April 23, 2024, 11:55:29 PM

Author Topic: Cabinet approves new postal code proposal  (Read 9704 times)

Re: Cabinet approves new postal code proposal
« Reply #30 on: February 17, 2010, 09:28:42 AM »
Is about time

« Reply #31 on: February 26, 2010, 06:40:32 AM »
St. Vincent introduced postal codes last year.
http://www.stvincent.com.vc/articles/detail/detail2.asp?id=276

« Reply #32 on: February 26, 2010, 08:57:18 AM »
cool, their system seems to be simple enough
Thanks Tallman for the info

New postal code coming in January
« Reply #33 on: May 03, 2011, 04:42:33 AM »
New postal code coming in January
T&T Guardian

Trinidad and Tobago will begin using a new postal code system for the delivery of mail from January, according to TTPost general manager–operations Robert Hernandez. He explained that as one of the 191 members of the worldwide Universal Postal Union T&T is required to effect change to its addressing system by developing the postal code system. Hernandez said that was being done with the assistance of the University of the West Indies (UWI), St Augustine, through Independent Geographic Tracking System consultants Professor Jacob Opadeyi and Rehanna Jadoo. Hernandez and Jadoo made a presentation on the system to members of the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) Executive Council last Friday. Jadoo said there was no standardised address system in use in T&T,  She said: “What is being used are numbers, lightpole numbers and mile markers. “Trinidad and Tobago must have an efficient system of accurately and quickly locating addresses and this gap can be filled by a code system,” she stressed.

She explained that Trinidad and Tobago would be divided into 72 delivery zones or points—64 in Trinidad and eight in Tobago—and there would be a six-digit code with the first two numbers        identifying the postal district, the second two the delivery loops and the third set of numbers identifying the delivery zone or point. Hernandez said TTPost would host a seminar at the Hyatt Regency Hotel, Port-of-Spain, on May 11, for the various stakeholders to explain the new system that would be introduced as a pilot project next January in Diego Martin and Siparia.

He said the code system would see every address going into a database and would allow for analysis of potential business opportunities, such as direct marketing. It also would be useful as a commercial tool for businesses and statutory boards, he said. Hernandez added that every building should have a number and street name, since the lack of good addressing seemed to be a constraint to business development. THA Chief Secretary Orville London described the TTPost presentation as informative and thanked the company for coming to the assembly with its plan. He said while the system was a very good thing, marketing it would be quite a challenge.

« Reply #34 on: May 03, 2011, 05:19:02 AM »
Zip Code?????????????????????????

Trinidad &Tobago Postal Code System
« Reply #35 on: March 29, 2012, 03:29:12 PM »
Trinidad &Tobago Postal Code System (TT-PCS)
ttpost.net

What is a postal code?

The postal code, often referred to as a postcode or ZIP code, is the fundamental, essential element of a postal address. It is a unique identifier that unambiguously identifies an addressee's location and assists in the  transmission, sorting and delivery of mail items. A postal code usually consists of a sequence of letters and numbers, or numbers only, and is appended to the end of an address.

Why does Trinidad and Tobago need a Postal Code System and a Standard Address System?

Despite the relatively small size of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (T&T), not everyone is aware of the location of towns, communities and villages. In many instances, directions depend on ‘word of mouth’ and the use of landmarks. There is a dependence on casual locational systems that is highly unreliable when used to  locate an address. Notably, because of increases in population and a surge in housing developments and industrialisation in areas of the country previously uninhabited, these casual locational systems are no longer functional.

Who benefits from a postal code system, and how do they benefit?

Everyone stands to benefit greatly from the implementation of a Postal Code and Standard Address System. These include individuals, as well as the private and public sectors.

The postal services (e.g. TTPost, FEDEX, DHL) will benefit in the following ways:

• Improved efficiency and accuracy of locating addresses and improved mail delivery.
    • Optimisation of resource allocation such as delivery personnel and vehicles.
    • Saving on time and operating costs.
    • Reduction in returned, undelivered and misdirected mail.
    • Potential for the automation of mail sorting procedures.
    • Creation of postal code products such as postal code and address databases.

The private sector (Insurance companies, financial institutions and businesses that offer delivery e.g. Courts, KFC, etc.) will benefit from a postal code system through:

• Improved product delivery and location of addresses, which would allow businesses to effectively locate and reach their customers (e.g. marketing agencies).
    • Promotion of e-commerce through the facilitation of online transactions and internet purchasing.
    • Efficient address location, particularly beneficial to service providers.
    • Increased competitiveness on the global market via efficient address location (e.g. in response to increased internet purchasing).

The public services (e.g. Inland Revenue, TSTT, WASA, T&TEC, EBC, Fire and Police Services) will benefit in the following ways:

• Improved billing and customer service.
    • Improved management of epidemics, internal migration and primary health care.
    • Improved response time of emergency vehicles through quicker location of distressed callers.

Premises with a large amount of mail such as government offices, shopping malls and educational facilities, gated communities and high-rise buildings will all be assigned their own postal code as it is expected that they will undertake some measure of internal sorting of mail items.

How does a postal code work?

Each segment of the postal code, when read from left to right, provides step-by-step information regarding the destination of the mail item. The postal code narrows down the item’s destination to a small geographic
area/point.

Description of Postal Code Segments

POSTAL CODE: 120110
12    01   10

The first two digits (12) point to the Postal District and they identify the main TTPost delivery office which will process the mail. In this case, 12 would go to the Diego Martin delivery office. The second two digits (01) point to an area within the postal district called the Delivery Loop. They tell the delivery office which postal route will deliver the mail item. In this case, it is Route number 01 in the Diego Martin postal district. The last two digits (01) point to either a zone or building within the delivery loop. They identify the geographic location of a group of addresses or the address of large institutions.

