March 28, 2024, 07:50:08 AM

Author Topic: If no palance then....  (Read 5653 times)

If no palance then....
« on: February 11, 2010, 08:10:52 PM »
So by the way things are going it looks like the rhythm hit "palance" will capture the road march crown this year. My question is if palance wasn't a song for this carnival what tune you think would take the road march title?

Re: If no palance then....
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2010, 08:27:24 PM »
Fay Ann also has a road march contender. The name just slip me. :-\

« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2010, 09:25:57 PM »
Fay Ann also has a road march contender. The name just slip me. :-\

True Lies

« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2010, 12:16:08 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/2CNNn5b6WJ8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/2CNNn5b6WJ8</a>
Palance is a great fete song but there are plenty better road songs out there for 2010 in my opinion.

If Palance win road march I will give up listening to soca for the rest of the year in protest!

These are the official T&T 2K10 Road March contenders in my book:-

True Lies - Fayann
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/IXCeUDL9Vgk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/IXCeUDL9Vgk</a>

Fireworks - Destra
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/PlmMUbkVzLY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/PlmMUbkVzLY</a>

Road Show - Patrice
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/1UC4ddjpyp4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/1UC4ddjpyp4</a>

Dangerous - Nadia
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/CubJ_xJ8b2w" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/CubJ_xJ8b2w</a>

No Behaviour - Machel
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/fiy4lNzAlqY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/fiy4lNzAlqY</a>

Huntin - Blaxx
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/pNc0IVWGvJw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/pNc0IVWGvJw</a>

I Pay For This - Farmer & Kerwin
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/fG3r_fd4wew" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/fG3r_fd4wew</a>

I Pay For This (Roadmix) - Farmer & Machel
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/HnV9rjJf1CE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/HnV9rjJf1CE</a>

Party Hard - Iwer
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/HYAofYQRcds" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/HYAofYQRcds</a>

Brave - Bunji
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/MfDXs4sJ2BA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/MfDXs4sJ2BA</a>

Long Road - Shurwayne
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/TaaNZ3lkZ2Y" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/TaaNZ3lkZ2Y</a>
« Last Edit: February 12, 2010, 07:41:15 AM by Socapro »

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2010, 05:29:47 AM »
Panlance would take it  ;D the only other song would give competion is True Lies

« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2010, 06:33:05 AM »
Socapro, the first time I heard Palance I didn't like it....but by the 2nd or 3rd listen, ah cyar see mih self jumping to anything else but Palance!!....it has all the elements necessary for a Road song!!

Faye-Ann's song is good, but Palance waaaayyy out front in the race.....now if she could pull off another upset like she did against Blaxx 2 years ago, she REAL good but ah doh think ANYBODY could catch JW & Blaze this year.  If they win the Soca Monarch it would be even harder to beat them on the Road......

« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2010, 06:47:34 AM »
if no palance then one of these.. (BTW I also like "Police" same riddim as palance)

I Pay For Dis - Farmer Nappy and Kerwin Du Bois
No Behaviour - Machel Montano
Road Show - Patrice Roberts
True Lies - Faye Ann Lyons

« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2010, 06:58:53 AM »
..........oh BTW, thanks to you Socapro, I now know what Iwer sing this year.....he eh get much airplay at all IMHO

« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2010, 07:33:59 AM »
if no palance then one of these.. (BTW I also like "Police" same riddim as palance)

Thanks Jumbie, I forgot to put another valid road march contender "I Pay For Dis" on my list of videos!

Cheers

« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2010, 08:38:45 AM »
Socapro, the first time I heard Palance I didn't like it....but by the 2nd or 3rd listen, ah cyar see mih self jumping to anything else but Palance!!....it has all the elements necessary for a Road song!!

Faye-Ann's song is good, but Palance waaaayyy out front in the race.....now if she could pull off another upset like she did against Blaxx 2 years ago, she REAL good but ah doh think ANYBODY could catch JW & Blaze this year.  If they win the Soca Monarch it would be even harder to beat them on the Road......

Since d talk bout dem radio peeps is d mafia dat does choose RM then Palance safe.

« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2010, 10:58:08 AM »
..........oh BTW, thanks to you Socapro, I now know what Iwer sing this year.....he eh get much airplay at all IMHO
Ent...I ain even know "party hard" was Iwer tune, I was saying like he ain sing nutten dis year. Thanks Socrapo for the list of songs, I could cut ah cd now ;D
Seems like after palance most people saying true lies will be second but like palance take dis carnival by storm...hmmm radio mafia :thinking:

« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2010, 11:19:33 AM »
radio mafia usually refers to 96.1 who gives Machel ridiculous amounts of rotation to push his tune. Just remember Wild Antz and u could not help but hear it 4 times an hour on 96.1 last year. Soong looks out for his boy!

« Reply #12 on: February 12, 2010, 11:22:41 AM »
radio mafia usually refers to 96.1 who gives Machel ridiculous amounts of rotation to push his tune. Just remember Wild Antz and u could not help but hear it 4 times an hour on 96.1 last year. Soong looks out for his boy!

I thought the radio mafia had sonething to do with Faye ann..cause i heard meet super blue more than any tune on the radio plus this year that shit tune iron and steel that most people dont like but still getting much airplay when better tunes from other artists are not getting airplay..for example zan-higher mas and Baba shanta-what mas means to you
« Last Edit: February 12, 2010, 11:25:37 AM by Sando prince »

« Reply #13 on: February 12, 2010, 05:04:36 PM »
If yuh listen to bunji and KMC they talk about how the Soca Mafia never used to like to play their songs and would only play those associated with Machel..I saw an online clip once of KMC ranting about it and also saw him get into an argument with some of the HD pple outside 51 a night about the same thing

« Reply #14 on: February 12, 2010, 05:18:54 PM »
allyuh really believe d soca mafia..if they existed then machel would win every road march.

« Reply #15 on: February 12, 2010, 05:21:24 PM »
If yuh listen to bunji and KMC they talk about how the Soca Mafia never used to like to play their songs and would only play those associated with Machel..I saw an online clip once of KMC ranting about it and also saw him get into an argument with some of the HD pple outside 51 a night about the same thing

LOL if this is what you basing your opinion on then I done..Bunji and KMC sing alot of shit sometimes it dont even sound like Soca so I personally glad it dont make radio..Blaxx getting more play than them right now and he not crying soca mafia, same for Benjai...Umi and Zan have quality tunes out like Folk Reality and Higher Mas that getting almost no airplay and they WITH Machel so Machel Soca mafia boys working against them ?? LOL..and during the argument I hope someone ask Bunji what type of shit he singing for the last few years and sometimes getting play more than artists who have quailty music on radio...

« Reply #16 on: February 12, 2010, 05:25:50 PM »
allyuh really believe d soca mafia..if they existed then machel would win every road march.

and if you look at most of his recent songs, they are meant for most enviroments and not just for the road (Roadmarch)..like "Slow Whine" and "Thiefin" and "Not going Home"...him only released ONE UPTEMPO SONG this year..IWER WILL GIVE UP ALL HIS ROADMARCHES TO HAVE MACHEL CAREER..a Roadmarch or Socamonarch is ONE SONG..that sometimes dont even become a big hit outside T&T
« Last Edit: February 12, 2010, 05:28:41 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #17 on: February 12, 2010, 06:52:14 PM »
Bunji and KMC ever go the theater at MSG and throw ah fete there ???
as palos does say
Just Axing ;D
« Last Edit: February 12, 2010, 06:54:45 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #18 on: February 12, 2010, 06:54:25 PM »

On the road last year, I distinctly remember Hyppa Hoppa (RED 96.7 fm) literally forcing people to jump to Wild Antz last year.....so that soca mafia thing may go beyond 96.1.  In any event, the people had the last say....thank god...

Sando prince, you find Iron and steel shitty??  I beg to disagree....

