April 18, 2024, 10:28:08 PM

Author Topic: Phillips calls for better standards.  (Read 1674 times)

Phillips calls for better standards.
« on: March 11, 2010, 06:04:30 AM »
T&T Newsday Reports.

Technical director of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) Lincoln “Tiger” Phillips has made a call for improved local football standards.

Phillips, a former national goalkeeper, gave a synopsis of the current state of Trinidad and Tobago football at a recent media conference at the President’s Box at the Queen’s Park Oval in Port-of-Spain.

“Our football is very slow, very predictable. Our speed of thought is very slow,” he said. “We play a very static game. Our defenders stay in defence, our half-backs stay at the half, our forwards stay in the front-line.

“The game is not fluid anymore and that is the challenge we have in Trinidad and Tobago,” added the former United States youth team goalkeeper coach.

“We have to play with more speed, our players have to be much more skilful to (adapt) to the modern game.

If we are to dominate the football in the Caribbean, then we are to improve significantly,” he continued.

“And if we are to place among the top two in CONCACAF, then we are clearly do a ‘bang-up’ job in developing our football.

“The question is, ‘Who is responsible for the players not playing up to their own standards?’ The coaches are ultimately responsible for the performances of the team.”

The 68-year-old ex-QRC, Maple and Defence Force star noted, “We now, at the Football Federation, have to create an atmosphere where we develop our coaches to teach the modern game.

“As the technical director, my job is to develop a coaching scheme that will enable our coaches to teach the modern game. In order to do this, we’ve established, three to four years ago, a national coaching scheme where we over licences on the “A” (to) “F” levels.”

Re: Phillips calls for better standards.
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2010, 07:10:43 AM »
“Our football is very slow, very predictable. Our speed of thought is very slow,” he said. “We play a very static game. Our defenders stay in defence, our half-backs stay at the half, our forwards stay in the front-line.

Beenhakker did say it, Wim did say it, we does say it. So far is only talk...Steups!

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2010, 07:31:43 AM »

Beenhakker did say it, Wim did say it, we does say it. So far is only talk...Steups!

Loudest of steupssssss

« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2010, 09:47:28 AM »
It speaks !!!!!!!!!!! .....  :rotfl:

« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2010, 09:49:39 AM »
Let the High Schools play unlimited subs.

« Reply #5 on: March 11, 2010, 01:00:47 PM »
Yuh joking, right?

« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2010, 02:06:07 PM »
T&T Newsday Reports.

“As the technical director, my job is to develop a coaching scheme that will enable our coaches to teach the modern game. In order to do this, we’ve established, three to four years ago, a national coaching scheme where we over licences on the “A” (to) “F” levels.”

So, to demonstrate that he has to continue developing these coaching schemes hes citing what he did 4 years ago? what kind of slow-progress shit is that?

« Reply #7 on: March 11, 2010, 02:07:23 PM »
ent he is the TD ???? so  he could feasibly go to a club and say yuh need to start doin dis...

« Reply #8 on: March 11, 2010, 02:50:09 PM »
ent he is the TD ???? so  he could feasibly go to a club and say yuh need to start doin dis...

ENTTTTTTTT

« Reply #9 on: March 11, 2010, 06:40:10 PM »

wha we go do Jedd ?? I guess we could talk some more  :-\

« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2010, 07:07:26 PM »
wait nuh...........he speaks ;)
Good one LP.......convince ya boss to support you

ah see Sando post that orready ;D
« Last Edit: March 11, 2010, 07:10:15 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #11 on: March 11, 2010, 07:53:31 PM »

Loudest of steupssssss
typical politricks. only talk.  so who else is responsible for this. LP amongst the few

Offline Richard G.

• Ah en new...jus doh post as often as oda people
« Reply #12 on: March 14, 2010, 01:41:38 PM »
He might be playin politricks but he talking de truth...

Fellas hopefully allyuh cetchin kicks wit dem comments allyuh makin. De pace ah development home too slow. Phillips en lie when he sey de football too slow and predictable. Why? because de development process is about as efficient as ah man trying to get de bottle ah rum from de top of ah 50 metre pole (allyuh remember greasy pole). Every coach dat came in from foreign (and local) sayin dis. An lewwe en try to play devil's advocate an sey is Mr. Phillips' job to get de clubs on board. If Beenie couldn't do it wit de credentials and experience he have, Lincoln Phillips climbing up a mountain 10 times de height ah Mt. Everest. Fortunately (and unfortunately) Canada in de same bracket so ah undastan where LP comin from. WHo here have ah chance to coach up here go undastan de frustrations ah dealin wit hard-head, doh listen people...doh fret...ah feelin fuh allyuh too.

Continue de work LP. If T&T doh wa listen to you....somebody else will.

Blessings
Richard G.
T&T first. Any other country comes a very distant 2nd.

www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg2
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg3

Offline CarenageBoy

« Reply #13 on: March 15, 2010, 11:36:33 AM »
Let the High Schools play unlimited subs.

Good suggestion!

Also, provide facilities when the youths start back school in September (rainy season) to have them play indoors (Futsal style). That way they can get used to a higher speed game and take full advantage of unlimited subs.