Why do I need to use the postal code?

Using the postal code on mail items means that the majority of mail can go through automated sorting machines, allowing it to be sorted quickly and accurately. If mail does not have a postal code or has an incorrect/incomplete postal code, it will have to be sorted manually, which takes longer and introduces the possibility of the mail item being sent to the wrong destination.

What is a unique large-user postal code and how do I get one?

Some organisations which receive large volumes of mail can have unique postal codes to ensure that mail to an individual address is correctly segregated. If you receive at least 500 items of mail a day, you may be eligible for a unique large-user postal code. Contact us for more information.

How do I find my postal code?

When we are ready, TTPost will provide a Postal Code Finder on our website. Customers can also find out their postal code by contacting any TTPost outlet.

Will my postal code/address ever be changed?

TTPost is committed to a policy of not changing postal codes/addresses wherever possible. Changes will only be made to benefit the service given to the customer, or when it is absolutely necessary, for example:

• A new TTPost delivery office is opened.
    • TTPost has exhausted postal codes for new homes and businesses in a developing area.
    • Local Government has prompted a change by re-numbering buildings or re-naming roads.

TTPost will always write to you to inform you about any changes that are planned. From the time that we notify you of any changes, our sorting system will recognise both your old and new postal codes. This should give you ample time to use up stocks of stationery and notify your customers, friends and relations of the change (although we recommend that you switch to your new postal code as soon as possible).

I’m moving. Will I keep the same postal code from my previous address?

In general, a postal code identifies a group of addresses. So if your business is moving to a larger premises next door then you may well have the same postal code, but if you are moving from your house to another town, then your postal code will change. The postal code is specific to the address and not to you or your business.

It is the intention of TTPost to provide every house and business in the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago with a complete postal address that would help them deliver mail quickly, accurately and cost effectively.

« Reply #36 on: March 29, 2012, 06:21:31 PM »
lampost#24

« Reply #37 on: March 29, 2012, 10:29:13 PM »
I really cant wait for this to become a reality.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #38 on: April 16, 2012, 08:55:10 PM »
This will help streamline so many services as well as post. In England if you order anything to be delivered, they simply ask your postcode and door number and book the delivery.

The only thing I don't like is the 6 digit format. England has numbers and letters i.e ME12 1UD which seems to me to be easier to remember. The first part, ME12, gives a geographical area (such as Arima) You may have up to 10 houses with the same postcode, so once you know the house number, the street name, district and town is not really needed. Also the letters are a good indication of the location, so Chaguanas would be CH, Port of Spain PS, Sando SF etc.

But I guess this system emulates the U.S. zip code system, which obviously works ok.

« Reply #39 on: September 14, 2012, 12:51:31 PM »
TTPost implements postal code
By DARCEL CHOY Friday, September 14 2012
http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,166222.html

THE Trinidad and Tobago Postal Corporation (TTPost) has begun implementing a Postal Code and Addressing System, Robert Hernandez, General Manager (Operations) at TTPost revealed on Wednesday during a meeting at the Local Government Ministry office at Kent House, Long Circular Road, Maraval.

He said the corporation began a pilot project in May in Point Fortin and once that was completed the implementation will continue in Chaguanas. Hernandez identified some of the challenges the corporation has experienced in trying to locate addresses in the country. He lamented that the current addressing system involved the use of Lot and Light Pole numbers and mile markers. He said there was a “haphazard approach” to assigning building numbers as there was no logical sequence most time as well as a duplication of numbers and street names even within the same community.

To solve these issues, the Corporation will implement, the S42 Addressing Standard which was accepted and approved by the Universal Postal Union. “It discontinues the use of mile markers, lamppost numbers, lot numbers and we will implement addresses that promote the use of specific house numbers. This will take Trinidad and Tobago into a developed nation status within the postal sector,” he said. Hernandez explained, once TTPost completes the implementation in an area they will provide each household and business with an address card that will indicate their proper address and postal code.

He admitted they needed assistance in the implementation and said Local Government corporations will need to provide the human resource and the vehicles. He said they have met with eight regional corporations on the matter and will begin a mail drop of notifications to each region alerting residents and businesses of the exercise which will occur shortly.

Local Government Minister Dr Suruj Rambachan said the implementation of the S42 Standard was important not only for the delivery of mail but also for emergency services to properly locate places.

“It is important if we want to ensure the ambulance service or other emergency vehicles access areas very quickly. Through a proper addressing system they will be able to do so in the shortest possible time, so there are several advantages in terms of implementing this standard in Trinidad and Tobago,” Rambachan said.

« Reply #40 on: September 14, 2012, 01:42:56 PM »
lampost#24

« Reply #41 on: September 15, 2012, 04:49:36 PM »
TTPost implements postal code

“It is important if we want to ensure the ambulance service or other emergency vehicles access areas very quickly. Through a proper addressing system they will be able to do so in the shortest possible time, so there are several advantages in terms of implementing this standard in Trinidad and Tobago,” Rambachan said.

Yuh see dat? Dat VERY true...take it from me. De amount of directions yuh does hadda get..."So yuh swing off by de savanah.....yuh go pass a big mango tree on yuh right.....den yuh go meet two big pothole...after the second pothole....take the next left..then the next right....and den...."

Steups.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #42 on: September 15, 2012, 06:57:16 PM »
They need to stop tiefing people mail in de post orffice   :pissedoff: