April 19, 2024, 07:38:47 AM

Author Topic: Best team to ever visit T&T.  (Read 5643 times)

Best team to ever visit T&T.
« on: February 11, 2010, 10:17:38 AM »
Who was the best team to ever visit T&T.

I say, England in June 2008 and dont tell me is the retired Brazil All Star team.

Re: Best team to ever visit T&T.
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2010, 10:19:32 AM »
The retired Brazil All Star team  ;D

« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2010, 10:27:22 AM »
That Jamaican team with Tappa Whitmore, Lowe and Goodison was quite a handful.

« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2010, 10:31:09 AM »
France u17 team

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2010, 10:37:45 AM »
Who was the best team to ever visit T&T.

I say, England in June 2008 and dont tell me is the retired Brazil All Star team.

i'd say England, its not often that they play international games in this part of the world.

« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2010, 10:45:14 AM »
Manchester United in the 80's....

« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2010, 10:50:50 AM »
What about the Brazil under 20 team that was beaten by T&T under 20 team that Yorke was part of, the same T&T team that went to the WC in Portugal in 1991.

I think that Brazil team had Ronaldhino and Roberto Carlos on it. ?

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2010, 10:55:02 AM »
Flamengo in the 80's with Zico and Socrates when they played against ASL and Lobo scored a boss header for ASL
I LOVE THIS GAME BETTER THAN I LOVE THIS GAME

« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2010, 11:00:14 AM »
What about the Brazil under 20 team that was beaten by T&T under 20 team that Yorke was part of, the same T&T team that went to the WC in Portugal in 1991.

Roberto Carlos is 7 years older than Ronaldinho- don't imagine that they ever played on the same U-20 team. 

« Reply #9 on: February 11, 2010, 11:00:51 AM »
Santos wit Pele

« Reply #10 on: February 11, 2010, 11:02:08 AM »
Flamengo in the 80's with Zico and Socrates when they played against ASL and Lobo scored a boss header for ASL

One of the best goals by a T&T player in an "international" game.  ASL was de de facto national team dem days.

« Reply #11 on: February 11, 2010, 11:10:27 AM »

Ronaldinho yuh say dey yuh know... in 1991 yuh say dey yuh know  :rotfl:

« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2010, 01:09:46 PM »

Ronaldinho yuh say dey yuh know... in 1991 yuh say dey yuh know  :rotfl:

« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2010, 01:46:47 PM »
There is no argument that the BEST TEAM to visit was that England team a couple years ago. The other that people throw in is squads with Great players.

« Reply #14 on: February 11, 2010, 02:11:34 PM »
There is no argument that the BEST TEAM to visit was that England team a couple years ago. The other that people throw in is squads with Great players.

There is no argument in YOUR MIND. 

Dat doh make it so.

This is the England squad

England squad:

Goalkeepers: David James (Portsmouth), Joe Hart (Manchester City), Joe Lewis (Peterborough)

Defenders: Wayne Bridge (Chelsea), Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Glen Johnson (Portsmouth), Stephen Warnock (Blackburn), David Wheater (Middlesbrough), Jonathan Woodgate (Tottenham)

Midfielders: Gareth Barry (Aston Villa), David Beckham (LA Galaxy), David Bentley (Blackburn), Stewart Downing (Middlesbrough), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Tom Huddlestone (Tottenham), Ashley Young (Aston Villa)

Forwards: Theo Walcott (Arsenal), Gabriel Agbonlahor (Aston Villa), Dean Ashton (West Ham), Peter Crouch (Liverpool), Jermain Defoe (Portsmouth).

Zico and Socrates ALONE better than dat entire lineup far less fuh when Pele was around.

« Reply #15 on: February 11, 2010, 02:24:16 PM »

Dat doh make it so.

England squad:

Goalkeepers: David James (Portsmouth), Joe Hart (Manchester City), Joe Lewis (Peterborough)

Defenders: Wayne Bridge (Chelsea), Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Glen Johnson (Portsmouth), Stephen Warnock (Blackburn), David Wheater (Middlesbrough), Jonathan Woodgate (Tottenham)

Midfielders: Gareth Barry (Aston Villa), David Beckham (LA Galaxy), David Bentley (Blackburn), Stewart Downing (Middlesbrough), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Tom Huddlestone (Tottenham), Ashley Young (Aston Villa)

Forwards: Theo Walcott (Arsenal), Gabriel Agbonlahor (Aston Villa), Dean Ashton (West Ham), Peter Crouch (Liverpool), Jermain Defoe (Portsmouth).

Zico and Socrates ALONE better than dat entire lineup far less fuh when Pele was around.

Never, this England squad would run circles against those old unfit romantics.

« Reply #16 on: February 11, 2010, 02:29:47 PM »

Never, this England squad would run circles against those old unfit romantics.

MADNESS!

« Reply #17 on: February 11, 2010, 02:52:23 PM »

Flamenco was with Zico.
Paulista Corinthians was with braz Capt. Socrates.#

Lobo scored with his foot vs Flamenco and the header was vs PC. To this day one of the best headers I have ever seen.

It shows how sad TT is that we have to have a thread like this-

In the 80s in the middle of a recession I saw the following teams from 1982 to 85 most of them courtesy of Arthur Suite: World Club champs - Flamenco, Paulista Corinthians, Arsenal, Man U, Tottenham, Sweden, Rep. of Ireland, the Russian Olympic team. There was also a youth team from Brazil I think Sao Paulo but cant remember now.

Best team to tour...tough but I will say a toss up between Santos, Flamenco and the
Eng. sr team.

« Reply #18 on: February 11, 2010, 04:03:04 PM »
Well by my contribution all yuh go guesstimate my age. Nautico (1972????). They played 3 games in the Oval. All sold out. Scores were 3-1 Nautico, 4-4 2nd game and 1-0 TT, the 3rd. They had one player(Eloi) who was on the fringes of the Brazilian team. They were not the best Brazilian team to ever hit the shores of TT. But probably the most exciting football series ever played in TT.

Offline Trevor

« Reply #19 on: February 11, 2010, 04:37:24 PM »

It would have to be England.  However, I enjoyed Nautico (1971) more than any other team I saw.  Deeks, I gather one should be able to tell that we are old timers.

« Reply #20 on: February 11, 2010, 06:48:34 PM »
If we choose to go by FIFA rankings then is probably Norway ;D

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #21 on: February 11, 2010, 10:20:41 PM »
Good one VB after I posted the thread I knew I was off with the teams  :rotfl:
I LOVE THIS GAME BETTER THAN I LOVE THIS GAME

« Reply #22 on: February 12, 2010, 12:35:47 PM »
England

« Reply #23 on: February 12, 2010, 01:35:05 PM »
The question should be how can the TTFF mess things up so badly that teams dont even consider touring Trinidad anymore?

« Reply #24 on: February 12, 2010, 01:52:43 PM »
In my time it would have to be the England team. Walcott is the fastest player I've seen in the HCS.

« Reply #25 on: February 12, 2010, 03:29:25 PM »
Santos with Pele
Corinthians with Socrates
India with Gavasta, Bedi dem  ;D

« Reply #26 on: February 12, 2010, 08:02:49 PM »
Based on the quality of players on the team then I would say England..

Offline Arazi

« Reply #27 on: February 13, 2010, 09:57:26 AM »

Dat doh make it so.

England squad:

I think any full strength Mexico team that visited between 1996 -2004 is equal to this England team..This England team is not as strong as people believe it was. If it was  a full strength england team, I'd have given them.

« Reply #28 on: February 13, 2010, 10:20:22 AM »
Santos with King Pele... :devil:
Only because I was there

Offline scooby

« Reply #29 on: February 14, 2010, 11:16:16 AM »
does anyone remember the black all starts with garth cooks and viv anderson to name a few, also ny comos were a very good team pele chilnalia, fransciso marino, alberto carlos, beckenbauer