April 29, 2024, 07:00:34 PM

Author Topic: NAPA Thread.  (Read 15752 times)

Re: 80 million to correct flaws in the design of the National Academy
« Reply #60 on: March 24, 2010, 02:13:46 PM »
Not only is the dance floors..yes floors those for  training also wooden and vinyl, but the backstage enterances look pretty damn large too, and the audio system is in Chines and ENGLISH!  It looks analog though from the buttons, but the Minister assures us that it is Digital...so what now?

What is the real story?

Nah....they said it was analog....I remember that cuz it was the only thing they admitted was true about the allegations....

« Reply #61 on: March 24, 2010, 02:45:15 PM »
Not only is the dance floors..yes floors those for  training also wooden and vinyl, but the backstage entrances look pretty damn large too, and the audio system is in Chines and ENGLISH!  It looks analog though from the buttons, but the Minister assures us that it is Digital...so what now?

What is the real story?

Nah....they said it was analog....I remember that cuz it was the only thing they admitted was true about the allegations....

OK, but here nah, from the video I saw, that place is very impressive and the allegations seem unfounded...notice I say seems...

« Reply #62 on: March 24, 2010, 03:05:13 PM »
One issue I have with this NAPA is the size of the main Hall. The capacity is about 1500? I honestly felt that it should have been more. 3000 - 4000!

« Reply #63 on: March 24, 2010, 03:06:50 PM »
Not only is the dance floors..yes floors those for  training also wooden and vinyl, but the backstage enterances look pretty damn large too, and the audio system is in Chines and ENGLISH!  It looks analog though from the buttons, but the Minister assures us that it is Digital...so what now?

What is the real story?

But for a sound board analog vs digital is just a matter of preference.... like scratch dj's preferring vinyl over cd or a guitarist choosing a tube amp over a digital processor like Boss GT 8... some people just prefer analog over digital.... you'd be surprise how many studios use analog over digital...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Automated_Processes,_Inc.

dis company mainly installs analog mixing boards...

"API became the leading audio broadcast console manufacturer for radio and television networks and high profile stations... In addition, recording studios, large and small, began using API.....with rave reviews from producers, engineers, and artists alike. There are over 700 API consoles around the world, including the three major television networks. And many of these consoles are still in daily use in some of the most prestigious recording and broadcast facilities in the world."

Rudabiri's statements was rather irresponsible or he just doh have a clue when it comes to high end live sound reinforcement or sound reinforcement in a grand scale... He should check the facts before he make a judgement call. I know he is a musician but he is no sound man, if that is something he focus to highlight in the investigations.

Just shows me he is a rookie and should leave expert things to experts..... or how much of his report is knowledge based or facts vs opinion....

my 2 cents... :beermug:
« Last Edit: March 24, 2010, 05:42:21 PM by Daft Trini »

« Reply #64 on: March 24, 2010, 05:26:24 PM »
Rubadari have axe to grind I feel he is Airman  lol

The damn place looks real good.  The dance floor is wood too and the back entrances HUGE

« Reply #65 on: March 24, 2010, 05:57:05 PM »
  :rotfl: ah never see a man who love to call another man name so much..Trinity Cross go in ah corner and play with yuhself if yuh bored nah man  ..Here what I am not Rubari, I am  the new Gardner at yuh boy Patos house serving Hazel water all morning.:rotfl:
« Last Edit: March 24, 2010, 06:43:03 PM by AirMan »

« Reply #66 on: March 24, 2010, 09:14:15 PM »
  :rotfl: ah never see a man who love to call another man name so much..Trinity Cross go in ah corner and play with yuhself if yuh bored nah man  ..Here what I am not Rubari, I am  the new Gardner at yuh boy Patos house serving Hazel water all morning.:rotfl:

Like how you LOVE to invoke Manning's name?  and...............................................................................................
if yo want props for swxing Hazel, g brave..Haiti I am sorry.....
« Last Edit: March 24, 2010, 09:16:13 PM by Trinity Cross »

