April 28, 2024, 03:54:09 PM

Author Topic: Crimes News Thread  (Read 83345 times)

Re: All yuh see de Express today....Your thoughts
« Reply #90 on: October 28, 2008, 11:17:51 AM »
we are party people!  Courageous people?

What has really happened in T&T to test our mettle as a people?  We are eithee the bravest or most dotish!

Coup going on, people dead and dying, Parliament captured, bombs gone off, lives interrupted and the Defence Force mobilized.  Statae of Emergency Curfew and we having Curfew Parties!

Brave or Dotish no tail, you tell me.

Bandits have ordinary people on the run, the police inept, the government trying but have no teeth, and we....partying.

Corruption and murder, traffic and poor social health, and we.....partying.  Kidnapping unabated, kidnappers running around free to kidnap again.  Crime unsolved, witnesses getting killed, victims of accidents being robbed to add to their misfortune, rapes, abuse of children and women.

School children making pornos, schools falling apart, students fighting, teachers not going to school, and we....partying.

We seem to be most socially conscious during Carnival season when Kaiso higlights the ills....yet what do we do?  we jump an dwine to the songs...we partying.

Maybe a better question is are we a nation as yet?  Are we serious as a people, or we just like to fete!

We partying!

Maybe we dotish and selfish!

Once the party running we ok.  When have the people of T&T been ever called upon to sacrifice anything?

Remember God is ah trini!  We safe.  Hurricanes, natural disasters all avoid us, we have abundance of natural resources, we safe and we have a reason to fete every month, we nice.

What about one solution to any of the above stated problem.

This is one of our biggest problem right here that is being bemoaned. The standing and pointing out of inadequacies of the T&T society with out any input into how to resolve such situations. What is the reason for listing challenges with out presenting a course of action right or wrong?

I don't like listening to people just tossing Trinidadians and Tobagonians in the dust bin. Yes, we have a severe crime problem right now, but how does that make us less than any other country? The newspaper could do the same thing newspapers do in the states and hide the crime unless it severe.

Let us try as Cana ask to present thoughts, ideas, oinions what ever you want to call it on a positive manner in how to address the challenges facing T&T.

« Reply #91 on: October 28, 2008, 11:20:45 AM »

Where I would like to enter the discussion is the pyschological impact of the coup attempt on the populace. To my observation this is pivotal. And valid ...  not that any of the other comments are facially invalid ... just cyah get into them right now.

One question that comes to mind is: how do we balance the 'apparent lack of consequence' with respect to the authors of the coup attempt versus the actuality that said persons were submitted to the judicial process?

With respect to the larger issue of criminality, the absence of political will is inescapable.

[I think we should be careful to separate hooliganism and criminality of the sort that dominates our media (kidnapping, murder, extortion, street level crimes against the person etc.) from the imperatives of politically-inspired? events such as '90 ... some may take issue with this but dahis why we discussing it ... In other words, was Abu Bakr a common criminal or not? Yes? No? Undecided?]

Ssylum, I would have to say that with all due respect to the judicial process, the psychological impact of 1990 is something that is also inescapable. You can separate a politcally inspired event from general criminality in a classroom, or even in a forum such as this, but for those of us who saw the footage of men running into the red house shooting and gun butting, it might as well have been a carefully executed bank robbery unfolding. The images etched into our memories will always be of those men; of Bakr on tv looking like the mastermind of a sophisticated hijacking; and of of course his surrender, which of all images should have solidified his status as a criminal. Hands raised in front of the the armed forces and the police, being arrested. Many of us remember those events clearly today. How fresh was it in our minds when the verdict arrived? Did we feel like justice was served, even if due process was?
And what of  rest of the members of the Jamaat who were also exonerated of those charges? Did they feel as though they 'got away' with something? I could remember for years that many crimes reported were allegedly committed by members of the Jamaat, as per press reports. Is there true separation between the mindset of the youth who takes up a gun to storm the red house, not knowing why he is storming the red house, and the youth who a few years later, after being let off for those same actions, who takes up a gun and storms into a man's house to rob and kill him?
When that question is answered then I believe you can fairly decide whether, in this case, the attempted coup of 1990 is truly separate and apart from the criminality we face today. Bakr and Bilal aside, think about the youths who were used. Now when you think about them, think about their sphere of immediate influence and that sphere should resemble the wake created by the pebble in the pond.

Swima, ah fully on board with the direction of your comments.

