March 28, 2024, 04:53:34 AM

Author Topic: Soccer Player Dies in Brazil After Floor Pierces Abdomen (Video)  (Read 2329 times)

This sounds extremely painful.
Horrible accident.

http://www.totalprosports.com/2010/03/09/soccer-player-dies-in-brazil-after-floor-pierces-abdomen-video/

Here's a story that will make you wince in pain just thinking about it and shrug off any future minor splinters.  A futsal soccer player died in Brazil after a piece of the court's wooden floor pierced his abdomen.  It looked as if the 23-year old player was fully alert and well as he was being strapped to the gurney, but died  of hemorrhagic shock a day after the game.

Making a play on an oncoming forward, Robson Rocha Costa made a slide tackle near the goal line.  Apparently, a piece of the surface hit his thigh and went up into his intestines.  He was immediately rushed to the hospital where he had surgery to fix the problems, but he succumbed to the injuries a day later.

I never understood playing soccer in old gyms, and seeing this story makes me think back to all the times I ill-advisedly slid across a gym's surface to make a tackle.  This is a very unfortunate, and bizarre accident, that hopefully schools will use as an example to create awareness for grungy gyms and finding these soccer leagues actual fields or legitimate indoor stadiums with turf.  It's unfortunate a life had to be lost for this.   It conjures up bad memories of the luger at the Olympics whose death spurred more serious discussions regarding the safety of the luge courses.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/9QFH8KkJCCg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/9QFH8KkJCCg</a>

Re: Soccer Player Dies in Brazil After Floor Pierces Abdomen (Video)
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2010, 05:33:59 PM »
Can't even bring myself to look at the video, the description is bad enough. [shudder]

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2010, 08:06:53 PM »
I smell a lawsuit coming up.  If his family are opportunists

« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2010, 08:23:14 PM »
Can't even bring myself to look at the video, the description is bad enough. [shudder]

me eh have d belly for dat eeder nah!

somebody watch it an tell meh if it gruesome please!

Offline Tha G.

• Anytime is trini time, cyah wait to buss ah lime
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2010, 08:41:12 PM »
Nah the video not bad... just look like he tackle the man bad... but you never saw te piceof wod or anyblood which is good... just have to be carefull when ever you play sports cause anything can happen at anytime playing or watching sports

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2010, 09:32:15 PM »
???
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2010, 11:53:15 PM »
???
not in a bad way. but sue the league or stadium holders for the cause of his death
« Last Edit: March 11, 2010, 11:55:57 PM by Babalawo »

« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2010, 08:15:40 AM »
The video shows the player slide tackle and then come to an abrupt stop in mid-slide.
Then him being taken away on the stretcher.
It's not graphic, but knowing what happened to him, when I see him stop like that it send chills up and down my spine.

« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2010, 07:29:54 PM »
Yeah the article way worse than the video. To go from the outside of his thigh to his belly almost the whole plank had to be loose. That ent right. Sad way to go for the youth.