« Reply #67 on: March 24, 2010, 09:20:37 PM »
Man get sensitive.  :D .because ah take a swing at he Daddy Woman..I told you continue to call my name and run behind me everywhere I go and I may give you a step brother to play with so you wont be so bored..not Haiti for you but instead Daddy Patos I'm Sorry  :devil:

« Last Edit: March 24, 2010, 09:22:25 PM by AirMan »

« Reply #68 on: March 26, 2010, 04:22:40 AM »
Ramlal rebuts Ravi B on NAPA
By DARCEL CHOY Friday, March 26 2010

PRESIDENT of the National Chutney Foundation Vijay Ramlal has presented proof that his request to host the World Chutney Soca Monarch at the National Performing Arts (NAPA) was denied by Culture Minister Marlene McDonald.

At an Artists Coalition of TT press conference yesterday, Ramlal presented a letter dated November 20, 2009 from the ministry acknowledging receipt of his letter dated October 12, 2009 and stating that the ministry was unable to “accede” to his request.

Ramlal used the letter to rebut reigning Chutney Soca Monarch, Ravi “Ravi B” Bissembhar’s comments on Tuesday that his (Ramlal) statements that they were not allowed to use NAPA, were misleading.

“I spoke with him last night (Wednesday) at 10.46 pm and he indicated to me to make sure that it is clear that he never said that,” Ramlal said of a conversation he had with Bissembhar.   

Ramlal noted that he was not an enemy of the State or an enemy of McDonald. He said he has worked with every government that has come along.

He explained that he wanted to host such an event before the country loses its culture. “We were hosting 25 countries who were sending their artistes down. We must have it here on an annual basis because we would not want to be in a situation to go to Alaska to know that is where our artform is now being showcased,” Ramlal said.

Ramlal pointed out that his foundation has never had the opportunity to see NAPA on the inside and were only aware of the technical intricacies of the facility through ACTT. “We understand now that the ministry is going to have a group of photographers and journalists tour the facility but we are saying a semi or technical group of parties can also make that visit collectively.”

Ramlal admitted he was apprehensive to make statements about NAPA as he still had to approach the ministry for upcoming events. “I am hoping that the minister and the ministry do not find a reason not to continue supporting us. We depend on their support,” he said.

Meanwhile, Ravi “Ravi B” Bissembhar said that the ministry has not contacted him since he demanded his image be removed from electronic advertisements in which he appears to be endorsing NAPA.

- on a side note - drinking rum and singing about it, sleeping in d drain, beating yuh wife is not my culture. Them fellas does make me sick and shame to be a coolie and it does make we look sooo backward and stupid. I glad NAPA not hosting them with that tootoo.

« Reply #69 on: March 27, 2010, 09:08:58 AM »
UDeCOTT engineer admits to defects in construction of NAPA
Friday 26th March, 2010

In an attempt to once and for all end the controversy over the arts centre, the Ministry of Culture on Friday took journalists on a tour of the facility.

Culture Minister Marlene McDonald and Head of the Artistes Coalition, Rubadiri Victor, have been at odds ever since Mr. Victor claimed that NAPA needs $80 million worth of changes.

In a brief conference before the start of the tour, UDeCOTT Chief Construction Engineer, Hayden Paul, said it was not unusual for there to be some defects in any construction. Read the rest http://ctntworld.com/LocalArticles.aspx?id=19404

« Reply #70 on: March 27, 2010, 01:12:37 PM »
No one can take Rubadari's assertions seriously, his concrete floors turn out to be wood laminate, his backstage dors are not small but HUGE.  His assertion that the controls are in chinese are false..what else?

Multi-million dollar headache
« Reply #71 on: July 01, 2010, 04:28:20 AM »
Multi-million dollar headache
By Cecily Asson Thursday, July 1 2010

Minister of Planning, Economic and Social Restructuring and Gender Affairs, Mary King yesterday revealed that and additional $90 million is needed to complete the National Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA), Todds Street, San Fernando while a “few hundred million more” is needed to finish the Chancery Lane Complex a short distance away.

King also stated that work on the multi-million dollar complex, which is scheduled to house several government offices, came to a halt in April after contractor Johnston International left the site. No reason, she said, has been given and they are now in search of a new contractor to complete the project which should have been completed in August 2007.

King along with Minister of Arts and Multiculturalism Winston “Gypsy” Peters, and ministry officials conducted tours of three projects of the Urban Development Corporation of TT (Udecott): NAPA at Todd Street, San Fernando, Chancery Lane Complex at Chancery Lane, San Fernando and Brian Lara Stadium in Tarouba.

At the Brian Lara Stadium, King told reporters they had been guaranteed by management that the cost will not exceed the $879 million plus VAT. This means that the stadium would come in at an estimated $1billion.

Speaking after being taken through the Chancery Lane Complex by project manager Ravi Lalla, King disclosed to reporters that a new contractor has to be found. “Obviously there are contractor problems, the contractor left the site, so we now have to find a new contractor or contractors in order to finish.” King said she has not yet received a reason for the action. “I haven’t found out why they left. I will have a meeting with officials.”

She said the initial cost of the complex was $296 million and at this stage $440 million has been spent. “We are looking at another few hundred million more to finish it.”

The projects have been saddled with cost overruns and other related problems and she was unable to say when the complex will be completed.

“The building is here and we have to finish it.” She said the bidding process has to take place again and “we have to try and get the best contractor to complete it.”

Peters suggested that the library space in the complex, which comes under his ministry, be given up for the use of an oncology centre because of its close proximity to the San Fernando General Hospital.

“I would give up this space in a heart beat . Instead of building an oncology centre we have this already, convert it into that.”

The tour yesterday began at the NAPA at Todd Street. The building, he said, was an “impressive one”, but was 75 percent complete and should be ready by January 2011. However, he expressed his concerns that it was one year behind, due to problems encountered with the removal of some sewer lines. He also said that NAPA was also facing fines for violating laws. The seating capacity of 810 persons in the main theatre and 110 in the smaller theatre came in for heavy criticism from Peters, who is also a performer calypsonian.

“Neither of them is worth the money, not this one or the one in Port-of-Spain is worth the money for the seating capacity. We could have built something that would house much more people.

Let us face it, if you have a show in Trinidad and Tobago, and you have 810 people there, you have a buss show. Nobody wants to keep a show with 810 people unless it is Mas Camp Pub or something. But not something like this. These things should be built for much more people than this,” said Peters. He said while it was too late to redesign the building there was still enough time to correct the flaws which have been detected. Peters promised that the Naparima Bowl will stay despite the presence of NAPA.

“The Naparima Bowl is a historic site and the Naparima Bowl would stay, whatever we use it for it is going to be cultural but it would stay under my watch,” he said.

The group then moved on to the controversial Brian Lara Stadium where Peters said while the cricket pitch was “nice” the actual building was “an abuse of our money by the admission of the management on this place.”

“We have to spend a lot of money on this place not only the exterior but the carpet that they have down right now. By the time we are ready to open this place all those things will be all messed up and there will be an additional cost to change it.” He said $879 million is for a stadium that has not been finished.

King said while there have been cost overruns she was assured that it will not go over the $879 million plus VAT.

“It doesn’t include what we understood was going to be involved in the complex, that there would also be an academy and a hotel and training grounds. It doesn’t include the academy and the hotel. So from that point of view, if we want to complete it as a complex, then there will be a lot more money that will have to be spent. That is a decision the Government will have to take, given the information that we have today.”

$90M more: Ninety million dollars is needed to finish the National Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA) in San Fernando.