Buh lehme toss these questions out? What of the double digit unemployment rate that was prevalent in July 1990? What of the extensive looting in the wake of the attempted coup (ent that was criminality not informed by Bakr?)

Can the freedom of the Jamaat be attributed to the sort of permissiveness assrancid alludes to? Did we let a cancer fester simply because we didn't want to rise a jep nest? Was reconciliation necessary?

Before we even get to motives and influence on a young generation, what of the escalation of arms in Trinidad preceding present times?

Agreed, the criminality is not separate from July 1990 ... buh check this ... a youthman born in 1990 is today's 18 year old ... today's 26 or 27 year old bad john was less than 10 in July 1990 ... we had over 15 years to place him on the right path even if he was disillusioned by the 'chuck badness' factor of July 1990. What happened there?

Some of the seeds of discontent rest in trying to jump back on the business as usual track (after the coup attempt) when an expedient business as usual approach should not have been employed.

Are Trinbagonians courageous people?

I'll enter the solutions ring once I say a word about de Doc.

Offline assrancid

• Man who scratch ass should not bite fingernails.
  • Education should be the handmaid of citizenship.
    • Stony Brook University
« Reply #92 on: October 28, 2008, 11:39:57 AM »
well elan, if you read my post I am suggesting a change in the culture, the psyche of the people, that will only come with strong leadership and education.  I made those suggestions in my previous posting.

as for hiding crime in the US, that is nonsense.

each newspaper has a crime section, and there is NO hiding of crime by the newspapers in any area that i have ever lived in the tates, plus all the crime progrmas, dateline, MSNBC investigations, COPS, reality Tv shows, in fact the news in the states just like in T&T  cime and bad news all the time.  America Most wanted etc..the list goes on and on.

get rteal

T&T has its unique problems and the way we deal with crime in T&T is WAY backwards compared to the US!

« Reply #93 on: October 28, 2008, 11:52:36 AM »
This is where we come to the relation between indiscipline and crime. The 1990 coup showed us how fragile we are. But the fact that the main perpetrators of that exercise are still alive and well also showed that there are no real consequences for our actions. Psychologically that must ring bells in the minds of a population.

Crime is easy and there is relatively no reason to fear any legal repercussions from committing a criminal act.

IMO...the most profound statements in a deeply profound post.

Respeck sah!

Offline Swima

« Reply #94 on: October 28, 2008, 11:59:46 AM »

Swima, ah fully on board with the direction of your comments.

Buh lehme toss these questions out? What of the double digit unemployment rate that was prevalent in July 1990? What of the extensive looting in the wake of the attempted coup (ent that was criminality not informed by Bakr?)

Can the freedom of the Jamaat be attributed to the sort of permissiveness assrancid alludes to? Did we let a cancer fester simply because we didn't want to rise a jep nest? Was reconciliation necessary?

Before we even get to motives and influence on a young generation, what of the escalation of arms in Trinidad preceding present times?

Agreed, the criminality is not separate from July 1990 ... buh check this ... a youthman born in 1990 is today's 18 year old ... today's 26 or 27 year old bad john was less than 10 in July 1990 ... we had over 15 years to place him on the right path even if he was disillusioned by the 'chuck badness' factor of July 1990. What happened there?

Some of the seeds of discontent rest in trying to jump back on the business as usual track (after the coup attempt) when an expedient business as usual approach should not have been employed.

Are Trinbagonians courageous people?

I'll enter the solutions ring once I say a word about de Doc.

You are so correct there, and that is why you are a boss. I am not saying that we didn't have the chance to right the wrongs, I am saying that we didn't. A youth man born in 1990 is today's gang member because today's 35 year old taught him how to be one, and no one stopped it from happening. Note my thesis again. It's the Laissez Faire attitudes towards crime and crime prevention that is on trial, not the level of crime itself.

Be that as it may, we have many other spin-offs that can be attributed to the current state of affairs. My take remains that 1990 and the aftermath thereof is what is pivotal in causing our society to break down so rapidly.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #95 on: October 28, 2008, 12:04:11 PM »
This is where we come to the relation between indiscipline and crime. The 1990 coup showed us how fragile we are. But the fact that the main perpetrators of that exercise are still alive and well also showed that there are no real consequences for our actions. Psychologically that must ring bells in the minds of a population.

Crime is easy and there is relatively no reason to fear any legal repercussions from committing a criminal act.

Respeck sah!
could also apply to the verdicts of the failed revolution/coup of 1970.....not so?

some good articles by Raffique Shah
http://www.trinicenter.com/1970/
« Last Edit: October 28, 2008, 12:21:53 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #96 on: October 28, 2008, 03:40:58 PM »

Respeck sah!
could also apply to the verdicts of the failed revolution/coup of 1970.....not so?

WestCoast what part of this statement I made at the very first post you didn't understand?
I'll repeat it just incase you hurriedly scroll down without reading anything to just put a flicking link.

* Step by step show everybody your plans.
* Doh show me what other people write, no links...nothing like that. I want your thoughts.

oh gosh man ah little respect nah
steupse....
« Last Edit: October 28, 2008, 05:09:11 PM by TriniCana »

« Reply #97 on: October 28, 2008, 06:30:36 PM »
Respeck sah!
WestCoast what part of this statement I made at the very first post you didn't understand?
I'll repeat it just incase you hurriedly scroll down without reading anything to just put a flicking link.
* Step by step show everybody your plans.
* Doh show me what other people write, no links...nothing like that. I want your thoughts.

oh gosh man ah little respect nah
steupse....
There is a link between what Swima said "But the fact that the main perpetrators of that exercise are still alive and well also showed that there are no real consequences for our actions. Psychologically that must ring bells in the minds of a population. " and the verdict given in the 1970 Coup
and if you honestly believe that my post is the only post that goes against your rules of your thread, well the only thing I could say is
"Sorry Lady"
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #98 on: October 28, 2008, 06:56:03 PM »
steupse

« Reply #99 on: October 28, 2008, 08:16:48 PM »
Cana i will over simplify the solution to crime, ah hope you don't think i'm clowning.

first of all Trinidad and Tobago only have less than 1.7 million ppl, let's say 2mil if you include undocumented immigrants.

now i would say the true reason for crime and the criminal element IMO and the opinion of a close friend of mine who happens to be a member of the NJAC, would be gross neglect and mismanagement!

there's no way a country with the 2nd highest GNP in the western hemisphere and a population as minuscule as 1.7 mil should be having this kind of domestic problems (crime , illiteracy ,corruption, poor infrastructure, deplorable medical facilities).

i'm sorry folks but with such resources @ your disposal and a population the size of staten island, there should be no reason for our inadequacies, and i could only blame it on the ineptitude of our monkey politicians nation wide, whether it be PNM, NAR ,UNC,COP.

these politicians realise that the population is out for lunch (politically unaware,docile, irresponsible) so they take full advantage, secured in the notion there will be no reprisal for their gross missmanagement of funds enstrusted to them by the state.

these jokers need to be replaced by young vibrant responsible minds. ah wonder where we will get that from? :'( :(                          positive.

PS: as squirell monkey with any form of patriotism and drive could fix our crime problem in six months, YES!! it's that SIMPLE TO FIX!! they just don't give ah f@ck in T&T that's all !!
« Last Edit: October 29, 2008, 01:27:22 PM by just cool »

« Reply #100 on: October 28, 2008, 09:31:40 PM »
Just Cool,
                first we have to overcome our racial insecurities before we can vote on principal before tribe. I don't see that happening. Therefore, we will stay in shit street for a long time

« Reply #101 on: October 29, 2008, 11:02:27 AM »
Just Cool,
                first we have to overcome our racial insecurities before we can vote on principal before tribe. I don't see that happening. Therefore, we will stay in shit street for a long time
B.I.N.G.O.

Offline kaisocagoals

• Supportin' T&T Football,... raise yuh head!... let the ball do the running!
  • Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #102 on: November 03, 2008, 02:21:32 PM »
seeing that this thread is an off shoot of my original post I feel it is only right that I lend my voice and thoughts to this thread...

Yes since 1990 de country never really ketch itself...

yes since 70 the country had a different sense of self...

there is only one real solution: racial insecurities or not.

use the law to the fullest extent, by applying the most harshest sentences to the perpetrators of these acts...

what sparked the original thread for me was the fact that it happened right where I used to live. some might say that I watching from "foreign" and I eh really know what going on... I can assure you that that is not the case, I am in constant contact with Trinidad all the time...

Some might say that we have too much money to be having these problems...

I will only say that when De Doc and dem make dat move to make we independent from England, that it was with the queen's best wishes, but we should have thought about it longer, because we were not really ready...

