March 28, 2024, 03:56:36 PM

Author Topic: Jones facing month out injured  (Read 3816 times)

Jones facing month out injured
« on: March 14, 2010, 06:19:45 PM »
Jones facing month out injured
football365.com

Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones could be facing at least a month on the sidelines.

The Trinidad and Tobago international headed the Black Cats into an early lead with his eighth goal of the season in Sunday's Premier League clash at home to Manchester City.

But he was then forced off at half-time with a groin injury as City battled back to claim a 1-1 draw.

Manager Steve Bruce said: "We were just getting up a head of steam and getting a settled team and another one of our big players looks as if he is going to be out for at least a month."

Re: Jones facing month out injured
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2010, 06:26:21 PM »
looks like no double digits this seasons in goals for kenwyne

« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2010, 07:29:20 PM »
Bad news I guess, but good news in a way that it's just a groin injury with cure expected

« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2010, 08:14:25 AM »
he scored a good goal yesterday and played well in the first half against city. real sad to hear he injured again. i wonder if he pull it doing that dam back flip celebration after he scored?

« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2010, 09:35:30 AM »
Oh Lord. When is de Digicel?

« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2010, 01:54:44 PM »
This is absolutely unfortunate!! :(

« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2010, 02:23:53 PM »
he might be back in 2 weeks groin migh heal fast

« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2010, 02:50:35 PM »
I heard on another news cast that it was a hip injury.
I am so sad for KJ - seems like he was getting back into form
maybe he was just trying too hard and pushing his body or something??? ???

« Reply #8 on: March 15, 2010, 02:59:19 PM »
he might be back in 2 weeks groin migh heal fast

I jus hope he doh come back too soon.  If is 2 weeks an he good I happy!!

« Reply #9 on: March 15, 2010, 05:48:22 PM »
Hard luck and quick recovery.

« Reply #10 on: March 15, 2010, 08:03:45 PM »
Hard luck and quick recovery.

COSIGNNNN

« Reply #11 on: March 15, 2010, 08:37:32 PM »
all part of it...keep going big man

« Reply #12 on: March 15, 2010, 11:02:50 PM »
Yo Kenwyne, I'm really sorry for you, I'ma Let you finish, but Beckham has one of the most popular injuries of all time!

- Kanye West

No word yet on Kenwyne
« Reply #13 on: March 16, 2010, 07:09:13 AM »
No word yet on Kenwyne
safc.com

Sunderland boss Steve Bruce is still waiting to discover the extent of the injury suffered by Kenwyne Jones against Manchester City.

The eight-goal striker damaged his hip during the game, which finished 1-1. Jones scored the opener early on before Adam Johnson's late equaliser.

Jones has been undergoing treatment and Bruce is expected to give safc.com an update on his condition tomorrow.

Stay tuned to your official website tomorrow for more news from the manager.

Elsewhere, Andy Reid and Lee Cattermole continue to work towards returns after both missed the City game.

« Reply #14 on: March 16, 2010, 08:03:02 AM »
Guys,
          injuries is a bitch. As much as we are fustrated with KJ's play, let wish the man a quick recovery.

« Reply #15 on: March 16, 2010, 09:11:03 AM »
I was wondering why they took him of as Man City defenders couldn't contain him....

Get well soon bro...

« Reply #16 on: March 16, 2010, 10:02:47 AM »
Just a question here guys,if KJ will be out for a month with this injury,my guess is the season will be over by that time,as things stand at the moment will he have to start looking at next season and not this one?

« Reply #17 on: March 16, 2010, 10:08:52 AM »
Yo Kenwyne, I'm really sorry for you, I'ma Let you finish, but Beckham has one of the most popular injuries of all time!

- Kanye West

WIN!!

« Reply #18 on: March 16, 2010, 10:12:33 AM »
Just a question here guys,if KJ will be out for a month with this injury,my guess is the season will be over by that time,as things stand at the moment will he have to start looking at next season and not this one?

nah it go have 2 or 3 games left on the fixture list still to be played.  is if he go get back he spot in the starting XI is de question.

« Reply #19 on: March 17, 2010, 07:14:08 AM »
Jones set to make swift return.

Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones suffered no lasting damage in Sunday's 1-1 draw with Manchester City.

Jones failed to return after the break, and Steve Bruce later voiced his fears that the frontman could be sidelined for a month with a groin problem.

However, scans have shown the injury is not as serious as was first thought and Jones has not yet been ruled out of Saturday's Premier League clash with Birmingham.

Bruce told the club's official website: "Kenwyne's had a scan and, thankfully, the damage isn't as bad as we first feared.

"It's too early to say whether he will make Saturday's game, but we will keep an eye on him, give him all the treatment we can and keep our fingers crossed."

Source: http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=757126&sec=england&cc=5901

« Reply #20 on: March 17, 2010, 07:25:43 AM »
Niceness.
Go Kenwyne.
I say take de next game off at least and ease orf de gymnastic displays for dis rongs. Yuh done geh a warnin'

« Reply #21 on: March 17, 2010, 09:06:46 AM »
excellent news!  now finish with a flury KJ you can still get that 15

« Reply #22 on: March 17, 2010, 11:46:51 AM »

- Kanye West

;D :applause:

« Reply #23 on: March 17, 2010, 08:26:14 PM »
Jones set to make swift return.

Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones suffered no lasting damage in Sunday's 1-1 draw with Manchester City.

Jones failed to return after the break, and Steve Bruce later voiced his fears that the frontman could be sidelined for a month with a groin problem.

However, scans have shown the injury is not as serious as was first thought and Jones has not yet been ruled out of Saturday's Premier League clash with Birmingham.

Bruce told the club's official website: "Kenwyne's had a scan and, thankfully, the damage isn't as bad as we first feared.

"It's too early to say whether he will make Saturday's game, but we will keep an eye on him, give him all the treatment we can and keep our fingers crossed."

Source: http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=757126&sec=england&cc=5901

yea I just see on foxsports he'll be back so soon

Bruce will ponder Jones return
« Reply #24 on: March 23, 2010, 04:52:40 AM »
Bruce will ponder Jones return
By Graeme Anderson (Sunderland Echo)

Sunderland will give Kenwyne Jones up until the last minute to prove his fitness for tomorrow night's game against Aston Villa.

But the Black Cats will err on the side of caution rather than gamble on him being able to play, if a clear decision cannot be made.

The Trindad & Tobago international striker has been in blistering form recently but picked up a hip flexor muscle injury against Manchester City 10 days ago and did not reappear for the second half after tormenting the Blues in the opening 45 minutes.

The injury was not as bad as first feared and it was thought he might have a chance of playing in the Birmingham City game at the weekend.

But the injury had not fully healed by Saturday and the continuous rain on the Stadium of Light surface in the run-up to the game would have made risking a muscular injury particularly unwise.

The 25-year-old does have an outside chance of being available for tomorrow's game but Bruce will not take the risk of trying to bring back the big targetman too soon – regardless of his potential value against the likes of Jon Carew and Emile Heskey.

He said: " Kenwyne had no chance of playing at the weekend and we will just see how he goes from here.

"We've got Benjani available to take his place, as he did against Birmingham, so in that regard we've got to be grateful that we were able to bring in cover during the January transfer window.

"It would be nice to have Kenwyne back sooner rather than later but you've got to be careful with muscle injuries – they're very hard to predict.

"We'll monitor Kenwyne's fitness and if there's a chance then we'll seriously think about it but we won't be bringing him back unless we're completely confident that the injury won't reoccur."

Sunderland's injury problems have eased in recent weeks and over the last couple of games, Jordan Henderson and Lee Cattermole have edged their way back to availability to start games.

Andy Reid is the only first-team squad player who remains sidelined – the Irishman recovering from a hamstring tear.

And John Mensah is a doubt after twisiting his knee in Saturday's victory over Birmingham, an injury which forced his substitution a little over quarter-of-an-hour before the end of the game.

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #25 on: March 23, 2010, 11:11:33 AM »
Could his celebratory flips contribute to his latest injury?

any doctors in the house

« Reply #26 on: March 26, 2010, 10:01:35 AM »

- Kanye West

;D :applause:

D BESTTTTTT