Wanted: New contractor: On the outside, it looks architecturally sleek, but Government has to find a "few hundred millions more" plus a new contractor to complete the Chancery Lane Complex in San Fernando.
Author: Lincoln Holder

Nears completion: The Brian Lara Stadium in Tarouba finally nears completion after five years under construction at a cost of $879 million plus VAT.

Re: Multi-million dollar headache
« Reply #72 on: July 01, 2010, 07:07:26 AM »
I eh realize manning was trying to 'manhattanize' san fernando too.

That Lara stadium look real nice

« Reply #73 on: July 01, 2010, 07:12:36 AM »

Yeah, it really looks like Manning loved his tall buildings!  8)

« Reply #74 on: July 01, 2010, 10:41:23 AM »
ah hope dis gov't start tinking bout performance clauses, dat goh mean dat d kick backs ain't go be big eh fellas<SARCASM>know alyuh go find a way to make ah lil someting ;) , ENT JACK ;) <SARCASM>, but d money wastin ha to stop

« Reply #75 on: July 02, 2010, 04:08:59 AM »
Govt raises questions over $497m Tarouba stadium loan
By: NADALEEN SINGH (T&T Guardian).

Finance Minister Winston Dookeran and Attorney General Anand Ramlogan are in discussions about a $497 million loan taken to construct the Tarouba stadium, said Sport Minister, Anil Roberts. The loan was taken, but the contractor was not paid, Roberts said. “The previous government ... on November 19, 2009, took out a loan with First Citizens for $497 million, yet I am hearing that the contractor, Hafeez Karamath Ltd, is stating that they have not been paid in one year.

“We are now trying to find out where has that money gone. First Citizens is now calling upon the Ministry of Sport to pay back that. The Attorney General and the Minister of Finance are in some deep discussions analysing that entire Cabinet note,” Roberts said. The stadium was first budgeted at $850 million, but has since increased to more than $1.1 billion. Speaking during yesterday’s post-Cabinet news conference at the Prime Minister’s Office, St Clair, Roberts said he was awaiting the report on the Tarouba stadium.

“We have reached nearly $1.1 billion and there’s no end in sight. Unfortunately, I cannot give you an update on anything to do with the Tarouba stadium and what state it is in. It is a Udecott project. It is under the Minister of Planning and when they give us a report, we would know,” Roberts said. He said many people have made requests to schedule events at the stadium, but they cannot be accommodated. “The ministry’s position is that no human being, no citizen, would enter that facility until it is given a clean bill of health by forensic engineers, by health and safety specialists and by project management consultants. We will try our best to finish it because taxpayers’ money has been spent. If it can be finished, it will.”

« Reply #76 on: July 02, 2010, 11:02:39 AM »

Nah man, for 1 billion? Dat lookin like CIC grounds. Dat is d biggest waste of money i have seen in trinidad. Which is impressive after alla dem conferences manning had.

« Reply #77 on: March 20, 2011, 05:39:00 AM »
‘I want my money’
By ANDRE BAGOO Sunday.
March 20 2011

MICHAEL ZHANG, the managing director of Shanghai Construction Group (SCG), the company which worked on the controversial construction of a church at the Heights of Guanapo, is calling upon the State to pay his firm $54 million in relation to several projects, including additional work done on the National Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA).

“We understand the pressure the Government is under, and so we would like to give the Government some more time,” Zhang told Sunday Newsday this week in relation to a $54 million bill which he sent in December to Finance Minister, Winston Dookeran.

In a letter, dated December 15, 2010, Zhang wrote to Dookeran, urging the Finance Minister to deal with what Zhang called “overdue payment,” and to fork out millions in relation to a $16 million contract for the construction of police stations which was awarded by Udecott two weeks after its former chairman Calder Hart resigned, and mere days before Parliament was dissolved.

In his letter, which has been obtained by Sunday Newsday, Zhang called for the payment of about $14 million in relation to the controversial Port-of-Spain Academy for the Performing Arts; $16 million in relation to work on the Ministry of Education tower in Port-of- Spain; $7.3 million in relation to work for a “police station academy infirmary”; $2.3 million in relation to the South Academy for the Performing Arts, and the payment of a $16 million “advance payment” due in relation to the controversial multiple police station contract. “To date, we are still waiting for the certified payments of $26,191,843.65 from Udecott,” Zhang wrote in his letter of December 15, 2010. “Furthermore there is approximately $28 million remaining to be evaluated, certified and executed.”

The SCG managing director added, “These large amounts of money do play a vital role in the operation of the company, including our daily expense and payments to local contractors and local suppliers.”

This week, Zhang said he is yet to have settled, any of the issues raised in his letter.

“The Government has a lot to deal with,” he said, in apparent reference to the flood of bills left unpaid on State projects, dating from under the last administration, as well as pending wage negotiations with public servants overdue for years. “We do not want to put too much pressure on them.”

Zhang is at the heart of a controversial company which has ties to Udecott, and to the former prime minister, Patrick Manning. SCG was the recipient of an estimated $2 billion worth of Udecott contracts under the last Government, some of which were awarded on a sole-select basis in relation to a supposed “Government-to-Government” loan with China. Others were awarded after tender.

SCG was the company building the controversial church at the Heights of Guanapo, a project that was being built in the name of the supposed “spiritual advisor” of the former prime minister Patrick Manning.

The police, last June, raided SCG’s Keate Street, Port-of-Spain, offices in relation to a pending probe of Udecott projects. Controversially, the State approved the transfer, reportedly for $5 million, of a Westmoorings property to Zhang on the very day that the Port-of-Spain NAPA opened.

Questioned over this real estate transaction this week, Zhang said, “That is a private matter, and it is not connected with the payments issue.”

MICHAEL ZHANG, managing director of Shanghai Construction Group, is appealing to Government to pay an outstanding $54 million, for work done on Udecott projects
« Last Edit: March 20, 2011, 05:41:01 AM by Flex »

Robot's got the beat: Innovation Centre launch at NAPA
« Reply #78 on: April 10, 2011, 07:57:17 AM »
Robot's got the beat
Innovation Centre launch at NAPA

By Aabida Allaham aabida.allaham@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Apr 6, 2011 at 11:58 PM ECT
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Robot_s_got_the_beat-119375554.html

WITHOUT missing a beat, Thumru skilfully beat upon the tabla stealing the show from his counterparts.

Dressed in a white cotton shirt and a black and gold headscarf, he seemed to be undeterred by the mob of photographers taking his picture, but then again he was the only robot amongst the musicians performing at the formal launch of the Caribbean Invention and Innovative Centre (CIIC) at the National Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA), Port of Spain, yesterday.

His creator, Prof Prakash Persad, said Thumru was a product of four years of hard work and a desire to see Trinidad and Tobago known for something else other than oil and gas.

"The first prototype took about six months, and then we have been improving on it to make it more complex."

"What we have done now is that we have programmed it, before, it was just one rhythm it could play; now it can play a variety of rhythms in Indian music," he said.

Persad, an associate provost in science, engineering and technology at the University of Trinidad and Tobago (UTT), heads the CIIC and is responsible for designing and commissioning the facilities which form part of the design and Manufacturing Programme at the University.

According to Persad, since UTT is establishing itself as an entrepreneurial university, engineering students and those from other disciplines are encouraged to use their final year projects as an opportunity to develop new products or innovate old ones for the purpose of commercialisation.

"Well right now we are looking at producing (Thumru) as a novelty item, you can have it at your functions that sort of thing, and actually for myself, I am looking at starting a business and renting these out...but the opportunity exists for students or people with good ideas to have those ideas developed and mass produced in India or China," he said.

The reason for it being produced there, he said, was because the cost of labour in Trinidad and Tobago was too great.

The purpose of the CIIC, however, is mainly to assist in economic transformation and provide technical assistance to inventors, entrepreneurs, small manufacturing enterprises and industry in creating new innovative products.

"The focus is thus on product development while the intent is to provide entrepreneurs and business enterprises with customised product services," Persad added.

During an interview with members of the media, Persad said he "used industrial automation, the same sort of technology used in the factories to automate processes" to create Thumru and believes that this same technology can be used to create a range of robots.

"Right now we have a robotic Indian dancer and we are having a series of concerts for Indian Arrival Day where we going to have the robotic Tabla player with the band".

"We are also developing a full robotic band and since I am familiar with Indian music, that's the thing we are using first".

"One of my PhD students is also developing a robot that can play the pan and that should be out by the end of this year or so," he added.

With regard to funding, Persad said it was a challenge because while they "want to approach the Government for funding...there is an issue of credibility, they feel you can't do it so we need to show that we can do it".

Located in O'Meara, the CIIC however, is partly funded by the Centre for Enterprise Development (CDE) and the European Union.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2011, 07:58:57 AM by Bitter »

South NAPA due to open October.
« Reply #79 on: September 29, 2011, 05:19:31 AM »
South NAPA due to open October
By Richardson Dhalai (Newsday).
Thursday, September 29 2011

The much-anticipated National Academy for The much-anticipated National Academy for the Performing Arts, [NAPA], South Campus, is scheduled to be opened by the end of October.

However, speaking to reporters during a tour of the facility’s Todd Street, San Fernando campus, Arts and Multiculturalism Minister, Winston “Gypsy” Peters however said use of the facility was not “free” and persons would be required to pay a fee for use of the building.

“The purpose of my visit is to see at what stage the complex is at right now because we have an opening date set for October 31,” Peters said, adding, “we may tweak that a little bit to coincide with City day in San Fernando so we may tweak that a little bit to coincide with that so get a hands on feel if they ready.”

“And we would want people to know from now that it is open for business. You know we in Trinidad and Tobago believe that because it is a government building everything should be done for free,” Peters added.

“Everybody wants it and they send something to you, we want NAPA, we want to have an event in NAPA, we want you to waive the cost, now if you have to be constantly waive the cost, then it means that NAPA is not where you want to have your fupnction,” he said.

“There would be a cost to this, we are going to put costing on it. It’s not going to be anything that anybody couldn’t pay, but they would be keeping in line with what we believe is reasonable for a facility such as this,” Peters added.

The spLendid fountains of the South Academy of the Performing Arts was in full operation yesterday as the facility was handed over to Arts and Multiculturalism Minister Winston Peters. Author: VASHTI SINGH

Re: NAPA Thread.
« Reply #80 on: May 10, 2015, 11:29:46 AM »
Serious structural flaws keep Napa closed
By Reshma Ragoonath (Guardian)

One year after it was shut down, the $500 million National Academy for Performing Arts (Napa) still remains closed.

And, according to an engineering expert, repairs could cost the Government millions to repair.

Arts and Multiculturalism Minister Dr Lincoln Douglas has expressed disappointment and frustration over the closure of the facility.

Cabinet was expected to make a decision on how to treat with the litany of structural faults and failures at the Port-of-Spain facility.

Last April, Napa was shut down after it was deemed unsafe by the Occu­pational Safety and Health Administration (Osha.)

Sunday Guardian understands that a structural engineering report has been submitted to the Cabinet for review and cites some serious flaws, among them welding bolt failures, requiring urgent attention.

Douglas confirmed that an engineering evaluation has been done on Napa and it has been submitted to the Cabinet.

The minister refused to divulge the findings of the report.

“I wanted the Cabinet to get a complete eye of the report and then I would make a complete statement. I do not want to preempt the decision of the Cabinet...” he said.

He could not say how much the repairs could cost.

Napa cordoned off

Napa, which was constructed by Chinese firm Shanghai Construction, under the People’s National Movement-led regime and formerly opened in 2010, remains a safety issue. At present, the facility is cordoned off by galvanised sheets and caution tape.