JA do it, so we had to do it too...

My solution is a simple one, apply the law to the fullest extent.

build the system around the fact that there must be a harsh consequence for stupid decisions...

The fella who shoot at that young engineer had (let's say) 6 rounds in that firearm... he fired 5 times... scattered a crowd, and run...

Imagine the adrenaline in his body... pumping with every heartbeat, and he seeing he future in a jail... now imagine if someone had a go at him, remember is 5 times he shoot, the law of averages say he go miss, because he still eh get the man he was aiming for...

In Trini, if you ketch ah man in yuh yard thiefin' yuh zaboca, yuh go give him a cutarse right?... yuh might hold him too, and call yuh neighbour or a pardner to really give him some boots in he wais' too ent?...

but yuh sure dat once yuh hold him, he eh getting away...

this is not a vigilante approach, but I had to do it once, see a man get stabbed multiple times outside a train station in London... he make a break for it and I know I was faster than he, so I chase and people start to shout at me like I was mad, to leave him...

ah ketch him and kick way he feet from under him, catspraddled, no blade, just a punk... serious boots too...

would I do it again, yes! 

because one can empower many, by the time I really check it, is about 2 dozen men around de man... holding him for de police to reach... plenty questions yes, plenty answers too... but all the same is one less clown on the streets...

my point is simple.

WE NEED TO STOP TOLERATING ALL THE S**T and build jails for criminals and labs for forensics... 

put the onus on putting them away for a llooooooooooooooooong time... with no parole and one meal a day. one meal at 2:30 in the morning yuh have to wake up to eat, and hose dem down to go to sleep...

yuh is a badman?...

take dat in yuh craw... yuh eh even lucky to get food either, and yuh cell size is 6 by 7 just long enough for yuh to strech out...

we go see how long dey keep it up for...

a minute in football is a very long time...

« Reply #103 on: November 03, 2008, 05:20:15 PM »

this is not a vigilante approach, but I had to do it once, see a man get stabbed multiple times outside a train station in London... he make a break for it and I know I was faster than he, so I chase and people start to shout at me like I was mad, to leave him...

ah ketch him and kick way he feet from under him, catspraddled, no blade, just a punk... serious boots too...

So yuh saying you beat up the poor fella who get stabbed? :devil:

You do good wuk dey. But breds take it from me, make sure you limit your involvement in them kinda business. Not in making a good response but in how you respond.  Vigilantism is tricky...If you get into the mindspace of moral avenger that could lead to serious trouble because your judgment and perception is never 100% reliable.

Crime pays, and not neccessarily for the criminals. I don't know where you live but here in Canada the justice industryis predicated in part on providing income and employment for police, lawyers, judges, court workers, social service agencies etc.

The industry likes its occasional heroes, but frowns on movements and groups at the street level.

Don't be a victim of some cop or prosecutor just itching to turn your individual bravery into an act of negligent frontier justice.

Peace

Offline kaisocagoals

• Supportin' T&T Football,... raise yuh head!... let the ball do the running!
  • Goals Win Matches!
« Reply #104 on: November 04, 2008, 07:34:09 AM »

So yuh saying you beat up the poor fella who get stabbed? :devil:

You do good wuk dey. But breds take it from me, make sure you limit your involvement in them kinda business. Not in making a good response but in how you respond.  Vigilantism is tricky...If you get into the mindspace of moral avenger that could lead to serious trouble because your judgment and perception is never 100% reliable.

Crime pays, and not neccessarily for the criminals. I don't know where you live but here in Canada the justice industryis predicated in part on providing income and employment for police, lawyers, judges, court workers, social service agencies etc.

The industry likes its occasional heroes, but frowns on movements and groups at the street level.

Don't be a victim of some cop or prosecutor just itching to turn your individual bravery into an act of negligent frontier justice.

Peace

for sure bro... trust me...

I said that I would do it again, in the context that I "might"...

but yeah yuh right...

but is the "do gooder" in me...

maybe it was the shock too...

but common sense will always prevail...

score one for justice

a minute in football is a very long time...

Re: All yuh see de Express today?....
« Reply #105 on: December 01, 2008, 08:57:34 AM »
Arima man 500th murder  :o  :(

Gang, drug-related killings major cause of increase by 153 cases
Denyse Renne drenne@trinidadexpress.com

Sunday, November 30th 2008

T&T's murder toll reached 500 yesterday, with the latest murder victim identified as Wilfred Fredericks.

