March 28, 2024, 10:35:29 AM

Who do you think will qualify to the world cup 2006?

Bahrain
Trindad & tobago

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Bahrain game (16-Nov-2005).  (Read 251759 times)

Bahrain seize edge from Warriors
« Reply #450 on: November 12, 2005, 09:16:17 PM »
Bahrain seize edge from Warriors

BY NIGEL SIMON

T&T was left to rue at least three missed first-half chances as visitors Bahrain seized the advantage in their home-and-away World Cup play-off for a place in next year's final in Germany after a 1-1 draw at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo, yesterday.

With the backing of at least 26,000 spcetators all clad in red tops from as early as 3pm the Warriors enjoyed the better of the exchanges against the Asian nation but at the end of the 90 minutes was left pondering a long journey to Asia where they must now get a win to secure a first ever spot in the World Cup finals.

From as early as the sixth minute, T&T was on the offensive and almost grabbed the lead when midfielder Christopher Birchall hammered a right footed blasted towards the bottom right hand corner of the goal, however Bahrain goalkeeper Ali Hassan Ali was up to the task and went full stretch to his left to pull off the save.

Carlos Edwards was the next T&T player to test the nervous Bahrain defence when he managed to steal the ball from Bahraini left back Sayed Mahmood Jalal, but after weaving his way past two defenders his final attempt at goal from an acute angle was too tame to trouble goalkeeper Ali.

Bahrain, after a few long balls forward to lone striker Husain Ali Ahmed managed to get the ball in the back of the net in the 14th minute, but it was rightfully called back for an off-side infringement.

Ahmed should have made T&T pay for a lapse in defence in the 23rd minute, but after being put through by nippy midfielder Talal Yusuf Mohammed he fired wide of the target with only T&T goalkeeper Kelvin Jack to beat.

Dennis Lawrence and team captain Dwight Yorke both came close to giving T&T the lead just before the interval, but on each occasion they were denied by desperate Bahraini defending.

First Lawrence managed to get on the end of a pin-point right sided cross from Christopher Birchall, but his powerful down-ward header which seemed only metres from crossing the goal-line was brilliantly kept out by goalkeeper Ali to the disbelief of the T&T defender and the vociferous crowd.

Silvio Spann then whipped in a dangerous looking right sided cross which was smartly knocked down by Stern John for Yorke, but after collecting and turning in one motion the Sydnet FC striker saw his attempt blocked at point blank range by the a lunging tackle from defender Sayed Mohamed Adnan.

On the resumption, Bahrain went for a fresh pair of legs up front and introduce their key striker Alaa Ahmed Hubail at the expense of Husain Ali Ahamed, but like his teammate he seemed to have little effect on the match.

T&T meanwhile continued to pressed the visitors and inspired by a man-of-the-match performance in midfield from Aurtis Whitely created another chance in the 48th minute.

This time Whitley, one of only two local players to make the final 18 man squad selected by coach Leo Beenhakker found his captain Yorke, who was unmarked just outside the Bahraini penalty-area.

However, the former Manchester United striker cleverly taken left footed snap-shot just missed the bottom right hand corner of the goal.

At the other end of the field, Jack had to be on alert to keep out a fierce left footed drive by Salman Isa Ghuloom Ali in the 60th minute.

©2004-2005 Trinidad Publishing Company Limited

WCQ Playoff Report: Bahrain Denied By Birchall Bullet
« Reply #451 on: November 13, 2005, 04:25:32 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago and Bahrain played out a 1-1 draw in Port of Spain on Saturday evening in their Intercontinental Playoff for the 2006 FIFA World Cup. Husein Salman’s 73rd minute goal seemed to put Bahrain on the road to a huge victory, but Christopher Birchall salvaged a draw for T&T with a wonder-strike just minutes later. The result will please the Asian side as they were able to score an away goal which could prove vital, though T&T will be grateful for Birchall’s intervention which will give them hope come next Wednesday in Manama.
The match started out with a nervy twist as neither side looked comfortable on the pitch, both perhaps cognizant of the magnitude of what was at stake.

Each side gave up the ball cheaply in the early stages though T&T were able to create a couple openings. Bahrain goalkeeper Hussein Ali Hassan pulled off a great save on a shot by Carlos Edwards from 25 yards in the 7th minute. Three minutes later the Soca Warriors were attacking again, but Dwight Yorke could only manage a tame shot on goal after being released by a good pass from Russell Latapy.

Moments later, Edwards worked himself into the area after great work on the right, but again the final shot left a lot to be desired.

It was not all one-way traffic though as Bahrain were proving to be quick on the counter-attack. In fact, the Bahrainis scored in the 16th minute through Ahmed Hassan, but the strike was disallowed due to offside.

Bahrain were growing in confidence by this stage and they almost opened the scoring when Hassan missed a golden opportunity on 24 minutes as he shot just wide after he was left completely unmarked inside the area.

As the half wore on, it was Trinidad who looked the shakier of the two sides, as the crowd was rendered silent, but Leo Beenhakker’s side finished the first stanza strongly.

The 30,000 strong crowd at the Hasely Crawford Stadium nearly found their voice in the 40th minute as Birchall delivered a fantastic cross from the right, Marvin Andrews met it firmly but his header was superbly saved by Hussan who batted the ball away.

The half ended with Yorke having a point-blank shot blocked from close range.

The home side began the second half with a sense of urgency and it was Yorke again who got T&T started when the Sydney FC striker blasted a shot wide from 20 yards after a probing run by Aurtis Whitley.

Still, T&T couldn’t find the desired breakthrough despite a series of free-kicks in and around the Bahraini box. In fact, it was Bahrain who against the run of play nearly scored. Twice on the hour mark the away side threatened, first T&T goalkeeper Kelvin Jack had to be alert to swat away a ferocious drive and then from the ensuing corner a scramble in the box ended with substitute Alaa Hubail shooting over from 12 yards.

Several minutes later, T&T were reestablishing their tempo and a delightful one-two between Stern John and Yorke saw the latter fire straight at Hassan from the top of the box.

T&T’s inability to turn chances into goals was severely punished on 73 minutes when Husein Salman headed past Jack off of a corner-kick to give Bahrain the lead and a crucial away goal.

T&T looked down and out, but within four minutes the home crowd finally had something to cheer about when Birchall lashed onto a loose ball and sent a laser shot past Hassan from 25 yards out. It was a fantastic goal which breathed new life into Beenhakker’s men.

The match began to spark to life and John nearly completed the comeback for the Caribbean team only for his first-time effort to be blazed over.

Bahrain seemed content to sit back and defend for the final quarter of an hour and T&T seemed hesitant to push a great deal of players forward with the fear of leaving gaps at the back especially in mind of the return leg in Manama on Wednesday. So, it was perhaps logical that the match would finish 1-1. It leaves the tie delicately balanced ahead of the second leg next week, though Bahrain on the strength of their away goal will feel they are closer to the ultimate goal of qualifying for the 2006 FIFA World Cup.

George Tsitsonis

Offline concerned

Flight to Bahrain - by Ruskin mark
« Reply #452 on: November 14, 2005, 04:16:35 AM »
Jack Warner was a comedian on the flight. The media says that Jack Warner kept everybody entertained on the flight. They were all drinking, parting etc Capt Burrell was there. Bircell Father, Hasley Crawford.

Hospitality in Bahrain is no 1

Thread for the T&T vs Bahrain game (16-Nov-2005).
« Reply #453 on: November 14, 2005, 09:11:20 AM »
Greetings.

As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the game vs Bahrian will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at;

1. SW Online Forum.

2. SW Online Live Chat.

3. Fifaworldcup.com.

4. Homeviewtnt/CT105fm.

5. Eurosport - Football.

TV-Listing:
US - Fox Soccer Channel, 11:00am EST
TT - Channel 4.
UK - Eurosport, ART, Fox Sports & Dubai TV.

T&T Shirts.
Selected KFC outlets at $200.00 TTD each, you cannot purchase any over the net.

News Room/Build-Up:
Less stress, more passion on the way to Bahrain.
Dwight Yorke: It’s far from over.
Bahrain: referee denied us a crucial victory.

Note:
I am not saying this because of the fact that I'm trying to convince myself but I am almost 100% sure we can pull it off in Bahrain. By far T&T is the better side and if we play the way we have been playing in our last 3/4 games then I cant see us loosing.... we must settle in and not push the panic button...

Our players still have to learn how to play at home, it seems they cant handle the home pressure to good ? they will do better on the road.

I also believed our players had a bad day and it could now work in our benefit because when their back is against the wall they some how pull it off. Look at the GUA, PAN and MEX games. Also, T&T has been reacting very well after conceding early goals, it seems they need to concede a goal to really get them cranking.

Still not putting anything pass Bahrain, but we must attack from start to finish... (3-5-2) is best... or 4-3-3... Bahrain will also be missing 2 relatively decent players, we have it set-up ideal for us, now we have to take care of business. If you notice when their #10 got the yellow card another Bahrain player ran up and was trying to say it wasn't him, it was me, it seemed he was trying to get the card instead..... so they know it's not over.

I also think that we need to play more mobile attackers to draw out Bahrain defense..... they will pack their defense for sure and try to hit on the counter..

Any win or, a draw 2-2 and over and T&T will be in Germany...

Good Luck Mighty Warriors.[/size]
[/color]
« Last Edit: May 30, 2008, 08:57:44 AM by Flex »

bahrain update
« Reply #454 on: November 14, 2005, 09:12:28 AM »
fellers bahraini people does remind me of trini people but hospitality over here is a sight to be seen. breds i went on a search today for the warriors and the cab driver turned off his meter and told me we not giving up until we find them.first i went to where the supporters was staying and i decided to lime dey with some bredrens and boy the lime nice. and iz not ah set ah rich people acting high class and thing, it have some badd test over here. rell ole dogs i wondering how them get tickets but say what. play ah little all fours and get lost in time and come back on the base late cause i have ah cerfew :rotfl:. but i aint studying it cause i hear jetlag was not an option for the team cause beenie plan it out perfectly and planned the training accordingly. and them bahrain fellers over here like they just notice that we have ah game on their hands and fever now settling and i know it go be drama cause iz ah free game and everybody go wanna see it.
the cab driver say he wanna see yorke play and he doh business bout the bahrain team (ah nearly dead with laugh). now the trini's ah meet say they eating the chicken and them doh business. food over here not so hot up doh

laterzzzzzzzz

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Bahrain game.
« Reply #455 on: November 14, 2005, 09:19:54 AM »
GOOD LUCK TNT   MAY THE BEST TEAM WIN

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
Re: bahrain update
« Reply #456 on: November 14, 2005, 09:21:39 AM »
fellers bahraini people does remind me of trini people but hospitality over here is a sight to be seen. breds i went on a search today for the warriors and the cab driver turned off his meter and told me we not giving up until we find them.first i went to where the supporters was staying and i decided to lime dey with some bredrens and boy the lime nice. and iz not ah set ah rich people acting high class and thing, it have some badd test over here. rell ole dogs i wondering how them get tickets but say what. play ah little all fours and get lost in time and come back on the base late cause i have ah cerfew :rotfl:. but i aint studying it cause i hear jetlag was not an option for the team cause beenie plan it out perfectly and planned the training accordingly. and them bahrain fellers over here like they just notice that we have ah game on their hands and fever now settling and i know it go be drama cause iz ah free game and everybody go wanna see it.
the cab driver say he wanna see yorke play and he doh business bout the bahrain team (ah nearly dead with laugh). now the trini's ah meet say they eating the chicken and them doh business. food over here not so hot up doh

laterzzzzzzzz

most importantly .... you peepin anything dey or wha?

« Reply #457 on: November 14, 2005, 09:24:59 AM »
rotato i wish but too much people know me i have to keep ah low profile ;D

Offline ladywarrior

Game 2 South Florida Watch Party
« Reply #459 on: November 14, 2005, 09:30:30 AM »

For Warrior Fans calling in to work on Wed. The viewing Session begins at 10:45 am in the upstairs sky box of the Park. We have the whole lounge. For those who didn't make it on Saturday you can find directions on theparksportsclub.com it is located at the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Hollywood right off the Turnpike.

Come early and be prepared to cheer loudly!!

Overall management was very happy with us in Saturday.

Here were some not some complimentary complaints I heard:

1) A few people were not tipping the waitresses ( that was their big money college football day and as such they were very unhappy) I had to grease some palms.

2) Somebody sneak in a bottle of Dewars, drink it, then leave the empty bottle for them to clean up.

3) Folks can't just come and watch without at least buying one drink or an appetizer! It's a business and they are letting us watch for free in a very nice place.. Pleeeezzze I rave about how great we are.. please show you have broughtopsy!

Other than that!! Come out.. I hope to bring out some coverage then too...

GO Warriors GO!!
The only thing to fear is fear itself.

Re: Game 2 South Florida Watch Party
« Reply #460 on: November 14, 2005, 09:32:46 AM »
ah man sneak in ah bottle and leave it :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

coma nah man doh show yuh tru colours nah man ;D

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #461 on: November 14, 2005, 09:41:09 AM »
well ah lookin fuh two more wife tuh add tuh meh trophy collection.

Ah have a football Goals collection .... and then ah Gold Collection ..  ;D

Re: Game 2 South Florida Watch Party
« Reply #462 on: November 14, 2005, 09:43:20 AM »

For Warrior Fans calling in to work on Wed. The viewing Session begins at 10:45 am in the upstairs sky box of the Park. We have the whole lounge. For those who didn't make it on Saturday you can find directions on theparksportsclub.com it is located at the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Hollywood right off the Turnpike.