Douglas said he was “very disappointed” that the facility cannot be used.

“It is quite sad and frustrating to have a facility like this sitting around that we are unable to use to the max because of those significant flaws that are related to design and all kinds of structural problems,” the minister lamented.

He said a lot of the issues at the facility were related to “improper project oversight in the last administration of government as it relates to the building of these facilities (Napa and the Southern Academy for Performing Arts.)”

Douglas said what makes the situation more difficult was the fact that it was constructed not only as an auditorium, but an academy for the teaching modules related to the arts and the culture industry.

Douglas said the ministry was working with Shanghai to upgrade the building.

However, he said, “There are still more very significant and detailed issues that has to be addressed and I would leave that up to the cabinet decide that.”

Building code coming—Moonilal

The structural faults found in Napa highlights the need for a building code and a presiding authority to ensure its enforcement.

Housing Minister Dr Roodal Moonilal, who has responsibility for Udecott, the state agency that presided over the project, said he has not made any suggestions to Cabinet regarding Napa, since that facility falls under Arts and Multiculturalism.

However, Moonilal said T&T would be getting building code to deal with small structures within a couple of days. He said the national building code committee, which is led by chairman Shyankaran Lalla, has been working “very hard over the last couple of years” on the building code.

“We are on the verge now of signing off with the national agencies concerning a uniform code. We expect that will be done within a few days. We have funding for the code committee, and we also have funding for the international agencies assisting with that, so funding is in place,” the minister assured.

Re: South NAPA due to open October.
« Reply #81 on: August 14, 2015, 01:56:20 AM »
NAPA to be shut down
By Andre Bagoo (Newsday)

THE NATIONAL Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA), Port-of-Spain, which has been partially closed since last year due to safety and health reasons, will be completely shut down, Minister of Arts Dr Lincoln Douglas said yesterday.

Asked by Newsday for an update into the $500 million facility which was opened in 2010 to host the opening ceremony of the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting in Port-of-Spain, Douglas said a detailed report had identified several problems with air quality and structural issues.

“We have done a full engineering evaluation of NAPA,” Douglas said at the Cabinet media briefing held at the Office of the Prime Minister, St Clair.

“That report was sent to the Cabinet and subsequently to the Ministry of Works for evaluation and determination. The Ministry of Works has advised that the whole building be shut down.” Asked when this advice was issued for the building, parts of which are still in use, Douglas said, “It has been issued a while now. We are working with various ministers and the various parts of the organisation.

As you know, NAPA contains both the theatre, the school of UTT (University of Trinidad and Tobago): the art school, and a section that is a hotel that is under the Ministry of Tourism. And so we are working together to provide the process by which that closing strategy should be done.” Asked if students use the building, Douglas said, “There is a school there, the performance theatre and the UTT. That is the main part of the building that is being used and so we have to exit gradually. “The plan is to go into the fixing of all the infrastructure.

I will have a more detailed presentation.

The question sort of came out of nowhere and I am not in any position to bamboozle.

But I will have a formal press conference about the state of NAPA; the results of the report and what is needed in order to rectify that building.”

“The facility is still open because it is being used up to this point in time,” Douglas said. “There are students in school and we are immediately looking to find ways to move them out.” Douglas added, “It is not like immediately urgent but it is as a result of health and safety concerns which means it cannot be occupied over a long period of time both in terms of air quality and physical structure of the building that needs to be repaired.”

Pressed further by reporters, Douglas said he would schedule a press conference for next week after a Cabinet meeting.Americans Jeremy Campbell (57.32) and David Blair (56.83) finished second and third respectively. Stewart’s throw beat the previous Parapan Games record of 55.81 metres, set by China’s Xia Dong in London 2012 by more than four-and-a-half metres.

« Last Edit: August 14, 2015, 02:04:06 AM by Flex »