Fredericks, 20, of Bye Pass Road, Arima, was shot dead around 1.45 a.m. yesterday, while standing on Mahabir Lane, Arima. Police say Fredericks was approached by a lone gunman who shot him several times about the body.

Fredericks managed to run a few feet away before collapsing. He died at the scene.

Homicide detectives are yet to establish a motive for the murder.

So far for the year, gang and drug-related killings have contributed significantly to the upsurge in murders, while domestic brawls, altercations, robberies and collateral killings also accounted for a large percentage of murders.

Statistics further showed, of the 500 murders committed to date, only 71 have been detected, an increase of six, when compared to last year around this period.

Sunday Express' statistics also show murders have increased by 153, compared to the same period last year.

Region Two (North, North-Eastern, Eastern divisions) accounted for the bulk of detections, which currently stand at 43.

A senior homicide detective, commenting on Region Two's detection rate, said his officers "have been working tirelessly in an attempt to bring the perpetrators to justice".

"Several of my officers are called on their days off, and because of their dedication to the job they respond," the senior officer said.

Stating detectives under the supervision of ASP Johnny Abraham, Insps Stanley Ramdeen, Ancil Corbette and including Sgt Andrew Lawrence and PCs Sunil Ramoutar,Tyrone Jack, Kevin Thomas, Suzette Martin, Josaine Sampson-Johnson and Ameer Mohammed, just to name a few, the senior officer said Region Two's successes this year include the detection of nine murders which were committed in 2007, and also several others which were committed in 2006.

"Following investigations, two charges of manslaughter and attempted murder have also been laid," the senior officer said.

Numerous media conferences held by senior officials, including Acting Commissioner of Police James Philbert, who was appointed to the post on July 5, have tried to assure the public that officers are making progress in various homicide cases.

One such instance was the October 9 killings of elderly Swedish couple Ake Olsson, 73, and his wife, Anna Sulvan, who were found with chop wounds at their Bon Accord, Tobago, home.

Homicide detectives said then they believed that robbery was the motive and were expecting to lay charges soon.

Two suspects were arrested and subsequently released and an artist's sketch was issued to the public, but so far, detectives say they are still investigating the matter.

Express statistics further showed Tobago accounting for two cases of manslaughter and five murders.

Under Philbert's tenure, 229 murders have been recorded thus far.

Thirteen inquests have been ordered by the office of the Director of Public Prosecutions, while 17 killings are yet to be classified, since investigations are ongoing.

The unclassified killings include bullet-riddled bodies and autopsies, which have been inconclusive.

Inquests, manslaughters and unclassified killings do not form part of the Sunday Express' murder toll.

For the year thus far, 47 females between the ages of two to 65 have been brutally murdered, while 12 murder/ suicides were recorded.

Five law enforcement officers, inclusive of two police officers, along with one fire, prison and soldier were also murdered this year.

Seven State witnesses were also killed a month apart-Balliram Krishna Harripersad (February 11), Terrance Haynes (March 16), Harold Joseph (April 5), Ishmael Drayton and Daniel Roberts (May 1), Anthony Ryan (June 12) and Gabriel Charles (July 28).

Murders also took a toll on taxi-drivers who were plying their trade, with 17 drivers being killed for the year.

The murder toll recorded also included 30 persons who were reported missing by their relatives.

On September 19, National Security Minister Martin Joseph announced that the Special Anti-Crime Unit of T&T have been mandated to conduct investigations into gang-related killings.

Following the announcement, 53 killings involving gang members have taken place.

So far, May has been the bloodiest month, accounting for 56 murders, while June has the second highest with 55.

February accounted for 28-the least number of murders.

« Reply #106 on: December 01, 2008, 12:00:02 PM »
ah boy we goin fuh ah record amount this year.hooray.

« Reply #107 on: December 01, 2008, 06:30:31 PM »
D record done fall

« Reply #108 on: December 01, 2008, 08:21:43 PM »
'Statistics further showed, of the 500 murders committed to date, only 71 have been detected, an increase of six, when compared to last year around this period'  <-----this confusing me. what do they mean detected ???

