April 27, 2024, 11:58:25 PM

Author Topic: Gally backs Latapy to keep coaching job.  (Read 2633 times)

Gally backs Latapy to keep coaching job.
« on: February 10, 2010, 06:07:36 AM »
Gally backs Latapy to keep coaching job.
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T’s former national coach Everald “Gally” Cummings is backing his former player Russell Latapy to be given another chance at the helm of the “Soca Warriors” for the 2014 World Cup campaign.

Cummings, who guided T&T to within a point of qualification for the 1990 World Cup in Italy when Latapy was his star midfielder, said on Trinidad Radio on Monday that the T&T Football Federation (T&TFF) should take the safest option and let Latapy continue on the job, especially with a lack of financial resources being an issue.

His call comes just two days after a CMC Sport story in which Fifa Coaching Instructor Alvin Corneal, a former T&T player and coach, spoke against Latapy’s reappointment.

“It’s some years now since we have had such a long period where there is no national coach or national team in training. Normally you would still find a local coach in charge of the team.

“But it is obvious that the reason at the moment is that the TTFF does not have Jack Warner there to make that decision for them. But I would give Latapy the job and let him continue,” Cummings said.

“He knows the current crop of players well. He has been in charge of the team in the recent past so give him that chance to keep on developing a team,” Cummings said on i95.5 FM Radio.

Warner on Monday declared he was not in a position to continue funding the T&T Senior Team’s programme and the payment of salaries for the head coach.

Latapy is still in T&T at the moment, awaiting a call from the T&TFF to discuss his future. Reports out of Scotland on the weekend stated that there are clubs there keeping an eye on his status with the T&T set-up, particularly former club Hibernian FC.

Latapy is on record as saying his first love is country at the moment and he is hoping to get the chance to oversee the team on a long term basis. He was in charge of the team only for the closing five matches last year in their failed 2010 World Cup qualifying matches.

Hislop, Yorke in support

Some of T&T’s current and former stars have voiced their support for Latapy including Dwight Yorke and Shaka Hislop. “One would hope the T&TFF would do the right thing and give Russell the chance to get the team for a longer time where he can develop them and get them to play the way he sees it fit,” Yorke said recently.

“I think he came in at quite a rough time, not making any excuses but hopefully the right decision would be made for the benefit of T&T’s football and hopefully it can go in Russell’s favour,” Yorke added.

In a CMC Sportswire weekend story, Corneal, himself a former national coach, argued the 41-year-old Latapy was not equipped for the position and should not have been chosen on the basis that he was a successful player.

“It’s not personal really, Latas (Latapy) does not have a history of coaching, and he has never been to a coaching course. It is not true to believe that because you’re a good player, you become a good coach,” Corneal said.

Latapy had taken over from the embattled Colombian Francisco Maturana last April after T&T stumbled their way to a 2-2 draw against El Salvador, a 1-1 stalemate with Honduras and a heavy 3-0 defeat to the United States in the CONCACAF World Cup qualifying.

The former national star, known affectionately as “Little Magician”, was unable to improve the Soca Warriors’ fortunes, winning just one game while losing five and drawing one as T&T finished bottom of the six-team standings with six points.

Re: Gally backs Latapy to keep coaching job.
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2010, 04:52:16 PM »
Latas. Punto final. No other plan makes sense at this juncture ... for many reasons.

« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2010, 05:04:22 PM »
Don't do it.  We not known for football coaches we known for mass.  Get a seasoned foreign coach.

« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2010, 05:49:16 PM »
STFU Gally,you messed up our chances of getting to Italy in 90,you had the best set ah footballers TT ever had and you couldn't get pass the most boring and unattractive team in world football at the time,I wont tek your word seriously,Latapy should go back to Scotland,he is not what we need.We have an Englishman right on we door step,use him.Nothing against Latapy as a great past footballer.

« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2010, 05:51:52 PM »
Don't do it.  We not known for football coaches we known for mass.  Get a seasoned foreign coach.

So why would a seasoned coach with any self esteem and qualifications come to a 2 by 4 country with no money to pay coach, get nothing to help his CV during a non World Cup season, risk geyyin' fired at the whim of the Jackula and his hyenas before the World cup qualifying glory part of the contract ... and when time to audit whey de money went, face the humiliation of being told who going and geh pick on de squad and be told whom he must blacklist still to satisfy other agendas.

