April 25, 2024, 03:12:09 PM

Author Topic: E-pan makes its debut  (Read 3341 times)

E-pan makes its debut
« on: February 06, 2010, 11:10:08 PM »
E-pan makes its debut
...Salmon Cupid at the helm

MALISSA LARA
Published: 7 Feb 2010
http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2010/02/07/e-pan-makes-its-debut

Cupid holds his creation, the electronic pan, yesterday.
Photo: KRISTIAN DE SILVA

An exciting and revolutionary steel pan is here! The first electronic Double Second Steel Pan made its public debut in T&T yesterday. Created by Trini-born Salmon Cupid, who teaches music in Toronto, the pan is advanced in technology. Unlike the original steel pan, the electronic steelpan (E-Pan) has different sounds such as organ and trumpet built-in. In a Sunday Guardian interview, Cupid said it also does not need pan sticks to be played. Instead one’s fingers can be used thereby offering the capability to effect more chords at a time. Cupid, who has been playing pan since the mid-80s, said the pan adds to the excitement for youths and finesse to the instrument.

This plastic and rubber instrument’s finesse did not come cheap as it took Cupid US$40,000 and five years to receive a US utility patent only. He has utility patents in Europe and patents pending world-wide. The research and development was also exorbitant but it was worth it, as he said this advance can take pan to another level. He has big dreams for the steel pan and said, “My biggest dream is to see steel pan at the Grammy’s.” The steel pan when plugged in can be hooked up to an Ipod and the songs can be played through it. The music is just as sweet as the original pan. One can also use the song from the Ipod as a track and for practice.

In addition, a head set can be plugged into the E-pan and thus one can practise, muting the sound from anyone else. Cupid said he has always had a passion for pan and seemed disappointed that he got no calls from the T&T government when he brought the prototype for the E-Pan to these shores more than one year ago. Even when the tenor E-pan was completed last year, he got no support. “The Canadian Government is supporting me more than the T&T Government,” he said. But Cupid is not daunted and continues to show his creation to the world.

Re: E-pan makes its debut
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2010, 11:16:50 PM »
I guess this is a case of being so obvious you wonder what took so long. But it looks like a pan-shaped electronic drum set. I'm sure the possibilities of playing a pan but getting the sounds of other instrument will produce some interesting results.

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2010, 01:34:17 AM »
Damn...

« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2010, 09:05:49 AM »
wonder if it could hookup to de wii? :rotfl: :rotfl: :devil:

« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2010, 10:14:30 AM »
Breds if you wait on the Trinbago gov for any call or support it would not happen they just do not care about you and the E-Pan or nottin that would help Trinibago for that matter what a shame . 

« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2010, 06:14:19 PM »
Big up.....check out Boogsie on the E-pan  :cheers:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/7AEwSQITemY&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1&amp;" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/7AEwSQITemY&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1&amp;</a>

We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

Has anyone seen this ?
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2012, 04:43:36 PM »
Absolutely amazing sounds from this instrument. hope T&T gets the credit for it and not canada.

http://www.thestar.com/news/gta/caribana/article/838269--cupid-electrifies-steel-pan-improves-sound-quality-expands-appeal

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/L-IBlyIM4-4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/L-IBlyIM4-4</a>
« Last Edit: March 05, 2012, 09:47:10 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2012, 07:11:23 PM »
I saw a truck using them things this carnival. Forget whose truck. I may have it on video.

« Reply #8 on: March 03, 2012, 08:12:20 PM »
Man, ah wish I had learned tuh play pan when I was growing up. But bak in dem days hanging in the panyard was frowned on for a female, same with the poolhall.

« Reply #9 on: March 04, 2012, 08:49:52 AM »
Man, ah wish I had learned tuh play pan when I was growing up. But bak in dem days hanging in the panyard was frowned on for a female, same with the poolhall.
Yuh never too old...pan has no learning curve...

« Reply #10 on: March 05, 2012, 12:25:32 PM »
Whats the difference between the e-pan and the P.H.I (percussive Harmonic Instrument)

« Reply #11 on: March 05, 2012, 12:36:53 PM »
Whats the difference between the e-pan and the P.H.I (percussive Harmonic Instrument)

One (the P.H.I) is controlled and sponsored by the T&T government and the other (the E-Pan) is controlled and funded by a Trini living in Canada whom the T&T government looks upon as a rival!

« Reply #12 on: March 05, 2012, 07:59:19 PM »
Yuh never too old...pan has no learning curve...

Agreed. It is on my bucket list including learning how tuh play the guitar.

« Reply #13 on: March 06, 2012, 08:09:37 AM »
why dey make this fuh de ipad and iphone.... :frustrated:

http://appfinder.lisisoft.com/app/real-steelpan.html

« Reply #14 on: March 06, 2012, 06:26:20 PM »

epan has one with Double Seconds or a Six Bass, too: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/1-steelpan-app/id435343099?mt=8
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/3td07zlepbk&amp;lr=1" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/3td07zlepbk&amp;lr=1</a>

« Reply #15 on: March 06, 2012, 09:43:03 PM »

epan has one with Double Seconds or a Six Bass, too: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/1-steelpan-app/id435343099?mt=8
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/3td07zlepbk&amp;lr=1" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/3td07zlepbk&amp;lr=1</a>

Great stuff!!

The E-Pan is definitely ahead of the P.H.I in this new technology game!!

« Reply #16 on: March 07, 2012, 07:39:00 AM »
Steups: ah waste 1/4 ah meh day yesterday playing this thing, it addicting....

Ah figure out the notes for "diana" ah cayr tell if is Blue Boy or Gypsy that sing it.... Ah could play Big Mag song "half past nine" on it also  :beermug:

*** pling, pling, pleee dee pling *** pee deee pling pling pleee dee pling*** addicting ;D

« Reply #17 on: May 08, 2012, 03:16:37 PM »
that app has horrible reviews tho