For the year thus far, 47 females between the ages of two to 65 have been brutally murdered, while 12 murder/ suicides were recorded. <-----flickin scary

So far, May has been the bloodiest month, accounting for 56 murders, while June has the second highest with 55.
February accounted for 28-the least number of murders.  <-----because is Carnival

Is a whole generation of teenagers gone - 16 -25

« Reply #109 on: December 02, 2008, 05:32:25 AM »
February accounted for 28-the least number of murders.  <-----because is Carnival

and is the only time police does do they wuk.....

DRAGNET
By Ria Taitt Political Editor

Story Created: Jul 17, 2010 at 1:48 AM ECT

Story Updated: Jul 17, 2010 at 3:35 AM ECT

For the first time, Government is moving to include private security officers in the crime fighting effort.

In his maiden contribution in Parliament in the Red House, Port of Spain, yesterday, National Security Minister John Sandy responded to public calls for the unveiling of a crime plan designed to achieve an appreciable drop in crime, reduce the fear of crime and win public trust and confidence.

The plan includes making use of 20,000 plus security officers from private security firms.

Piloting the debate on the Notification by the President nominating members of the Police Service Commission in the House of Representatives, Sandy said an Estate Police Network Commission would be established. This initiative would engage the services in excess of 20,000-plus security officers of several recruitable security companies whose eyes and ears would contribute to law enforcement and national security, he said.

"This will be realised with the establishment of the Estate Police Network Commission which will comprise an executive, including senior personnel of top private security firms in Trinidad and Tobago, chaired by the Deputy Commissioner of Crime in the Police Service. The Commission's mission will be to assist the civil police in the execution of their duties. Sandy said a dedicated communications network would allow interconnectivity among most of the reputable security companies. "The idea is to give security officers on duty at private locations an exclusive medium to communicate with the respective command centres, which in turn will possess facilities dedicated to instant connectivity with the nearest police station," he said.

Furthermore, he said private security officers would report any suspicious activity in their respective areas of operations. He said if during the course of their duties they observe unusual occurrences with the potential for criminal activity, they would be required to use the communications network to inform the civil police.

The People's National Movement (PNM) Government had been opposed to the concept of using private security firms and had rejected a proposal from then Opposition MPs Jack Warner and Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj which involved using private security firms in crime-ridden communities.

Included in the overall crime plan is provision for increased coastal patrols by the Trinidad and Tobago Coast Guard, the Minister said. He said in this regard Cabinet was considering all the possibilities pertinent to the acquisition of the three offshore vessels (OPVs) sourced by the previous administration. (See Page 8)

He said three criteria were being used in the decision-making process—the security requirements and its worth to Trinidad and Tobago in the marshaling of the country's territorial waters; the financial aspect as it relates not only to the cost of the system, inclusive of four helicopters, but also to the maintenance factor; and the legal considerations".

He gave the assurance that Government would make the best decision in the interest of the country.

Sandy said the crime plan also entailed the establishment of traffic surveillance bays on the highways governed by CCTV cameras. "On our highways and byways we see motorists speeding with no specific reason. We are proposing that we place these traffic surveillance bays along the highways which would allow our police vehicles to park and wait for such personnel on the roadway who would want to break our laws. It would afford them the ability to traverse any direction dependent on where the perpetrator is going. It would also allow them to, with radio contact, communicate with their fellow policemen on the route along which the perpetrator would be travelling. We would also ensure that only police vehicles use those bays and vehicles of the Defence Force and protective services in cases of emergency and with the CCTV cameras posted there we should be able to determine whether the law is being breached," he said.

Sandy said the plan also involved legislation. To this end Government yesterday tabled the Anti-Gang bill, the Bail (Amendment) bill and the Miscellaneous Provisions (Remand) bill. The Minister said Government planned to bring the Evidence Amendment bill which would seek to extend the use of video-recorded evidence to encompass all criminal proceedings and to allow admissibility of the video-recorded statements of both accused persons and witnesses even where witnesses are absent at the trial.

Sandy said the plan is aimed at diminishing gang warfare, restricting the use of unlicensed firearms, improving road traffic management, improving customer service delivery, enhancing public trust and confidence, engendering community patriotism and re-introducing family values.

Bring in Blackwater

I now coming to say if these fools ent learn nutten from Blackwater.

Griffith is national security adviser
Gail Alexander
Published: 17 Jun 2010
Gail Alexander

The People’s Partnership Government’s National Security complement has been further strengthened with the appointment of Gary Griffith as special adviser on national security at the Office of the Prime Minister. A release from the Office of the Prime Minister yesterday confirmed the appointment, exclusively reported in last Saturday’s Guardian Public Affairs column. Griffith had been a UNC member and subsequently a Congress of the People member. He was more actively involved with the UNC during the last election campaign. Griffith, who took up duties yesterday, is stationed at the Office of the Prime Minister, St Clair.

