Karene Asche (The Audacity of Hope) were next.

But the Park was brought to life with the introduction of Winston Scarborough ’ The Original De Fosto Himself’ who has been riding a wave with his 2010 offering ’In a Palace’.

Members of the large crowd hung on to his every word and responded resoundingly throughout the performance to the anti-Patrick Manning song.

Giving a very good account of herself was Heather Mac Intosh, whose father Llewellyn ’Shortpants’ Mac Intosh was also a semi-finalist at yesterday’s competition.

Declaring that she was ’a new Heather’, Mac Intosh was strong in her delivery with precise diction. She was brought onstage by former National Calypso Monarch Morel ’Luta’ Peters for her rendition of ’Luta’s Advice’.

One hour into the competition, it was the turn of Winston ’Gypsy’ Peters. Also a former winner of the title, Gypsy returned to the competition last year after a long absence which coincided with his entry into national politics.

The MP for Mayaro’s composition, ’My Trinidad’, was well-received. Even teasing the audience, with whom he has had a love-hate relationship, Gypsy reasoned that one of the things Trinidad is noted for is ’waving toilet paper’. In jest, some fans raised some toilet paper in his ’honour’.

Also a crowd pleaser, a favourite with the women especially, was Oaklan ’OC’ Lashley singing ’Stones’. Lashley emptied some large stones on the stage and advised women, who were being abused by their husbands, to ’grab some stones’. This, OC. said, would bring an end to the licks.

With the loss of his father Roland Gordon still fresh in his mind, Roderick ’Chucky’ Gordon was able to give a performance which, he said, his father would have been proud of.

Dressed smartly in red, white and black, Gordon was commanding in his performance of ’A People’s National Movement’. Speaking with Sunday Express after exiting the stage, Gordon said he was satisfied that he did everything his father would have wanted him to do.

’He must be smiling,’ Gordon said.

’He would have said the performance was smooth. Before I went on stage, I called on him for guidance and protection and for him to give me the encouragement to do what was right.’

Veteran Anthony Emrold Phillip ’Brother Valentino’ showed why he has remained a relevant entity in the industry for so long. His composition ’No Replacement’ was quite appropriate as he lamented that he had little hope that there were those who would step up to the plate and maintain the tradition of calypso when he and others were long gone.

Former finalist Kurt Allen was hard-hitting in ’Too Bright’ and also had the audience singing along with him. Among the back-up singers was his daughter Choc’late Allen who shot into the limelight in 2007 when she staged a five-day fast to bring attention to the many social ills plaguing Trinidad and Tobago.

Starting off the second half at 4.45pm was Karen Eccles in position 21 singing ’Last Call’.

2010 National Calypso Queen, Kizzy Ruiz’s ’Aide Haiti’ was sobering and the crowd became caught up in the emotion of her performance.

Surely one of the biggest pleasers in the competition was Selvon ’Mr Shak’ Noel whose ’Rogue’ has been receiving multiple encores at the Kaiso House Tent in Port of Spain. Almost spontaneously, the whole of Skinner Park had their hands raised in the air as he sang his chorus ’hands up’. Dressed as a police officer, Mr Shak gave the audience his version of how he protects and serves with pride. A loud road followed him as he left the stage.

His tent-mate Brian London received his share of support when he sang ’A Calypsonian’.

Finalists of Calypso Monarch 2010 competition

Twiggy

All Rounder

Brian London

Skatie

Devon Seales

Kizzy Ruiz

Kurt Allen

Protector

Nicole Greaves

Roderick Gordon ’Chucky’

Singing Sandra

Sean Daniel

Mr Shak

De Fosto

« Reply #25 on: February 07, 2010, 10:53:09 AM »

Hard luck dey, I only put 13  ::)

The express only have 14. Who is # 15? Duane O’Connor?

« Last Edit: February 07, 2010, 11:01:59 AM by Bitter »

« Reply #26 on: February 07, 2010, 11:06:45 AM »
Who is # 15? Duane O’Connor?
you like ting eh :D ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #27 on: February 07, 2010, 11:54:43 AM »
Me?   :angel:

« Reply #28 on: February 07, 2010, 04:00:55 PM »

Steups...I usually like All rounder but what de hell he doing in the finals....well if all rounder made it, then I was hoping Count Robin would have made it too..

well, I doh know how it was on tv but I think allrounder was one of the performances that the crowd enjoyed more.

« Reply #29 on: February 07, 2010, 04:14:13 PM »

Steups...I usually like All rounder but what de hell he doing in the finals....well if all rounder made it, then I was hoping Count Robin would have made it too..

well, I doh know how it was on tv but I think allrounder was one of the performances that the crowd enjoyed more.

Did not know crowd response was a criteria. D song is piss poor.