Come early and be prepared to cheer loudly!!

Overall management was very happy with us in Saturday.

Here were some not some complimentary complaints I heard:

1) A few people were not tipping the waitresses ( that was their big money college football day and as such they were very unhappy) I had to grease some palms.

2) Somebody sneak in a bottle of Dewars, drink it, then leave the empty bottle for them to clean up.

3) Folks can't just come and watch without at least buying one drink or an appetizer! It's a business and they are letting us watch for free in a very nice place.. Pleeeezzze I rave about how great we are.. please show you have broughtopsy!

Other than that!! Come out.. I hope to bring out some coverage then too...

GO Warriors GO!!

no. 2 is so trini.

as for no. 1 and 3, what wrong with all yuh people? money tight or wha?

Offline jalfarhood

If we don't rock you we must not go to germany
« Reply #463 on: November 14, 2005, 09:48:48 AM »
we waiting the game if we don't beat you 3-0 we must not go to germany because your team is very week

your team may be not football player
« Last Edit: November 14, 2005, 09:51:25 AM by jalfarhood »

Re: If we don't you we must not go to germany
« Reply #464 on: November 14, 2005, 09:49:52 AM »
you remind me so much of your mother iz ah shame

« Reply #465 on: November 14, 2005, 10:00:00 AM »
morvs,

i wouldn't even bother to respond to a jackass like that.

i heading seattle for a couple of day now. be back wednesday. hold tight warrior crew.

« Reply #466 on: November 14, 2005, 10:18:52 AM »
that google translate service have a lot to answer for !

Offline Augi

« Reply #467 on: November 14, 2005, 11:03:07 AM »
Guys I think what the game on saturday showed us is that we need to shoot from outside the box against this team. Carlos had no problem beating his marker and getting down the wing.however his crosses were not the best.I think he should try to get to the by-line and square the ball back to the top of the box for a yorke or birchall. all kinds of attacking options open up then. Shots from on top the box...a fake and pass off to Stern...dribble into the box for a penalty.If latas remains out there on the wing I would like to see him cut in more and shoot.They crowded us in the middle of the park last game, next game I can see more of the same.The wingers are key if we are to create the chances we need.

GO TNT...I STILL BELIEVE

Re: If we don't rock you we must not go to germany
« Reply #468 on: November 14, 2005, 11:16:52 AM »
we waiting the game if we don't beat you 3-0 we must not go to germany because your team is very week

ok  :P...........how insightful...thanks
« Last Edit: November 14, 2005, 11:21:07 AM by kicker »

Offline Alsalman

« Reply #469 on: November 14, 2005, 11:32:02 AM »

Indeed how embarassing ...

worst thing to happen to the internet ... everyone has access to it  ;D

« Reply #470 on: November 14, 2005, 11:46:39 AM »

I can't remember Kelvin Jack having to make too many saves, on the other hand the Bahraini keeper had to make a number of saves, outstanding ones at that. What makes you think Bahrain should get 3

Offline kandi_tt

WARRIOR ANTHEM
« Reply #471 on: November 14, 2005, 12:15:15 PM »
www.toronto-lime.com

they have the WARRIOS ANTHEM by Bunji... along with ah ton ah other great soca tunes fuh allyuh to listen to....
iNnOcEnT aNd UnInFoRmEd...

« Reply #472 on: November 14, 2005, 12:28:04 PM »

Alsalman... you good yes!! Respect.

Offline Trini2dabone

Predictions on scores Fellaz
« Reply #473 on: November 14, 2005, 01:06:08 PM »
I think 1-0 we

Offline cm103

Re: Predictions on scores Fellaz
« Reply #474 on: November 14, 2005, 01:15:13 PM »
Yeah is either that or a 2-1 both for we.

What time d mark buss at home on Wednesday? Real people go be playing they predictions.

« Reply #475 on: November 14, 2005, 01:16:50 PM »
Bahrain 1 - 3 T&T  ;D

Offline TriniItalian

• Never Wait to Procrastinate!
« Reply #476 on: November 14, 2005, 01:19:25 PM »
I know we could give them 5 but our side not really into that so i'd say 3-1 if bah score first but other than that is 2-0
A.W.A.T.T. INFORMANT

« Reply #477 on: November 14, 2005, 01:22:18 PM »
Bah not scoring and pressure does buss pipe. Them men will be in their half putting themselves under pressure. Once we stop the small goal mentality and take shots we will score.

Bah 0 -  2 T &T

« Reply #478 on: November 14, 2005, 01:25:00 PM »
2-1 or 3-1
i know we gona make it

« Reply #479 on: November 14, 2005, 01:27:22 PM »