Apart from the addition of Griffith to the national security adviser’s position, today Leader of Senate Business-designate Subhas Panday would be sworn in at 2.30 pm as a minister in the National Security Ministry. The function takes place at the Knowsley Building, Port-of-Spain. Panday would work alongside National Security Minister John Sandy. Griffith said yesterday: “The appointment has provided me with the opportunity to support the Prime Minister and serve my country. “It also lends itself to the opportunity to provide advice from a strategic perspective and to develop strategies and policies best suited for the people of T&T.”

Griffith, who served with the T&T Defence Force for 15 years as a commissioned officer, had attended the Royal Military Academy, Sandhust, in the United Kingdom. He also holds an MSc degree from the Department of Criminology at the University of Leicester. During the early part of his career, Griffith held several levels of command, among those being platoon commander, detachment commander, company second in command and battalion administrative officer. In 1995 Griffith was appointed to command all administrative, finance, welfare and logistics matters for over 300 Caricom troops, who took part in the United Nations mission in Haiti—T&T’s first deployment of troops to participate in a UN peacekeeping operation. GA

How does Blackwater relate? Were they engaged in the crimefighting effort in the US?

Interested to hear what people think about this.

I will say that where I lived in TT, among a number of initiatives we undertook in our community to deal with increased reports of crime in the area was to retain the services of private security. It works well because they provide a constant visible presence, regular patrol and a direct cell phone contact to get an immediate response in the event of trouble. In addition, we engaged the police in the initiative so that they have the direct link with them to coordinate in the event of trouble.

It shouldnt be so, but it beats calling 999 or the police station if somebody in yuh yard and getting "we eh have no vehicles right now" and for a nominal fee. Now they making a move to engage these agencies I not sure what this arrangement entails.

Would like to know more about it.

Local based weary1969 JahGol etc   does Captain Gary Griffith  run a security firm ????

How does Blackwater relate? Were they engaged in the crimefighting effort in the US?

I will say that where I lived in TT, among a number of initiatives we undertook in our community to deal with increased reports of crime in the area was to retain the services of private security. It works well because they provide a constant visible presence, regular patrol and a direct cell phone contact to get an immediate response in the event of trouble. In addition, we engaged the police in the initiative so that they have the direct link with them to coordinate in the event of trouble.

It shouldnt be so, but it beats calling 999 or the police station if somebody in yuh yard and getting "we eh have no vehicles right now" and for a nominal fee. Now they making a move to engage these agencies I not sure what this arrangement entails.

Like Blackwater these private security forces aren't constrained by the same rules governing the police. 

Like Blackwater issues of oversight and accountability threaten to be potential issues.

Like Blackwater these private security forces could freely skirt the lines of legality.  This is a particularly troubling risk given the already existent "cowboy mentality" that is prevalent in TnT among anybody who wears a uniform, let alone who also permitted to carry weapons.

I could go on, but the parallels are there for all to see.

Like Blackwater these private security forces aren't constrained by the same rules governing the police. 

Like Blackwater issues of oversight and accountability threaten to be potential issues.

Like Blackwater these private security forces could freely skirt the lines of legality.  This is a particularly troubling risk given the already existent "cowboy mentality" that is prevalent in TnT among anybody who wears a uniform, let alone who also permitted to carry weapons.

I could go on, but the parallels are there for all to see.

But the security firms already in heavy operation in Trinidad providing that service. Why not make use of their presence?

Did you read the article?

The article talks specifically about using their "eyes and ears" and establishing a communications network to interact with the police to report crime. What oversight and accountability you talking about?

Nothing in it speaks of the government hiring security firms to actively fight crime as is the case with Blackwater, the angle they pushing is that they plan to make use of their existing presence to communicate crime better.

I too could go on and on but I would think the differences are there for all to see..
« Last Edit: July 17, 2010, 11:07:43 AM by dinho »

Did you read the article?

Nah... I skipped right past it and decided tuh start posting.

Local based weary1969 JahGol etc   does Captain Gary Griffith  run a security firm ????

YESSS Gary Griffith and Associates purely by accident dat a suggestion 2 use security firms has emerged.