Why yuh do stop talking so much tata? Why you do take de job nah? and try and put food on de table. De only person who go do dat is a local patriot who doh have de overhead to pay to stay afloat and who doh have family to help acclimatize and who do mind eating a doubles every now and then fuh lunch and breakfast. Other than that, only as SSFL coach who go be glad to say he reach. Even de recycled Cornmeal associated hyenas like Vidale eh interested no more.  Steuppsss

« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2010, 05:56:32 PM »

So why would a seasoned coach with any self esteem and qualifications come to a 2 by 4 country with no money to pay coach, get nothing to help his CV during a non World Cup season, risk geyyin' fired at the whim of the Jackula and his hyenas before the World cup qualifying glory part of the contract ... and when time to audit whey de money went, face the humiliation of being told who going and geh pick on de squad and be told whom he must blacklist still to satisfy other agendas.

Why yuh do stop talking so much tata? Why you do take de job nah? and try and put food on de table. De only person who go do dat is a local patriot who doh have de overhead to pay to stay afloat and who doh have family to help acclimatize and who do mind eating a doubles every now and then fuh lunch and breakfast. Other than that, only as SSFL coach who go be glad to say he reach. Even de recycled Cornmeal associated hyenas like Vidale eh interested no more.  Steuppsss
man, dis TTFF madhouse is real kicks eh....lawd
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2010, 11:12:47 AM »

Fully agreement! Them fellas who want a foriegn coach come to coach T&T at this time smoking crack!!

Right now Latas is the best man in a position to take on that job and get some positives out of it for himself and for the team! Anyone else and yuh head in the clouds!  8)

« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2010, 05:50:28 PM »

Fully agreement! Them fellas who want a foriegn coach come to coach T&T at this time smoking crack!!

Right now Latas is the best man in a position to take on that job and get some positives out of it for himself and for the team! Anyone else and yuh head in the clouds!  8)

But on a serious note  >:( Latas is the best chance of a hopeful outcome
« Last Edit: February 11, 2010, 05:52:35 PM by dreamer »

« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2010, 06:48:43 PM »

You make this statement based on what exactly?

« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2010, 07:04:05 PM »

DREAMS? :devil:

« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2010, 07:22:35 PM »

« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2010, 07:24:08 PM »

;D  You sure Cornmeal dem eh interested?  Like yuh eh read Alvi post?  ;D Point taken bout money.  However, both you and i know T&T ent have no money problems.  Yuh think Beyonce cheap?  The hard truth is that we just don't take football serious any more.  If we did and we wanted to we would find the kind of coach that would do the job and that's straight talk.  Hiring Latas with all that patriot talk is why we'll be watching the world cup from home.  You thing Latas should take over the team from now for 4 years and that would solve our issues?  Remember, practice don't make perfect, it makes permanent.  Latas not qualified to coach any serious football nation.  Great baller though.  

« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2010, 07:25:41 PM »

DREAMS? :devil:

Straight up  ;D

« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2010, 07:55:18 PM »
Ok Preach,

1. Latas could be interim coach and then assistant coach when de big star faren coach shows up looking to hijack a project. Latas eh bong to be head honcho for 4 years but if he grows into the job with success, well why not. What have we got to lose? We need a coach now that the ballers respect and who knows the ins and outs to hit the ground running. Keep it simple for now.
2. Yes T&T has money but accounting for whey de money going is a next story.  TTFF funds (sorry, secret FIFA swiss bank funds) will not be offered to pay for a coach without Jackula demanding some cream of the spin-off business for his family. Off season (for world cup qualifying that is) has no gate receipts for Jackula to snatch nor big catering contracts for his sons, at least based on the arbitrariness of our planning. The TTFF is currently just a business front for laundering activities by you-know-who, dat would get you locked up by the Feds in different environments.
3. Oh yes Baby doc Cornmeal is definitely interested but some of his family's front men that were used before have had enough. Dey have now learned to feed off FIFA posts that Jackula handin' out these days instead of all hunting for one thankless coaching job.

Ah go stop dey for now. Big up Preach.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2010, 08:45:06 AM by dreamer »

« Reply #14 on: February 12, 2010, 05:04:56 AM »
Let the Magic continue
Enough quick fixes and all we have to show for it is failures
That being said the futile outcome starts at the top,thats where we truely need to see change... :devil:
Buy and support local
Thanks Gally

« Reply #15 on: February 12, 2010, 05:35:59 AM »

Tell them Palos.... I really want to know too....

Gally is ah next asshole....

« Reply #16 on: February 14, 2010, 03:35:55 PM »
Shittong baller and waste ah time coach: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CkV-0IxUOic&feature=related

Ass-hole socawarrior and player/coach: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0JISSemMQo8

Tell him to go and learn football first and geh some exposure nah before he impose he duncy self on T&T: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=74zTbGDNn8o&feature=related
« Last Edit: February 14, 2010, 04:32:11 PM by dreamer »