« Reply #19 on: February 12, 2010, 06:58:46 PM »

let the people vote
hear the Fayann Lyons "Iron and Steel" here
http://www.islandmix.com/backchat/f16/new-fayann-lyons-iron-steel-2010-trinidad-208168/
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #20 on: February 12, 2010, 06:59:07 PM »

On the road last year, I distinctly remember Hyppa Hoppa (RED 96.7 fm) literally forcing people to jump to Wild Antz last year.....so that soca mafia thing may go beyond 96.1.  In any event, the people had the last say....thank god...

yes, I recall that as well.

« Reply #21 on: February 12, 2010, 07:04:54 PM »

correction. is farmer nappy alone who sing 'i pay 4 dis'

kerwin dubois an farmer nappy together sang 'chippin on d pavement' , which in my opinion is one of d best chunes dis season

even doh palance is d chune dis season, dey mightn't win soca monarch cuz fay ann have d experience to totally mash up d soca monarch and usually have d crowd beggin 4 more. jw an blaze, last time dem was in d competition,wid 'eat ah food',  even doh they were hilarious, their performance was long an drawn out.

i wud be glad if eeder jw & blaze or fay ann take. i jus hope no blasted islander come an win we soca monarch  >:(

P.S  why d hell all dem islander (tallpree, skinny fabolous et al) in we soca monarch. dis automatic entry for monarchs of other islands is total shit. dem takin up valuable space dat one ah we own people cuda have. steups!

« Reply #22 on: February 12, 2010, 07:12:12 PM »
« Last Edit: February 12, 2010, 07:15:27 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #23 on: February 12, 2010, 09:21:46 PM »
P.S  why d hell all dem islander (tallpree, skinny fabolous et al) in we soca monarch. dis automatic entry for monarchs of other islands is total shit. dem takin up valuable space dat one ah we own people cuda have. steups!

And dey was shitty last year....and I'm sure dey eh improve much....

« Reply #24 on: February 13, 2010, 01:35:27 PM »

Bunji only talking shyte. Ask how he get where he is nah. Is the same owners of 96.1 who push him to where he is. From a wanna be Jamaican to a part time Jakan.

So which mafia Shadow sing about back in the days  ??? ??? ??? ???

Socapro...It official eh...
« Reply #25 on: February 17, 2010, 09:04:17 AM »
Palance was played -  417 times,
True lies  -  40 times
No behaviour  - 11 times

It sounding like a record in there somewhere but I eh sure.....

Re: Socapro...It official eh...
« Reply #26 on: February 17, 2010, 09:47:30 AM »
True lies  -  40 times
No behaviour  - 11 times

Can someone (Tallman, whey yuh?) check the records for the margin of Machel's roadmarch win with "Jumbie"?

I think we may need to advise Machel he has to decide whether it’s time to retire from the roadmarch race as well or to come with something bigger than "Jumbie" next year!

I reckon this “Palance” win could also be as big as some of Superblue's roadmarch wins back in his hayday of Bacchanal Time, etc!

While listening to C-TV yesterday one of the commentators interviewed Superblue and he hinted that he may be forced to come out of retirement from the roadmarch race next year to help bring the crown back to the family in reference to Fayann his daughter losing the crown so emphatically!  8) Superblue hinted that JW & Blaze were using some of his jump & wave formulas in their “Palance” song and that he may need to come back out and manners them next year!  :challenge:

Well done to JW & Blaze who have now created history as 1st timers in the soca business, copping both the Soca Monarch and the Roadmarch titles at their first try and on a riddim song to boot.

Is this just a one off feat for them? It remains to be seen, bring on Carnival 2011!  :beermug:
« Last Edit: February 17, 2010, 09:49:39 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #27 on: February 17, 2010, 09:52:22 AM »
True lies  -  40 times
No behaviour  - 11 times

the 417 is a record according to the radio program I was listening to this morning.  In fact it's the first time the winner surpassed 400.

not sure if the margin of victory, 377, is a record but seeing that no other winner ever get 400 plays before it seems likely.

« Reply #28 on: February 17, 2010, 10:01:43 AM »
from what I heard watching the live streaming I would say some of last year's tunes even beat out 2nd and 3rd place.
That is quite a margin of victory.

« Reply #29 on: February 17, 2010, 10:50:37 AM »
do all the Road March judging points coincide with mas judging points?